DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 4/23/2024, 7/15/2025, and 3/17/2026 are in compliance with 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a handling device for moving the object within the clean room region” (claim 1, line 6);
interpreted as a robotic arm or an equivalent thereof as evidenced by p. 12-13 in the specification.
“removal units for removing a sample from a reactant” (claim 5, line 2);
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 10, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “removal units for removing a sample from a reactant” in claim 5 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification merely recites the claim language and fails to disclose any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, capable of removing a sample from a reactant. See pgs. 26, 70, and 93 of the specification.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Regarding claim 10, the phrase “by means of which cleaning unit multi-use components of one or more tool units can be cleaned” renders the claim indefinite. The phrase is generally difficult to understand and appears to be a typographical error. For examination on the merits, the phrase will be interpreted as “by means of which multi-use components of one or more tool units can be cleaned”.
Regarding claim 13, it is unclear if the one or more tool units is intended to be positively recited. As currently written, the feature of note is directed towards the material or article worked upon by the claimed apparatus and does not limit the claim which it depends upon (MPEP § 2115). Claim 13 as written depends upon claim 1, which does not positively recite one or more tool units.
Regarding claim 14, it is unclear if the one or more tool units is intended to be positively recited. As currently written, the feature of note is directed towards the material or article worked upon by the claimed apparatus and does not limit the claim which it depends upon (MPEP § 2115). Claim 14 as written depends upon claim 1, which does not positively recite one or more tool units.
Claims 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed function of removing a sample from a reactant. The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed functions because the invention is not described with sufficient detail that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 11-13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bechini et al. (US 2019/0315004 A1) (hereinafter referred to as Bechini, see PTO-892).
Regarding claim 1, Bechini discloses a production plant, in particular for producing biological-pharmaceutical products (title; abstract, “constructive assembly of the containment means (9) is intended for the automated production of pharmaceutical or biotechnical articles”), wherein the production plant comprises the following:
- a clean room region ([0001] and [0030]-[0032] containment means has a clean-room classification; Fig. 1B, containment means 9);
- a lock device for feeding an object from an environment of the production plant into the clean room region and/or for removing an object from the clean room region (claim 12, lock device for loading/unloading article parts or articles);
- a handling device for moving the object within the clean room region ([0066]-[0068] describes robots for manipulating articles or article parts; Fig. 2D shows robots 1, 2 in containment means);
- a storage device arranged within the clean room region ([0013], transfer station; Fig. 2D shows transfer station 4 arranged within containment means), which comprises a plurality of storage locations for receiving a plurality of objects ([0013], transfer station positions, i.e., stores, article parts and/or articles; Fig. 6A shows that the transfer station is arranged within containment means).
The preamble limitation “for producing biological-pharmaceutical products” is merely a recitation of a purpose or intended use of the invention and has been given an appropriate patentable weight (MPEP § 2111.02 II).
The limitation “for feeding an object from an environment of the production plant into the clean room region and/or for removing an object from the clean room region” is directed toward the intended manner of operating the claimed lock device and does not differentiate the claimed lock device from the prior art lock device because all structural limitations are taught in the prior art (MPEP § 2114 II). The lock device taught by Bechini would be fully capable of achieving every claimed intended use because the prior art lock device is taught to load and unload article parts or articles ([0015]).
Regarding claim 2, Bechini teaches the production plant according to claim 1, wherein the production plant comprises a tool system (abstract, multiple robots and process units disposed within the containment means; [0032], decontamination device; claim 17, closures and receptacles) by means of which treatment processes on reactants and/or maintenance processes can be carried out within the clean room region ([0010] discloses process units are capable of treatment and maintenance, e.g., assembly, disassembly, sterilization within the containment means; claim 17, closures and receptacles are used for filling and sealing).
The limitation “by means of which treatment processes on reactants and/or maintenance processes can be carried out within the clean room region” is directed toward the intended manner of operating the claimed and does not differentiate the claimed tool system from the prior art tool systems because all structural limitations are taught in the prior art (MPEP § 2114 II). The prior art tool system taught by Bechini would be fully capable of achieving every claimed intended use because the prior art tool system is taught to be capable of treating receptacles ([0068]) and is supplied with a decontamination device ([0032]) which would maintain the containment means by maintaining sterility.
Regarding claim 3, Bechini teaches the production plant according to Claim 2, wherein the tool system comprises a plurality of fully automatic tool units for carrying out different treatment and/or maintenance processes (abstract, “automated production” implicitly discloses that all components are automated).
Regarding claim 4, Bechini teaches the production plant according to Claim 2, wherein the tool system comprises one or more tool units designed as feed units for supplying consumables to the reactants ([0002] and [0079] filling station).
The limitation “for supplying consumables to the reactants” is directed toward the intended manner of operating the claimed feed unit and does not differentiate the claimed feed unit from the prior art feed unit because all structural limitations are taught in the prior art (MPEP § 2114 II). The feed units taught by Bechini would be fully capable of achieving every claimed intended use because the prior art can fill a receptacle ([0020]-[0022]).
Regarding claim 6, Bechini teaches the production plant according to Claim 3, wherein one or more of the tool units of the tool system in each case comprises one or more multi-use components ([0089] discloses containers which can be cleaned, i.e., multi-use) and one or more single-use components ([0023], crimped cap).
Regarding claim 11, Bechini teaches the production plant according to Claim 2, wherein the tool system comprises a plurality of portable tool units (Fig. 7A shows a plurality of portable receptacles, i.e., tool units – see annotated figure below).
The limitation “which, in order to carry out a treatment process, can be supplied to a treatment location for treating a reactant which, in particular, is at the same time a storage location for storing the reactant, and can be temporarily stored there” is directed toward the intended manner of operating the claimed plurality of portable tool units and does not differentiate the claimed portable tool units from the prior art portable tool units because all structural limitations are taught in the prior art (MPEP § 2114 II). The plurality of portable tool units taught by Bechini would be fully capable of achieving every claimed intended use because the prior art plurality of portable tool units is taught to be capable of moved to a location with a process unit ([0017], “a grouped number of the receptacles can be gripped by the manipulating element of the first robot and brought to the first process unit”). The process unit being able to carry out a treatment process, as set forth above.
Regarding claim 12, the claim as written is directed toward the intended manner of operating the claimed one or more portable tool units of the tool system and does not differentiate the claimed one or more portable tool units from the prior art one or more portable tool units because all structural limitations are taught in the prior art (MPEP § 2114 II). The one or more portable tool units taught by Bechini would be fully capable of achieving every claimed intended use because the prior art teaches that one or more portable tool units can be moved to different locations, as set forth above.
The feature “a storage transport device” is not positively recited. As such, the prior art applied to claim 11 above applies to claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, the claim as written is directed towards the material or article worked upon, e.g., one or more tool units, by the claimed apparatus and does not limit the claim which it depends upon (MPEP § 2115).
If Applicant intended to positively recite the one or more tool units:
Bechini teaches the production plant according to Claim 1, wherein one or more tool units are designed and configured by means of the handling device for carrying out a treatment process and/or a maintenance process ([0019]-[0023] fills and closes receptacles).
The limitation “for carrying out a treatment process and/or a maintenance process” is directed toward the intended manner of operating the claimed one or more tool units and does not differentiate the claimed from the prior art [thing] because all structural limitations are taught in the prior art (MPEP § 2114 II). The would be fully capable of achieving every claimed intended use because the prior art structure is substantially identical to the claimed structure absent clear evidence to the contrary and absent a showing of unexpected results (MPEP § 2112.01 I).
Regarding claim 14, the claim as written is directed towards the material or article worked upon, e.g., one or more tool units, by the claimed apparatus and does not limit the claim which it depends upon (MPEP § 2115).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bechini in view of Chang et al. (WO 2006/102416 A2) (hereinafter referred to as Chang, presented in IDS – US equivalent 2006/0257999 A1 cited herein).
Regarding claim 5, Bechini teaches the production plant according to Claim 2.
Bechini is silent to the tool system comprising one or more tool units designed as removal units for removing a sample from a reactant.
However, Chang in the art of high-throughput screening systems teaches it is known in the art to design a tool unit as a removal unit ([0017], material handling component; [0023], “the material handling component to dispense material into, and/or to remove material”).
Chang teaches that aliquots of samples are used for assaying ([0185]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production plant taught by Bechini to design one or more tool units as a removal unit to perform assays.
The limitation “for removing a sample from a reactant” is directed toward the intended manner of operating the claimed removal unit and does not differentiate the claimed removal unit from the prior art removal unit because all structural limitations are taught in the prior art (MPEP § 2114 II). The removal unit taught by Chang would be fully capable of achieving every claimed intended use because the prior art removal unit can transfer fluids ([0019]).
Regarding claim 7, Bechini teaches the production plant according to Claim 2.
Bechini is silent to the tool system comprising a set-up unit.
However, Chang in the art of high-throughput screening systems teaches a lid processing device for adding and removing lids to and from containers ([0354]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production plant taught by Bechini to incorporate the lid processing system, i.e., a set-up unit, so that the closures, i.e., the single-use components, can be added and removed, allowing the transfer of liquids to and from the multi-use components.
The limitation “by means of which one or more single-use components of a tool unit can be fully automatically removed, in particular disposed of, after use thereof, and can be replaced by one or more new single-use components” is directed toward the intended manner of operating the claimed set-up unit and does not differentiate the claimed set-up unit from the prior art set-up unit because all structural limitations are taught in the prior art (MPEP § 2114 II). The set-up unit taught by Chang would be fully capable of achieving every claimed intended use because the prior art set-up unit can add and remove lids ([0354]) automatically ([0010] teaches that the overall system is highly automated).
Regarding claim 8, the prior art combination teaches the production plant according to Claim 7.
The prior art combination is silent to the location of the set-up unit relative to the clean room region.
However, Chang of the prior art combination teaches that it is important to minimize contamination for the components of the system, i.e., the set-up unit, and that one option for eliminating contamination is by enclosing devices in clean room environments ([0237]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the prior art combination production plant such that the set-up unit is arranged completely within the clean room region with a reasonable expectation that it would keep the set-up unit sterile, as taught by Chang.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art combination teaches the production plant according to Claim 7.
Chang of the prior art combination teaches that a lid processing device, i.e., a set-up unit, may comprise a robotic gripping device (Chang, [0354]), i.e., a handling unit. Chang teaches that the robotic gripping device is a multi-axis robot arm ([0253] teaches that a grasping arm coupled to a robotic boom moves through 3 axes).
The limitation “by means of which a fully automatic set-up process can be carried out” is directed toward the intended manner of operating the claimed handling unit and does not differentiate the claimed handling unit from the prior art handling unit because all structural limitations are taught in the prior art (MPEP § 2114 II). The handling unit taught by the prior art combination would be fully capable of achieving every claimed intended use because the prior art structure is substantially identical to the claimed structure absent clear evidence to the contrary and absent a showing of unexpected results (MPEP § 2112.01 I).
Regarding claim 10, the prior art combination teaches the production plant according to Claim 7.
The prior art combination is silent to the set-up unit comprising a cleaning unit or in that a cleaning unit is associated with the set-up unit.
However, Bechini of the prior art combination teaches that a process unit can be configured as a washing station ([0010]), i.e., a cleaning unit, and that receptacles, i.e., multi-use components, are washed at the washing station to be reused ([0071]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prior art combination production plant to incorporate a process unit configured a s a washing station, i.e., a cleaning unit, to wash receptacles, i.e., multi-use components, to be reused. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the prior art combination production plant such that the cleaning unit is associated with the set-up unit so that multi-use components are readily available to the cleaning unit.
The limitation “by means of which cleaning unit multi-use components of one or more tool units can be cleaned, in particular sterilized, after use” is directed toward the intended manner of operating the claimed multi-use components and does not differentiate the claimed multi-use components from the prior art multi-use components because all structural limitations are taught in the prior art (MPEP § 2114 II). The prior art multi-use components would be fully capable of achieving every claimed intended use because the prior art structure is substantially identical to the claimed structure absent clear evidence to the contrary and absent a showing of unexpected results (MPEP § 2112.01 I).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/414,400 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of the reference application recites a clean room region, an airlock device for supplying an object from the surroundings of the production system into the clean room region and/or for removing an object from the clean room region, i.e., a lock device; a handling device for moving the object within the clean room region; a storage device which is arranged within the clean room region and which comprises a plurality of storage spaces for receiving a plurality of objects.
Regarding claims 2-14, the combination of claims 1-15 of the reference application disclose the scope claimed in a capacity within purview of one of ordinary skill in the art. ‘400 recites in a storage transport device, a handling device, and a cleaning device, i.e., a tool system, as well as all intended uses of the claimed one or more tool units. ‘400 recites a changing device, i.e., a set-up unit.
Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/414,586 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application claims the same scope using different language.
Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/414,584 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application discloses the same scope using different language.
Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 18/414,589 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application discloses the same scope using different language.
Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/414,592 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application discloses a narrower scope using different language.
Conclusion
/A.J.C./ Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/William H. Beisner/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799