DETAILED ACTION
The following correspondence is a Final Office Action for application no. 18/414,549 for an ANTI-OVERTURNING CABINET STRUCTURE, filed on 1/17/2024. This correspondence is in response to applicant's reply filed on 7/8/2025. Claims 1-8 are pending.
Priority
Applicant is advised of possible benefits under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) and (f), wherein an application for patent filed in the United States may be entitled to claim priority to an application filed in a foreign country.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 teaches that “each auxiliary wheel is locked in the second opening of the second fixing component” and “a ground bonding component passes through the second opening and locks with [a] ground fixing hole.” However, it does not appear possible for an auxiliary wheel and a ground bonding component to occupy space in the second opening simultaneously. It appears that applicant is using the second opening in both a transport manner (with the auxiliary wheel) and a stationary manner (with the ground bonding component) based on the location of the upper fixing area and the lower fixing area but does not clearly define structure regarding these areas. It is the Examiner’s position that the upper and lower fixing area of the cabinet can be encountered based on where the anti-turning devices is positioned on the cabinet within the slot holes, which allow the device to slide up and down and be fixed in a higher or lower area. Appropriation clarification is requested. Claims 2-8 are rejected for the same reasons as dependent on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tin et al. (CN 209462768) and Shurhay (U.S. Pub. 2023/0007805).
Regarding claim 1, Ting discloses an anti-overturning cabinet structure, comprising: a cabinet, wherein a bottom outer surface of the cabinet has an upper fixing area and a lower fixing area; a plurality of anti-overturning devices, wherein each of the anti-overturning devices has a first fixing component, a second fixing component and a connecting part, the first fixing component is detachably fixed on the bottom outer surface of the cabinet, the second fixing component has at least one second opening (43, Fig. 3), and the connecting part is joined between the first fixing component and the second fixing component; wherein the anti-overturning devices comprises at least one first anti-overturning device and at least one second anti-overturning device, a number of the first anti-overturning devices is equal to a number of the second anti-overturning devices, they are disposed on two opposite sides of the upper fixing area or the lower fixing area (the upper or lower fixing area is dependent on the adjustability of the location of the screws 5 in slots 45); when the at least one first anti-overturning device and the at least one second anti-overturning device are fixed on the lower fixing area, the second opening on the surface of the second fixing component of the corresponding one of the at least one first anti-overturning device and the at least one second anti-overturning device corresponds to a position of a ground fixing hole on a ground, and a ground bonding component (anchor bolts, not shown) passes through the second opening and locks with the ground fixing hole, so as to fix the second fixing component to the ground. Ting fails to teach a plurality of auxiliary wheels, wherein when the at least one first anti-overturning device and the at least one second anti-overturning device are fixed on the upper fixing area, each auxiliary wheel is locked in the second opening of the second fixing component of a corresponding one of the at least one first anti-overturning device and the at least one second anti-overturning device through a fixing part and a screw component. However, Shurhay teaches auxiliary wheels (201, Fig. 17), wherein each auxiliary wheel is locked in the second opening of the second fixing component (208) of a corresponding one of the at least one first anti-overturning device and the at least one second anti-overturning device through a fixing part (hole) and a screw component (component is shown, but not labeled) for transport. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ting's invention with Shurhay's auxiliary wheels, wherein when the at least one first anti-overturning device and the at least one second anti-overturning device are fixed on the upper fixing area, each auxiliary wheel is locked in the second opening of the second fixing component of a corresponding one of the at least one first anti-overturning device and the at least one second anti-overturning device through a fixing part and a screw component in order to provide a secure transport caster bracket for relocation and stability.
[AltContent: textbox (cabinet)]
[AltContent: textbox (2nd fixing component)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (connecting part)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1st fixing component)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Anti-overturn devices)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (bottom surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 2, Ting discloses wherein the at least one first anti-overturning device is disposed on a front side of the upper fixing area, the at least one second anti-overturning device is disposed on a back side of the upper fixing area, and a position of the at least one first anti-overturning device correspond to a position of the at least one second anti-overturning device.
Regarding claim 3, Ting discloses wherein the at least one first anti-overturning device is disposed on a front side of the lower fixing area, the at least one second anti-overturning device is disposed on a back side of the lower fixing area, and a position of the at least one first anti-overturning device corresponds to a position of the at least one second anti-overturning device.
Regarding claim 4, Ting in view of Shurhay does not state the following, wherein an anti-overturning distance is used to calculate an anti-overturning angle, and a calculation formula of the anti-overturning angle is as follows: tan-1 L1+L3 / L2; wherein in the calculation formula, L1 is the anti-overturning distance, L2 is a vertical distance from a gravity center of the cabinet to a bottom surface of the cabinet, and L3 is a horizontal distance from the gravity center of the cabinet to an outer surface of the cabinet. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ting's invention with the formula of claim 4. Doing so would provide an anti-overturning distance and angle for preventing the cabinet from overturning.
Regarding claim 5, Ting discloses wherein one end of the first fixing component is joined to one end of the second fixing component.
Regarding claim 6, Ting discloses wherein the first fixing component is vertical to the second fixing component.
Regarding claim 7, Ting discloses wherein the connecting part comprises two connecting plates, and the connecting plates are respectively joined to both sides of the first fixing component and the second fixing component.
Regarding claim 8, Ting discloses wherein the connecting part comprises a connecting plate, and the connecting plate is joined to two adjacent surfaces of the first fixing component and the second fixing component.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/8/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the anti-overturning devices are detached to a bottom outer surface of the cabinet, where there is an upper fixing area and a lower fixing area. The upper and lower fixing area of the cabinet can be encountered based on where the anti-turning devices is positioned on the cabinet within the slot holes, which allow the device to slide up and down and be fixed in a higher or lower area.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NKEISHA SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632 October 17, 2025