DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 13-15, and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 4 and 18, the prior art does not appear to teach or fairly suggest, in combination with all the other recited limitations, the augmented head and cage shapes with the flat cutouts and ledges.
Claims 5 and 19 depend from claims 4 and 18, respectively.
Regarding claims 13-15, while the use of multiple heat exchangers and manifold structures therefore is common in the art (e.g. US 2019/0150323, see Fig.5a), the arrangement of the conduits, manifolds, and other structures on the device plate of the heat exchanger mounting device system and its attachments were not located in the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US 6,679,712) in view of Wiltzius (US 8,867,211) and Zhou (US 7,359,200).
Regarding claim 1, Change teaches a heat exchanger mounting device comprising: a heat exchanger (200) with an opening (210); at least one securing device including a barrel (110) and a pin (140), the barrel having first (115) and second (111) opposite ends; the pin having first (upper) and second (lower) ends the second end having an augmented head (142) which partially extends through the barrel and is rotatable in the barrel (see Figs. 5-6); and at least one plate with a receiving member (410) for receiving the augmented head; whereby a weight of the heat exchanger is supported by the securing device.
Chang teaches that the heat exchanger and plate have opposite roles. It would have been a mere rearrangement of parts to assemble the device with the mounting device interacting in the opposite direction with the heat exchanger and plate without any change to the function of the device and thus, the rearrangement is within the ordinary skill.
Chang does not teach the cage.
Wiltzius teaches that it is old and well-known to mount a cage (via 306) to a device (104) for receiving an augmented head (314, 312, 320) extending through the cage opening in a first direction (downwardly through slots 306) and then rotationally within the cage in a second direction (along 318) to secure the securing device (304).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to provide the device of Chang with the cage attachment mechanism taught by Wiltzius in order to allow for easy removability for repair or replacement.
Chang teaches that the second end of the barrel is secured to the hole not the first.
Zhou teaches that it is old and well-known to secure the barrel (221) at the first (top) end rather than at the second (bottom) end.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to try securing the barrel from either its top or its bottom end, as both are known in the art, depending on available installation space, as this is a mere rearrangement of parts.
Regarding claim 2, Wiltzius teaches that the second rotation is less than 180 degrees from the first direction (see Fig. 3; 318 rotation guide from original position 316).
Regarding claim 6, Wiltzius further teaches a knob (304) rotated through the first and second directions with a visual indicator (336).
Regarding claim 9, Chang further teaches the use of “several” pins, sleeves, and receiving members (cages in the combination; see Col. 1:39-40) for each heat exchanger.
Regarding claim 10, while Chang states the use of “several” pins, sleeves, and receiving members, the increase of attaching devices (to sixteen) and the utilization of increase numbers of heat exchangers (to eight) represents a mere duplication of parts which is well within the ordinary skill to accommodate any number of devices in an installation which require heat dissipation.
Regarding claim 11, Chang further teaches that the heat exchanger is mounted on a circuit board (400).
Claim(s) 12 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Wiltzius, Zhou, and Krug (US 2019/0150323).
Regarding claim 12, Change teaches a heat exchanger mounting device comprising: a heat exchanger (200) with an opening (210); at least one securing device including a barrel (110) and a pin (140), the barrel having first (115) and second (111) opposite ends; the pin having first (upper) and second (lower) ends the second end having an augmented head (142) which partially extends through the barrel and is rotatable in the barrel (see Figs. 5-6); and at least one plate with a receiving member (410) for receiving the augmented head; whereby a weight of the heat exchanger is supported by the securing device.
Chang teaches that the heat exchanger and plate have opposite roles. It would have been a mere rearrangement of parts to assemble the device with the mounting device interacting in the opposite direction with the heat exchanger and plate without any change to the function of the device and thus, the rearrangement is within the ordinary skill.
Chang does not teach the cage.
Wiltzius teaches that it is old and well-known to mount a cage (via 306) to a device (104) for receiving an augmented head (314, 312, 320) extending through the cage opening in a first direction (downwardly through slots 306) and then rotationally within the cage in a second direction (along 318) to secure the securing device (304).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to provide the device of Chang with the cage attachment mechanism taught by Wiltzius in order to allow for easy removability for repair or replacement.
Chang teaches that the second end of the barrel is secured to the hole not the first.
Zhou teaches that it is old and well-known to secure the barrel (221) at the first (top) end rather than at the second (bottom) end.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to try securing the barrel from either its top or its bottom end, as both are known in the art, depending on available installation space, as this is a mere rearrangement of parts.
Chang does not teach the heat exchanger details.
Krug teaches that it is old and well-known to utilize heat exchangers with incorporated inlet and outlet ports (see 305).
It would have been obvious to utilize heat exchangers such as Krug’s in the device of Chang in order to allow for the increased capacity of liquid state cooling.
Regarding claim 16, Wiltzius teaches that the second rotation is less than 180 degrees from the first direction (see Fig. 3; 318 rotation guide from original position 316).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Wiltzius, Zhou, and Yang (US 8,773,857).
Regarding claim 3, Chang, as modified, teaches slots in the sidewalls of the cage rather than overhangs.
Yang teaches that such cages may be formed with inward facing overhangs (edges of overhangs defined by slots 115 in Fig. 2) disposed on opposite sides of the cage opening (Fig. 2)partially defining a receiving cavity (114) whereby the augmented head (511) is rotatable in the cavity.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing at the time of the invention to utilize overhangs, as taught by Yang, in the device of Chang, as such known functional equivalent substitutions are within the ordinary skill.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Wiltzius, Zhou, Krug, and Yang (US 8,773,857).
Regarding claim 17, Chang, as modified, teaches slots in the sidewalls of the cage rather than overhangs.
Yang teaches that such cages may be formed with inward facing overhangs (edges of overhangs defined by slots 115 in Fig. 2) disposed on opposite sides of the cage opening (Fig. 2)partially defining a receiving cavity (114) whereby the augmented head (511) is rotatable in the cavity.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing at the time of the invention to utilize overhangs, as taught by Yang, in the device of Chang, as such known functional equivalent substitutions are within the ordinary skill.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Wiltzius, Zhou, and Chen (US 8,837,152).
Regarding claims 7-8, Chang, as modified, does not teach handles.
Chen teaches that supporting devices for heat exchangers commonly include handles (120).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to include multiple handles, as taught by Chen, on the device of Chang, as modified, in order to increase the ease of handling.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Wiltzius, Zhou, Krug and Chen.
Regarding claim 20, Chang, as modified, does not teach handles.
Chen teaches that supporting devices for heat exchangers commonly include handles (120).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to include multiple handles, as taught by Chen, on the device of Chang, as modified, in order to increase the ease of handling.
Conclusion
/DEVON LANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763