DETAILED ACTION
Claims 21-40 have been examined.
Claim Objections
Claim 27-33 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 27 line 4 “a processor operably coupled to the processor” should read -- a processor operably coupled to the transceiver—
Claims 28-33 are objected to because they depend on the objected independent claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-24, 26-30, 32-37, and 39-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by AJAMI et al. (US 2023/0247092).
- In reference to claim 21
AJAMI et al. teaches an access point (AP) device (e.g. access point 110; Fig. 1, par. 0037) in a wireless network (e.g. wireless communication network 100; Fig. 1 par. 0037), the AP device comprising:
a processor (e.g. processor 304; Fig. 3, par. 0051) configured to generate a beacon frame (e.g. beacon frame; par. 0066, 0083-0084, 0096, 0106, 0138) including information of one or more recommended channels for peer-to-peer communication (e.g. recommended channels for P2P communication; par. 0065-0067) and
a transceiver (e.g. transceiver 314; Fig. 3 par. 0052) operably coupled to the processor, the processor configured to transmit the beacon frame to one or more non-AP devices (e.g. STA1, STA2, XR2, XR1; par. 0061), wherein the beacon frame includes a channel usage element (e.g. channel usage element; par. 0105-0106) for the one or more recommended channels for peer-to-peer communication, and wherein the channel usage element includes: a usage mode field (e.g. usage mode field; par. 0098, 0101, 0105) indicating a usage of the one or more recommended channels for peer-to-peer communication, and one or more channel numbers (e.g. channel number; par. 0098, 0105-0106) and one or more operating class values (e.g. operating class value; par. 0098, 0105-0106) for the one or more recommended channels.
- In reference to claim 22
AJAMI et al. teaches wherein a non-AP device among the one or more non-AP devices is unassociated with the AP device (par. 0061).
- In reference to claim 23
AJAMI et al. teaches wherein the beacon frame includes a power constraint element (e.g. power constraint element; par. 0106) indicating a maximum transmit power for a receiving non-AP device.
- In reference to claim 24
AJAMI et al. teaches wherein the beacon frame includes an enhanced distributed channel Access (EDCA) parameter set element (e.g. EDCA parameter set element; par. 0106) indicating EDCA parameters for transmission for a receiving non-AP device.
- In reference to claim 26
AJAMI et al. teaches wherein the one or more recommended channels are outside a set of channels used by the AP device for infrastructure basic service set (e.g. one or more recommended channels being off channels; par. 0026).
- In reference to claim 27
AJAMI et al. teaches a non-access point (AP) device (e.g. STA 120, STA1, STA2, XR2, or XR1; par. 0037, 0061) in a wireless network (e.g. wireless communication network 100; Fig. 1 par. 0037, 0061), the non-AP device comprising:
a transceiver (e.g. transceiver 314; Fig. 3 par. 0052) configured to receive a beacon frame (e.g. beacon frame; par. 0066, 0083-0084, 0096, 0106, 0138) from an AP device (e.g. access point 110 or Infa-AP; Fig. 1, 5 par. 0037, 0061); and
a processor (e.g. processor 304; Fig. 3, par. 0051) operably coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to identify, from the beacon frame, information of one or more recommended channels for peer-to-peer communication (e.g. recommended channels for P2P communication; par. 0065-0067), wherein the beacon frame includes a channel usage element (e.g. channel usage element; par. 0105-0106) for the one or more recommended channels for peer-to-peer communication, and wherein the channel usage element includes: a usage mode field (e.g. usage mode field; par. 0098, 0101, 0105) indicating a usage of the one or more recommended channels for peer-to-peer communication, and one or more channel numbers (e.g. channel number; par. 0098, 0105-0106) and one or more operating class values (e.g. operating class value; par. 0098, 0105-0106) for the one or more recommended channels.
- In reference to claim 28, 35
AJAMI et al. teaches wherein the AP device is unassociated with the non-AP device (par. 0061).
- In reference to claim 29, 36
AJAMI et al. teaches wherein: the beacon frame includes a power constraint element element (e.g. EDCA parameter set element; par. 0106), and the processor is further configured to determine a maximum transmit power based on the power constraint element (par. 0106).
- In reference to claim 30, 37
AJAMI et al. teaches wherein: the beacon frame includes an enhanced distributed channel Access (EDCA) parameter set element (e.g. EDCA parameter set element; par. 0106), and the processor is further configured to determine EDCA parameters for transmission based on the EDCA parameter set element (par. 0106).
- In reference to claim 32, 39
AJAMI et al. teaches wherein the one or more recommended channels are outside a set of channels used by the AP device for infrastructure basic service set. (e.g. one or more recommended channels being off channels; par. 0026).
- In reference to claim 33, 40
AJAMI et al. teaches wherein: the processor is further configured to select a channel among the one or more recommended channels (par. 0065, 0067-0068, 0084-0086, 0110-0113), and the transceiver is further configured to perform peer-to-peer communication with one or more other non-AP devices using the selected channel (par. 0065, 0067-0068, 0084-0086, 0110-0113).
- In reference to claim 34
AJAMI et al. teaches a method performed by a non-access point (AP) device (e.g. STA 120, STA1, STA2, XR2, or XR1; par. 0037, 0061) in a wireless network (e.g. wireless communication network 100; Fig. 1 par. 0037, 0061), the method comprising:
receiving a beacon frame (e.g. beacon frame; par. 0065-0067, 0083-0084, 0096, 0106, 0138) from an AP device (e.g. access point 110 or Infa-AP; Fig. 1, 5 par. 0037, 0061); and
identifying, from the beacon frame, information of one or more recommended channels for peer-to-peer communication (e.g. recommended channels for P2P communication; par. 0065-0067), wherein the beacon frame includes a channel usage element (e.g. channel usage element; par. 0105-0106) for the one or more recommended channels for peer-to-peer communication, and wherein the channel usage element includes: a usage mode field (e.g. usage mode field; par. 0098, 0101, 0105) indicating a usage of the one or more recommended channels for peer-to-peer communication, and one or more channel numbers (e.g. channel number; par. 0098, 0105-0106) and one or more operating class values (e.g. operating class value; par. 0098, 0105-0106) for the one or more recommended channels.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25, 31, and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AJAMI et al. (US 2023/0247092) in view of CORDEIRO et al. (US 2018/0288758)
- In reference to claim 25, 31, 38
AJAMI et al. teaches a system and method that covers substantially all limitations of the parent claim
AJAMI et al. does not teach the one or more recommended channels are within a set of channels used by the AP device for a basic service set.
CORDEIRO et al. teaches channels within a set of channels used by an AP device for a basic service set (e.g. channels within a set of channels used by an AP device for a BSS, par. 0025).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the one or more recommended channels of AJAMI et al. to be within a set of channels used by an AP device for a basic service set as suggested by CORDEIRO et al. because it would allow the non-AP device to utilize channels known by the AP device within the basic service set of the AP device to potentially avoid interference with another AP device utilizing a different set of channels within a basic service set of the another AP device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are:
US 12089140 pertains to a multi-link device (MLD) operating in multiple links including a first link may transmit, through a first station (STA) and to a first AP of an AP multi-link device, a request frame including an information field for requesting at least one element related to a second link. The multi-link device may receive at least one element related to the second link on the basis of the request frame.
BRIAN S. ROBERTS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2466
/BRIAN S ROBERTS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466