1. This office action, in response to the response to amendment and remarks received 7/6/2026, is a final office action.
Response to Amendments and Arguments
2. In the examiner interview section of the remarks, the remarks regarding the previous interview conducted on 7/2/2026 do not correspond to the examiner's recollection of the interview. Applicant states the proposed amendments to claim 1 were discussed in view of the rejections under 35 USC 103 on page 12 of the remarks. However, proposed amendments were not presented to the examiner nor discussed during the interview. During the interview, claim 4 was discussed and applicant asked about the limitations from that dependent claim that would be necessary to be amended with claim 6 if the allowable subject matter were to be amended into the independent claim. Please see the interview summary mailed 7/7/2026. The present amendment is not based on the discussion during the previous interview.
3. Applicant states the previously cited prior art does not disclose the step of aggregating the set of processed segments respectively corresponding to the multiple narrowband segments to obtain a second wideband signal on pages 13-14 of the remarks. The examiner disagrees. Cannon discloses the apparatus in figure 3. Paragraph 0055 discloses the input 42 is divided and the signal is sent to frequency upconverter 44 and to frequency downconverter 46. After passing through first filter 48, the output of the first filter 48 contains only half the bandwidth of the original bandwidth of the input 42, the upper half. After passing through second filter 52, the output of second filter 52 also contains only half of the original bandwidth of the input 42, the lower half. Therefore, the input 42 is a wideband signal. Cannon discloses separating the first wideband signal into multiple narrowband segments, wherein the multiple narrowband segments each have a narrowband bandwidth less than the continuous wideband bandwidth and different frequency shifts. Paragraph 0055 discloses input 42 is divided and the signal is sent to frequency upconverter 44 and to frequency downconverter 46. Frequency upconverter 44 serves to center an upper portion of the bandwidth of the signal included in the input 42 over zero while the frequency down converter 46 centers a lower portion of the bandwidth over zero. After passing through first filter 48, the output of the first filter 48 contains only half the bandwidth of the original bandwidth of the input 42, the upper half. After passing through second filter 52, the output of second filter 52 also contains only half of the original bandwidth of the input 42, the lower half. Therefore, the first wideband signal is separated into two narrowband segments. Cannon discloses aggregate the set of processed segments to obtain a second wideband signal. Figure 3 shows the outputs of the filters are input to the interleaver. Paragraph 0055 discloses outputs 50 and 54 are subsequently received by interleaver 56, which interleaves the two outputs 50, 54 to create interleaved stage output signal 58. The output signal is formed by combining several elements of the previous wideband signal as stated above. The rejections of the claims are stated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 2, 4, 5 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cannon et al (US 2010/0091825) in view of Wang et al (US 2024/0430051).
Regarding claims 1 and 29, Cannon discloses a method and an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination (Paragraph 0052: the functions of the various components of the receive side 12 and the transmit side 14 may be implemented in discrete components or a functional blocks within a piece of executable code included in and/or operated by one or more digital signal processors (DSP) and/or machine readable instructions executed by a microprocessor.), is configured to:
obtain a first wideband signal having a continuous wideband bandwidth (Figure 3: input signal 42. Paragraph 0055: input 43 is divided and a portion sent to frequency upconverter 44 and to frequency downconverter 46. After passing through first filter 48, the output of the first filter 48 contains only half the bandwidth of the original bandwidth of the input 42, the upper half. After passing through second filter 52, the output of second filter 52 also contains only half of the original bandwidth of the input 42, the lower half. Therefore, the input 42 is a wideband signal.);
separate the first wideband signal into multiple narrowband segments, wherein the multiple narrowband segments each have a narrowband bandwidth less than the continuous wideband bandwidth and different frequency shifts (Figure 3: input signal 42. Paragraph 0055: input 43 is divided and a portion sent to frequency upconverter 44 and to frequency downconverter 46. Frequency upconverter 44 serves to center an upper portion of the bandwidth of the signal included in the input 42 over zero while the frequency down converter 46 centers a lower portion of the bandwidth over zero. After passing through first filter 48, the output of the first filter 48 contains only half the bandwidth of the original bandwidth of the input 42, the upper half. After passing through second filter 52, the output of second filter 52 also contains only half of the original bandwidth of the input 42, the lower half. Therefore, the input 42 is a wideband signal.); and
aggregate the set of processed segments, respectively corresponding to the multiple narrowband segments to obtain a second wideband signal (Paragraph 0555: outputs 50 and 54 are subsequently received by interleaver 56, which interleaves the two outputs 50, 54 to create interleaved stage output signal 58.).
Cannon does not disclose perform multiple Fast Fourier Transform (FFT) operations on the multiple narrowband segments to obtain a set of processed segments respectively corresponding to the multiple narrowband segments in paragraph 0055. Cannon does disclose performing a discrete Fourier Transform (DFT) operations on the multiple narrowband segments to obtain a set of processed segments respectively corresponding to the multiple narrowband segments in paragraph 0060. Paragraph 0060 discloses, referring to figure 6, a third implementation of the channelizer is illustrated. In the channelizer, each stage includes a down sampler 130, 132 coupled with a bandpass filter 134, 136 coupled to a discrete Fourier transform (DFT) module 138. Index markers 140, 142 assist in the separation of the various channels in wideband signal x[n] into various narrowband signals y[n] as individual channels. As shown in figure 3, the bandpass filters will filter the input signal so only a portion of the input signal bandwidth will be output from the filter. Figure 6 shows the output of the filters are each input to a DFT module. Figure 7 shows the deinterleaver for combining the outputs of the filters to form an output signal. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the DFT modules of the third implementation of the channelizer into the first implementation of the channelizer to be able to utilize the DFT computations in the DSP. This will allow the system to improve the effectiveness of the channelizer implementations, improving the effectiveness of the system.
Though Cannon does not disclose utilizing an FFT, an FFT is a more efficient and faster way of computing the DFT. Wang discloses utilizing a FFT at the terminal device as stated in paragraph 0080. If multiple FFT windows are applied to eliminate ISI at the terminal device 110-1 side, the measurement period can be related to the number of FFT windows as stated in paragraph 0080. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the clamed invention to replace the DFT of Cannon for an FFT of Wang since the FFT is a fast and efficient way of calculating a DFT.
Regarding claim 2, the combination discloses further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, wherein to obtain the first wideband signal, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to obtain the first wideband signal via the transceiver, and wherein there is no guard band located between the continuous wideband bandwidth of the first wideband signal (Cannon: paragraph 0005: a wide variety of systems and methods have been devised to allow for the transmission of data information across a telecommunication channel. That communication includes a modem. The composition of the signal to be received does not limit the recited apparatus to a particular structure. Therefore, the received signal having or not having a guard band does not limit the claim in terms of scope. In addition, Cannon does not recite using a guard band in the wideband signal.).
Regarding claim 4, the combination discloses wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: transmit, to a network entity, a wideband capability indicator that indicates a capability for performing the multiple FFT operations on the multiple narrowband segments to obtain the set of processed segments (Wang: claim 33: the terminal device transmits, to the network device, second capability information of the terminal device, wherein the second capability information indicates at least one of a first number of maximum supported Fast Fourier transform (FFT) windows. Paragraph 0154 and claim 14 discloses similar steps. Paragraph 0055 discloses sending a second configuration to the terminal from the network entity. Paragraph 0058 discloses sending a third configuration to the terminal from the network entity. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the transmission of capability information from the terminal to the network device of Wang into the apparatus of the combination of Cannon and Wang. The indication can inform the network device of the present status and can provide additional or updated configuration information to the terminal as needed to provide a more effective communication system.).
Regarding claim 5, the combination discloses wherein the capability comprises one or more of: a maximum continuous wideband bandwidth supported in downlink (DL) reception, uplink (UL) transmission, or a combination of the DL reception and the UL transmission, a maximum continuous narrowband bandwidth supported for the multiple narrowband segments supported for each of the multiple FFT operations in the DL reception, the UL transmission, or the combination of the DL reception and the UL transmission, or a maximum number of the multiple FFT operations supported in the DL reception, the UL transmission, or the combination of the DL reception and the UL transmission (Wang: claim 33: the terminal device transmits, to the network device, second capability information of the terminal device, wherein the second capability information indicates at least one of a first number of maximum supported Fast Fourier transform (FFT) windows.).
5. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cannon et al (US 2010/0091825) in view of Wang et al (US 2024/0430051) further in view of Liu et al (US 2023/0275681).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Cannon and Wang discloses the apparatus as stated above. The composition of a signal to be received by the recited apparatus does not limit the recited apparatus to a particular structure. Therefore, the bandwidth of the signal to be received does not limit the claim in terms of scope. The combination does not disclose that each of the multiple FFT operations has a first input size that is less than or equal to 4096.
Liu discloses N is a fast Fourier transform (FFT) and the FFT size corresponding to 100 MHz is a size of 4096 in paragraph 0136. Using well known components or procedures reduce the cost and complexity of a circuit and method, improving the efficiency of a system. For this reason, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement an FFT using a typical size as disclosed in Liu in the apparatus of the combination of Cannon and Wang.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 6-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the cited references disclose the limitations recited in claims 6 and 16.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN M BURD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632 9/14/2026