DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 22-27 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: the first sleeve and the second sleeve as claimed are distinct from claims 1-13 and 21 since no first and second sleeve is set forth. New claims 22-27 appear to be a similar version of Group II claims in the restriction of 1-6-2026, the Group II has been previously restricted.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 22-27 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 3-25-2026 is acknowledged. The restriction is made final.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “biasing element to enable movement” in claim 1, line 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johansson et al. (4,790,169). Johansson discloses (Fig. 10) an apparatus (300) for use in doming a can bottom (14’) comprising an alignment retainer (336) and a profile retainer (342) which is coupled to the alignment retainer (336) by a biasing element (352) between biasing spring containing structures (372) on the alignment retainer (336) and a flange structure (355) on the profile retainer (342) wherein the alignment retainer (336) and the profile retainer (342) move relatively (Fig. 12) as the biasing element (352) is compressed. Regarding claim 2, the alignment retainer (336) includes a central opening (inner wall of 336) to slidably receive the profile retainer (342). Regarding claim 3, the alignment retainer (336) is a first cylindrical body (die ring; col. 8, lines 38-39) having a first end comprising a top of the alignment retainer comprising an alignment profile (338) and a second bottom end attached to the biasing element (352; Fig. 10). Regarding claim 4, the alignment profile (338) is a contoured shape (338; Figs. 10 and 11) providing an alignment surface comprising a top of the contoured shape alignment profile (338) as shown in Fig. 12 which cooperates with a die ring (330) to form a peripheral ring shape (302; Fig. 14) and a clamp portion comprising a bottom of the contoured shape (338) which cooperates with the die ring (330) to form the support ring (304; Fig. 14). Regarding claim 5, the profile retainer (342) is a cylindrical body (342) concentric with the alignment profile (336; col. 8, lines 50-54), the profile retainer includes a first end with a profile forming surface (344) and a second end attached to base (354). Regarding claim 6, the alignment profile (338) of the alignment retainer (336) is positioned adjacent (close to concentrically) the profile forming surface (344) of the profile retainer (342). Regarding claim 7, the alignment profile (338) of the alignment retainer (336) is movable relative to the profile forming surface (344) of the profile retainer (342) a first distance (Fig. 12) to a first operative position and a second distance (Fig. 13), the first distance being greater than the second distance as illustrated in Figs. 12 and 13 because the alignment surface of the contoured shape alignment profile (338) is longer than the clamp portion of the contoured shaped alignment profile (338). Regarding claim 8, the second end of the alignment retainer (336) includes a plurality of spring cavities (372, Fig. 10) radially spaced relative to a longitudinal axis of the alignment retainer.
Claim(s) 1 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seconde et al. (5,187,966). Seconde discloses an apparatus (1, Fig. 1a) for use with a domer (die, 2) configured to form a dished steel sheet (col. 3, lines 65-67), the apparatus (1) comprising an alignment retainer (4,7) and a profile retainer (8,9,10), the profile retainer (8,9,10) movably coupled to the alignment retainer (col. 5, lines 18-21), and a biasing element (14,15,16) positioned between the alignment retainer (4,7) and the profile retainer (8,9,10) to enable movement of the alignment retainer relative to the profile retainer (col. 4, lines 39-42). Regarding claim 21, the apparatus (1) includes a domer (2,3,5,6) comprising a domer die (2) positioned in a cavity defined by plate (5) and blankholders (3,6), the domer die (2) is configured to shape a bottom profile (col. 7, lines 18-35) of a sheet metal plate (30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johansson et al. (4,790,169) in view of Lyon (2,254,376). Regarding claim 9, Johansson discloses that the profile retainer (342) includes a flange (355) at its second end, opposite from the profile forming first end (344) but does not disclose that the flange has a plurality of radial bores. Lyon teaches a profile retainer (14) having a flange (13) with a plurality of radial spaced bores (18) for springs (17) and an alignment retainer (16) having a plurality of spring cavities (19) for the springs (17) wherein the plurality of radial bores (18) and the plurality of spring cavities (19) coaxially align (Figs. 1 and 2). It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the profile retainer flange of Johansson to include a plurality of radial bores as taught by Lyon so as to seat the spring within a bore that is coaxial to the spring cavity.
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johansson et al. (4,790,169) in view of Lyon (2,254,376) and further in view of Chun et al. (7,326,008). Johansson view of Lyon does not disclose threaded fasteners extending through the springs. Chun teaches springs (34) that are received in bores (36) where a threaded fastener (screw, 40) extends through the springs (col. 3, lines 44-47). It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to provide the profile retainer of Johansson in view of Lyon with threaded fasteners which extend through the springs as taught by Lyon to provide guidance and stability as the springs compress.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/EDWARD T TOLAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725