DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 09/02/26. Claim(s) 4-5, 7-13,15, and 18-20 have been amended, no new claims have been added, and no claims have been cancelled. Thus, claims 1-20 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "driving module" and "heating module" in claim 1 and “driving module” “power assembly” and “heating module” in claims 7 and 14.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,911,334.
Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from one another. The application claims are broader in at least one aspect and also recite additional features not claimed in the patent claims.
For claim 1:
Regarding the broadening aspect of the application claims, the following comparison between the patent claims and the application claims highlights (see underlined features in the patent claims) what elements have been excluded in the presentation of the application claims.
Patent Claim 1
Application Claim 1
A massage device, comprising:
a base;
a driving module, which is mounted on the base;
a massage head, which is connected to the driving module so as to be driven by the driving module to rotate relative to the base, wherein a side of the massage head away from the base is provided with a massage protrusion, and
a first cavity is formed on a side of the massage head facing the base;
an enclosure, which is arranged on the base and located between the base and the massage head, wherein a free end of the enclosure away from the base extends into the first cavity, and an outer wall of the free end is arranged close to an inner wall of the massage head, a gap between the outer wall of the free end of the enclosure and the inner wall of the massage head is within 3 millimeters,
a second cavity in communication with the first cavity is formed in the enclosure, and the second cavity and the first cavity jointly form a heating chamber; and
a heating module, which is accommodated in the heating chamber and fixed relative to the base, and is configured to provide thermotherapy from the massage device.
A massage device, comprising:
a base;
a driving module, which is mounted on the base;
a massage head, which is connected to the driving module so as to be driven by the driving module to rotate relative to the base, wherein a side of the massage head away from the base is provided with a massage protrusion, and
a first cavity is formed on a side of the massage head facing the base;
an enclosure, which is arranged on the base and located between the base and the massage head, wherein a free end of the enclosure away from the base extends into the first cavity, and an outer wall of the free end is arranged close to an inner wall of the massage head, there is a gap between the outer wall of the free end of the enclosure and the inner wall of the massage head,
a second cavity in communication with the first cavity is formed in the enclosure, and the second cavity and the first cavity jointly form a heating chamber; and
a heating module, which is accommodated in the heating chamber and fixed relative to the base, and is configured to provide thermotherapy from the massage device.
Thus, it is apparent, for the broadening aspect, that patent claim 1 includes features that are not in application claim 1. Following the rationale in In re Goodman, cited above, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific or narrower invention, applicant may not then obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer. Since application claim 1 is anticipated by patent claim 1, with respect to the broadening aspect, and since anticipation is the epitome of obviousness, then application claim 1 is obvious over patent claim 1 with respect to the broadening aspect.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,911,334.
Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from one another. The application claims are broader in at least one aspect and also recite additional features not claimed in the patent claims.
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,911,334.
Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from one another. The application claims are broader in at least one aspect and also recite additional features not claimed in the patent claims.
Patent Claim 7
Application Claim 14
A massage device, comprising:
a base;
a driving module, which is mounted on the base; the driving module comprises a driving shaft; and the massage head is connected to the driving shaft so as to be driven by the driving shaft to rotate relative to the base
a massage head, which is connected to the driving module so as to be driven by the driving module to rotate relative to the base, wherein a side of the massage head away from the base is provided with a massage protrusion, and a first cavity is formed on a side of the massage head facing the base;
an enclosure, which is arranged on the base and located between the base and the massage head, wherein a free end of the enclosure away from the base extends into the first cavity, and an outer wall of the free end is arranged close to an inner wall of the massage head, a gap between the outer wall of the free end of the enclosure and the inner wall of the massage head is within 3 millimeters,
a second cavity in communication with the first cavity is formed in the enclosure, and the second cavity and the first cavity jointly form a heating chamber; and
a heating module, which is accommodated in the heating chamber and fixed relative to the base, and is configured to provide thermotherapy from the massage device.
A massage device, comprising:
a base;
a driving module, comprises a power assembly accommodated in the accommodating cavity and a driving shaft connected to the power assembly;
a massage head, connected to the driving shaft so as to be driven by the power assembly to rotate relative to the base, wherein a side of the massage head away from the base is provided with a massage protrusion, and a first cavity is formed on a side of the massage head facing the base; and
a heating module, fixed relative to the base and located between the base and the massage head, wherein the heating module is configured to generate heat when energized to heat the air in the first cavity, so as to provide thermotherapy from the massage device to a part of a user’s body.
Thus, it is apparent, for the broadening aspect, that patent claim 7 includes features that are not in application claim 14. Following the rationale in In re Goodman, cited above, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific or narrower invention, applicant may not then obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer. Since application claim 14 is anticipated by patent claim 7, with respect to the broadening aspect, and since anticipation is the epitome of obviousness, then application claim 14 is obvious over patent claim 7 with respect to the broadening aspect.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hu (CN211132037).
With respect to claim 14, Hu discloses a massage device (1, fig 1), comprising: a base (11, fig 4), provided with an accommodating cavity (114/115, fig 4 and see fig 2 where the internal components are within 11), a driving module (transmission component; 3, fig 2), mounted on the base (see fig 2), wherein the driving module comprises a power assembly (23, fig 2) accommodated in the accommodating cavity (see 23 attachment to 21in the cavity in fig 2) and a driving shaft (36, fig 8); a massage head (5, fig 6), connected to the driving shaft (see fig 6) so as to be driven to rotate relative to the base (see translation [0033-35]), wherein a side of the massage head away from the base is provided with a massage protrusion (see protrusion on 5 in fig 6), and a first cavity (note the space in 5 where elements 36 and 4 are accommodated) is formed on a side of the massage head facing the base; a heating module (lamp; 43, fig 6), heat air in the first cavity (see fig 6), and is configured to provide thermotherapy from the massage device (see [0035-36]).
With respect to claim 16, Hu discloses an enclosure (see space formed by 121, 122 in fig 5), which is arranged on the base (see location on base 11 and mating portion 12 fig 6), a second cavity (space formed by enclosure in fig 6) in communication with the first cavity is formed in the enclosure, and the second cavity and the first cavity jointly form a heating chamber (see 4 between 5 and enclosure as described in fig 6); and the heating module (4, fig 6), which is mounted in the enclosure (see fig 6), and configured to generate heat when energized to heat the air in the heating chamber (see [0035-36]).
With respect to claim 17, Hu discloses a supporting part (121, fig 6), fixed to the base and at least partially accommodated in the first cavity (see fig 6 and [0037]) and the heating module is mounted on the supporting part (see fig 6).
With respect to claim 18, Hu discloses the supporting part comprises a plurality of supporting ribs (see ribs extending from 122 in fig 5) and a fitting seat (122, fig 5); a first end of each of the plurality of supporting ribs is fixed to the base, a second end of each of the plurality of supporting ribs extends toward the massage head, the fitting seat is carried by and fixed to the supporting ribs; and the heating module is fixed to the fitting seat (see fig 6 and [0033 and 37]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8, 10-13, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (CN211132037) in view of Xhao (CN209075395).
With respect to claim 7, Hu discloses a massage device (1, fig 1), comprising: a base (11, fig 4), provided with an accommodating cavity (114/115, fig 4 and see fig 2 where the internal components are within 11), a driving module (transmission component; 3, fig 2), mounted on the base (see fig 2), wherein the driving module comprises a power assembly (23, fig 2) accommodated in the accommodating cavity (see 23 attachment to 21in the cavity in fig 2) and a driving shaft (36, fig 8); a massage head (5, fig 6), connected to the driving shaft (see fig 6) so as to be driven to rotate relative to the base (see translation [0033-35]), wherein a side of the massage head away from the base is provided with a massage protrusion (see protrusion on 5 in fig 6), and a first cavity (note the space in 5 where elements 36 and 4 are accommodated) is formed on a side of the massage head facing the base; a heating module (lamp; 43, fig 6), heat air in the first cavity (see fig 6), and is configured to provide thermotherapy from the massage device (see [0035-36]), but is silent regarding a tubular extending part protrudes from the side of the massage head facing the base, an internal surface of the extending part and the massage head jointly form the first cavity, and at least a portion of the extending part is radially spaced apart from an open end of the massage head toward the base.
However, Xhao teaches a massage device (1, fig 1) comprising a massage head (2, fig 2) wherein a tubular extending part (shaft in massage head 2 that contains hole 23 in fig 4) protrudes from the side of the massage head facing a base (16, fig 3; note the protruding part extends from a cavity in the head toward the base figs 3-4), an internal surface of the extending part and the massage head jointly form a cavity (see space formed in the massage head; 22, fig 4), and at least a portion of the extending part is radially spaced apart from an open end of the massage head toward the base (see the protruding part in the middle of the head spaced from the edge in fig 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the massage head of Hu to include the protruding part as taught by Xhao so as to provide a well-known connection between two structures for facilitating installation (see translation [0032] of Xhao).
With respect to claim 8, the modified Hu shows the supporting part comprises a plurality of supporting ribs (see ribs extending from 122 in fig 5 of Hu) and a fitting seat (122, fig 5 of Hu); wherein a first end of each of the plurality of supporting ribs is fixed to the base, a second end of each of the plurality of supporting ribs extends toward the massage head, the fitting seat is carried by and fixed to the supporting ribs; and the heating module is fixed to the fitting seat (see fig 6 and [0033 and 37] of Hu).
With respect to claim 10, the modified Hu shows a hollow space (see the space formed as shaft hole 23 in fig 4 of Xhao) is formed between the extending part and the massage head, and the hollow space is located outside the first cavity (see the space is different than the cavity after the modification by Xhao).
With respect to claim 11, the modified Hu shows a diameter of the circle projected by the extending part on the base is smaller than the diameter of the maximum circle projected by the massage head in a rotating state on the base (the diameter of 23 is smaller than that of 2; see fig 4 of Xhao; and would be the same when modifying Hu).
With respect to claim 12, the modified Hu shows the hollow space is formed between a portion of an external surface of the extending part and a portion of an internal surface of the massage head (see the hollow space in fig 4 of Xhao).
With respect to claim 13, the modified Hu shows a portion of the extending part protrudes from the massage protrusion at a position adjacent to a top thereof (see the protruding part extending adjacent from 21 in fig 4 of Xhao).
With respect to claim 19, the modified Hu shows all the elements as claimed above but is silent regarding a tubular extending part protrudes from the side of the massage head toward the base, a portion of the extending part protrudes from the massage protrusion, dividing the massage protrusion into two independent spaces.
However, Xhao teaches a massage device (1, fig 1) comprising a massage head (2, fig 2) wherein a tubular extending part (shaft in massage head 2 that contains hole 23 in fig 4) protrudes from the side of the massage head facing a base (16, fig 3; note the protruding part extends from a cavity in the head toward the base figs 3-4), a portion of the extending part protrudes from the massage protrusion, dividing the massage protrusion into two independent spaces (see the spaces on each side of the protrusion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the massage head of Hu to include the protruding part as taught by Xhao so as to provide a well-known connection between two structures for facilitating installation (see translation [0032] of Xhao).
With respect to claim 20, the modified Hu shows all the elements as claimed above but is silent regarding a tubular extending part protrudes from the side of the massage head toward the base, the extending part is staggered from a protruding part formed on the surface of the base in a direction perpendicular to the driving shaft; the massage head in a rotating state is staggered from the protruding part in a direction parallel to the driving shaft.
However, Xhao teaches a massage device (1, fig 1) comprising a massage head (2, fig 2) wherein a tubular extending part (shaft in massage head 2 that contains hole 23 in fig 4) protrudes from the side of the massage head facing a base (16, fig 3; note the protruding part extends from a cavity in the head toward the base figs 3-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the massage head of Hu to include the protruding part as taught by Xhao so as to provide a well-known connection between two structures for facilitating installation (see translation [0032] of Xhao).
Claim(s) 9 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu and Xhao as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Chen (2012/0010544).
With respect to claim 9 and 15, the modified Chen shows the massage head is provided with a plurality of massage protrusions (see multiple protrusions on 30 in fig 6), but lacks a number of penetrating heat-permeable holes arranged through the massage head to communicate the first cavity with an external environment of the massage head; there are no penetrating heat-permeable holes at the top of any massage protrusion.
However, Chen teaches a massage device (10, fig 2) comprising massage heads (14/15, fig 2) a number of penetrating heat-permeable holes (see holes at the top of 14/15 in fig 2) arranged through the massage head to communicate the first cavity with an external environment of the massage head (see [0013]); there are no penetrating heat-permeable holes at the top of any massage protrusion (see the lack of holes on the protrusions 16/17 in fig 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the massage head of Hu to include heat permeable holes as taught by Chen so as to allow heat escape from the head to prevent overheating.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-6 allowed.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Annotated fig 4 of Chen
Annotated fig 8 of Chen
Chen discloses a massage device (20, fig 1), comprising a base(22, fig 2); a driving module (24-31, fig 4), which is mounted on the base (see fig 4); a massage head (30, fig 4), which is connected to the driving module so as to be driven by the driving module to rotate relative to the base (see fig 4 and pg. 7 of translation), wherein a side of the massage head away from the base is provided with a massage protrusion (see protrusion on 30 in fig 6), and a first cavity (see annotated fig 8 of Chen) is formed on a side of the massage head facing the base; an enclosure (see fig 4 where the components are inside the space formed by 22 and 23), which is arranged on the base and located between the base and the massage head (see fig 4), a second cavity in communication with the first cavity is formed in the enclosure, and the second cavity and the first cavity jointly form a heating chamber (see annotated fig 4); and a heating module (34/35, fig 8), which is accommodated in the heating chamber and fixed relative to the base (see figs 4 and 8), and is configured to provide thermotherapy from the massage device (see pg. 8 of translation).
However, Chen fails to disclose a free end of the enclosure away from the base extends into the first cavity, and an outer wall of the free end is arranged close to an inner wall of the massage head, there is a gap between the outer wall of the free end of the enclosure and the inner wall of the massage head and to modify would be improper hindsight.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/02/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues on pg. 18 that "the existence of a heat-generating lights does not necessarily establish that the lights heat air within the claimed first cavity." This is not persuasive since the heat-emitting lights produce heat and are within the cavity and thus would heat the air around them, i.e. the air in the cavity..
The arguments to the newly added claim limitations in claims 7-20 have been addressed in the above rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KELSEY E BALLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TU A VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785