CTNF 18/414,517 CTNF 101156 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/17/2024 was filed on the mailing date of the instant application on 01/17/2024 . The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Colgan (US 2009/284921) . Regarding claim 1 , Colgan teaches an apparatus (100, Fig. 2, [0047]) comprising: a manifold body (130 and 140 combined, Fig. 2, [0047]) including a plurality of heat transfer structures (3 of 130 and 1 of 130 and 140 combined, Fig. 2, [0047]) therein, the plurality of heat transfer structures configured to be thermally coupled to a plurality of heat generating components (112 and 113 combined, Fig. 2, [0048], [0049]); and a plurality of flow directing structures (132, Fig. 2, [0050], [0060]) within the manifold body, the plurality of flow directing structures configured to direct a first portion of a fluid flow ([0060], fluid flowing through one of the plurality of 131 of the plurality of 130) within the manifold body to a first heat transfer structure (131 of 130, Fig. 2, [0050]) of the plurality of heat transfer structures and a second portion of the fluid flow ([0060], fluid flowing through another of the plurality of 131 of the plurality of 130) within the manifold body to a second heat transfer structure (131 of another 130, Fig. 2, [0050]) of the plurality of heat transfer structures. Regarding claim 2 , Colgan teaches the manifold body is configured to be compliant under a distributed pressure load when thermally coupled to the plurality of heat generating components ([0058], [0061]). Regarding claim 3 , Colgan teaches the plurality of heat transfer structures is configured to distribute a mechanical load from a first side of the manifold body to a second side of the manifold body ([0054]). Regarding claim 4 , Colgan teaches at least one of the plurality of heat transfer structures is configured to be coupled to a first portion of at least one of the plurality of heat generating components (1 of 130 and 140 combined coupled to 112 and 113 combined, Fig. 2, [0050]). Regarding claim 5 , Colgan teaches the first portion comprises a higher heat load area of the at least one of the plurality of heat generating components (112 has higher hot spots than 113, [0048]). Regarding claim 6 , Colgan teaches the at least one of the plurality of heat generating components comprises a processor ([0048]). Regarding claim 7 , Colgan teaches the first portion of the at least one of the plurality of heat generating components comprises a core area of the at least one heat generating component ([0048], processor chips comprise at least a core). Regarding claim 8 , Colgan teaches the plurality of heat transfer structures comprises a first heat transfer structure (130 and 140 combined) and a second heat transfer structure (130), and the first heat transfer structure has a different heat transfer characteristic than the second heat transfer structure (Fig. 2, 130 and 140 combined is bigger and can transfer more heat than 130). Regarding claim 10 , Colgan teaches at least one of the plurality of flow directing structures comprises a permeable mesh ([0083]). Regarding claim 11 , Colgan teaches at least one of the plurality of flow directing structures comprises a rigid wall (132, Fig. 2, 132a and 132b are surrounded by a rigid wall). Regarding claim 12 , Colgan teaches the manifold body is configured to be directly coupled to the plurality of heat generating components ([0049]). Regarding claim 13 , Colgan teaches the plurality of heat generating components comprise a first heat generating component (112, Fig. 2) and a second heat generating component (113, Fig. 2), wherein the first heat generating component is arranged orthogonally to the second heat generating component (Fig. 2). Regarding claim 14 , Colgan teaches at least one of the plurality of flow directing structures includes an opening (132a and 132b, Fig. 2). Regarding claim 15 , Colgan teaches each of the plurality of heat generating components comprises a chip ([0048]). Regarding claim 16 , Colgan teaches a method comprising: a manifold body (130 and 140 combined, Fig. 2, [0047]) including a plurality of heat transfer structures (3 of 130 and 1 of 130 and 140 combined, Fig. 2, [0047]) therein, the plurality of heat transfer structures configured to be thermally coupled to a plurality of heat generating components (112 and 113 combined, Fig. 2, [0048], [0049]); and providing a plurality of flow directing structures (132, Fig. 2, [0050], [0060]) within the manifold body, the plurality of flow directing structures configured to direct a first portion of a fluid flow ([0060], fluid flowing through one of the plurality of 131 of the plurality of 130) within the manifold body to a first heat transfer structure (131 of 130, Fig. 2, [0050]) of the plurality of heat transfer structures and a second portion of the fluid flow ([0060], fluid flowing through another of the plurality of 131 of the plurality of 130) within the manifold body to a second heat transfer structure (131 of another 130, Fig. 2, [0050]) of the plurality of heat transfer structures. Regarding claim 17 , Colgan teaches the manifold body is configured to be compliant under a distributed pressure load when thermally coupled to the plurality of heat generating components ([0058], [0061]). Regarding claim 18 , Colgan teaches at least one of the plurality of heat transfer structures is configured to be coupled to a first portion of at least one of the plurality of heat generating components (1 of 130 and 140 combined coupled to 112 and 113 combined, Fig. 2, [0050]). Regarding claim 19 , Colgan teaches the first portion comprises a higher heat load area of the at least one of the plurality of heat generating components (112 has higher hot spots than 113, [0048]). Regarding claim 20 , Colgan teaches the plurality of heat transfer structures comprise a first heat transfer structure (130 and 140 combined) and a second heat transfer structure (130), and the first heat transfer structure has a different heat transfer characteristic than the second heat transfer structure (Fig. 2, 130 and 140 combined is bigger and can transfer more heat than 130) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colgan (US 2009/284921) . Regarding claim 9 , Colgan (Fig. 2 embodiment) teaches the plurality of heat transfer structures comprises a first heat transfer structure (130 and 140 combined) and a second heat transfer structure (130). Colgan (Fig. 2 embodiment) does not teach the first heat transfer structure has a different pressure drop characteristic than the second heat transfer structure. However , Colgan (Fig. 7A embodiment) teaches it is desirable that the total pressure drop of the cooling fluid over the cache chip is less than that over the processor chip ([0080]). Therefore , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the manifold body (Fig. 2) to modify the total pressure drop of the cooling fluid over the cache chip (113) to be less than that over the processor chip (112) because Colgan teaches it is desirable ([0080]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to An Bach Phan whose telephone number is (571)272-7244. The examiner can normally be reached M-F, 7-3 ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Len Tran can be reached at (571)272-1184. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /A.B.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3763 /LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/414,517 Page 2 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/414,517 Page 4 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/414,517 Page 5 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/414,517 Page 6 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/414,517 Page 7 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/414,517 Page 8 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/414,517 Page 9 Art Unit: 3763