DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgement is made of amendment filed on 04/13/2026. The amendments of Applicant are entered and have been considered by Examiner. Claims 1-16 were previously pending. Claims 17 and 18 are added. Claims 1-18 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on Page 12 of Applicants remarks:
Liu discloses a communication method by a user equipment (UE) that includes
receiving, from a base station, system information including a first radio resource control (RRC) parameter, wherein the first RRC parameter provides a cell-specific physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource set and the cell-specific PUCCH resource set includes one or more PUCCH resources; and receiving a PDCCH with a DCI format scheduling a PDSCH; and transmitting, on a PUCCH resource included in the cell- specific PUCCH resource set, a PUCCH with HARQ-ACK information in response to the PDSCH received, wherein whether or not to transmit the PUCCH using frequency hopping is determined based on one, more or all of a first DCI field of the DCI format, RRC parameter(s) and a predefined rule (see Abstract).
Liu does not disclose receiving, by a terminal device, first configuration
information from a network device, the first configuration information comprises first sub-configuration information or comprises the first sub-configuration information and second sub-configuration information, the first configuration information being used to configure a plurality of first channel bandwidths, and the plurality of first channel bandwidths comprise at least two second channel bandwidths with a same subcarrier spacing (SCS).
Liu does not disclose receiving first configuration information from a network device, the first configuration information comprises first sub-configuration information and second sub-configuration information.
Liu does not disclose receiving first configuration information from a network device, the first configuration information comprises first sub-configuration information or comprises the first sub-configuration information and second sub-configuration information.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant merely summarizes the Liu prior art reference, and the indicates that the Liu prior art does not teach the claimed invention without providing any reasoning. Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
As indicated in the previous office action, Liu teaches receiving an RRC message including SCS-SpecificCarrier IE, which is analogous first configuration information from a network device. The applicant has amended claim 1 to further include “the first configuration information comprises first sub-configuration information or comprises the first sub-configuration information and second sub-configuration information”. Examiner notes the use of optional language, in which the limitation can be met by meeting one of the two provided options. In this instance, examiner interprets the claim limitation to be “the first configuration information comprises first sub-configuration information. Since “first sub-configuration information” is not further defined in the independent claim, the claim is thus interpreted such that “the first configuration information” comprises only “the first sub-configuration information”, in which SCS-specificCarrier IE in the RRC message as taught by Liu teaches on “the first sub-configuration information” which is comprised within “the first configuration information”.
Applicant further argues on Page 11-12 of applicants remarks:
Ang discloses a user equipment (UE) may identify multiple carriers configured for communications with a base station, and the UE may group the carriers into one or more preferred groups for synchronized scheduling at the base station (see Abstract). The preferred groups of carriers for synchronized scheduling may represent a recommendation that carriers within a preferred group are to be scheduled for communications with the base station on at least partially overlapping resources to maximize power savings at the UE. The UE may transmit an indication of the preferred groups of carriers to the base station, and the base station may identify an actual group of carriers for synchronized scheduling based on the indication received from the UE. The base station may then schedule communications with the UE based on the actual group of carriers.
The Ang reference is combined with Liu. However, Ang does not cure the defects of Liu.
Ang does not disclose receiving first configuration information from a network device, the first configuration information comprises first sub-configuration information and second sub-configuration information.
Ang does not disclose receiving first configuration information from a network device, the first configuration information comprises first sub-configuration information or comprises the first sub-configuration information and second sub-configuration information.
Examiner notes Ang is not used to teach “the first configuration information comprises first sub-configuration information or comprises the first sub-configuration information and second sub-configuration information, for at least the independent claims, as “first sub-configuration information” is not further defined, and as such, the limitation is taught by Liu. Furthermore, Applicant merely summarizes the Ang prior art reference, and the indicates that the Ang prior art does not teach the claimed invention without providing any reasoning. Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
As such, examiner maintains that the prior art teaches the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0133566 A1 (foreign priority date of Jun 30, 2021) to Liu et al. (hereinafter “Liu”) in view of US 2021/0314994 A1 to Ang et al. (Hereinafter “Ang”)
Regarding Claims 1 and 9, Liu teaches A configuration method and communication apparatus, comprising: (Figure 14, illustrates UE)
An interface circuit; a memory storing instructions, and at least one processor in communication with the interface circuit and the memory, the at least one processor configured, upon execution of the instructions, to perform the following steps: (Figure 14, illustrates UE comprising processor and memory interconnected via interfacing bus 1487)
receiving, by a terminal device, first configuration information from a network device, ([0122]-[0123], discloses a base station may transmit an RRC message to configure a UE. [0127], discloses RRC message including SCS-SpecificCarrier IE (i.e. first configuration information) for configuring a carrier), the first configuration information comprises first sub-configuration information or ([0127], discloses RRC message including SCS-SpecificCarrier IE (i.e. first sub-configuration information) for configuring a carrier)
the first configuration information being used to configure a plurality of first channel bandwidths, the plurality of first channel bandwidths comprise at least two second channel bandwidths ([0133], discloses SCS-SpecificCarrier provides parameters determining the location and width of the carrier bandwidth or the actual carrier. [0140], discloses One or more carrier are determined by respective SCS-SpecificCarrier IEs (i.e. plurality of first channel bandwidths including at least two second channel bandwidths), respectively. Figure 3, illustrates different carrier bandwidths 304 and 314)
receiving, by the terminal device, second configuration information from the network device, wherein the second configuration information being used to configure a plurality of first bandwidth parts (BWPs), ([0136]-[0137], discloses a BWP can be identified (or defined) at least by a subcarrier spacing μ indicated by the RRC parameter subcarrierSpacing, a cyclic prefix determined by the RRC parameter cyclicPrefix, a frequency domain location, a bandwidth, an BWP index indicated by bwp-Id and so on. A UE 102 configured to operation in BWPs of a serving cell, is configured (i.e. second configuration information) by higher layers for the serving cell a set of at most four BWPs in the downlink for reception.)
the plurality of first BWPs comprise at least two second BWPs with a same SCS, and the SCS of a second BWP of the at least two second BWPs is the same as the SCS corresponding to a second channel bandwidth of the at least two second channel bandwidths. (Figure 3 and [0141], discloses a BWP configuration in which BWP A 306 and BWP B 308 share the same subcarrier spacing configuration u=0 (i.e. at least two second BWPs with a same SCS), which is also the same as carrier bandwidth 304 with subcarrier spacing configuration u=0 (i.e. SCS of second BWP is same as SCS of second channel bandwidth))
Liu does not explicitly teach the plurality of first channel bandwidths comprise at least two second channel bandwidths with a same subcarrier spacing (SCS);
However, the concept of different channel bandwidths having the same subcarrier spacing is well known in the art. For example, in a similar field of endeavor, Ang discloses in [0011]-[0014], discloses a base station transmitting a carrier aggregation configuration message to a UE indicating a set of carriers (i.e. channel bandwidths) configured for communications with the UE, grouping the set of carriers into one or more groups, the one or more groups representing groupings of carriers that are to be scheduled for communications with the UE on at least partially overlapping time resources, and scheduling communications with the UE on the set of carriers based on the grouping. [0013], further discloses a group of the one or more groups includes carriers associated with a same numerology (i.e. same subcarrier spacing). [0072], discloses numerology characterized by subcarrier spacing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu to include the above limitations as suggested by Ang, to synchronize communications with a UE on carriers in a group to maximize the opportunities for the UE to transition to a sleep mode and save power as indicated in [0005] of Ang.
Regarding Claim 2, Liu/Ang teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein:
Ang further teaches the first sub-configuration information is used to configure the at least two second channel bandwidths with the same SCS, [0011]-[0014], discloses a base station transmitting a carrier aggregation configuration message (i.e. including first configuration information) to a UE indicating a set of carriers (i.e. channel bandwidths including second channel bandwidths) configured for communications with the UE, grouping the set of carriers into one or more groups (i.e. first sub-configuration information used to configured two second channel bandwidths with the same SCS), the one or more groups representing groupings of carriers that are to be scheduled for communications with the UE on at least partially overlapping time resources, and scheduling communications with the UE on the set of carriers based on the grouping. [0013], further discloses a group of the one or more groups includes carriers associated with a same numerology (i.e. same subcarrier spacing). [0072], discloses numerology characterized by subcarrier spacing) Examiner maintains same motivation to combine as indicated in Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 3, Liu/Ang teaches The method according to claim 2, wherein:
Liu further teaches the first sub-configuration information comprises one or more of: at least two frequency domain locations, at least two frequency domain starting locations, or at least two frequency domain offsets corresponding to the at least two second channel bandwidths with the same SCS. ([0140], discloses One or more carrier are determined by respective SCS-SpecificCarrier IEs (i.e. plurality of first channel bandwidths including at least two second channel bandwidths), respectively. Figure 3, illustrates different carrier bandwidths 304 and 314. [0127], discloses each SCS-SpecificCarrierIE including a higher-layer parameter offsetToCarrier indicating the starting position and frequency location)
Regarding Claim 4, Liu/Ang teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein:
Liu further teaches the first configuration information comprises at least two frequency domain locations, and each frequency domain location of the at least two frequency domain locations indicates a location of a first channel bandwidth of the plurality of first channel bandwidths. ([0140], discloses One or more carrier are determined by respective SCS-SpecificCarrier IEs (i.e. plurality of first channel bandwidths including at least two second channel bandwidths), respectively. Figure 3, illustrates different carrier bandwidths 304 and 314. [0127], discloses each SCS-SpecificCarrierIE including a higher-layer parameter offsetToCarrier indicating the starting position and frequency location)
Regarding Claim 5 and 13, Liu teaches A configuration method and communication apparatus, comprising: (Figure 15, illustrates base station)
An interface circuit; a memory storing instructions, and at least one processor in communication with the interface circuit and the memory, the at least one processor configured, upon execution of the instructions, to perform the following steps: (Figure 15, illustrates base station comprising processor and memory interconnected via interfacing bus 1587)
sending, by a network device, first configuration information to a terminal device, ([0122]-[0123], discloses a base station may transmit an RRC message to configure a UE. [0127], discloses RRC message including SCS-SpecificCarrier IE (i.e. first configuration information) for configuring a carrier) the first configuration information comprises first sub-configuration information or ([0127], discloses RRC message including SCS-SpecificCarrier IE (i.e. first sub-configuration information) for configuring a carrier)
the first configuration information being used to configure a plurality of first channel bandwidths, and the plurality of first channel bandwidths comprise at least two second channel bandwidths with a same subcarrier spacing SCS; ([0133], discloses SCS-SpecificCarrier provides parameters determining the location and width of the carrier bandwidth or the actual carrier. [0140], discloses One or more carrier are determined by respective SCS-SpecificCarrier IEs (i.e. plurality of first channel bandwidths including at least two second channel bandwidths), respectively. Figure 3, illustrates different carrier bandwidths 304 and 314) and
sending, by the network device, second configuration information to the terminal device, the second configuration information being used to configure a plurality of first bandwidth parts BWPs, ([0136]-[0137], discloses a BWP can be identified (or defined) at least by a subcarrier spacing μ indicated by the RRC parameter subcarrierSpacing, a cyclic prefix determined by the RRC parameter cyclicPrefix, a frequency domain location, a bandwidth, an BWP index indicated by bwp-Id and so on. A UE 102 configured to operation in BWPs of a serving cell, is configured (i.e. second configuration information) by higher layers for the serving cell a set of at most four BWPs in the downlink for reception.)
the plurality of first BWPs comprise at least two second BWPs with a same SCS, and the SCS of a second BWP of the at least two second BWPs is the same as the SCS corresponding to a second channel bandwidth of the at least two second channel bandwidths. (Figure 3 and [0141], discloses a BWP configuration in which BWP A 306 and BWP B 308 share the same subcarrier spacing configuration u=0 (i.e. at least two second BWPs with a same SCS), which is also the same as carrier bandwidth 304 with subcarrier spacing configuration u=0 (i.e. SCS of second BWP is same as SCS of second channel bandwidth))
Liu does not explicitly teach the plurality of first channel bandwidths comprise at least two second channel bandwidths with a same subcarrier spacing (SCS);
However, the concept of different channel bandwidths having the same subcarrier spacing is well known in the art. For example, in a similar field of endeavor, Ang discloses in [0011]-[0014], discloses a base station transmitting a carrier aggregation configuration message to a UE indicating a set of carriers (i.e. channel bandwidths) configured for communications with the UE, grouping the set of carriers into one or more groups, the one or more groups representing groupings of carriers that are to be scheduled for communications with the UE on at least partially overlapping time resources, and scheduling communications with the UE on the set of carriers based on the grouping. [0013], further discloses a group of the one or more groups includes carriers associated with a same numerology (i.e. same subcarrier spacing). [0072], discloses numerology characterized by subcarrier spacing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu to include the above limitations as suggested by Ang, to synchronize communications with a UE on carriers in a group to maximize the opportunities for the UE to transition to a sleep mode and save power as indicated in [0005] of Ang.
Claims 6-8 are rejected for having the same limitations as claims 2-4 above, respectively, except the claims are written in network device method perspective.
Claims 10-12 are rejected for having the same limitations as claims 2-4 above, respectively, except the claims are written in terminal apparatus format.
Claims 14-16 are rejected for having the same limitations as claims 2-4 above, respectively, except the claims are written in network device apparatus perspective format.
Regarding Claim 17, Liu/Ang teaches The communication apparatus according to claim 9, further comprising
Liu further teaches an interface circuit in communication with the at least one processor, the interface circuit configured to receive a signal from a communication apparatus other than the communication apparatus and transmit the signal to the at least one processor, or send a signal from the at least one processor to a communication apparatus other than the communication apparatus. (Figure 1 and [0091]-[0092], illustrates UE 102 (i.e. communication apparatus) comprising transceiver 118 for communicating to/from a base station (i.e. communication apparatus other than the communication apparatus). Figure 14 further illustrates UE 1402 with transceiver 1418 in communication with processor 1479)
Regarding Claim 18, Liu/Ang teaches The communication apparatus according to claim 13, further comprising
Liu further teaches an interface circuit in communication with the at least one processor, the interface circuit configured to receive a signal from a communication apparatus other than the communication apparatus and transmit the signal to the at least one processor, or send a signal from the at least one processor to a communication apparatus other than the communication apparatus. (Figure 1 and [0106]-[0107], illustrates base station 160 (i.e. communication apparatus) comprising transceiver 176 for communicating to/from a UE(i.e. communication apparatus other than the communication apparatus). Figure 15 further illustrates base station 1560 with transceiver 1576 in communication with processor 1579)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENKEY VAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477