DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 6/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/16/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102(a)(1)
Claims 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McCarthy et al. (US 2021/0187830 A1, hereinafter “McCarthy”).
Regarding claim 1, McCarthy teaches an additive manufacturing system including at least two laser devices and at least two laser scanning devices (McCarthy, [0004]). The at least two laser devices include a first laser device configured to generate a first laser beam for consolidating a first portion of a solid component and a second laser device configured to generate a second laser beam for consolidating a second portion of the solid component (McCarthy, [0004]). McCarthy teaches the at least two laser scanning devices include a first laser scanning device and a second laser scanning device where the first laser scanning device is configured to selectively direct the first laser beam across a powder bed along a plurality of first hatching paths and at least one first contour path that defines a contour of the solid component (McCarthy, [0004]).
The second laser scanning device is configured to selectively direct the second laser beam across the powder bed along a plurality of second hatching paths and at least one second contour path that defines the contour of the solid component (McCarthy, [0004]). McCarthy further teaches the at least one first contour path includes a first hook extending into the plurality of second hatching paths (McCarthy, [0004]). McCarthy also teaches hooks each extend from overlapping extensions of first contour path and second contour path where a first hook extends from overlapping extension of first contour path into main portions of second hatching path, and a second hook extends from overlapping extension of second contour path into main portions of first hatching path (McCarthy, [0049]).
Therefore, the apparatus of McCarthy is the same as the currently claimed system of claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, McCarthy teaches straight extension of first hook forms a first hook angle with end of overlapping extension of first hatching paths, and straight extension of second hook forms a second hook angle with end of overlapping extension of second hatching path (McCarthy, [0050]), which corresponds to wherein the at least one second contour path includes a second hook extending along the contour of the second portion of the solid component into the at least one first contour path of claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, McCarthy teaches first hatching paths and second hatching paths at least partially overlap each other in the y-direction in an overlapping region (McCarthy, [0047]), which corresponds to wherein the plurality of first hatching paths at least partially overlap the plurality of second hatching paths of claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, McCarthy teaches first contour path and second contour path also at least partially overlap each other in the y-direction in overlapping region (McCarthy, [0047]), which corresponds to wherein the at least one first contour path at least partially overlaps the at least one second contour path of claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, McCarthy teaches laser scanning device and laser scanning device are misaligned such that first hatching paths and second hatching paths are misaligned in the x-direction and first contour path and second contour path are also misaligned in the x-direction (McCarthy, [0047]), which corresponds to wherein the at least one first contour path and the at least one second contour path are at least partially misaligned of claim 5.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, McCarthy teaches hooks each extend from overlapping extensions of first contour path and second contour path where a first hook extends from overlapping extension of first contour path into main portions of second hatching path, and a second hook extends from overlapping extension of second contour path into main portions of first hatching path (McCarthy, [0049]). McCarthy also teaches Figure 4, which shows at least one first/second contour path including an upper first/second contour path and a lower first/second contour path, the upper first/second contour path and the lower first/second contour path each including a first/second hook formed therein. Therefore, McCarthy corresponds to claims 6 and 7.
Regarding claim 8, McCarthy teaches straight extension of first hook forms a first hook angle with end of overlapping extension of first hatching paths (McCarthy, [0050]), which corresponds to wherein the first hook defines a first main portion and a first hooked portion of claim 8.
Regarding claim 10, McCarthy teaches optical detector detects a misalignment between laser devices and computing device directs controller to add hooks to first contour path and second contour path when a misalignment occurs (McCarthy, [0053]), which corresponds to further comprising: an optical detector detecting a misalignment between the first laser device and the second laser device; and a controller configured to operate the first laser scanning device to form the first hook in response to the optical detector detecting the misalignment of claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCarthy et al. (US 2021/0187830 A1, hereinafter “McCarthy”).
Regarding claim 9, McCarthy teaches hook angles may include angles from about 0-90° but may include any angle that enables hooks to operate and are determined (McCarthy, [0051]). While, McCarthy states the hook angle is 0-90°, it is unclear from where the angle is measured, however, based on Figure 4 (Examiner is including a zoomed in view of the angles), the angle is actually between 90-180°, which would overlap with the claimed range.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fe. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
/DANIELLE M. CARDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738