Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed March 24th, 2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 24th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states that Cai fails to disclose the anti-reflective structures being recess toward a direction away from the light path folding element and the structures extending orthogonal to the optical axis. Examiner respectfully disagrees and directs attention to Figs. 17 and 23-24. As shown in Fig. 23, the anti-reflective structures (VCS of 36b) extend away from a perimeter and recess towards a perimeter of 36b. The direction in which VCS extend is perpendicular to the dotted line in Figs. 17 and 24 which correspond to the optical axis. Additionally, the direction in which VCS recedes (examiner interprets the grooves between convex structures to be the recesses), is a direction away from 32b for the top section of 36b and 35b for the bottom section of 36b (as shown in Fig. 17), which are surfaces of the light path folding element. Thus, the recesses of 36b recess away from the light path folding element.
Therefore, examiner maintains the rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 14-15, 17, and 27-28 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cai (CN217404597U, as evidenced by the machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Cai discloses an optical imaging module (Figs. 16-24), comprising:
an optical imaging lens assembly (20b) comprising at least one optical lens element (as shown in Fig. 17, 20b has multiple lens elements), and an optical axis passing through the at least one optical lens element (as shown in Fig. 17, an optical axis passes through 20b);
a light path folding element (30b) having an incident surface (31b), an emitting surface (39b) and at least one optical reflecting surface (32b), and the light path folding element disposed on an image side of the optical imaging lens assembly (30b is located at an image side of 20b); and
a light blocking element (36b) disposed on at least one of the at least one optical lens element and the light path folding element (as shown in Fig. 22, 36b is on the folding element), and the light blocking element comprising:
an opening hole (as shown in Fig. 22, 36b as an opening) corresponded to one of the incident surface and the emitting surface of the light path folding element (as shown in Fig. 22, and 24, 36b is sandwiched between the two prism elements to correspond to the incident and emitting surfaces); and
a light blocking surface (36b) adjacent to the opening hole (the outer perimeter of 36b blocks incident light), and the light blocking surface opposite to one of the incident surface, the emitting surface and the at least one optical reflecting surface of the light path folding element (as shown in Figs. 17 and 22, 36b is opposite the reflecting surface of the folding element);
wherein the light blocking surface has a plurality of first anti-reflective structures (VCS), and each of the first anti-reflective structures is recessed from the light blocking surface toward a direction away from the light path folding element (as shown in Figs. 22-24, VCS is recessed away from the folding element);
wherein each of the first anti-reflective structures extends toward a first direction, and the first direction is orthogonal to the optical axis (as shown in Figs. 17 and 22, VCS of 36b are orthogonal to the optical path).
Regarding claim 2, Cai further discloses wherein the first anti-reflective structures are integrally formed with the light blocking element (as shown in Figs. 22-24, VCS is integral to the blocking element 36b).
Regarding claim 4, Cai further discloses wherein a number of the first anti-reflective structures is N1, and the following condition is satisfied:
2≤N1≤246 (as shown in Figs. 22 and 24, there are a total of 60 VCS structures).
Regarding claim 14, Cai discloses an optical imaging module (Figs. 16-24), comprising:
an optical imaging lens assembly (20b) comprising at least one optical lens element (as shown in Fig. 17, 20b has multiple lens elements), and an optical axis passing through the at least one optical lens element (as shown in Fig. 17, an optical axis passes through 20b);
a light path folding element (30b) having an incident surface (31b), an emitting surface (39b) and at least one optical reflecting surface (32b), and the light path folding element disposed on an image side of the optical imaging lens assembly (30b is located at an image side of 20b); and
a light blocking element (36b) disposed on one of the at least one optical lens element and the light path folding element (as shown in Fig. 22, 36b is on the folding element), and the light blocking element comprising:
a light blocking surface (36b, the outer perimeter of 36b blocks incident light) opposite to one of the incident surface, the emitting surface and the at least one optical reflecting surface of the light path folding element (as shown in Figs. 17 and 22, 36b is opposite the reflecting surface of the folding element);
wherein the light blocking surface has a plurality of first anti-reflective structures (VCS), and each of the first anti-reflective structures is recessed from the light blocking surface toward a direction away from the light path folding element (as shown in Figs. 22-24, VCS is recessed away from the folding element);
wherein each of the first anti-reflective structures extends toward a first direction, and the first direction is orthogonal to the optical axis (as shown in Figs. 17 and 22, VCS of 36b are orthogonal to the optical path).
Regarding claim 15, Cai further discloses wherein the first anti-reflective structures are integrally formed with the light blocking element (as shown in Figs. 22-24, VCS is integral to the blocking element 36b).
Regarding claim 17, Cai further discloses wherein a number of the first anti-reflective structures is N1, and the following condition is satisfied:
2≤N1≤246 (as shown in Figs. 22 and 24, there are a total of 60 VCS structures).
Regarding claim 27, Cai further discloses an electronic device, comprising:
the optical imaging module ([0008], “the imaging lens module and electronic device disclosed in this utility model”).
Regarding claim 28, Cai further discloses an electronic device, comprising:
the optical imaging module ([0008], “the imaging lens module and electronic device disclosed in this utility model”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai (CN217404597U, as evidenced by the machine translation) in view of Chang (US 2021/0364731).
Regarding claim 5, Cai discloses as is set forth in claim 4 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the number of the first anti-reflective structures is N1, and the following condition is satisfied: 2≤N1≤52.
However Chang, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an imaging module, teaches wherein the number of the first anti-reflective structures is N1, and the following condition is satisfied: 2≤N1≤52 (Fig. 3C, element 330 has a total of 10 anti-reflective structures).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical imaging module of Cai with the wherein the number of the first anti-reflective structures is N1, and the following condition is satisfied: 2≤N1≤52 as taught by Chang, for the purpose of increasing an efficiency of eliminating stray light ([0094]).
Regarding claim 18, Cai discloses as is set forth in claim 17 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the number of the first anti-reflective structures is N1, and the following condition is satisfied: 2≤N1≤52.
However Chang, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an imaging module, teaches wherein the number of the first anti-reflective structures is N1, and the following condition is satisfied: 2≤N1≤52 (Fig. 3C, element 330 has a total of 10 anti-reflective structures).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical imaging module of Cai with the wherein the number of the first anti-reflective structures is N1, and the following condition is satisfied: 2≤N1≤52 as taught by Chang, for the purpose of increasing an efficiency of eliminating stray light ([0094]).
Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai (CN217404597U, as evidenced by the machine translation) in view of Chang (US 2021/0364731), further in view of Tsai (US 2022/0365254).
Regarding claim 6, modified Cai teaches as is set forth in claim 5 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein on a cross-sectional plane vertical to a first direction, each of the first anti-reflective structures has a bottom end and two top ends, and distances from the bottom end to the two top ends are different, respectively.
However Tsai, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an imaging module, teaches wherein on a cross-sectional plane vertical to a first direction (examiner interprets the cross-sectional plane to be perpendicular to the optical axis in Figs. 3-4), each of the first anti-reflective structures (1122) has a bottom end and two top ends, and distances from the bottom end to the two top ends are different, respectively (as shown in Fig. 4, element 112 has plurality of anti-reflective structures 1122 that have two top ends with different distances to the bottom).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical imaging module of Cai in view of Chang with the wherein on a cross-sectional plane vertical to a first direction, each of the first anti-reflective structures has a bottom end and two top ends, and distances from the bottom end to the two top ends are different, respectively as taught by Tsai, for the purpose of reducing flare and improv image quality ([0102]).
Regarding claim 19, modified Cai teaches as is set forth in claim 18 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein on a cross-sectional plane vertical to a first direction, each of the first anti-reflective structures has a bottom end and two top ends, and distances from the bottom end to the two top ends are different, respectively.
However Tsai, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an imaging module, teaches wherein on a cross-sectional plane vertical to a first direction (examiner interprets the cross-sectional plane to be perpendicular to the optical axis in Figs. 3-4), each of the first anti-reflective structures (1122) has a bottom end and two top ends, and distances from the bottom end to the two top ends are different, respectively (as shown in Fig. 4, element 112 has plurality of anti-reflective structures 1122 that have two top ends with different distances to the bottom).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical imaging module of Cai in view of Chang with the wherein on a cross-sectional plane vertical to a first direction, each of the first anti-reflective structures has a bottom end and two top ends, and distances from the bottom end to the two top ends are different, respectively as taught by Tsai, for the purpose of reducing flare and improv image quality ([0102]).
Claims 7-13 and 20-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai (CN217404597U, as evidenced by the machine translation) in view of Song (CN 216118328 U, as evidenced by the machine translation).
Regarding claim 7, Cai discloses as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein each of the first anti-reflective structures extends toward a first direction, a surface of each of the first anti-reflective structures has a plurality of second anti-reflective structures, each of the second anti-reflective structures is recessed on the surface of each of the first anti-reflective structures, and each of the second anti-reflective structures extends toward a second direction.
However Song, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an imaging module, teaches wherein each of the first anti-reflective structures extends toward a first direction (Figs. 1-7, elements 41-43, as shown in Fig. 5, 41-43 extend along a circular direction), a surface of each of the first anti-reflective structures has a plurality of second anti-reflective structures (50), each of the second anti-reflective structures is recessed on the surface of each of the first anti-reflective structures (as shown in Fig. 7, they are recessed into 41-43 via 52), and each of the second anti-reflective structures extends toward a second direction (as shown in Figs. 5-7, 50 extends in a second direction different from 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical imaging module of Cai with the wherein each of the first anti-reflective structures extends toward a first direction, a surface of each of the first anti-reflective structures has a plurality of second anti-reflective structures, each of the second anti-reflective structures is recessed on the surface of each of the first anti-reflective structures, and each of the second anti-reflective structures extends toward a second direction as taught by Song, for the purpose of reducing reflection of light by the groove structure ([0022]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Cai teaches as is set forth in claim 7 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the second anti-reflective structures are integrally formed with the light blocking element.
However Song, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an imaging module, teaches wherein the second anti-reflective structures (Figs. 1-7, element 50) are integrally formed with the light blocking element (as shown in Figs. 5-7, 50 is integrally formed with 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical imaging module of Cai in view of Song with the wherein the second anti-reflective structures are integrally formed with the light blocking element as taught by Song, for the purpose of reducing reflection of light by the groove structure ([0022]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Cai teaches as is set forth in claim 7 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the second direction is orthogonal to the first direction.
However Song, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an imaging module, teaches wherein the second direction is orthogonal to the first direction (as shown in Figs. 5-7, 50 extend perpendicularly to the radially extending 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical imaging module of Cai in view of Song with the wherein the second direction is orthogonal to the first direction as taught by Song, for the purpose of reducing reflection of light by the groove structure ([0022]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Cai teaches as is set forth in claim 7 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the second anti-reflective structures are regularly arranged along an extension path in the first direction.
However Song, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an imaging module, teaches wherein the second anti-reflective structures (Figs. 5-7, element 50) are regularly arranged along an extension path in the first direction (as shown in Fig. 5, 50 are regularly arranged along a radial direction of 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical imaging module of Cai in view of Song with the wherein the second anti-reflective structures are regularly arranged along an extension path in the first direction as taught by Song, for the purpose of reducing reflection of light by the groove structure ([0022]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Cai teaches as is set forth in claim 7 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein on the light blocking element, a number of the first anti-reflective structures is N1, a number of the second anti-reflective structures is N2T, and the following condition is satisfied: N1<N2T.
However Song, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an imaging module, teaches wherein on the light blocking element, a number of the first anti-reflective structures is N1 (as shown in Figs. 1-7, there are three first anti-reflective structures 41-43), a number of the second anti-reflective structures is N2T ([0040], “Specifically, the number of tooth structures 51 is greater than or equal to 300 and less than or equal to 1000”), and the following condition is satisfied: N1<N2T (as disclosed by [0040], there are more second anti-reflective structures).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical imaging module of Cai in view of Song with the wherein on the light blocking element, a number of the first anti-reflective structures is N1, a number of the second anti-reflective structures is N2T, and the following condition is satisfied: N1<N2T as taught by Song, for the purpose of reducing reflection of light by the groove structure ([0022]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Cai teaches as is set forth in claim 11 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein a number of the second anti-reflective structures on one first anti-reflective structure is N2S, and the following condition is satisfied: 68≤N2S≤1100.
However Song, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an imaging module, teaches wherein a number of the second anti-reflective structures on one first anti-reflective structure is N2S, and the following condition is satisfied: 68≤N2S≤1100 ([0040], “Specifically, the number of tooth structures 51 is greater than or equal to 300 and less than or equal to 1000”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical imaging module of Cai in view of Song with the wherein a number of the second anti-reflective structures on one first anti-reflective structure is N2S, and the following condition is satisfied: 68≤N2S≤1100 as taught by Song, for the purpose of reducing reflection of light by the groove structure ([0022]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Cai teaches as is set forth in claim 11 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein on the light blocking element, the number of the first anti-reflective structures is N1, the number of the second anti-reflective structures is N2T, and the following condition is satisfied: 570≤N1+N2T≤3620.
However Song, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an imaging module, teaches wherein on the light blocking element, the number of the first anti-reflective structures is N1 (as shown in Figs. 1-7, there are three first anti-reflective structures 41-43), the number of the second anti-reflective structures is N2T ([0040], “Specifically, the number of tooth structures 51 is greater than or equal to 300 and less than or equal to 1000”), and the following condition is satisfied: 570≤N1+N2T≤3620 (as disclosed by [0040] and the Figs. 1-7, the range of Song would be 903 to 3003).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical imaging module of Cai in view of Song with the wherein on the light blocking element, the number of the first anti-reflective structures is N1, the number of the second anti-reflective structures is N2T, and the following condition is satisfied: 570≤N1+N2T≤3620 as taught by Song, for the purpose of reducing reflection of light by the groove structure ([0022]).
Regarding claim 20, Cai discloses as is set forth in claim 14 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein each of the first anti-reflective structures extends toward a first direction, a surface of each of the first anti-reflective structures has a plurality of second anti-reflective structures, each of the second anti-reflective structures is recessed on the surface of each of the first anti-reflective structures, and each of the second anti-reflective structures extends toward a second direction.
However Song, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an imaging module, teaches wherein each of the first anti-reflective structures extends toward a first direction (Figs. 1-7, elements 41-43, as shown in Fig. 5, 41-43 extend along a circular direction), a surface of each of the first anti-reflective structures has a plurality of second anti-reflective structures (50), each of the second anti-reflective structures is recessed on the surface of each of the first anti-reflective structures (as shown in Fig. 7, they are recessed into 41-43 via 52), and each of the second anti-reflective structures extends toward a second direction (as shown in Figs. 5-7, 50 extends in a second direction different from 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical imaging module of Cai with the wherein each of the first anti-reflective structures extends toward a first direction, a surface of each of the first anti-reflective structures has a plurality of second anti-reflective structures, each of the second anti-reflective structures is recessed on the surface of each of the first anti-reflective structures, and each of the second anti-reflective structures extends toward a second direction as taught by Song, for the purpose of reducing reflection of light by the groove structure ([0022]).
Regarding claim 21, modified Cai teaches as is set forth in claim 20 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the second anti-reflective structures are integrally formed with the light blocking element.
However Song, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an imaging module, teaches wherein the second anti-reflective structures (Figs. 1-7, element 50) are integrally formed with the light blocking element (as shown in Figs. 5-7, 50 is integrally formed with 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical imaging module of Cai in view of Song with the wherein the second anti-reflective structures are integrally formed with the light blocking element as taught by Song, for the purpose of reducing reflection of light by the groove structure ([0022]).
Regarding claim 22, modified Cai teaches as is set forth in claim 20 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the second direction is orthogonal to the first direction.
However Song, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an imaging module, teaches wherein the second direction is orthogonal to the first direction (as shown in Figs. 5-7, 50 extend perpendicularly to the radially extending 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical imaging module of Cai in view of Song with the wherein the second direction is orthogonal to the first direction as taught by Song, for the purpose of reducing reflection of light by the groove structure ([0022]).
Regarding claim 23, modified Cai teaches as is set forth in claim 20 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the second anti-reflective structures are regularly arranged along an extension path in the first direction.
However Song, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an imaging module, teaches wherein the second anti-reflective structures (Figs. 5-7, element 50) are regularly arranged along an extension path in the first direction (as shown in Fig. 5, 50 are regularly arranged along a radial direction of 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical imaging module of Cai in view of Song with the wherein the second anti-reflective structures are regularly arranged along an extension path in the first direction as taught by Song, for the purpose of reducing reflection of light by the groove structure ([0022]).
Regarding claim 24, modified Cai teaches as is set forth in claim 20 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein on the light blocking element, a number of the first anti-reflective structures is N1, a number of the second anti-reflective structures is N2T, and the following condition is satisfied: N1<N2T.
However Song, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an imaging module, teaches wherein on the light blocking element, a number of the first anti-reflective structures is N1 (as shown in Figs. 1-7, there are three first anti-reflective structures 41-43), a number of the second anti-reflective structures is N2T ([0040], “Specifically, the number of tooth structures 51 is greater than or equal to 300 and less than or equal to 1000”), and the following condition is satisfied: N1<N2T (as disclosed by [0040], there are more second anti-reflective structures).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical imaging module of Cai in view of Song with the wherein on the light blocking element, a number of the first anti-reflective structures is N1, a number of the second anti-reflective structures is N2T, and the following condition is satisfied: N1<N2T as taught by Song, for the purpose of reducing reflection of light by the groove structure ([0022]).
Regarding claim 25, modified Cai teaches as is set forth in claim 24 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein a number of the second anti-reflective structures on one first anti-reflective structure is N2S, and the following condition is satisfied: 68≤N2S≤1100.
However Song, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an imaging module, teaches wherein a number of the second anti-reflective structures on one first anti-reflective structure is N2S, and the following condition is satisfied: 68≤N2S≤1100 ([0040], “Specifically, the number of tooth structures 51 is greater than or equal to 300 and less than or equal to 1000”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical imaging module of Cai in view of Song with the wherein a number of the second anti-reflective structures on one first anti-reflective structure is N2S, and the following condition is satisfied: 68≤N2S≤1100 as taught by Song, for the purpose of reducing reflection of light by the groove structure ([0022]).
Regarding claim 26, modified Cai teaches as is set forth in claim 24 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein on the light blocking element, the number of the first anti-reflective structures is N1, the number of the second anti-reflective structures is N2T, and the following condition is satisfied: 570≤N1+N2T≤3620.
However Song, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an imaging module, teaches wherein on the light blocking element, the number of the first anti-reflective structures is N1 (as shown in Figs. 1-7, there are three first anti-reflective structures 41-43), the number of the second anti-reflective structures is N2T ([0040], “Specifically, the number of tooth structures 51 is greater than or equal to 300 and less than or equal to 1000”), and the following condition is satisfied: 570≤N1+N2T≤3620 (as disclosed by [0040] and the Figs. 1-7, the range of Song would be 903 to 3003).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical imaging module of Cai in view of Song with the wherein on the light blocking element, the number of the first anti-reflective structures is N1, the number of the second anti-reflective structures is N2T, and the following condition is satisfied: 570≤N1+N2T≤3620 as taught by Song, for the purpose of reducing reflection of light by the groove structure ([0022]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW Y LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2872 28 May 2026