DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "driving module" and "heating module" in claim 1 and “driving module” “power assembly” and “heating module” in claims 7 and 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5, 8-9, 11, 15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 4, lines 1-2 the limitation “a plurality of massage protrusions” is unclear if this is the same protrusions or additional to the ones claimed in claim 1.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the top of the foam" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In claim 8, line 3 the limitation “one end of a supporting rib” is unclear if this is referring to one of the plurality of supporting ribs or each one of the plurality of supporting ribs.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the top of any" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In claim 9, lines 1-2 the limitation “a plurality of massage protrusions” is unclear if this is the same massage protrusion in claim 1 or additional protrusions.
In claim 9, lines 4-5 the limitation “any massage protrusion” is unclear which massage protrusion is being referred to, the plurality in claim 9 or the protrusion in claim 1.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the top of the foam" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the top of any" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In claim 15, lines 1-2 the limitation “a plurality of massage protrusions” is unclear if this is the same massage protrusion in claim 7 or additional protrusions.
In claim 15, lines 4-5 the limitation “any massage protrusion” is unclear which massage protrusion is being referred to, the plurality in claim 15 or the protrusion in claim 7.
In claim 18, line 3 the limitation “one end of a supporting rib” is unclear if this is referring to one of the plurality of supporting ribs or each one of the plurality of supporting ribs.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the other end of the supporting rib" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the top" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the direction perpendicular" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the direction parallel" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,911,334.
Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from one another. The application claims are broader in at least one aspect and also recite additional features not claimed in the patent claims.
For claim 1:
Regarding the broadening aspect of the application claims, the following comparison between the patent claims and the application claims highlights (see underlined features in the patent claims) what elements have been excluded in the presentation of the application claims.
Patent Claim 1
Application Claim 1
A massage device, comprising:
a base;
a driving module, which is mounted on the base;
a massage head, which is connected to the driving module so as to be driven by the driving module to rotate relative to the base, wherein a side of the massage head away from the base is provided with a massage protrusion, and
a first cavity is formed on a side of the massage head facing the base;
an enclosure, which is arranged on the base and located between the base and the massage head, wherein a free end of the enclosure away from the base extends into the first cavity, and an outer wall of the free end is arranged close to an inner wall of the massage head, a gap between the outer wall of the free end of the enclosure and the inner wall of the massage head is within 3 millimeters,
a second cavity in communication with the first cavity is formed in the enclosure, and the second cavity and the first cavity jointly form a heating chamber; and
a heating module, which is accommodated in the heating chamber and fixed relative to the base, and is configured to provide thermotherapy from the massage device.
A massage device, comprising:
a base;
a driving module, which is mounted on the base;
a massage head, which is connected to the driving module so as to be driven by the driving module to rotate relative to the base, wherein a side of the massage head away from the base is provided with a massage protrusion, and
a first cavity is formed on a side of the massage head facing the base;
an enclosure, which is arranged on the base and located between the base and the massage head, wherein a free end of the enclosure away from the base extends into the first cavity, and an outer wall of the free end is arranged close to an inner wall of the massage head, there is a gap between the outer wall of the free end of the enclosure and the inner wall of the massage head,
a second cavity in communication with the first cavity is formed in the enclosure, and the second cavity and the first cavity jointly form a heating chamber; and
a heating module, which is accommodated in the heating chamber and fixed relative to the base, and is configured to provide thermotherapy from the massage device.
Thus, it is apparent, for the broadening aspect, that patent claim 1 includes features that are not in application claim 1. Following the rationale in In re Goodman, cited above, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific or narrower invention, applicant may not then obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer. Since application claim 1 is anticipated by patent claim 1, with respect to the broadening aspect, and since anticipation is the epitome of obviousness, then application claim 1 is obvious over patent claim 1 with respect to the broadening aspect.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,911,334.
Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from one another. The application claims are broader in at least one aspect and also recite additional features not claimed in the patent claims.
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,911,334.
Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from one another. The application claims are broader in at least one aspect and also recite additional features not claimed in the patent claims.
Patent Claim 7
Application Claim 14
A massage device, comprising:
a base;
a driving module, which is mounted on the base; the driving module comprises a driving shaft; and the massage head is connected to the driving shaft so as to be driven by the driving shaft to rotate relative to the base
a massage head, which is connected to the driving module so as to be driven by the driving module to rotate relative to the base, wherein a side of the massage head away from the base is provided with a massage protrusion, and a first cavity is formed on a side of the massage head facing the base;
an enclosure, which is arranged on the base and located between the base and the massage head, wherein a free end of the enclosure away from the base extends into the first cavity, and an outer wall of the free end is arranged close to an inner wall of the massage head, a gap between the outer wall of the free end of the enclosure and the inner wall of the massage head is within 3 millimeters,
a second cavity in communication with the first cavity is formed in the enclosure, and the second cavity and the first cavity jointly form a heating chamber; and
a heating module, which is accommodated in the heating chamber and fixed relative to the base, and is configured to provide thermotherapy from the massage device.
A massage device, comprising:
a base;
a driving module, comprises a power assembly accommodated in the accommodating cavity and a driving shaft connected to the power assembly;
a massage head, connected to the driving shaft so as to be driven by the power assembly to rotate relative to the base, wherein a side of the massage head away from the base is provided with a massage protrusion, and a first cavity is formed on a side of the massage head facing the base; and
a heating module, fixed relative to the base and located between the base and the massage head, wherein the heating module is configured to generate heat when energized to heat the air in the first cavity, so as to provide thermotherapy from the massage device to a part of a user’s body.
Thus, it is apparent, for the broadening aspect, that patent claim 7 includes features that are not in application claim 14. Following the rationale in In re Goodman, cited above, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific or narrower invention, applicant may not then obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer. Since application claim 14 is anticipated by patent claim 7, with respect to the broadening aspect, and since anticipation is the epitome of obviousness, then application claim 14 is obvious over patent claim 7 with respect to the broadening aspect.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7-8, 10-11, 14, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hu (CN211132037).
With respect to claim 7, Hu discloses a massage device (1, fig 1), comprising: a base (11, fig 4), provided with an accommodating cavity (114/115, fig 4 and see fig 2 where the internal components are within 11), a driving module (transmission component; 3, fig 2), mounted on the base (see fig 2), wherein the driving module comprises a power assembly (23, fig 2) accommodated in the accommodating cavity (see 23 attachment to 21in the cavity in fig 2) and a driving shaft (36, fig 8); a massage head (5, fig 6), connected to the driving shaft (see fig 6) so as to be driven to rotate relative to the base (see translation [0033-35]), wherein a side of the massage head away from the base is provided with a massage protrusion (see protrusion on 5 in fig 6), and a first cavity (note the space in 5 where elements 36 and 4 are accommodated) is formed on a side of the massage head facing the base; a supporting part (121, fig 6), fixed to the base and at least partially accommodated in the first cavity (see fig 6 and [0037]); a heating module (lamp; 43, fig 6), heat air in the first cavity (see fig 6), and is configured to provide thermotherapy from the massage device (see [0035-36]).
With respect to claim 8, Hu discloses the supporting part comprises a plurality of supporting ribs (see ribs extending from 122 in fig 5) and a fitting seat (122, fig 5); one end of a supporting rib is fixed to the base, the other end of the supporting rib extends toward the massage head, the fitting seat is carried by and fixed to the supporting ribs; and the heating module is fixed to the fitting seat (see fig 6 and [0033 and 37]).
With respect to claim 10, Hu discloses an extending part (362, fig 4) is formed on the side of the massage head toward the base, the extending part extends to the top of the massage protrusion, dividing the massage protrusion into two independent spaces (note the extension extends into 5 and would separate into multiple spaces).
With respect to claim 11, Hu discloses an extending part (362, fig 4) is formed on the side of the massage head toward the base, the diameter of the circle projected by the extending part on the base is smaller than the diameter of the maximum circle projected by the massage head in a rotating state on the base (the diameter of 362 is smaller than that of 5; see fig 6).
With respect to claim 14, Hu discloses a massage device (1, fig 1), comprising: a base (11, fig 4), provided with an accommodating cavity (114/115, fig 4 and see fig 2 where the internal components are within 11), a driving module (transmission component; 3, fig 2), mounted on the base (see fig 2), wherein the driving module comprises a power assembly (23, fig 2) accommodated in the accommodating cavity (see 23 attachment to 21in the cavity in fig 2) and a driving shaft (36, fig 8); a massage head (5, fig 6), connected to the driving shaft (see fig 6) so as to be driven to rotate relative to the base (see translation [0033-35]), wherein a side of the massage head away from the base is provided with a massage protrusion (see protrusion on 5 in fig 6), and a first cavity (note the space in 5 where elements 36 and 4 are accommodated) is formed on a side of the massage head facing the base; a heating module (lamp; 43, fig 6), heat air in the first cavity (see fig 6), and is configured to provide thermotherapy from the massage device (see [0035-36])
With respect to claim 16, Hu discloses an enclosure (see space formed by 121, 122 in fig 5), which is arranged on the base (see location on base 11 and mating portion 12 fig 6), a second cavity (space formed by enclosure in fig 6) in communication with the first cavity is formed in the enclosure, and the second cavity and the first cavity jointly form a heating chamber (see 4 between 5 and enclosure as described in fig 6); and the heating module (4, fig 6), which is mounted in the enclosure (see fig 6), and configured to generate heat when energized to heat the air in the heating chamber (see [0035-36]).
With respect to claim 17, Hu discloses a supporting part (121, fig 6), fixed to the base and at least partially accommodated in the first cavity (see fig 6 and [0037]) and the heating module is mounted on the supporting part (see fig 6).
With respect to claim 18, Hu discloses the supporting part comprises a plurality of supporting ribs (see ribs extending from 122 in fig 5) and a fitting seat (122, fig 5); one end of a supporting rib is fixed to the base, the other end of the supporting rib extends toward the massage head, the fitting seat is carried by and fixed to the supporting ribs; and the heating module is fixed to the fitting seat (see fig 6 and [0033 and 37]).
With respect to claim 19, Hu discloses an extending part (362, fig 4) is formed on the side of the massage head toward the base, the extending part extends to the top of the massage protrusion, dividing the massage protrusion into two independent spaces (note the extension extends into 5 and would separate into multiple spaces).
With respect to claim 20, Hu discloses an extending part (362, fig 4) is formed on the side of the massage head toward the base, the extending part is staggered from a protruding part (see protrusion from motor 21 in figs 1-2) formed on the surface of the base in the direction perpendicular to the driving shaft (see protrusion perpendicular to 36 in fig 2); the massage head in a rotating state is staggered from the protruding part in the direction parallel to the driving shaft (see the massage head 5 staggered from protruding part and rotating parallel to 36 in figs 2 and 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu in view of Xhao (CN209075395).
With respect to claim 12, Hu shows all the elements as claimed above but lacks the massage device further comprises a foam with a boat shaped structure, the top of the foam is formed with a storage groove adapted to the base, and the base is installed in the storage groove.
However, Xhao teaches a massage device (1, fig 1) comprising a foam (foam seat; 3, fig 2) with a boat shaped structure (see the shape of 3 is a boat shape), the top of the foam is formed with a storage groove (31, fig 2) adapted to a base, and the base is installed in the storage groove (see fig 1 with the base attached in 31; see translation [0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Chen to include a foam seat as taught by Xhao so as to improve comfort of use (see [0033] of translation).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu in view of Chen (CN209075395).
With respect to claim 13, the modified Chen shows the massage device further comprises flexible materials (10, fig 1) which wrap around the massage device (see fig 7 where the belt wraps around the device to hold in place).
Claim(s) 9 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu and Xhao as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Chen (2012/0010544).
With respect to claim 9 and 15, the modified Chen shows the massage head is provided with a plurality of massage protrusions (see multiple protrusions on 30 in fig 6), but lacks a number of penetrating heat-permeable holes arranged through the massage head to communicate the first cavity with an external environment of the massage head; there are no penetrating heat-permeable holes at the top of any massage protrusion.
However, Chen teaches a massage device (10, fig 2) comprising massage heads (14/15, fig 2) a number of penetrating heat-permeable holes (see holes at the top of 14/15 in fig 2) arranged through the massage head to communicate the first cavity with an external environment of the massage head (see [0013]); there are no penetrating heat-permeable holes at the top of any massage protrusion (see the lack of holes on the protrusions 16/17 in fig 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the massage head of Hu to include heat permeable holes as taught by Chen so as to allow heat escape from the head to prevent overheating.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-6 allowed.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Annotated fig 4 of Chen
Annotated fig 8 of Chen
Chen discloses a massage device (20, fig 1), comprising a base(22, fig 2); a driving module (24-31, fig 4), which is mounted on the base (see fig 4); a massage head (30, fig 4), which is connected to the driving module so as to be driven by the driving module to rotate relative to the base (see fig 4 and pg. 7 of translation), wherein a side of the massage head away from the base is provided with a massage protrusion (see protrusion on 30 in fig 6), and a first cavity (see annotated fig 8 of Chen) is formed on a side of the massage head facing the base; an enclosure (see fig 4 where the components are inside the space formed by 22 and 23), which is arranged on the base and located between the base and the massage head (see fig 4), a second cavity in communication with the first cavity is formed in the enclosure, and the second cavity and the first cavity jointly form a heating chamber (see annotated fig 4); and a heating module (34/35, fig 8), which is accommodated in the heating chamber and fixed relative to the base (see figs 4 and 8), and is configured to provide thermotherapy from the massage device (see pg. 8 of translation).
However, Chen fails to disclose a free end of the enclosure away from the base extends into the first cavity, and an outer wall of the free end is arranged close to an inner wall of the massage head, there is a gap between the outer wall of the free end of the enclosure and the inner wall of the massage head and to modify would be improper hindsight.
Conclusion
/KELSEY E BALLER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TU A VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785