DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (US Application 2025/0294637, hereinafter Lin).
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses one or more non-transitory, computer-readable (fig. 7, 734) media having instructions that, when executed, cause processing circuitry (fig. 7, 728) to:
identify a first unified transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state (TCI state ID 0,n) and a second unified TCI state (TCI state ID 1,1), the first unified TCI state and the second unified TCI states associated with a multiple-transmit-receive point (TRP) uplink operation ([0105], which recites TCI states for the first TRP may be mapped firstly and then TCI states for the second TRP may be mapped accordingly. Preferably, the first TCI state for the first TRP may be listed before the first TCI state for the second TRP, and then the second TCI state for the first TRP may be listed before the second TCI state for the second TRP as illustrated in the FIG. 4) and selected from at least one TCI list from one or more stored TCI lists([0066], [0114], which recites a list of unified TCI states having at least first and second unified TCI states associated with TRP uplink operation. As further shown on figs. 3, 4 and described on [0105],each TRP uplink operation is mapped or selected from stored TCI list as );
process downlink control information (DCI), a media access control (MAC) control element (CE), or radio resource control (RRC) signaling that schedules one or more uplink transmissions([0056], which recites DCI, RRC message and MAC CE to indicate TCI states associated with uplink transmission and [0125] further discloses a DCXI field for scheduling transmission/reception different multiple TRP scheme. Thereby, schedules one or more uplink transmissions as claimed by the instant application); and
generate the one or more uplink transmissions using the first unified TCI state or the second unified TCI state([0113],[0128], and [0149], which recites uplink transmission associated with different unified TCI states as claimed).
Regarding claim 13, Lin discloses an apparatus (Fig. 7) comprising:
processing circuitry (728) configured to:
indicate, to a user equipment (UE)([0002], which recites a user equipment (UE), and a base station (BS), for communicating based on an indicated Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state), a first unified transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state (TCI state ID 0,n) and a second unified TCI state (TCI state ID 1,1), for a multiple- transmit-receive point (TRP) uplink operation([0105], which recites TCI states for the first TRP may be mapped firstly and then TCI states for the second TRP may be mapped accordingly. Preferably, the first TCI state for the first TRP may be listed before the first TCI state for the second TRP, and then the second TCI state for the first TRP may be listed before the second TCI state for the second TRP as illustrated in the FIG. 4);
generate, for transmission to the UE([0002], which recites a user equipment (UE), and a base station (BS), for communicating based on an indicated Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state), a mode indicator to indicate an uplink operating mode([0140], [0158], which recites the MAC CE further includes more than one MAC CE fields activating the at least one TCI state for multiple TRP downlink receptions or multiple TRP uplink transmissions); and
generate, for transmission to the UE([0002], which recites a user equipment (UE), and a base station (BS), for communicating based on an indicated Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state), downlink control information (DCI), a media access control (MAC) control element (CE), or radio resource control(RRC) signaling to schedule one or more physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmissions to be transmitted using the uplink operating mode([0056], [0107],[0116], [0140],[0158], which recite a field may be included in a unified TCI states activation/deactivation MAC CE to indicate which channels or signals that the unified TCI state applies. Preferably, the channels that the field indicate to may refer to PDCCH, PDSCH, PUCCH, and/or PUSCH. A RRC configuration may indicate which channel applies the indicated joint TCI state, and/or the linkage between TCI state of each channel. Preferably, when a specific channel configuration (e.g., PDCCH-Config, PDSCH-Config, PUCCH-Config, and/or PUSCH-Config) includes the unified TCI information, it may imply that the unified TCI state is applied to PDCCH, PDSCH, PUCCH, and/or PUSCH. Preferably, the configuration may include a parameter to indicate the association between channels/signals and TCI state); and
interface circuitry (720,736) coupled with the processing circuitry (728), the interface circuitry to communicatively couple the processing circuitry to a component of a device([0129]-[0130], which recites a node 700 may include a transceiver 720, a processor 728, a memory 734, one or more presentation components 738, and at least one antenna 736. The node 700 may also include an RF spectrum band module).
Regarding claim 18, Lin discloses a method (Figs. 3, 4) comprising:
indicating, to a user equipment (UE) ([0002], which recites a user equipment (UE), and a base station (BS), for communicating based on an indicated Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state), a first unified transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state (TCI state ID 0,n) and a second unified TCI state (TCI state ID 1,1), for a multiple-transmit-receive point (TRP) uplink operation([0105], which recites TCI states for the first TRP may be mapped firstly and then TCI states for the second TRP may be mapped accordingly. Preferably, the first TCI state for the first TRP may be listed before the first TCI state for the second TRP, and then the second TCI state for the first TRP may be listed before the second TCI state for the second TRP as illustrated in the FIG. 4);
transmitting, to the UE([0002], which recites a user equipment (UE), and a base station (BS), for communicating based on an indicated Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state), a mode indicator to indicate an uplink operating mode; and transmitting, to the UE([0002], which recites a user equipment (UE), and a base station (BS), for communicating based on an indicated Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state), sounding reference signal (SRS) configuration to configure an SRS to be transmitted using the uplink operating mode([0014] discloses a TCI state provides a UL beam information which may provide the information for a relationship between a UL transmission and DL or UL reference signals (e.g., CSI-RS, SSB, SRS, PTRS);[0024] discloses to facilitate more efficient (lower latency and overhead) DL/UL beam management to support a larger number of configured TCI states, a unified TCI framework for beam indication is introduced. More specifically, through the unified indication, DL or UL channels/signals can share the same indicated TCI state to reduce the signaling overhead [0082], which recites The SRS resource may be purposed for one of the following purposes: beam management, codebook-based channel sounding, non-codebook-based channel sounding).
Regarding claim 2, Lin discloses the one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 1 wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the processing circuitry to: generate the one or more uplink transmissions using the first unified TCI state and the second unified TCI state([0113],[0128], and [0149]).
Regarding claim 3, Lin discloses the one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 2,wherein both the first unified TCI state and the second unified TCI state are joint unified TCI states([0064],[0071]).
Regarding claim 4, Lin discloses the one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 2 wherein both the first unified TCI state and the second unified TCI state are uplink unified TCI states([0027]-[0030]).
Regarding claim 5, Lin discloses the one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 2, wherein the first unified TCI state is a joint unified TCI state and the second TCI state is an uplink unified TCI state([0027]-[0030]).
Regarding claim 6, Lin discloses the one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 1, wherein the one or more stored TCI lists comprise: a downlink or joint TCI state list that corresponds to both a first TRP and a second TRP([0064],[0071]); a downlink or joint TCI state list and an uplink TCI state list that corresponds to both a first TRP and a second TRP([0105]); or a first downlink or joint TCI state list that corresponds to a first TRP, a second downlink or joint TCI state list that corresponds to a second TRP, and an uplink TCI state list that corresponds to the second TRP([0064],[0071]).
Regarding claims 14, and 19, Lin discloses the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the uplink operating mode comprises: a single-TRP UL operating mode in which the UE is to use the first unified TCI state for the PUCCH transmission([0056]-[0060]); a single-TRP UL operating mode in which the UE is to use the second unified TCI state for the one or more PUCCH transmissions([0056]-[0060]); or a multi-TRP UL operating mode in which the UE is to use both the first unified TCI state and the second unified TCI state for the one or more PUCCH transmissions([0088]-[0092]).
Regarding claim 15, Lin discloses the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: generate, for transmission to the UE, a PUCCH resource configuration for the one or more PUCCH transmissions, the PUCCH resource configuration having the mode indicator([0058]-[0061]).
Regarding claim 16, 20, Lin discloses the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: generate, for transmission to the UE, downlink control information (DCI) with the mode indicator as two bits in a sounding reference signal (SRS) set indicator field([0090]-[0091]).
Regarding claim 17, Lin discloses the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: generate a radio resource control (RRC) configuration, to be transmitted to the UE, having one or two bits as the mode indicator([0090]-[0091]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art in record fails to anticipate or render obvious the following limitations:
the DCI is to schedule one or more physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions, and the instructions, when executed, further cause the processing circuitry to: receive a mode indicator that indicates an uplink operating mode; and generate the one or more PUSCH transmissions using the uplink operating mode, wherein the uplink operating mode comprises: a single-TRP UL operating mode in which the UE uses the first unified TCI state; a single-TRP UL operating mode in which the UE uses the second unified TCI state; a multi-TRP UL operating mode in which the UE uses the first unified TCI state for a first transmission of the one or more PUSCH transmissions and the second unified TCI state for a second transmission of the one or more PUSCH transmissions; or a multi-TRP UL operating mode in which the UE uses the second unified TCI state for a first transmission of the one or more PUSCH transmissions and the first unified TCI state for a second transmission of the one or more PUSCH transmissions. Further cause the processing circuitry to: receive a configuration parameter that includes one or more uplink operating modes, the one or more uplink operating modes to include the uplink operating mode, wherein: the CG PUSCH transmission is a type 1 CG PUSCH transmission and the configuration parameter is within a configured grant configuration (ConfiguredGrantConfig) information element to provide the mode indicator; or the CG PUSCH transmission is a type 2 CG PUSCH transmission, the configuration parameter is indicated by a field in downlink control information (DCI) that activates the type 2 CG PUSCH transmission and includes the mode indicator.
Conclusion
/DADY CHERY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418