DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/23/2024, 07/15/2025, 03/17/2026, 07/17/2026, and 07/20/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Applications No. 18/414,400-Bott, 18/414,584-Bott, and 18/414,587-Bott. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are anticipated by the copending applications previously mentioned.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application
Application No. 18/414,400
Application No. 18/414,584
Application No.
18/414,587
1. Production facility, in particular for producing biological-pharmaceutical products, wherein the production facility comprises the following: - a clean-room area; - a lock device for feeding an object from an environment of the production facility into the clean-room area and/or for removing an object from the clean-room area; - a handling device for moving the object within the clean-room area; - a storage device arranged within the clean-room area, which comprises a plurality of storage locations for receiving a plurality of objects.
1. A production system, in particular for producing biological-pharmaceutical products, wherein the production system comprises:
a clean room region;
an airlock device for supplying an object from the surroundings of the production system into the clean room region and/or for removing an object from the clean room region;
a handling device for moving the object within the clean room region;
a storage device which is arranged within the clean room region and which comprises a plurality of storage spaces for receiving a plurality of objects.
1. Production facility, in particular for producing biological-pharmaceutical products, the production facility comprising:
a clean-room area;
a lock device for feeding an object from an environment of the production facility into the clean-room area and/or for removing an object from the clean-room area;
a handling device for moving the object within the clean-room area;
a storage device arranged within the clean-room area, which comprises a plurality of storage locations for receiving a plurality of objects.
1. Production plant, in particular for producing biological-pharmaceutical products, wherein the production plant comprises the following:
a clean room region;
a lock device for feeding an object from an environment of the production plant into the clean room region and/or for removing an object from the clean room region;
a handling device for moving the object within the clean room region;
a storage device arranged within the clean room region, which comprises a plurality of storage locations for receiving a plurality of objects.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-9 are objected to because of the following informalities: The insertion of “A” in front of “production facility” in claim 1, so it reads as follows: “A production facility…”. The subsequent claims, 2-9, should read as follows after the amendment of claim 1: “The production facility according to claim…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-9 are objected to because of the following informalities: “Claim” does not need to be capitalized, i.e. “claim”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do the word “means,” and are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means” in claims 4, 6-9; the limitation(s) “transport units” in claims 6-7; the limitations “tool units” in claim 7; “disposal units” in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. the claim limitation "storage locations" is not adequately described by the claim nor is it defined in the specification of the instant application.
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
The term “in particular” in claims 6-9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “in particular” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The previously mentioned term is not defined by the claim nor is it defined by the specification of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2011/0067781 A1-Osborne (hereinafter “Osborne”).
Regarding claim 1, Osborne discloses production facility, in particular for producing biological-pharmaceutical products (an automated work station for the secure preparation of a final product for medical or pharmaceutical use of a determined composition and/or in determined quantities, para. [0001]), wherein the production facility comprises the following: - a clean-room area (the workstation conforms to the ISO 14644 (clean room standard), para. [0051], lines 1-2; a pharmacy room of a hospital, para. [0066], lines 2-3; isolated chamber 16, para. [0067], line 2);
- a lock device for feeding an object from an environment of the production facility into the clean-room area and/or for removing an object from the clean-room area (a lock device for introducing the vessels and containers into the loading area, para. [0013], lines 1-2; a lock device for unloading the final products from the workstation, para. [0017], lines 1-2; the loading area 18 is designed to form a lock device, for the introduction of the elements and components present in the loading area, para. [0068], lines 1-3);
- a handling device for moving the object within the clean-room area (at least one robot or one programmable logic controller for handling the objects contained in the storage area and/or in the preparation area, para. [0018]; the workstation comprises at least two robots (R1, R2), or programmable logic controllers for handling objects, para. [0020], lines 1-3);
- a storage device arranged within the clean-room area (storage area 20 disposed in workstation 10—where workstation 10 represents a pharmacy room of a hospital, para. [0067], lines 1-4, Fig. 1), which comprises a plurality of storage locations for receiving a plurality of objects (storage area 20 comprises groups 28 of shelves, para. [0071], line 2, Fig. 1; storage 20 is in particular the one containing all the vessels, para. [0082], lines 1-2; storage area 20 also stores syringes of different sizes, needle-less adaptors or pins for vials, flexible bags, etc., para. [0083], lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 2, Osborne discloses wherein the production facility comprises a tool system and a supply device for supplying the tool system with consumable materials (the loading area 18, with its lock device function for introduction into the storage area 20, is used to introduce all the elements, components and consumables (disposables) into the storage area 20 and/or, when the layout permits, directly into the preparation area 22, para. [0081], lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 3, Osborne discloses the supply device for storing consumable materials comprises or uses one or more storage locations of the storage device arranged within the clean-room area (loading area 18, with its lock device function for introduction into the storage area 20, is used to introduce all the elements, components and consumables (disposables) into the storage area 20 and/or, when the layout permits, directly into the preparation area 22, para. [0081], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 4, Osborne discloses wherein the lock device forms a component of the supply device or interacts therewith, consumable materials being able to be introduced into the clean-room area by means of the lock device (loading area 18, with its lock device function for introduction into the storage area 20, is used to introduce all the elements, components and consumables (disposables) into the storage area 20 and/or, when the layout permits, directly into the preparation area 22, para. [0081], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 5, Osborn discloses wherein the storage device forms a component of the supply device or interacts therewith (loading area 18, with its lock device function for introduction into the storage area 20, is used to introduce all the elements, components and consumables (disposables) into the storage area 20 and/or, when the layout permits, directly into the preparation area 22, para. [0081], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 6, Osborne discloses wherein, by means of a storage transport device of the storage device, in particular by means of one or more storage transport units of the storage transport device of the storage device, consumable materials supplied from an environment of the production facility can be supplied to one or more storage locations of the storage device (the storage area 20 is separated from the preparation area 22 in particular by a longitudinal vertical partition 56 in which is provided a rotating vertical carrousel 58 with multiple shelving units making it possible to transfer different elements and components from the loading area 20 to the preparation area 22, para. [0113], lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 7, Osborne discloses wherein, by means of a storage transport device of the storage device, in particular by means of one or more storage transport units of the storage transport device of the storage device (the storage area 20 is separated from the preparation area 22 in particular by a longitudinal vertical partition 56 in which is provided a rotating vertical carrousel 58 with multiple shelving units making it possible to transfer different elements and components from the loading area 20 to the preparation area 22, para. [0113], lines 1-6), consumable materials can be supplied to the tool system, in particular one or more tool units of the tool system, for example for supplying consumables and/or tool consumption means to one or more tool units of the tool system (the loading area 18, with its lock device function for introduction into the storage area 20, is used to introduce all the elements, components and consumables (disposables) into the storage area 20 and/or, when the layout permits, directly into the preparation area 22, para. [0081], lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 8, Osborne discloses wherein the supply device comprises one or more disposal units by means of which in particular used, consumed and/or contaminated consumables and/or tool consumption means can be removed from the clean-room area (the preparation area 20 comprises an area 32 for securely treating and disposing of the waste issued from the final product preparation method as a whole, para. [0076], lines 1-3; the loading area 18, with its lock device function for introduction into the storage area 20, is used to introduce all the elements, components and consumables (disposables) into the storage area 20 and/or, when the layout permits, directly into the preparation area 22, para. [0081], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 9, Osborne discloses wherein the supply device comprises a refilling device arranged within the clean-room area, by means of which a consumable, in particular present in liquid form, can be supplied to one or more storage devices of one or more workpiece carriers and/or one or more storage locations (the preparation area 22 is the one in which the final product preparation phase is implemented, in particular by mixing liquid products inside the vials, by weighing them, by transferring the liquid from a vial to a final container Such as an intravenous flexible IV bag or a syringe. It is also where adding diluents and decontaminating is carried out, para. [0086], lines 1-6; liquid pumping means 76, para. [0122], line 2).
Therefore, the reference of Osborne meet the limitations of claims 1-9.
Pertinent Prior Art
Applications 18/414,400, 18/414,584, and 18/414,587 correspond to the following Publication numbers: US20240190651A1, US20240150701A, and US20240158119A1, respectively, also cited in the double patenting rejection noted above.
Conclusion
/L.A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/MICHAEL L HOBBS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799