DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 06/08/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8, 11-12, 14-15, 19-20 have been added. Claims 21-22 have been added. Claims 3 and 7 have been canceled. Claims 1-2, 4-6 and 8-22 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 4-6 and 8-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites A1 and A2. However, per the specification only discloses an A1 signal. The acronym “A1” and “A2” should be defined for what they stand for in the claim itself. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 5-6, 8-13, 17-20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. (US 20220321294 A1) in view of Dai et al. (JP 2023532394 A) and further in view of Baek et al. (US 20240048326 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ren teaches a positioning method (method for transmitting and receiving a Sidelink-based PRS (SPRS for short), so as to locate the UE location based on Sidelink, [0161]), comprising:
transmitting, by a first user equipment, a sidelink (SL) positioning reference signal (according to the SPRS2 resource configuration information, V-UE1 sends an SPRS2 signal to V-UE2 in Slot #n, [0169]) according to a mapping rule and/or a sequence definition (SPRS2 resource configuration information includes one or a combination of: an SPRS2 resource set, SPRS2 resources, an SPRS2 time domain structure, an SPRS2 frequency domain structure, and a sequence number n of a slot for transmitting the SPRS2 to other V-UE2, [0166]; different SPRS resources may be mapped to different transmitting antenna arrays, [0208]), wherein
the mapping rule is used for determining a mapping configuration of the SL positioning reference signal (different SPRS resources may be mapped to different transmitting antenna arrays, [0208]), the SL positioning reference signal is used for determining location information of the first user equipment and/or a second user equipment (transmitting an SPRS to a second terminal through the Sidelink according to the SPRS resource configuration information, so that the second terminal performs a positioning measurement based on the SPRS, [0168]), and the second user equipment is an opposite user equipment that performs SL communication or SL positioning with the first user equipment (transmitting an SPRS to a second terminal through the Sidelink according to the SPRS resource configuration information, so that the second terminal performs a positioning measurement based on the SPRS, [0168]),
wherein the mapping rule is used for determining a time-domain mapping method of the SL positioning reference signal (Two following SPRS time domain structures are supported: Type 1 (single slot structure): AGC (including one or more OFDM symbols) is placed in the front section of a slot, GP (including one or more OFDM symbols) is placed at the end, and the number and locations of SPRSs in the middle are predefined by protocol or configured flexibly on the network side; [0198]).
However, Ren does not clearly teach the time-domain mapping method comprises: reusing the SL positioning reference signal at a second location, the second location being a location of a physical sidelink control channel (PSSCH); and sending the SL positioning reference signal on an OFDM symbol at a location after a first location, wherein the first location comprises one or more of the following: a time-domain location of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS); and a time-domain location of second stage sidelink control information (SCI).
In an analogous art, Dai teaches the time-domain mapping method comprises: reusing the SL positioning reference signal at a second location, the second location being a location of a physical sidelink control channel (PSSCH)( PRS unit 550 may use SL-PRS as sidelink reference signals (SLRs), such as SL-PSS, SL-SSS, SL-CSI-RS, SL-PTRS, which are reused for positioning. can be configured to produce As another example, PRS unit 550 may produce SL-PRS as SL channels reused for positioning (e.g., PSBCH, PSSCH, PSCCH) with or without corresponding DMRS, [0088]); and sending the SL positioning reference signal on an OFDM symbol at a location after a first location (In an OFDM symbol, PRS resources occupy consecutive PRBs. Each PRS resource consists of an RE offset, a slot offset, a symbol offset within the slot, and the number of consecutive symbols that the PRS resource may occupy within the slot. RE offset defines the starting RE offset of the first symbol within the DL-PRS resource in frequency, [0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink positioning of Ren with the prs of Dai to provide a method wherein positioning accuracy may be improved by providing UE reference points for positioning as suggested, Dai [0026].
However, Ren and Dai do not clearly teach , wherein the first location comprises one or more of the following: a time-domain location of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS); and a time-domain location of second stage sidelink control information (SCI).
In an analogous art, Baek teaches wherein the first location comprises one or more of the following: a time-domain location of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS); and a time-domain location of second stage sidelink control information (SCI)( in positioning systems using SL, an ACK/NACK signal for a PRS and positioning signaling may be transmitted along with data over a PSFCH, first stage SCI on a PSCCH, second stage SCI on a PSSCH, and/or a PSSCH, [0250]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink positioning of Ren and Dai with the sidelink positioning of Baek to provide a method to improve a UE location as suggested, Baek [0151].
Regarding claim 2, Ren as modified by Dai and Beak teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the SL positioning reference signal comprises one or more of the following: a group SL positioning reference signal, wherein the SL positioning reference signal is used for one or more groups; a zone SL positioning reference signal, wherein the SL positioning reference signal is used for one or more zones; a UE-specific SL positioning reference signal, wherein the SL positioning reference signal is used for a specific user equipment; and a cell, transmission and reception point (TRP), or road side unit (RSU) specific SL positioning reference signal, wherein the SL positioning reference signal is associated with a geographical location, and one geographical location is associated with one or more SL positioning reference signals (SPRS resource set includes at least one SPRS resource, and all SPRS resources in the SPRS resource set are associated with an antenna array of a same terminal, [0056]).
Regarding claim 4, Ren as modified by Dai and Beak teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein in a case that there are a plurality of SL positioning reference signals, and the plurality of SL positioning reference signals have partially same mapping rules and/or sequence definitions or completely same mapping rules and/or sequence definitions, the method further comprises any one of the following: sending or measuring, by the first user equipment, the plurality of SL positioning reference signals according to first indication information; expecting, by the first user equipment, no sending or measurement on the SL positioning reference signals; and determining, by the first user equipment according to a priority rule, to send or measure the SL positioning reference signals; or, wherein in a case that there are a plurality of SL positioning reference signals, and the plurality of SL positioning reference signals have a same target user equipment, if the target user equipment is a receive user equipment, the target user equipment has one or more of the following operations: measuring one SL positioning reference signal; measuring Al SL positioning reference signals according to a capability, wherein Al is not greater than the capability; and measuring A2 SL positioning reference signals according to a priority, wherein Al corresponds to the priority; or if the target user equipment is a transmit user equipment, the target user equipment has one or more of the following operations: sending one SL positioning reference signal; sending Al SL positioning reference signals according to a capability, wherein Al is not greater than the capability; and sending A2 SL positioning reference signals according to a priority, wherein Al corresponds to the priority; or, wherein in a case that there are a plurality of SL positioning reference signals, and the plurality of SL positioning reference signals are from different carriers or frequency layers, if the first user equipment is a receive user equipment, the method further comprises any one of the following: measuring, by the first user equipment, SL positioning reference signals on one carrier or frequency layer; measuring, by the first user equipment, SL positioning reference signals on B 1 carriers or frequency layers according to a capability, wherein B 1 is not greater than the capability; and measuring, by the first user equipment, SL positioning reference signals on B2 carriers or frequency layers according to a priority, wherein B2 corresponds to the priority; or if the first user equipment is a transmit user equipment, the method further comprises any one of the following: sending, by the first user equipment, SL positioning reference signals on one carrier or frequency layer; sending, by the first user equipment, SL positioning reference signals on B 1 carriers or frequency layers according to a capability, wherein B 1 is not greater than the capability; and sending, by the first user equipment, SL positioning reference signals on B2 carriers or frequency layers according to a priority, wherein B2 corresponds to the priority (For example, the V-UE1 measures the SPRS1 signal to obtain positioning measurement values, including but not limited to Received Signal Strength (RSS), Time Of Arrival (TOA), and Angle Of Arrival (AOA), [0180]).
Regarding claim 5, Ren as modified by Dai and Beak teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising any one of the following: sending or measuring, by the first user equipment, the SL positioning reference signal (For example, the V-UE1 measures the SPRS1 signal to obtain positioning measurement values, including but not limited to Received Signal Strength (RSS), Time Of Arrival (TOA), and Angle Of Arrival (AOA), Ren [0180]); expecting, by the first user equipment, no sending or measurement on the SL positioning reference signal; expecting, by the first user equipment, no sending or measurement on the plurality of SL positioning reference signals; expecting, by the first user equipment, no sending or measurement on SL positioning reference signals on a plurality of carriers or frequency layers; and determining, by the first user equipment according to a priority rule, to send or measure the SL positioning reference signal and/or the UU positioning reference signal.
Regarding claim 6, Ren as modified by Dai and Beak teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the mapping rule comprises a first time-domain mapping rule; and the first time-domain mapping rule comprises one or more of the following: a number of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols of the SL positioning reference signal (Type 1 (single slot structure): AGC (including one or more OFDM symbols) is placed in the front section of a slot, GP (including one or more OFDM symbols) is placed at the end, and the number and locations of SPRSs in the middle are predefined by protocol or configured flexibly on the network side, [0198]); a maximum number of OFDM symbols of the SL positioning reference signal; and the first OFDM symbol of the SL positioning reference signal is located on an Xth symbol in a slot, X being a positive integer.
Regarding claim 8, Ren as modified by Dai and Beak teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the mapping rule comprises a third time-domain mapping rule; and the third time-domain mapping rule comprises one or more of the following: a number of OFDM symbols of the SL positioning reference signal is fixed; a location of an OFDM symbol of the SL positioning reference signal is fixed; and a location of a start OFDM symbol of the SL positioning reference signal is fixed (For the Pattern Type A and Type B, both support the fixed RE pattern and frequency hopping RE pattern, [0209]).
Regarding claim 9, Ren as modified by Dai and Beak teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the mapping rule comprises that the first user equipment receives or sends third indication information, wherein the third indication information is used for indicating that the SL positioning reference signal is transmitted on an SL subframe and/or a UL subframe, or the third indication information is used for indicating cross-band mapping, cross-carrier mapping, or cross-frequency- layer mapping, or the third indication information comprises a number or locations of OFDM symbols (Optionally, in the SPRS time domain structure, a quantity and locations of OFDM symbols occupied by the SPRS in time domain are predefined by protocol or configured on a network side, [0282]).
Regarding claim 10, Ren as modified by Dai and Beak teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the mapping rule comprises: mapping the SL positioning reference signal to a UL subframe; or, wherein the mapping rule comprises a first power mapping rule; and the first power mapping rule comprises one or more of the following: the SL positioning reference signal is obtained by multiplying a first sequence by a first power coefficient; a transmit power of the SL positioning reference signal is less than a maximum predefined power; the transmit power of the SL positioning reference signal is a fixed value; and the transmit power of the SL positioning reference signal is as follows:+ 101og10(2"s-prs- PL, wherein Po,s-prs,as-prs is a power adjustment parameter of the SL positioning reference signal, is a number of resource blocks (RBs) of the SL positioning reference signal, and PL is a path loss of a power reference signal, wherein the power reference signal comprises one or more of the following: a synchronization signal block (SS block) and/or a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block corresponding to a master information block (MIB); an RS used for determining a transmit power of a PUSCH scheduled by a DCI format 0_0;a predefined reference signal; and an RS used for a transmit power of a PSCCH, a PSSCH, or a PSFCH scheduled by a sidelink (The SPRS frequency domain bandwidth is pre-defined by protocol or configured on the network side, and the maximum value is the maximum system bandwidth of the Sidelink, [0204] and For example, when the V-UE has 4 transmitting antenna arrays, the antenna arrays are respectively mapped to different SPRS resources, [0208]).
Regarding claim 11, Ren as modified by Dai and Beak teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the mapping rule comprises a first frequency-domain mapping rule; and the first frequency-domain mapping rule comprises one or more of the following: frequency-domain physical resource blocks (PRBs) of the SL positioning reference signal are continuous; a comb value of a comb structure of the SL positioning reference signal is the same as that of DMRS blocks, S-SS blocks, and/or PSBCH blocks; the SL positioning reference signal has a same numerology as the S-SS blocks and/or the PSBCH blocks, or the SL positioning reference signal has a same numerology as a sidelink bandwidth part (SL BWP); the SL positioning reference signal has a same bandwidth as the SL BWP, the DMRS, and the PSSCH, or the SL positioning reference signal is in the SL BWP; the SL positioning reference signal has a same reference point A as the SL BWP, the DMRS, and the PSSCH, or the SL positioning reference signal has a same point A as the S-SS blocks and/or the PSBCH blocks; and the SL positioning reference signal has a same subcarrier 0 as the SL BWP, the DMRS, and/or the PSSCH, or the SL positioning reference signal has the same point A as the S- SS blocks and/or the PSBCH blocks (FIG. 6 shows a schematic diagram of the Pattern Type B of the SPRS signal. Here, the entire bandwidth BW is divided into N=2 segments, and each PRS resource occupies a continuous segment of frequency band and may be frequency hopped, [0211]).
Regarding claim 12, as modified by Dai and Beak Ren teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the mapping rule comprises a second frequency-domain mapping rule; and the second frequency-domain mapping rule comprises one or more of the following: continuously sending the SL positioning reference signal on frequency-domain PRBs or REs at locations expect a third location; continuously sending the SL positioning reference signal on a frequency-domain PRB or RE at a location after the third location; sending the SL positioning reference signal on a frequency-domain PRB or RE at a location other than the third location; skipping sending the SL positioning reference signal on a PRB or an RE corresponding to the third location; and reusing the SL positioning reference signal at a fourth location, or punching the SL positioning reference signal at a fourth location, wherein the third location comprises one or more of the following: time-domain locations of S-SS blocks and/or PSBCH blocks, or time-frequency locations of S-SS blocks and/or PSBCH blocks; time-domain locations of a PSS, an SSS, and/or a PBSCH, or time-frequency locations of a PSS, an SSS, and/or a PBSCH; a time-domain location of second stage SCI or a time-frequency location of second stage SCI; time-domain locations of a CSI-RS and/or a DMRS, or time-frequency locations of a CSI-RS and/or a DMRS; and time-domain locations of AGC and/or a PSFCH, or time-frequency locations of AGC and/or a PSFCH; and the fourth location comprises one or more of the following: a location of a PSSCH; a location of SL data; a location of UL data; and a location of a PUSCH; or, wherein the mapping rule comprises a second stage SCI mapping rule; and the second stage SCI mapping rule comprises one or more of the following: punching, by second stage SCI, on the SL positioning reference signal; and performing, by the second stage SCI, rate matching rate matching on the SL positioning reference signal (Second frequency domain structure (Pattern Type B): the full bandwidth is divided into N different continuous sub-bands, and different SPRS resources occupy different sub-bands, [0207]).
Regarding claim 13, Ren as modified by Dai and Beak teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the mapping rule comprises a third frequency-domain mapping rule; and the third frequency-domain mapping rule comprises one or more of the following: a number of frequency-domain PRBs of the SL positioning reference signal; and a comb value of the SL positioning reference signal; a numerology of the SL positioning reference signal; a bandwidth of the SL positioning reference signal; a point A of the SL positioning reference signal; a subcarrier 0 of the SL positioning reference signal; and determining the number of frequency-domain PRBs, the comb value, the numerology, the bandwidth, the point A, and/or the subcarrier 0 of the SL positioning reference signal according to a parameter of a pre-defined or pre-configured SL-frequency layer, or a pre- configured SL-frequency layer in first information, wherein the first information is configuration information obtained from a network side, the second user equipment, or a scheduling user equipment (FIG. 5 shows a schematic diagram of the Pattern Type A of the SPRS signal. The comb factor N (Comb-N) is equivalent to a frequency domain extraction factor, so that the subcarriers used by the same SPRS resource have a comb spectrum. In the first PRB shown in FIG. 5, the SPRS resources 1/2/3/4 use subcarriers 4*n+[0/1/2/3] respectively, where n=0, 1, 2 and 3, [0210]).
Regarding claim 17, Ren as modified by Dai and Beak teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the mapping rule further comprises: mapping the SL positioning reference signal to a first dedicated resource (The Comb Factor-N(Comb-N) resource unit pattern of each SPRS resource is used to map the SPRS sequence to a resource unit in the frequency domain, and the Comb-N pattern may be offset across SPRS symbols in the frequency domain, [0192]).
Regarding claim 18, Ren as modified by Dai and Beak teaches the method according to claim 17, further comprising: transmitting, by the first user equipment, first dedicated resource configuration information, wherein the first dedicated resource configuration information comprises one or more of the following: bandwidth information of the first dedicated resource; point A and startRB information of the first dedicated resource; numerology information of the first dedicated resource; a start time point of the first dedicated resource; an end time point of the first dedicated resource; a duration of the first dedicated resource; and first dedicated resource pool information (The SPRS resource is described by at least the following parameters: SPRS resource ID, sequence ID, Comb-N value, RE offset, initial slot index and symbol index of the SPRS resource, a quantity of symbols of each SPRS resource (duration of SPRS resource), and Quasi-CoLocation (QCL) information of SSB, [0193]).
Regarding claim 19, Ren teaches a user equipment (device of Fig. 8), comprising a processor (processor 600), a memory (memory 620), and a program stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when the program or instructions are executed by the processor (The processor 600 is responsible for managing the bus architecture and general processing, and the memory 620 may store the data used by the processor 600 when performing the operations, [0293]), the processor is configured to implement the following steps:
transmitting, a sidelink (SL) positioning reference signal according to a mapping rule and/or a sequence definition signal (according to the SPRS2 resource configuration information, V-UE1 sends an SPRS2 signal to V-UE2 in Slot #n, [0169]), wherein
the mapping rule is used for determining a mapping configuration of the SL positioning reference signal (different SPRS resources may be mapped to different transmitting antenna arrays, [0208]), the sequence definition is used for determining a sequence feature and/or a pattern of the SL positioning reference signal (The Comb Factor-N(Comb-N) resource unit pattern of each SPRS resource is used to map the SPRS sequence to a resource unit in the frequency domain, and the Comb-N pattern may be offset across SPRS symbols in the frequency domain, [0192]), the SL positioning reference signal is used for determining location information of the first user equipment and/or a second user equipment (transmitting an SPRS to a second terminal through the Sidelink according to the SPRS resource configuration information, so that the second terminal performs a positioning measurement based on the SPRS, [0168]), and the second user equipment is an opposite user equipment that performs SL communication or SL positioning with the first user equipment (transmitting an SPRS to a second terminal through the Sidelink according to the SPRS resource configuration information, so that the second terminal performs a positioning measurement based on the SPRS, [0168]);
wherein the mapping rule is used for determining a time-domain mapping method of the SL positioning reference signal (Two following SPRS time domain structures are supported: Type 1 (single slot structure): AGC (including one or more OFDM symbols) is placed in the front section of a slot, GP (including one or more OFDM symbols) is placed at the end, and the number and locations of SPRSs in the middle are predefined by protocol or configured flexibly on the network side; [0198]).
However, Ren does not clearly teach the time-domain mapping method comprises: reusing the SL positioning reference signal at a second location, the second location being a location of a physical sidelink control channel (PSSCH); and sending the SL positioning reference signal on an OFDM symbol at a location after a first location, wherein the first location comprises one or more of the following: a time-domain location of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS); and a time-domain location of second stage sidelink control information (SCI).
In an analogous art, Dai teaches the time-domain mapping method comprises: reusing the SL positioning reference signal at a second location, the second location being a location of a physical sidelink control channel (PSSCH)( PRS unit 550 may use SL-PRS as sidelink reference signals (SLRs), such as SL-PSS, SL-SSS, SL-CSI-RS, SL-PTRS, which are reused for positioning. can be configured to produce As another example, PRS unit 550 may produce SL-PRS as SL channels reused for positioning (e.g., PSBCH, PSSCH, PSCCH) with or without corresponding DMRS, [0088]); and sending the SL positioning reference signal on an OFDM symbol at a location after a first location (In an OFDM symbol, PRS resources occupy consecutive PRBs. Each PRS resource consists of an RE offset, a slot offset, a symbol offset within the slot, and the number of consecutive symbols that the PRS resource may occupy within the slot. RE offset defines the starting RE offset of the first symbol within the DL-PRS resource in frequency, [0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink positioning of Ren with the prs of Dai to provide a method wherein positioning accuracy may be improved by providing UE reference points for positioning as suggested, Dai [0026].
However, Ren and Dai do not clearly teach , wherein the first location comprises one or more of the following: a time-domain location of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS); and a time-domain location of second stage sidelink control information (SCI).
In an analogous art, Baek teaches wherein the first location comprises one or more of the following: a time-domain location of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS); and a time-domain location of second stage sidelink control information (SCI)( in positioning systems using SL, an ACK/NACK signal for a PRS and positioning signaling may be transmitted along with data over a PSFCH, first stage SCI on a PSCCH, second stage SCI on a PSSCH, and/or a PSSCH, [0250]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink positioning of Ren and Dai with the sidelink positioning of Baek to provide a method to improve a UE location as suggested, Baek [0151].
Regarding claim 20, Ren teaches a readable storage medium (device of Fig. 6), storing a program or instructions, the program or instructions, wherein when the program or instructions are executed by the processor (The processor 600 is responsible for managing the bus architecture and general processing, and the memory 620 may store the data used by the processor 600 when performing the operations, [0193]), the processor is configured to implement the following steps:
transmitting, a sidelink (SL) positioning reference signal according to a mapping rule and/or a sequence definition (according to the SPRS2 resource configuration information, V-UE1 sends an SPRS2 signal to V-UE2 in Slot #n, [0169]; SPRS2 resource configuration information includes one or a combination of: an SPRS2 resource set, SPRS2 resources, an SPRS2 time domain structure, an SPRS2 frequency domain structure, and a sequence number n of a slot for transmitting the SPRS2 to other V-UE2, [0166]; different SPRS resources may be mapped to different transmitting antenna arrays, [0208]), wherein
the mapping rule is used for determining a mapping configuration of the SL positioning reference signal (different SPRS resources may be mapped to different transmitting antenna arrays, [0208]), the sequence definition is used for determining a sequence feature and/or a pattern of the SL positioning reference signal (The Comb Factor-N(Comb-N) resource unit pattern of each SPRS resource is used to map the SPRS sequence to a resource unit in the frequency domain, and the Comb-N pattern may be offset across SPRS symbols in the frequency domain, [0192]), the SL positioning reference signal is used for determining location information of the first user equipment and/or a second user equipment (transmitting an SPRS to a second terminal through the Sidelink according to the SPRS resource configuration information, so that the second terminal performs a positioning measurement based on the SPRS, [0168]), and the second user equipment is an opposite user equipment that performs SL communication or SL positioning with the first user equipment (transmitting an SPRS to a second terminal through the Sidelink according to the SPRS resource configuration information, so that the second terminal performs a positioning measurement based on the SPRS, [0168]);
wherein the mapping rule is used for determining a time-domain mapping method of the SL positioning reference signal (Two following SPRS time domain structures are supported: Type 1 (single slot structure): AGC (including one or more OFDM symbols) is placed in the front section of a slot, GP (including one or more OFDM symbols) is placed at the end, and the number and locations of SPRSs in the middle are predefined by protocol or configured flexibly on the network side; [0198]).
However, Ren does not clearly teach the time-domain mapping method comprises: reusing the SL positioning reference signal at a second location, the second location being a location of a physical sidelink control channel (PSSCH); and sending the SL positioning reference signal on an OFDM symbol at a location after a first location, wherein the first location comprises one or more of the following: a time-domain location of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS); and a time-domain location of second stage sidelink control information (SCI).
In an analogous art, Dai teaches the time-domain mapping method comprises: reusing the SL positioning reference signal at a second location, the second location being a location of a physical sidelink control channel (PSSCH)( PRS unit 550 may use SL-PRS as sidelink reference signals (SLRs), such as SL-PSS, SL-SSS, SL-CSI-RS, SL-PTRS, which are reused for positioning. can be configured to produce As another example, PRS unit 550 may produce SL-PRS as SL channels reused for positioning (e.g., PSBCH, PSSCH, PSCCH) with or without corresponding DMRS, [0088]); and sending the SL positioning reference signal on an OFDM symbol at a location after a first location (In an OFDM symbol, PRS resources occupy consecutive PRBs. Each PRS resource consists of an RE offset, a slot offset, a symbol offset within the slot, and the number of consecutive symbols that the PRS resource may occupy within the slot. RE offset defines the starting RE offset of the first symbol within the DL-PRS resource in frequency, [0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink positioning of Ren with the prs of Dai to provide a method wherein positioning accuracy may be improved by providing UE reference points for positioning as suggested, Dai [0026].
However, Ren and Dai do not clearly teach , wherein the first location comprises one or more of the following: a time-domain location of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS); and a time-domain location of second stage sidelink control information (SCI).
In an analogous art, Baek teaches wherein the first location comprises one or more of the following: a time-domain location of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS); and a time-domain location of second stage sidelink control information (SCI)( in positioning systems using SL, an ACK/NACK signal for a PRS and positioning signaling may be transmitted along with data over a PSFCH, first stage SCI on a PSCCH, second stage SCI on a PSSCH, and/or a PSSCH, [0250]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink positioning of Ren and Dai with the sidelink positioning of Baek to provide a method to improve a UE location as suggested, Baek [0151].
Regarding claim 22, Ren as modified by Dai and Beak teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the first user equipment, second indication information, wherein the second indication information is used for indicating that the first user equipment sends or measures the SL positioning reference signal, and the second indication information is indication information sent by a network side, or the second indication information is indication information sent by a scheduling user equipment or the second user equipment, or the second indication information is indication information sent by a higher layer of the first user equipment; or sending, by the first user equipment, second indication information to the second user equipment, wherein the second indication information is used for indicating that the second user equipment sends or measures the SL positioning reference signal (V-UE1 sends an SPRS2 signal to V-UE2 in Slot #n, so that V-UE2 performs the positioning measurement based on this signal and calculates the relative distance information from V-UE1 to V-UE2, Ren [0216]).
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. (US 20220321294 A1) in view of Dai and further in view of Beak and Shi et al. (US 20230239185 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Ren as modified by Dai and Beak teaches the method according to claim 1.
However, Ren, Dai and Beak do not teach wherein the transmitting, by the first user equipment, the SL positioning reference signal according to the mapping rule comprises transmitting, by the first user equipment, the SL positioning reference signal according to the mapping rule and a sequence definition, the sequence definition is used for determining a sequence feature and/or a pattern of the SL positioning reference signal, the sequence definition comprises one or more of the following: a sequence of the SL positioning reference signal is a gold sequence, wherein the gold sequence is as follows: ri(m) =(1 - 2c(2m)) + j(1 - 2c(2m + 1)), wherein c(2m) is a value corresponding to a (2m)th location in c(n), c(n) is a pseudo-random sequence, and m is a positive integer; the sequence of the SL positioning reference signal is a ZC sequence, and the ZC sequence is as follows: r(Pi)(n, 1') ='s(n)=wherein U- (n) is a base sequence, u is a number of groups, v is a number of base sequences, and a is a cyclic shift; r(Pi (n, 1') is a sounding reference signal (SRS) sequence at a port p;, n is a value of a frequency domain, and 1' is a value of a time-domain symbol;'8s (n) is a ZC sequence obtained by the base sequence according to a cyclic shift ai and a function S of a comb structure; the sequence of the SL positioning reference signal is a Pi/2 binary phase shift keying (BPSK) sequence; and the sequence of the SL positioning reference signal is a CGS sequence.
In an analogous art, Shi teaches he transmitting, by the first user equipment, the SL positioning reference signal according to the mapping rule comprises transmitting, by the first user equipment, the SL positioning reference signal according to the mapping rule and a sequence definition, the sequence definition is used for determining a sequence feature and/or a pattern of the SL positioning reference signal (The PRS may be formed by a random sequence, for example, may be formed by a Gold-31 random sequence, [0109]), wherein the sequence definition comprises one or more of the following: a sequence of the SL positioning reference signal is a gold sequence, wherein the gold sequence is as follows: ri(m) =(1 - 2c(2m)) + j(1 - 2c(2m + 1)), wherein c(2m) is a value corresponding to a (2m)th location in c(n), c(n) is a pseudo-random sequence, and m is a positive integer; the sequence of the SL positioning reference signal is a ZC sequence, and the ZC sequence is as follows: r(Pi)(n, 1') ='s(n)=wherein U- (n) is a base sequence, u is a number of groups, v is a number of base sequences, and a is a cyclic shift; r(Pi (n, 1') is a sounding reference signal (SRS) sequence at a port p;, n is a value of a frequency domain, and 1' is a value of a time-domain symbol;'8s (n) is a ZC sequence obtained by the base sequence according to a cyclic shift ai and a function S of a comb structure; the sequence of the SL positioning reference signal is a Pi/2 binary phase shift keying (BPSK) sequence; and the sequence of the SL positioning reference signal is a CGS sequence (The PRS may be formed by a random sequence, for example, may be formed by a Gold-31 random sequence, [0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink positioning of Ren, Dai and Beak with the sequence configuration of Shi to provide a reference signal to meet requirements of various 5G scenarios as suggested, Shi [0006].
Regarding claim 15, Ren as modified by as modified by Dai, Beak and Shi teaches the method according to claim 14. Shi further teaches wherein an initial value of the c(n) pseudo- random sequence is associated with one or more of the following: a cell ID or a group ID; a destination ID, or a source ID; cyclic redundancy check (CRC) corresponding to a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH); downlink synchronization signal identities (IDs) corresponding to S-SS blocks and/or PSBCH blocks; a scrambling-code identity of the SL positioning reference signal; a sequence ID or a group ID of the SL positioning reference signal; a port identity (port ID) of the SL positioning reference signal, or panel identification information (PANEL ID); a symbol of the sequence of the SL positioning reference signal; and a slot of the sequence of the SL positioning reference signal ((A value of N.sub.CP represents whether a cyclic prefix CP is a normal CP or an extended CP, Shi [0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink positioning of Ren, Dai and Beak with the sequence configuration of Shi to provide a reference signal to meet requirements of various 5G scenarios as suggested, Shi [0006].
Regarding claim 16, Ren as modified by as modified by Dai, Beak and Shi teaches the method according to claim 15. Shi further teaches wherein the initial value of c(n) is one or more of the following: cint= (210+ 1 + 1(2nID + 1)+mod 231; cint=+1 + 1)(2NID + 1) + 2NID)mod 231, and NIDE{0,1, ...,65535}; and ciit=+ 210(2(nDSeq mod 1024) + 1)+mod 1024) mod 231, wherein Nslob is a number of symbols in a corresponding SL slot,is the slot of the sequence of the SL positioning reference signal,is identification information of the sequence of the SL positioning reference signal, and 1 is a symbol of the sequence of the SLpositioning reference signal (c.sub.init may be obtained according to the following formula 3, Shi [0151]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink positioning of Ren, Dai and Beak with the sequence configuration of Shi to provide a reference signal to meet requirements of various 5G scenarios as suggested, Shi [0006].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wu et al. (US 20230007956 A1): Various aspects of the present disclosure generally relate to wireless communication. In some aspects, a transmitter user equipment (UE) may detect an available bandwidth for transmission of a sidelink positioning reference signal. The transmitter UE may transmit the sidelink positioning reference signal in the available bandwidth, wherein a duration of the sidelink positioning reference signal is based at least in part on the available bandwidth. Numerous other aspects are described.
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641