DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the solid-state electrolyte layer." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the positive electrode insulating frame side." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kodama (US 2018/0205119).
Regarding Claim 1, Kodama teaches an all-solid-state battery (“solid-state battery”) (Abstract). As illustrated in Figure 2B, Kodama teaches that the battery comprises an electrode laminate comprising an anode current collector (3b) (“negative electrode current collector”), an anode active material layer (3a), a solid electrolyte layer (2) (“solid electrolyte layer”), a cathode active material layer (1a) (“positive electrode material mixture layer”), and a cathode current collector (1b) (“positive electrode current collector”), wherein said layers are sequentially laminated ([0022]-[0031]). Kodama teaches that the anode active material layer is formed of a known active material such as lithium metal, or otherwise comprises 99 mass% or more of said lithium metal (i.e. the anode active material layer is interpreted as a “lithium metal layer”) ([0028]). As illustrated in Figures 5B-6A (and the annotated Figures 5B-5C below), Kodama teaches that a resin (7) (“resin or resin composition”) is disposed on outer periphery portions of the anode current collector, the anode active material layer, and the solid electrolyte layer, wherein a “space” formed at least in part between the anode active material layer and the solid electrolyte layer is filled with the resin ([0037]-[0044]).
As previously described, Kodama teaches the structural limitations of the instantly claimed battery, including the presence of the space formed at least in part between the anode active material layer and the solid electrolyte layer which is filled with the resin. Furthermore, the instant claim is to a product and as such the method limitations (i.e. a space formed between the lithium metal layer and the solid electrolyte layer formed by chemical conversion of the electrode laminate is filled with the resin or resin composition) of the instant claim do not patentably impact the product unless a material difference imparted by the process can be showed. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding Claim 2, Kodama teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As illustrated in Figures 5B-6A (and the annotated Figure 5C below), the resin, as a whole, forms an insulating frame (“positive electrode insulating frame”) that is disposed on outer periphery portions of the cathode active material layer and the cathode current collector, wherein the other surface of the solid electrolyte layer faces the cathode active material layer and at least a portion of the insulating frame (it is noted that the instant claim does not require, for example, that the positive electrode insulating frame is disposed only on outer periphery portions of the positive electrode material mixture material layer and the positive electrode current collector).
Regarding Claim 4, Kodama teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As illustrated in Figures 2B, 5B, 6A, the battery comprises a plurality of the laminates stacked, wherein in the laminate, the cathode active material layer, the solid electrolyte layer, the anode active material layer and the anode current collector are sequentially laminated on both surfaces of the cathode current collector.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kodama (US 2018/0205119), and further in view of Tanaka (US 2013/0323568).
Regarding Claim 3, Kodama teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 2, as previously described.
Kodama does not explicitly teach that the solid electrolyte layer has an incline portion that inclines toward the insulating frame and is formed in at least a part of a region facing the insulating frame.
However, Tanaka teaches a solid battery (Abstract). As illustrated in Figure 1, Tanaka teaches that the battery comprises a solid electrolyte layer (4) which is framed on each end thereof with insulating layers (2, 6) ([0028]). As illustrated in Figure 1, the solid electrolyte layer has an incline portion that inclines toward the insulating layers and is formed in at least a part of a region facing the insulating layers ([0028], [0032]-[0033]). Tanaka teaches that the incline portion helps further prevent the occurrence of short circuits ([0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would, at least, form the solid electrolyte layer of Kodama such that it has an incline portion that inclines toward the insulating frame and is formed in at least a part of a region facing the insulating frame, as taught by Tanaka, given that such an incline portion would help further prevent the occurrence of short circuits in the battery.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Independent Claim 5 requires a method comprising (1) disposing the resin or resin composition as claimed on outer periphery portions of the negative electrode current collector, lithium metal layer, and solid electrolyte layer as claimed, (2) performing chemical conversion of the laminate, and (3) filling a space formed between the lithium metal layer and the solid electrolyte layer with the resin or resin composition. In particular, Claim 5 recites that in said (3), the space is formed by the chemical conversion of the laminate.
The closest prior art references of record relevant to at least Claim 5 are Kodama and Tanaka.
As previously described (See the rejection of Claim 1 above), Kodama discloses an all-solid-state battery. As illustrated in Figures 5A-6A, Kodama discloses that after forming the electrode laminate structure, the laminate structure is subjected to charging (i.e. a chemical conversion is carried out) followed by the disposition, impregnation, and curing of the resin on the outer periphery of the laminate (as outlined, in detail, in [0033]-[0044] of Kodama).
Therefore, while Kodama discloses a chemical conversion of the electrode laminate as well as the provision/curing of the resin, Kodama neither teaches nor suggests that the method comprises disposing the resin, performing chemical conversion as claimed so as to form the claimed space, and filling said space with the disposed resin. Furthermore, Tanaka does not cure the deficiencies of Kodama.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW W VAN OUDENAREN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728