Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tweed (US 2010/0056689 A1) in view of CN11375498 A, herein referred to as ‘498.
Regarding claim 1, Tweed discloses a method of making a blown film (abstract), the method comprising: melting a composition including dry pellets [0007] comprising to form a molten mass at a first viscosity form about 1400 P to about 1600P at a first temperature from about 340°F to about 350°F at an apparent shear rate of about 55 s-1 [0007], increasing the viscosity of the molten mass to a second viscosity [0007]; forming a bubble from the resulting molten mass within a climate-controlled enclosure [0007, step D, formed in a heated oven (figure 1) which reads on enclosure]; and collapsing the bubble to form a PHA blown film [0007, step E].
Tweed does not explicitly disclose the material comprises PHA. However, MPEP 2144.07 states the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. Analogous art, ‘498, discloses the degradation agent in the degradable and disintegrable PVC plastic is selected from one or a mixture of more of PCL, PLA, PGA, PHA, PHB, PE, PVA, PBS, PBAT, PPC, PET and EVA; and can be degraded and disintegrated under specific conditions, thereby reducing the pollution to the environment (pg. 2 paragraph 5 under background). Therefore, ‘498 discloses PHA is analogous to PLA and it would be within the skillset of one ordinary skilled in the art to swap PLA in Tweed for PHA since they are both degradable and reduce pollution to the environment.
Regarding claim 2, Tweed teaches wherein increasing the viscosity of the molten mass comprises cooling the molten mass [0007].
Regarding claim 3, Tweed does not explicitly teach extruding the molten mass prior to increasing the viscosity of the molten mass. However, Tweed does mention extruding the molten mass and increasing the viscosity [0045]. Further, MPEP Section 2144.04(IV)(C) of the Manual of Patent Examining Procedure describes legal precedents relating to “Changes in [the] Sequence of Adding Ingredients” and cites to In re Burhans for the proposition that “the selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results.” In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated extruding the molten mass prior to increasing the viscosity of the molten mass since rearranging method steps are within the skillset of one ordinary skilled in the art.
Regarding claim 4, Tweed discloses the dry pellets further comprise biopolystyrene selected from the group consisting of polylactic acid (PLA) (such as poly(L-lactic acid) (PLLA), poly(D-lactic acid) (PDLA), poly(D,L-lactic acid) (PDLLA) or PLA stereocomplex (scPLA)), polyglycolic acid (PGA), polycaprolactone (PCL),polybutylene succinate (PBS), polybutylene succinate adipate (PBSA), polybutylene adipate terephthalate (PBAT), and derivatives or combinations thereof [0019-0020].
Regarding claim 5, Tweed teaches wherein the biopolystyrene is present in the pellets in an amount no greater than 40% by weight [0022, 0027, 0030].
Regarding claim 6, Tweed teaches wherein the dry pellets further comprise a wax, an antiblock additive, a slip additive, a processing aid, or any combination thereof [0038, 0043].
Regarding claim 7, Tweed teaches wherein the slip additive is selected from the group consisting of oleamide, erucamide, stearamide, behenamide, oleyl palmitamide,stearyl erucamide, ethylene bis-oleamide, N,N'-Ethylene Bis(Stearamide) (EBS), and any combination thereof [0043].
Regarding claim 8, Tweed teaches wherein the antiblock additive comprises silica [0038].
Regarding claim 9, Tweed teaches wherein the processing aid comprises a viscosity enhancer [0037].
Regarding claim 11, Tweed teaches wherein the wax comprises EBS (ethylene-bis staramide) synthetic wax [0043].
Regarding claim 12, Tweed teaches further comprising drying the composition [0054-0060].
Regarding claim 13, Tweed teaches wherein the composition has a moisture content of about 400 ppm or less [0056].
Regarding claim 14, Tweed teaches further comprising annealing the PHA film [0054, 0075].
Regarding claim 15, Tweed teaches wherein the annealing is performed at a temperature from about 1000 F to about 200° F (Tweed’s range is 120-285. MPEP 2144.04 states overlapping range is a prima facie evidence of obviousness [0075]).
Regarding claim 16, Tweed teaches wherein the PHA film is substantially free of plasticizer [0035].
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tweed (US 2010/0056689 A1) in view of CN11375498 A, herein referred to as ‘498 and further in view of Wang et al (US 2025/0263544 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Tweed does not explicitly disclose wherein the processing aid comprises polyethylene glycol. However blow film analogous art, Wang et al, discloses using polyethylene glycol as a processing aid for the benefit of reducing melt fracture, increase gloss and improving surface smoothness [0090]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated polyethylene glycol as taught by Wang into the method taught by Tweed for the benefit of reducing melt fracture, increase gloss and improving surface smoothness.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 15-16 of copending Application No. 18/414,380 (reference application) in view of CN11375498 A. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. 380 discloses melting a bulk polymer material to form a molten mass having a first viscosity; increasing the viscosity of the molten mass to a second viscosity; forming a bubble from the molten mass within the climate-controlled enclosure; and collapsing the bubble to form a film within the climate-controlled enclosure. ‘380 discloses does not explicitly disclose the material comprises PHA. However, MPEP 2144.07 states the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. Analogous art, ‘498, discloses melting a bulk polymer material to form a molten mass having a first viscosity; increasing the viscosity of the molten mass to a second viscosity; applying one or more enzymes to the molten mass within a climate-controlled enclosure; forming a bubble from the molten mass within the climate-controlled enclosure; and collapsing the bubble to form a film within the climate-controlled enclosure. The degradation agent in the degradable and disintegrable PVC plastic is selected from one or a mixture of more of PCL, PLA, PGA, PHA, PHB, PE, PVA, PBS, PBAT, PPC, PET and EVA; and can be degraded and disintegrated under specific conditions, thereby reducing the pollution to the environment (pg. 2 paragraph 5 under background). Therefore, ‘498 discloses PHA is analogous to PLA and it would be within the skillset of one ordinary skilled in the art to swap PLA in Tweed for PHA since they are both degradable and reduce pollution to the environment.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 3-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 10-12 of copending Application No. 18/414,431 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Both applications disclose using includes PHA and one or more other biopolyesters, wherein the PHA blend base includes more PHA than the other biopolyesters; and a wax slip additive that reduces friction of the blown film and is selected from the group consisting of oleamide, erucamide, stearamide, behenamide, oleyl palmitamide, stearyl erucamide, ethylene bis-oleamide, NN'-Ethylene Bis(Stearamide) (EBS), and any combination thereof (claim 3 and 8 of ‘380).
Conclusion
/FARAH TAUFIQ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754