CTNF 18/414,494 CTNF 96208 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This is the first office action on the merits and is responsive to the papers filed 01/17/2024. Claims 1-12 are currently pending and examined below. Priority Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION. —The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention . Claim 2 recites “wherein the light receiver is capturable an image covering 360 degrees around the casing in a plane orthogonal to said one direction.” However, claim 1 recites “a light receiver” in the singular, while the Specification describes 360-degree coverage as being provided by multiple light receivers, such as four ToF light receivers arranged around the casing. Thus, it is unclear whether claim 2 requires: (1) a single light receiver to capture an image covering 360 degrees around the casing, or (2) multiple light receivers, including the claimed light receiver, to collectively capture the 360-degree image. Further, the phrase “is capturable an image” is unclear and does not clearly state whether the light receiver itself captures the image, is capable of capturing the image, or is part of a plurality of light receivers that collectively capture the image. Claim 3 is also rejected due to claim dependency. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-4, 6, 8, 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Wohlgenannt et al. (US 20220414915 A1, “Wohlgenannt”) . Regarding claim 1, Wohlgenannt teaches an image-capturing device ([0013]-[0014]) comprising: a casing elongated in one direction (Wohlgenannt teaches a body/housing defining a first axis 8. Figs. 2a and 6 show the device body elongated along the first axis direction, with sensor unit 3 at the upper portion and a handle/lower portion below. Wohlgenannt [0083] states that the mobile reality capture device includes a handle portion 10 and a sensor unit 3, and that the sensor unit includes ToF cameras 30.); a light receiver on one end of the casing in said one direction (Figs. 2a and 6 show ToF cameras 30 located at the upper/sensor-unit end of the elongated device. Wohlgenannt [0098] teaches that each of the three ToF cameras 30 is configured to receive reflections of light pulses emitted by infrared laser emitters 35 and to measure distances using ToF principles.), a support on another end of the casing in said one direction (Wohlgenannt teaches the lower handle/base portion as the claimed support. Fig. 2a shows handle portion 10 below sensor unit 3. Fig. 6 shows the lower portion below the sensor unit, including internal components 13–16, supporting the sensor unit arrangement. Wohlgenannt [0083] identifies the device as including handle portion 10 and sensor unit 3.); and a light emitter between the light receiver and the support in said one direction of the casing (Fig. 6 shows ToF cameras 30 above emitters 35, and the lower support/base portion below emitters 35. Thus, along the first-axis/elongated direction, emitters 35 are between the ToF cameras/light receivers 30 and the support/base. Wohlgenannt [0098] teaches that each ToF camera 30 is surrounded by infrared laser emitters 35. [0099] further teaches that emitters 35 may be passive emitters, laser diodes, or VCSEL arrays.), to emit patterned light to a target object (Wohlgenannt [0101] teaches that some or all emitters 35 may be configured to project constant light patterns into the surrounding so that only a subset of ToF sensor pixels receives range information from reflections of light emitted by emitters 35. Wohlgenannt [0102] further teaches that emitters 35 may project light patterns through a diffractive/refractive grating or mesh.), wherein the light receiver receives the patterned light reflected from the target object (Wohlgenannt teaches the ToF cameras 30 receive reflected light emitted by emitters 35. In particular, [0098] teaches that the ToF cameras 30 receive reflections of light pulses emitted by infrared laser emitters 35. [0101] further ties the patterned light to the ToF sensor by stating that the ToF sensor receives range information from the reflection of the light emitted by these emitters 35.). Regarding claim 2, Wohlgenannt teaches the image-capturing device according to claim 1, wherein the light receiver is capturable an image covering 360 degrees around the casing in a plane orthogonal to said one direction (this limitation is interpreted as requiring the light-receiver arrangement, including the claimed light receiver, to collectively capture an image covering 360 degrees around the casing, Wohlgenannt teaches or suggests the limitation because Wohlgenannt discloses multiple ToF cameras 30 arranged around first axis 8, wherein the cameras are positioned and configured to cover a visual field around the first axis, particularly a full 360-degree panorama. Wohlgenannt ’s Figs. 2a and 6 show ToF cameras 30 located at the upper end of the elongated device body/sensor unit [0072], [0112].). Regarding claim 3, Wohlgenannt teaches the image-capturing device according to claim 2, further comprising: multiple light emitters including the light emitter ([0098] states that each of the three ToF cameras 30 is surrounded by three infrared laser emitters 35. [0099] further explains that emitters 35 may be passive emitters, laser diodes, or VCSEL arrays).; and multiple light receivers including the light receiver ([0098] discloses three ToF cameras 30, each configured to receive reflections of light pulses emitted by infrared laser emitters 35 and measure distances using ToF principles. Wohlgenannt also teaches the three ToF cameras 30 are arranged around the housing of the sensor unit 3 [0094].), wherein the multiple light emitters are around the casing in a first plane orthogonal to said one direction (Fig. 5a shows multiple emitters 35 disposed circumferentially around the sensor unit/housing, and [0098] states each ToF camera 30 is surrounded by multiple infrared laser emitters 35. Fig. 6 shows the emitters 35 in a common lower axial level/band around the sensor unit, below the ToF cameras 30. Because Wohlgenannt ’s body defines first axis 8, the circumferential band of emitters around the housing corresponds to a plane orthogonal to the first-axis/elongated direction. See also, Fig. 5a), and the multiple light receivers are around the casing in a second plane different from the first plane in said one direction and orthogonal to said one direction (Wohlgenannt [0018] teaches three ToF cameras 30 arranged around the housing of sensor unit 3 at equal distances, i.e., 120° from each other. Fig. 6 shows ToF cameras 30 positioned in an upper axial level/band, while emitters 35 are positioned in a lower axial level/band. Thus, the ToF cameras/light receivers 30 are around the casing in a second plane different from the emitter plane along first axis 8. See also, Fig. 5a). Regarding claim 4, Wohlgenannt teaches the image-capturing device according to claim 1, wherein the light receiver has a blind spot ([0073], [0105] discuss gaps in the combined field of view of the ToF cameras 30 and states that some gaps are acceptable in a mobile device, while the number and size of gaps should be small. A gap in the combined field of view of the ToF cameras corresponds to a non-captured/blind region of the light receiver arrangement.) in a non-image capturing area ([0051] states that the ToF cameras may be arranged around the first axis so that no light pulses are emitted into the direction of the user holding the device, where that direction is defined by the position of the handle portion relative to the first axis.) covering the light emitter and the support (Fig. 6 shows ToF cameras/light receivers 30 above laser emitters 35, with the lower support/base portion below the emitters. Thus, the region below/behind the ToF camera field that is associated with the emitters 35 and the lower support/base is a region where direct capture is avoided or excluded. Wohlgenannt [0105] also teaches arranging sensor arrays to receive reflections only from laser emitters of the same ToF camera and not from other emitters, with as few overlaps as possible, which supports excluding/cut-off regions around emitters/support to avoid undesired light reception.). Regarding claim 6, Wohlgenannt teaches the image-capturing device according to claim 1, further comprising another light receiver (Wohlgenannt teaches the sensor unit includes high-definition 2D camera 44 in addition to the ToF cameras 30. [0095] states that the interior of sensor unit 3 includes a high-definition 2D camera 44 oriented toward fisheye lens 40. Fig. 5a and Fig. 6 also show camera 44 as a separate camera from ToF cameras 30) to capture a luminance image ([0097] states that fisheye lens 40 allows camera 44 to capture images with a field of view of 360° × 190°. [0109] also identifies camera 44 as an exemplary RGB/fisheye camera sensor. A 2D/RGB camera necessarily captures image intensity/luminance information as part of the captured image data), wherein the light emitter is equal to or closer than said another light receiver relative to the light receiver in said one direction (In combination of the rejection of claim 1, Fig. 5a shows emitters 35 located immediately adjacent to and surrounding ToF cameras 30, while camera 44 is a separate central/fisheye camera. [0098] discloses that each ToF camera 30 is surrounded by three infrared laser emitters 35. Fig. 6 further shows ToF cameras 30, emitters 35, and camera 44 arranged in the sensor unit along the first-axis direction. Thus, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the emitter 35 is positioned at least as close to the ToF receiver 30 as the separate camera 44). Regarding claim 8, it is rejected for the same reason as claim 6. Regarding claim 11, Wohlgenannt teaches a distance-measuring system comprising: the image-capturing device according to claim 1(See the rejection of claim); and circuitry configured to calculate a distance to the target object ( Gennant [0068] states that ToF cameras resolve distance by measuring round-trip time or phase shift, and [0098] states that ToF cameras 30 receive reflections of light pulses emitted by infrared laser emitters 35 and measure distances to reflecting surfaces using known ToF principles. Gennant also teaches processor 16 configured to process or pre-process data, including point-cloud/image data.) based on the patterned light received by the light receiver ([0052; Fig. 6, [0115]]). Regarding claim 12, it is rejected for the same reason as claim 11 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5, 7, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wohlgenannt . Regarding claim 5, Wohlgenannt fails to explicitly teach the image-capturing device according to claim 1, wherein the casing has a step between the light emitter and the light receiver in said one direction, to form a blind spot at which the patterned light emitted from the light emitter does not directly enter the light receiver. However, Wohlgenannt in Fig. 5a shows ToF cameras/light receivers 30 and infrared laser emitters 35 mounted in spaced-apart (gap) positions on the sensor-unit housing, and Fig. 6 shows the receivers 30 located above the emitters 35 in the first-axis/elongated direction. [0098] teaches that each ToF camera 30 is surrounded by infrared laser emitters 35 and receives reflections of emitted light pulses, while [0100] teaches that the emitters 35 and ToF cameras 30 are positioned in the IR-permeable section 50 of the housing. In view of the small physical gap/offset between emitters 35 and receivers 30, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wohlgenannt by forming a casing step, shoulder, or shielding offset between the infrared laser emitter 35 and ToF light receiver 30 to o prevent direct emitted patterned light from entering the receiver and reduce optical crosstalk. Regarding claim 7, Wohlgenannt teaches the image-capturing device according to claim 6, further comprising another light emitter ([0098] states that each ToF camera 30 is surrounded by three infrared laser emitters 35. Thus, one emitter 35 may be mapped to the claim 1 patterned-light emitter, and another emitter 35 may be mapped to the claimed “another light emitter.”) to emit diffused light (Wohlgenannt [0047] teaches laser emitters configured to emit diffused infrared lighting, with ToF cameras generating intensity images based on reflected diffused infrared lighting. Wohlgenannt [0103] further teaches that, for producing intensity images, the emitters may emit diffused lighting instead of projected patterns.) with (a uniform intensity) to an entire surrounding area of the casing ([0102] teaches that other emitters 35 may emit light without a pattern, so that reflections illuminate the ToF sensor completely. [0103] teaches diffused lighting for intensity images. Wohlgenannt also teaches the ToF cameras are arranged around the first axis to provide surrounding/hemispherical capture [0104], and [0105]- [0108] teach arranging ToF cameras to reduce gaps and overlaps in the combined field of view.), wherein the light emitter is equal to or closer than said another light emitter (Fig. 5a shows emitters 35 adjacent to ToF cameras 30, and Fig. 6 shows emitters 35 arranged in the same lower axial band below ToF cameras 30. Therefore, a first emitter 35 used for patterned light and another emitter 35 used for non-pattern/diffused light are at least suggested as being equal in axial position/proximity relative to the ToF receiver 30.) and said another light receiver relative to the light receiver in said one direction (Fig. 5a shows camera 44 separate from ToF cameras 30, while emitters 35 surround/are adjacent to the ToF cameras 30. Thus, Wohlgenannt suggests the patterned-light emitter 35 is equal to or closer to the ToF receiver 30 than the separate luminance-image receiver/camera 44, especially under an arrangement where the emitter 35 is associated with its corresponding ToF camera 30.). Wohlgenannt fails to explicitly teaches the other light emitter emits diffused light with a uniform intensity. However, Wohlgenannt teaches a non-pattern/diffused illumination. In particular, Wohlgenannt [0102] teaches that other emitters 35 may emit light without a pattern, so that reflections illuminate the ToF sensor completely and further [0103] teaches diffused lighting for intensity images, where the intensity images include brightness information of the surrounding. Because diffused light is characterized by spreading illumination rather than forming sharp projected patterns, Wohlgenannt’s “diffused lighting instead of projected patterns” and “light without a pattern” teach or at least suggest uniform/even intensity illumination. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Wohlgenannt’s device with both a patterned-light emitter and another diffused/non-pattern emitter because Wohlgenannt teaches using projected light patterns for more accurate range images and using non-pattern/diffused lighting to generate complete intensity images including brightness information of the surrounding. The use of diffused lighting would have predictably provided softer, more even illumination of the scene, reduced harsh pattern artifacts, and supported intensity-image/visual-SLAM processing. Regarding claim 9, it is rejected for the same reason as claim 7 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wohlgenannt in view of Nagai et al. (US 20210373155 A1, “Nagai”) . Regarding claim 10, Wohlgenannt teaches the image-capturing device according to claim 1, further comprising: multiple light emitters (Wohlgenannt [0098] teaches that each of the three ToF cameras 30 is surrounded by three infrared laser emitters 35. Wohlgenannt Fig. 5a also shows multiple emitters 35 arranged around the sensor unit with the ToF cameras 30) including: a first light emitter to emit first light to a first light-emission range (A first one of Wohlgenannt’s infrared laser emitters 35 corresponds to the claimed first light emitter. Wohlgenannt teaches that the emitters 35 emit light pulses through the IR-permeable housing section 50 onto surfaces of the environment, and that some or all emitters 35 may project constant light patterns into the surrounding ([0100], claim 7)); and a second light emitter to emit second light to a second light-emission range (A second one of Wohlgenannt’s infrared laser emitters 35 corresponds to the claimed second light emitter. Wohlgenannt teaches multiple emitters 35 associated with the ToF cameras 30, and teaches that some or all emitters 35 may project light patterns while other emitters may emit light without a pattern [0102]. Thus, Wohlgenannt teaches separate emitters emitting light into respective surrounding ranges.), wherein the first light-emission range includes an overlapping area overlapped with the second light-emission range (Wohlgenannt [0105] states that sensor arrays should receive reflections only from emitters of the same ToF camera and not from others, and that the ToF camera sensor arrays should be arranged with as few overlaps as possible.). Wohlgenannt fails to explicitly teach a light shield, the light shield blocks at least parts of the first light and the second light, from entering the overlapping area. However, Nagai teaches a light shielding mask 322 in a patterned-light range-finding apparatus. Nagai states that the light shielding mask has openings that allow desired reflected light corresponding to the irradiation region to pass and shields undesired light corresponding to the non-irradiation region ([0050] - [0051]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wohlgenannt by providing Nagai’s light-shield/mask structure, or an equivalent baffle/aperture shield, between or in front of adjacent emitters 35 so that portions of the first and second emitted light are blocked from entering the overlapping area. The modification would reduce the overlap/crosstalk identified by Wohlgenannt and would have predictably improved ToF distance-measurement accuracy by ensuring that each ToF sensor receives reflections from its corresponding emitters rather than undesired light associated with neighboring emitters . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Naoki shinoda (US 20240175994 A1), teaches ranging system and non-transitory recording medium Bell et al. (US 20180139431 A1), teaches capturing and aligning panoramic image and depth and data Mederos et al. (US 20170186288 A1), teaches multi spectral detection device including an acoustic array, a protection system, and related methods Artonne et al. US 20150341555 A1), teaches panoramic camera Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JEMPSON NOEL whose telephone number is (571) 272-3376. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 8:00-5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yuqing Xiao can be reached on (571) 270-3603. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see https://ppair-my.uspto.gov/pair/PrivatePair. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JEMPSON NOEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3645 /YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/414,494 Page 2 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/414,494 Page 3 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/414,494 Page 4 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/414,494 Page 5 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/414,494 Page 6 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/414,494 Page 7 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/414,494 Page 8 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/414,494 Page 9 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/414,494 Page 10 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/414,494 Page 11 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/414,494 Page 12 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/414,494 Page 13 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/414,494 Page 14 Art Unit: 3645