DETAILED ACTION
This Notice is responsive to communication filed on 07/17/2026.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 07/17/2026 under 37 C.F.R. 1.111 has been entered.
The 112 rejections set forth in the Non-Final Rejection dated 04/23/2026 have been overcome by the amendment filed on 07/17/2026.
Claims 1-17 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection Note: Italicized claim limitations indicate limitations that are not explicitly disclosed in the primary reference(s).
Claims 1-6, 8-11, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du et al. (US 20200058643), and further in view of Aoki (WO 2011158486 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Du teaches a semiconductor arrangement, comprising:
a semiconductor body Fig. 2: Psub comprising a first region Fig. 2: I of a first doping type Fig. 2: Nwell (para. 0020, first well region), a second region Fig. 2: II of the first doping type Fig. 2: Nwell (para. 0020, second well region), and a third region Fig. 2: ISO of a second doping type complementary to the first doping type (N-type vs P-type); and
a guard structure Fig. 2: Pring/Nring/Pring (para. 0017 isolation structure) arranged in the third region Fig. 2: ISO between the first Fig. 2: I and second regions Fig. 2: II,
wherein the first region Fig. 2: I and the second region Fig. 2: I are spaced apart from each other in a lateral direction of the semiconductor body Fig. 2: Psub, and the third region Fig. 2: ISO is arranged between the first Fig. 2: I and second regions Fig. 2: II,
wherein the guard structure (para. 0017 isolation structure) comprises a first guard region Fig. 2: Pring and a second guard region Fig. 2: Nring arranged next to each other in a first lateral direction,
wherein the first guard region Fig. 2: Pring comprises a doped region of the second doping type (i.e. P type),
wherein the second guard region Fig. 2: Nring comprises a doped region of the first doping type (i.e. N type),
wherein the guard structure is laterally spaced apart from both the first region and the second region in the first lateral direction.
Aoki discloses the following claim limitations not explicitly disclosed by Du:
wherein the guard structure Fig. 1 (annotated below) is laterally spaced apart from both the first region Fig. 1: 21 and the second region Fig. 1: 22 in the first lateral direction (by Fig. 1: 11, silicon).
It would be easy to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Du’s teachings with Aoki’s teachings in order to form a depletion layer around the PN junction (para. 0071).
Regarding claim 2, Du teaches the semiconductor arrangement of claim 1, wherein the doped region of the second doping type of the first guard region Fig. 2: Pring adjoins a first trench Fig. 2: T, and wherein the doped region of the first doping type of the second guard region Fig. 2: Nring adjoins a second trench Fig. 2: T.
Regarding claim 3, Du teaches the semiconductor arrangement of claim 2, wherein at least one of the first and second trenches Fig. 2: T comprises an insulation layer covering sidewalls of the respective trench Fig. 2: T (para. 0029, “may be filled with an insulating material…cover the sidewalls and bottom of the trench”).
Regarding claim 4, Du teaches the semiconductor arrangement of claim 1, wherein each of the first Fig. 2: Pring and second guard regions Fig. 2: Nring extends from a first surface (i.e. top surface of Psub) into the semiconductor body Fig. 2: Psub, and wherein the first guard region Fig. 2: Pring extends deeper into the semiconductor body Fig. 2: Psub than the second guard region Fig. 2: Nring (para. 0026 teaches the second isolation ring Nring can be made relatively small).
Regarding claim 5, Du teaches the semiconductor arrangement of claim 1, wherein the guard structure further comprises a third guard region Fig. 2: Pring, wherein the third guard region Fig. 2: Pring comprises a doped region of the second doping type (i.e. P type) adjoining a third trench Fig. 2: T (para. 0030 teaches multiple trenches disposed in the isolation region), and wherein the second guard region Fig. 2: Nring is arranged between the first and third guard regions Fig. 2: Pring.
Regarding claim 6, Du teaches the semiconductor arrangement of claim 5, wherein the third guard region Fig. 2: Pring extends deeper into the semiconductor body than the second guard region Fig. 2: Nring (para. 0026 teaches the second isolation ring Nring can be made relatively small).
Regarding claim 8, Du teaches the semiconductor arrangement of claim 5, wherein the third trench Fig. 2: T comprises an insulation layer covering sidewalls of the third trench (para. 0029).
Regarding claim 9, Du teaches the semiconductor arrangement of claim 5, wherein the third guard region Fig. 2: Pring is connected to a circuit node that is configured to receive a predefined electrical potential (para. 0014 teaches a connected node between the source electrode and the substrate electrode).
Regarding claim 10, Du teaches the semiconductor arrangement of claim 9, wherein the doped region of the third guard region Fig. 2: Pring is connected to the circuit node that is configured to receive the predefined electrical potential (para. 0014 teaches a connected node between the source electrode and ground voltage).
Regarding claim 11, Du teaches the semiconductor arrangement of claim 5, wherein the doped region of one of the first and third guard regions Fig. 2: Pring is connected to a circuit node that is configured to receive a predefined electrical potential (para. 0014 teaches a connected node between the source electrode and ground voltage), and wherein the doped region of the other one of the first and third guard regions Fig. 2: Pring is connected to the doped region of the second guard region Fig. 2: Nring (connected within the semiconductor substrate).
Regarding claim 14, Du teaches the semiconductor arrangement of claim 1, wherein at least one semiconductor device (para. 0022, N-type MOSFET/P-type MOSFET) is integrated in each of the first Fig. 2: I and second regions Fig. 2: II.
Regarding claim 15, Du teaches an electronic circuit, comprising:
the semiconductor arrangement of claim 1 Fig. 2;
a first transistor device Fig. 2: Pbody (para. 0020, first N-type MOSFET); and
a second transistor device Fig. 2: Pbody (para. 0020, second N-type MOSFET),
wherein a load path of the first transistor device Fig. 2: Pbody is connected in series with a load path of the second transistor device Fig. 2: Pbody (para. 0021 teaches connection through inductive element L),
wherein the first transistor device Fig. 2: Pbody is integrated in the first region Fig. 2: I of the semiconductor arrangement (shown in Fig. 2),
wherein the second transistor device Fig. 2: Pbody is integrated in the second region Fig. 2: II of the semiconductor arrangement (shown in Fig. 2).
Claims 7, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du et al. (US 20200058643) and Aoki (WO 2011158486 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jing et al. (US 20180083096).
Regarding claim 7, Jing discloses the following claim limitations not explicitly disclosed by Du: the semiconductor arrangement of claim 5,
wherein the third guard region Fig. 3B: 106-2 (corresponding to the p+ diffusion) comprises a plurality of partial guard regions Fig. 3B: 108-2 (corresponding to the p+ diffusion) that are spaced apart from each other in a second lateral direction different from the first lateral direction (see annotated Fig. 3B below).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Du with the teachings of Jing in order to have staggered guard structures in order to reduce substrate coupling between the circuits, and avoid noise paths through the substrate isolation structure (para. 0023).
Regarding claim 12, Jing discloses the following claim limitations not explicitly disclosed by Du: the semiconductor arrangement of claim 1,
wherein the first guard region Fig. 3B: 106-1 (corresponding to the p+ diffusion) comprises a plurality of partial guard regions Fig. 3B: 108-1 (corresponding to the p+ diffusion) that are spaced apart from each other in a second lateral direction different from the first lateral direction (see annotated Fig. 3B below).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Du with the teachings of Jing in order to have staggered guard structures in order to reduce substrate coupling between the circuits, and avoid noise paths through the substrate isolation structure (para. 0023).
Regarding claim 13, Jing discloses the following claim limitations not explicitly disclosed by Du: the semiconductor arrangement of claim 1,
wherein the second guard region Fig. 3B: 106-2 (corresponding to n+ diffusion) comprises a plurality of partial guard regions Fig. 3B: 108-2 (corresponding to n+ diffusion) that are spaced apart from each other in a second lateral direction different from the first lateral direction (see annotated Fig. 3B below).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Du with the teachings of Jing in order to have staggered guard structures in order to reduce substrate coupling between the circuits, and avoid noise paths through the substrate isolation structure (para. 0023).
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du et al. (US 20200058643) and Aoki (WO 2011158486 A1), and further in view of Chang et al. (US 20220344490).
Regarding claim 16, Du teaches a semiconductor arrangement, comprising:
a semiconductor body Fig. 2: Psub comprising a first region Fig. 2: I of a first doping type, a second region Fig. 2: II of the first doping type, and a third region Fig. 2: ISO of a second doping type complementary to the first doping type (N-type, P-type); and
a guard structure Fig. 2: Pring/Nring/Pring (para. 0017 isolation structure) arranged in the third region Fig. 2: ISO between the first Fig. 2: I and second Fig. 2: II regions,
wherein the first region Fig. 2: I and the second region Fig. 2: II are spaced apart from each other in a lateral direction of the semiconductor body Fig. 2: Psub, and the third region Fig. 2: ISO is arranged between the first Fig. 2: I and second regions Fig. 2: II,
wherein the guard structure (para. 0017 isolation structure) comprises a first guard region Fig. 2: Pring, wherein the first guard region Fig. 2: Pring comprises a doped region of the second doping type (P-type) adjoining a first trench Fig. 2: T,
wherein an aspect ratio of the first trench is higher than 5,
wherein the guard structure is laterally spaced apart from both the first region and the second region in the first lateral direction.
Chang discloses the following claim limitations not disclosed by Du:
wherein an aspect ratio of the first trench Fig. 6: 61 is higher than 5 (para. 0021 teaches a ratio between 3 and 9).
It would be easy to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Du’s teachings with Chang’s in order to form fins used in finFETs (para 0016), to control the depth and height of the isolation regions (para. 0021), and use the trenches with the claimed aspect ratio to allow for a seamless structure to be formed within, resulting in the formation of seams and voids during trench gap-filling (para. 0084).
Aoki discloses the following claim limitations not explicitly disclosed by Du:
wherein the guard structure Fig. 1 (annotated below) is laterally spaced apart from both the first region Fig. 1: 21 and the second region Fig. 1: 22 in the first lateral direction (by Fig. 1: 11, silicon).
It would be easy to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Du’s teachings with Aoki’s teachings in order to form a depletion layer around the PN junction (para. 0071).
Regarding claim 17, Du teaches an electronic circuit, comprising:
the semiconductor arrangement of claim 16;
a first transistor device Fig. 2: Pbody (para. 0020, first N-type MOSFET); and
a second transistor device Fig. 2: Pbody (para. 0020, second N-type MOSFET),
wherein a load path of the first transistor device Fig. 2: Pbody is connected in series with a load path of the second transistor device Fig. 2: Pbody (para. 0021, via inductive element L),
wherein the first transistor device Fig. 2: Pbody is integrated in the first region Fig. 2: I of the semiconductor arrangement (shown in Fig. 2),
wherein the second transistor device Fig. 2: Pbody is integrated in the second region Fig. 2: II of the semiconductor arrangement (shown in Fig. 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Nkechinyere Esiaba/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/Kretelia Graham/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817