Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 8-9 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 8 and claim 17 recite the limitation “the third opening”, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitations. For the purpose of the examination, the limitation “the third opening” is interpreted as “a third opening”. Claims 9 and 18 is rejected as being dependent upon rejected base claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1, 8-10, and 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LU (US 20210397806 A1).
Regarding claim 1, LU (e.g., Figs. 1-13; Figs. 3 and 7 are reproduced for reference) discloses a display panel comprising:
a first display region (e.g., Figs. 1, 3, and 7; display region denoted as DA1);
a component region (e.g., Figs. 1, 3, and 7; an optical imaging region 502 and a display region denoted as DA2 surrounding the optical imaging region 502) surrounded by the first display region (display region DA1), wherein the component region comprises at least one transmission region and at least one second display region (optical imaging region 502 surrounded by display region DA2), and one of the at least one transmission region (optical imaging region 502) is arranged to correspond to an external photosensitive device (e.g., Figs. 2, 6, and 9; optical imaging sensor 800) surrounded by the at least one second display region (display region DA2) between the one of the at least one transmission region (optical imaging region 502) and the first display region (display region DA1);
one or more sub-pixels (sub-pixels R, G, and B) disposed in each of the first display region (display region DA1) and the second display region (display region DA2), wherein the one or more sub-pixels in each of the first display region and the second display region include red sub- pixels, green sub-pixels, and blue sub-pixels (e.g., Figs. 1, 3, and 7; display region DA1 and display region DA2 including sub-pixels R, G, and B), the red sub- pixels in the first display region are arranged in a same red pixel arrangement as that in the second display region, the green sub-pixels in the first display region are arranged in a same green pixel arrangement as that in the second display region, and the blue sub-pixels in the first display region are arranged in a same blue pixel arrangement as that in the second display region (e.g., Figs. 1, 3, and 7; sub-pixels R, G, and B have same arrangements in display region DA1 and display region DA1);
a black matrix layer (e.g., Figs. 2-3, 6, and 9; black matrix layer 510; [0042]) disposed in the first and second display regions (display region DA1 and display region DA2) and not disposed in the light transmission region (optical imaging region 502), wherein the black matrix layer comprises first openings respectively overlapping the one or more sub-pixels in the first display region and the one or more sub-pixels in the second display region and one or more second openings without overlapping the one or more sub-pixels in each of the first display region and the second display region (e.g., Figs. 2-3, 6, and 9; the black matrix layer 510 comprises first openings corresponding to color filters 520 and overlapping the R, G, and B sub-pixels in the first display region D1 and the second display region D2, the black matrix layer 510 comprises second opening corresponding to the imaging region 502 and the optical sensor 800, which does not overlap any R,G, and B subpixels); and
touch wires (touch electrodes 910) disposed in the first display region and the second display region (display region DA1 and display region DA2), and surrounding at least one of the first openings and respective ones of the second openings (e.g., Fig. 7; touch electrodes 910 surrounding first opening corresponding to the color filters 520 and the R, G, and B sub-pixels and second opening corresponding to the imaging region 502 and the optical sensor 800).
Regarding claim 8, LU (e.g., Figs. 1-13) discloses the display panel of claim 1, further comprising: a substrate (e.g., Fig. 6; substrate 110); a light-emitting layer (e.g., Fig. 6; light-emitting layer 300) disposed on the substrate (substrate 110) and comprising the one or more sub-pixels (R, G, and B sub-pixels) in each of the first display region and the second display region (display region DA1 and display region DA2); the touch wire (e.g., Fig. 6; touch electrode 910) disposed on the light-emitting layer (light-emitting layer 300); the black matrix layer (e.g., Fig. 6; black matrix layer 512) disposed on the light-emitting layer (light-emitting layer 300) and covering the touch wire (touch electrode 910); and a metal layer (e.g., Fig. 6; metal layer 213; [0030]) disposed between the light-emitting layer (light-emitting layer 300) and the substrate (substrate 110), wherein the metal layer at least partially overlaps the third opening (e.g., Fig. 6; metal layer 213 partially overlapping an opening formed by adjacent light emitting elements 350).
Regarding claim 9, LU (e.g., Figs. 1-13) discloses the display panel of claim 8, wherein the metal layer (e.g., Fig. 6; metal layer 213) comprises at least one of a plurality of conductive film layers ([0030]) between the substrate (substrate 110) and the black matrix layer (black matrix layer 512).
Regarding claim 10, LU (e.g., Figs. 1-13; Figs. 3 and 7 are reproduced for reference) discloses a display device comprising a photosensitive device (optical sensor 800) and a display panel (display panel 100), wherein the display panel comprises:
a first display region (e.g., Figs. 1, 3, and 7; display region denoted as DA1);
a component region (e.g., Figs. 1, 3, and 7; an optical imaging region 502 and a display region denoted as DA2 surrounding the optical imaging region 502) surrounded by the first display region (display region DA1), wherein the component region comprises at least one transmission region and at least one second display region (optical imaging region 502 surrounded by display region DA2), one of the at least one transmission region (optical imaging region 502) is transparent and surrounded by the at least one second display region (display region DA2) between the one of the at least one transmission region (optical imaging region 502) and the first display region (display region DA1), and the photosensitive device (e.g., Figs. 2, 6, and 9; optical imaging sensor 800) is disposed under the display panel in the one of the at least one transmission region (optical imaging region 502);
one or more sub-pixels (sub-pixels R, G, and B) disposed in each of the first display region (display region DA1) and the second display region (display region DA2), wherein the one or more sub-pixels in each of the first display region and the second display region include sub- pixels, green sub-pixels, and blue sub-pixels (e.g., Figs. 1, 3, and 7; display region DA1 and display region DA2 including sub-pixels R, G, and B), the red sub- pixels in the first display region are arranged in a same red pixel arrangement as that in the second display region, the green sub-pixels in the first display region are arranged in a same green pixel arrangement as that in the second display region, and the blue sub-pixels in the first display region are arranged in a same blue pixel arrangement as that in the second display region (e.g., Figs. 1, 3, and 7; sub-pixels R, G, and B have same arrangements in display region DA1 and display region DA1);
a black matrix layer disposed (e.g., Figs. 2-3, 6, and 9; black matrix layer 510; [0042]) disposed in the first and second display regions (display region DA1 and display region DA2) and not disposed in the light transmission region (optical imaging region 502), wherein the black matrix layer comprises first openings respectively overlapping the one or more sub-pixels in the first display region and the one or more sub-pixels in the second display region and one or more second openings without overlapping the one or more sub-pixels in each of the first display region and the second display region (e.g., Figs. 2-3, 6, and 9; the black matrix layer 510 comprises first openings corresponding to color filters 520 and overlapping the R, G, and B sub-pixels in the first display region D1 and the second display region D2, the black matrix layer 510 comprises second opening corresponding to the imaging region 502 and the optical sensor 800, which does not overlap any R,G, and B subpixels); and
touch wires (touch electrodes 910) disposed in the first display region and the second display region (display region DA1 and display region DA2), and surrounding respective ones of the first openings and respective ones of the second openings (e.g., Fig. 7; touch electrodes 910 surrounding first opening corresponding to the color filters 520 and the R, G, and B sub-pixels and second opening corresponding to the imaging region 502 and the optical sensor 800).
Regarding claim 17, LU (e.g., Figs. 1-13) discloses the display device of claim 10, wherein the display panel further comprising: a substrate(e.g., Fig. 6; substrate 110); a light-emitting layer (e.g., Fig. 6; light-emitting layer 300) disposed on the substrate (substrate 110) and comprising the one or more sub-pixels in the first display region and the one or more sub-pixels in the second display region (R, G, and B sub-pixels in display region DA1 and display region DA2); the touch wire (e.g., Fig. 6; touch electrode 910) disposed on the light-emitting layer (light-emitting layer 300); the black matrix layer (e.g., Fig. 6; black matrix layer 512) disposed on the light-emitting layer (light-emitting layer 300) and covering the touch wire (touch electrode 910); and a metal layer (e.g., Fig. 6; metal layer 213; [0030]) disposed between the light-emitting layer (light-emitting layer 300) and the substrate (substrate 110), wherein the metal layer at least partially overlaps the third opening (e.g., Fig. 6; metal layer 213 partially overlapping an opening formed by adjacent light emitting elements 350).
Regarding claim 18, LU (e.g., Figs. 1-13) discloses the display device of claim 17, wherein the metal layer (e.g., Fig. 6; metal layer 213) comprises at least one of a plurality of conductive film layers ([0030]) between the substrate (substrate 110) and the black matrix layer (black matrix layer 512).
Regarding claim 19, LU (e.g., Figs. 1-13; Figs. 3 and 7 are reproduced for reference) discloses a display panel comprising:
a first display region (e.g., Figs. 1, 3, and 7; display region denoted as DA1);
a component region (e.g., Figs. 1, 3, and 7; an optical imaging region 502 and a display region denoted as DA2 surrounding the optical imaging region 502) surrounded by the first display region (display region DA1), wherein the component region comprises at least one transmission region and at least one second display region surrounding the transmission region (optical imaging region 502 surrounded by display region DA2) and the at least one transmission region is transparent (transparent optical imaging region 502);
one or more sub-pixels (sub-pixels R, G, and B) disposed in each of the first display region (display region DA1) and the second display region (display region DA2), wherein the one or more sub-pixels in each of the first display region and the second display region include red sub- pixels, green sub-pixels, and blue sub-pixels (e.g., Figs. 1, 3, and 7; display region DA1 and display region DA2 including sub-pixels R, G, and B), the red sub- pixels in the first display region are arranged in a same red pixel arrangement as that in the second display region, the green sub-pixels in the first display region are arranged in a same green pixel arrangement as that in the second display region, and the blue sub-pixels in the first display region are arranged in a same blue pixel arrangement as that in the second display region (e.g., Figs. 1, 3, and 7; sub-pixels R, G, and B have same arrangements in display region DA1 and display region DA1);
a black matrix layer (e.g., Figs. 2-3, 6, and 9; black matrix layer 510; [0042]) disposed in the first and second display regions (display region DA1 and display region DA2) and not disposed in the light transmission region (optical imaging region 502), wherein the black matrix layer comprises first openings respectively overlapping the one or more sub-pixels in each of the first display region and the second display region and one or more second openings spaced apart from the first openings, wherein sub-pixels of the display panel including the one or more sub-pixels in each of the first display region and the second display region all are disposed outside the second opening in a plan view of the display panel (e.g., Figs. 2-3, 6, and 9; the black matrix layer 510 comprises first openings corresponding to color filters 520 and overlapping the R, G, and B sub-pixels in the first display region D1 and the second display region D2, the black matrix layer 510 comprises second opening corresponding to the imaging region 502 and the optical sensor 800, which does not overlap any R,G, and B subpixels); and
touch wires (touch electrodes 910) disposed in the first display region and the second display region (display region DA1 and display region DA2), and surrounding respective ones of the first openings and respective ones of the second openings (e.g., Fig. 7; touch electrodes 910 surrounding first opening corresponding to the color filters 520 and the R, G, and B sub-pixels and second opening corresponding to the imaging region 502 and the optical sensor 800).
7. Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over LU (US 20210397806 A1) in view of Jeon (US 20230022216 A1).
Regarding claim 2 and claim 11, LU (e.g., Figs. 1-13) discloses the display panel of claim 1 and the display device of claim 10, but does not disclose wherein each of the one or more sub-pixels has a circular shape. However, Jeon (e.g., Figs. 1 and 7) discloses a display device, wherein each of the one or more sub-pixels has a circular shape (e.g., Fig. 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Jeon to the display panel of LU because it has been held that design and fabrication of display pixels in different shapes that does not modify the operation of the device involves only routine skill in the art, which is not a patentable improvement In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Response to Arguments
6. Regarding claims 1, 10, and 19, applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. In view of amendments, the reference of LU (US 20210397806 A1) has been used for new ground rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 4-7, 13-16, and 20-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The present invention is directed to a touch display device including an optical sensor. The closet prior arts, LU (US 20210397806 A1), Jeon (US 20230022216 A1), Han (US 20220067340 A1), Li (CN111625121A/ US20230157094A1), individually or in combination, discloses a touch display device including an optical sensor similar to the claimed invention, but fails to teach wherein the touch wires comprises: a row touch wire extending along a first direction parallel with a row direction of the display panel; a column touch wire extending along a second direction different from the first direction: first touch wires respectively arranged to enclose more than one of the first openings corresponding to ones of the one or more sub-pixels in the first display region and the one or more sub-pixels in the second display region for emitting light of a same color and second touch wires respectively arranged to enclose the second openings between adjacent two ones of the first touch wires, and wherein the first touch wires are spaced apart from each other and are electrically connected through the row touch wire and the column touch wire and the second touch wires are spaced apart from each other and are electrically connected through the row touch wire and/or the column touch wire with the first touch wire therebetween, wherein the first touch wire and the second touch wire are electrically connected through the row touch wire and/or the column touch wire.
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623