DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 10/31/2025 is acknowledged.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The specification refers to the claims by claim number on page 1, lines 24-27 (reference “Claim 1”, “Claim 6”, “Claim 13” and “Claim 15”). As the claims are likely to be renumbered and/or cancelled during examination, the reference to actual numbers should be removed and replaced with the substance of the originally filed claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“carrier element” introduced in claim 1. The corresponding structure of the carrier element is shown structurally as reference number 2 in the figures and forms a receptacle area.
“sealing structure or seal” introduced claim 1. The corresponding structure of the sealing structure or seal is shown structurally as reference number 4 in the figures and the specification discloses that the corresponding structure is a sealing ring and that the seal is formed by way of negative pressure.
“removal station” introduced in claim 6. The corresponding structure of the removal station is disclosed as “The removal station has an action means which is designed to act on the protective film mechanically (for example by grasping, pulling, or scraping), thermally (for example using infrared radiation, hot air, or warm fluid), chemically (for example using a solvent for dissolving the protective film or its adhesive), pneumatically (for example using compressed air), or hydraulically (for example using a fluid jet), in particular to remove it from the second lens surface. The specification discloses that the action means can have three fluid nozzles 32, 33.
“action means (31), which is designed to act mechanically, thermally, chemically, pneumatically, or hydraulically on the protective film” introduced in claim 6. The corresponding structure of the removal station is disclosed as “three fluid nozzles 32, 33”.
“evaluation device” introduced in claim 6. The corresponding structure of the evaluation device is disclosed functionally as “The evaluation device can be linked to the external camera and can be designed to carry out object recognition in the receptacle area, in particular by evaluating indicators for a protective film or protective film residues on the second lens surface. Image parameters can be stored here in the evaluation device,”. The specification also discloses that the information is checked in a control unit, disclosing that “Step e) can comprise the output of a control signal to release and remove the optical lens from the lens holder when a successful removal has been established. Step e) can optionally also comprise an abort signal, in order to remove the optical lens from the lens holder and identify it as an optical lens to be rechecked (preferably in the lens information of a control unit, not physically on the optical lens).” Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the evaluation device is a conventional control unit such as a computer or microprocessor.
“lifting device” introduced in claim 11. The corresponding structure of the lifting device is disclosed as “The lifting device can optionally have a lifting drive. The lifting movement is thus executable individually. The lifting drive is preferably a pneumatic lifting cylinder or an electric motor, for example, an electric linear motor or a spindle drive. A pneumatic lifting cylinder acts comparatively quickly, while very precise positioning movements and positioning movements having defined accelerations can be carried out using the electric motor. The target position may thus be aimed at particularly precisely. In addition, the optional oscillating movements can be executed using particularly small positioning paths. The position of the upper glass edge of the optical lens is preferably known for this purpose, thus the glass edge between second lens surface and lens circumference. The optional oscillation can thus be brought to a minimum along the glass edge, and maximum effectiveness of the fluid jet or the fluid jets may thus be achieved. A more cost-effective alternative to the lifting drive would be a mechanical correlation gear, for example, a cam gear, which couples the lifting movements of the lifting device to the rotational movement of the pivot mount.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a sealing structure or seal" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This appears to be the first instance of the claim element referencing any seal, and the examiner suggests using “a sealing structure or a seal”. Additionally, it is unclear what the difference is between “sealing structure” and “seal”, and it appears that the claims are a literal translation of the parent foreign language application.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the image area" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This appears to be the first instance of the claim element referencing any image area, and the examiner suggests using “an image area”.
Claims 2-12 are rejected due to their dependency from claim 1.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "a lens holder" in lines 1-2 and "an optical lens" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for theses limitation in the claim. Claim 6 makes references to claim 1, which introduces both lens holder and optical lens. It is suggested that applicant either use consistent antecedent basis with claim 1 by amending claim 6 to recite “the lens holder” and “the optical lens”, or alternatively, write out the limitations of claim 1 in claim 6 and eliminate the need for a reference to claim 1.
Claims 7-12 are rejected due to their dependency from claim 6.
Regarding claim 8, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 9 recites the limitation "its image area" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Parent claim 1 recites “the image area”, and the limitation of claim 9 is not sufficiently distinguished over claim 1. The examiner suggests using additional language to distinguish these image areas.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "at least one fluid nozzle" in line 3-4, followed by "the fluid nozzle or nozzles" in line 5 (and repeated in line 7), followed by "the fluid nozzles" in line 8. Claim 10 is indefinite because it is unclear whether a single nozzle is required or if plural nozzles are required in the claim. Compare the earlier language which implies one nozzle is sufficient (“at least one fluid nozzle” as in line 3-4, 5, and 7), or the language of line 8, which recites the fluid nozzles.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected based on their dependency from claim 10. Additionally, note that both claim 11 and 12 recites “the fluid nozzle or nozzles”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Janetta (WO 2004103637 A1).
As to claim 1, Janetta discloses a lens holder (“a device for machining spectacle lenses”… wherein “Said device comprises a spectacle lens securing shaft (5, 6, 19) that secures the spectacle lens (9) by means of a block or suction element (8, 18)…”) for accommodating an optical lens (“spectacle lens (9)”),
comprising a carrier element (“hollow shaft 19”) that forms a receptacle area (visible in the figures) for the optical lens (“spectacle lens (9)”), and
comprising a sealing structure or seal (“block or suction cup 18”) on the carrier element (“hollow shaft 19”) for fixing the optical lens (“spectacle lens (9)”) in the receptacle area (visible in the figures) by negative pressure (“The spectacle lens 9 is held on the block or suction cup 18 by means of a vacuum.”),
characterized in that a camera (“a transducer 22 is arranged in the form of a CCD camera”) is arranged behind the receptacle area (see figures below), using the image area (11) of which a light distribution in the receptacle area (visible in the figures) is acquired. See the translation, disclosing:
In the embodiment shown in FIG. 4, there is only one hollow shaft 19 with a block or suction pad 20 which is attached on one side to the spectacle lens 9 and covers almost the entire surface thereof. The spectacle lens 9 is held on the block or suction cup 18 by means of a vacuum. For this purpose, a vacuum connection 21 is provided on the hollow shaft 19. The hollow shaft 19 is rotatably mounted on a bearing block 16 fixed to the housing, while the grinding wheels 3 can be adjusted in a manner not shown by means of a control device 12 in a CNC-controlled manner in the X direction and the Z direction.
In this embodiment, a surface processing device 17, which is also controlled by the control device 12, is provided, which is only shown schematically and carries out the processing of the free optical surface of the spectacle lens 9 before or after the edge processing by means of the grinding wheels 3 in a CNC-controlled manner by the control device 12.
The spectacle lens 9 can be positioned precisely on the block or suction device 18 with the aid of a handling device 26, which is also controlled by the control device 12.
The block or sucker 18 has a sensor 20 in the form of a reflective optical Elements on. In the hollow shaft 19, a transducer 22 is arranged in the form of a CCD camera. A light beam 27 emanates from the CCD camera 22 and strikes the sensor 20 in the form of the reflecting optical element and is reflected back to the CCD camera 22. Due to the deformation of the block or suction cup 18 due to the forces occurring during the processing of the spectacle lens 9 by means of the grinding wheels 3 or the surface processing device 17, the sensor 20 is deformed or deflected in the form of the reflecting optical element, so that the radiation reflected back to the CCD camera 22 28 is scattered or distracted.
This scattering or deflection is a measure of the load condition of the spectacle lens 9 during the machining process and is passed to the control device 12, which controls the machining process in such a way that even at the maximum machining speed there is no risk of damage to the spectacle lens 9 or becoming unusable.
See marked up Figures 4, below:
As to claim 2, Janetta is characterized in that the seal (“block or suction cup 18”) is a sealing ring (the term “suction cup” reads on a sealing ring) and the camera (10) is arranged set back in the centre of the sealing ring.
See also the alternative of item 8, in Figure 2, which is clearly a ring shape.
As to claim 3, Janetta is characterized in that the camera (“In the hollow shaft 19, a transducer 22 is arranged in the form of a CCD camera.”) is arranged fluid-tight in a housing (“a vacuum connection 21 is provided on the hollow shaft 19”) of the lens holder (see Figure 4, above).
As to claim 5, Janetta is characterized in that a cavity (the interior of the hollow shaft 19), into which a negative pressure channel (“a vacuum connection 21 is provided on the hollow shaft 19”) opens, is formed between the camera (“CCD camera 22”) and the receptacle area (see Figure 4, above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janetta (WO 2004103637 A1) as applied to claims 1-3 and 5 above, and further in view of Savoie (US 20050173046 A1).
As to claim 4, Janetta does not disclose that the lens holder is further characterized in that an optically transmissive pane is seated in the housing between the camera and the receptacle area.
However, Savoie discloses lens holder that is further characterized in that an optically transmissive pane (6) is seated in the housing (5) between the camera (10) and the receptacle area (3). See especially paragraphs 0088-89, disclosing:
[0088] The first station 30 is utilized for lens orientation to ensure that a lens blank 60 is property aligned and oriented at the outset of the lens blocking process. The imaging station has a ground glass plate 40 with three pegs 42 protruding therefrom in a triangular arrangement. The ground glass plate 40 is mounted over an opening 44 in the top 22 of the apparatus. The camera 21 is mounted under the top 22 and is oriented toward a mirror 48 on a mirror support structure 50 such that a line of sight 52 of the camera is reflected to make a right angle with the ground glass plate 40.
[0089] A light (not shown) may be shone through the lens blank 60. The camera communicates with the controller 29 to provide lens orientation information to the controller 29. The controller 29 in turn communicates with a screen 38 and includes a first image generator for generating a desired lens orientation image on the screen 38 and a second image generator which receives information from the camera 21 and generates a second image on the screen 38 indicating actual orientation of the lens blank. The desired orientation will be a predetermined orientation taking into account the shape of the particular lens blank 60 selected and how such a lens blank should be oriented during a lens generation process.
[0090] The screen acts as an image comparator and displays the first and second images relative to each other to guide manipulation of the lens blank for orienting the lens blank to correspond to the desired orientation.
[0091] In use, the lens blank 60 is manually placed on the three pegs 42. The image of the lens blank 60 as seen by the camera 21 through the ground glass plate 40 is displayed on the screen 38 and would correspond to the image 60 in FIG. 5. A typical lens blank has manufacturer's markings for orientation purposes and those manufacturer's markings are indicated by reference 62 in FIG. 5. The markings of the computer generated first or target image of the lens are indicated by reference 64. The markings 62 and 64 typically include a circle around a region of the lens blank having the required optical characteristics, a pair of dashed lines showing the lens geometric center and cylindrical axis, and a rectangular symbol indicating the location of a bifocal segment (if any). The computer generated markings 64 may also contain a contour line showing an outline of an eyeglass frame to which the lens is to be mounted.
See especially Figure 4, below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized that the lens holder is further characterized in that an optically transmissive pane is seated in the housing between the camera and the receptacle area as taught by Savoie in order so that a desired orientation cane be achieved.
Claim(s) 6 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider (US 20200130126 A1) and Janetta (WO 2004103637 A1).
As to claim 6, Schneider discloses a Protective film removal device (“an apparatus 1 for deblocking”) comprising a lens holder (“block piece 3”),
wherein the lens holder (“block piece”) is designed to hold an optical lens (see paragraph 0049, disclosing “The block piece 3 is designed in particular for a clamping with a defined rotational position for a processing of the assigned lens 2.”) having a first lens surface (101), a second lens surface (102) opposite to the first lens surface (101), and a lens circumference (103),
wherein the optical lens (“lens 2”) faces with the first lens surface in the direction of the lens holder (“block piece 3”) and a protective film (“protective layer and/or protective film 5”) is applied to the second lens surface (see paragraph 0051, disclosing “Optionally, a protective layer and/or protective film 5 is arranged or provided on the block side 2A of the lens 2, i.e., the side of the lens that faces the block material 4 and/or block piece 3”), in a removal station (S1) for detaching the protective film (“protective film 5”) from the second lens surface (102) of the optical lens (100),
wherein the removal station (“working space 6”) has an action means (nozzle device 10 and/nozzle device 11 and/or nozzle device 12), which is designed to act mechanically, thermally, chemically, pneumatically, or hydraulically on the protective film (see paragraph 0074, disclosing “The deblocking, in particular a softening or melting and/or detaching of the block material 4, in particular a detaching of the protective film 5 and/or lens 2, is supported by the preheating and/or heating of the fluid and/or the liquid”).
See paragraphs 0070-74, disclosing:
[0070] The apparatus 1 preferably has a first nozzle device 10 for generating and/or releasing the fluid jet F1. The nozzle device 10 and/or its nozzle 10A and/or the fluid jet F1 can be moved and/or adjusted, as necessary, radially and/or parallel to the axis of rotation D and/or in a Z-direction, here in particular in the vertical direction and/or in its inclination relative to the axis of rotation D.
[0071] Especially preferably, the first nozzle device 10 is incorporated in a stationary manner so that a simple design is produced.
[0072] Preferably, a liquid jet, in particular a water jet, is used as the fluid jet F1. The fluid jet F1 is preferably under high pressure.
[0073] The fluid jet F1 and/or the liquid is preferably preheated or heated, depending on the block material 4 that is used. For example, when using a thermoplastic as block material 4, it is sufficient to preheat the fluid and/or the fluid jet F1 to a temperature that is lower than the melting point of the thermoplastic. For example, the melting point of the thermoplastic lies in the range of 60° C. to 70° C. The fluid and/or water W then has, for example, a temperature of between 30° C. and 50° C. and/or a temperature that lies at least 10° C. below the melting point of the thermoplastic. When using an alloy with a melting point of, for example, approximately 50 to 60° C., as is common currently, the fluid and/or water is preferably heated by more than 10° C. over the melting point and preferably has a temperature of approximately 65 to 90° C.
[0074] The deblocking, in particular a softening or melting and/or detaching of the block material 4, in particular a detaching of the protective film 5 and/or lens 2, is supported by the preheating and/or heating of the fluid and/or the liquid.
[0075] Alternatively, during deblocking, the lens 2 can also be detached directly from the protective film 5 instead of from the block material 4. In this case, the fluid jet F1 then strikes outside or on the periphery preferably in the area of the contour of the protective film 5 and/or in the transition of the protective film 5 with the lens 2 in order to carry out the deblocking process and/or detaching process.
[0076] During the deblocking, the lens 2 is relatively prestressed axially away from the assigned block piece 3 preferably by means of a tensile force, and/or after the deblocking, it is pulled upward and/or axially moved away, here in particular upward and/or by raising the lens 2.
[0077] In a diagrammatic section that is similar to FIG. 6, FIG. 7 shows the apparatus 1 and/or the working space 6 after a lens 2 is deblocked and/or is moved away from the assigned block piece 3.
[0078] Preferably, after the deblocking and/or after the moving away of the lens 2, the block piece 3 is cleaned and/or adhering block material 4 is removed. This is carried out especially preferably by means of a (second) fluid jet F2, as indicated diagrammatically in FIG. 7. However, another cleaning in the working space 6 and/or in the apparatus 1 or subsequently can also be carried out.
[0079] In the illustrative example, the apparatus 1 preferably has a second nozzle device 11 for cleaning the block piece 3 and/or for removing block material 4. In particular, the second nozzle device 11 serves to release and/or to generate the second fluid jet F2.
[0080] The second nozzle device 11 is preferably arranged in the working space 6 just like the first nozzle device 10.
[0081] In particular, the block piece 3 is held for cleaning or during cleaning by the second holding device 9 and/or its seat or holder 9A and in particular in this case is also rotated by a motor.
[0082] The fluid jet F2 for cleaning the block piece 3 and/or the second nozzle device 11 or nozzle thereof can be varied, adjusted and/or oscillated, i.e., moved back and forth, preferably during cleaning or for cleaning along the axis of rotation D or in the vertical or Z-direction and/or in its inclination relative to the axis of rotation D or its radial plane.
[0083] Preferably, a liquid, in particular water, is used as fluid for the fluid jet F2. In particular, the fluid is sprayed with high pressure on the block piece 3, in particular its side and/or flat side (block side) that faces the lens 2.
[0084] The fluid for the fluid jet F2 is preferably preheated or heated.
[0085] In particular, the identical and/or same or just preheated fluid as for the deblocking or as for the (first) fluid jet F1 is used.
[0086] Preferably, the optional protective film 5 is removed from the deblocked lens 2 in particular in the working space 6 and/or in the apparatus 1. This is carried out especially preferably by means of a (third) fluid jet F3 and/or in the position that is moved away from the block piece 3, depicted in FIG. 7.
[0087] In the illustrative example, the apparatus 1 preferably has a third and/or additional nozzle device 12 for removing block material 4 and/or the optional protective film 5 from the deblocked lens 2. This is preferably arranged just like the first and/or second nozzle device 10, 11 in the working space 6. In particular, the lens 2 is held by the first holding device 8 for removing block material residue and/or the protective film 5 and in this case is also rotated by a motor.
[0088] The third fluid jet F3 and/or the third or additional nozzle device 12 and/or nozzle thereof can preferably be rotated, adjusted, and/or oscillated during or for removal along the axis of rotation D and/or in the vertical or Z-direction and/or in its inclination relative to the axis of rotation D and/or its radial plane.
[0089] Preferably, a liquid, in particular water, is used as fluid for the fluid jet F3. In particular, the fluid is sprayed with high pressure on the lens 2, in particular its block side 2A.
[0090] The fluid for the fluid jet F3 is preferably preheated or heated.
[0091] In particular, the identical or same and/or just preheated fluid as for the deblocking and/or as for the first and/or second fluid jet F1, F2 is used.
[0092] The (second) nozzle device 11 and/or the (second) fluid jet F2 is preferably directed to the (deblocked) block piece 3 and/or assigned to the latter.
[0093] The (third) nozzle device 12 and/or the (third) fluid jet F3 is preferably directed to the (deblocked) lens 2 and/or assigned to the latter.
[0094] Especially preferably, the nozzle devices 11, 12 and/or fluid jets F2, F3 in each case are inclined relative to a radial plane R of the axis of rotation D and/or opposite to it, as indicated in FIG. 7.
[0095] Preferably, the nozzle devices 11 and/or 12 and/or fluid jets F2 and/or F3 can be moved back and forth, i.e., oscillated, in such a way that only the block side of the block piece 3 and/or the lens 2 in each case—in particular also taking into consideration the rotation of the block piece 3 and/or lens 2 that is preferably carried out in this case—is completely covered and/or cleaned. Especially preferably, a preferably exclusively linear movement of the nozzle device 11 and/or 12 in particular along and/or parallel to the axis of rotation D is carried out as an oscillating movement here.
See Figures 6 and 7, below:
Schneider, however, does not disclose that the lens holder is a lens holder according to claim 1, or wherein the removal station has an evaluation device, which is linked to the camera and is designed to evaluate the light distribution in the receptacle area.
However, Janetta discloses and makes obvious using a lens holder according to claim 1 (see below), and using an evaluation device (“control device 12”), which is linked to the camera (“CCD camera 22”) and is designed to evaluate the light distribution in the receptacle area (see the translation, disclosing “This scattering or deflection is a measure of the load condition of the spectacle lens 9 during the machining process and is passed to the control device 12, which controls the machining process in such a way that even at the maximum machining speed there is no risk of damage to the spectacle lens 9 or becoming unusable.”).
Janetta discloses a lens holder (“a device for machining spectacle lenses”… wherein “Said device comprises a spectacle lens securing shaft (5, 6, 19) that secures the spectacle lens (9) by means of a block or suction element (8, 18)…”) for accommodating an optical lens (“spectacle lens (9)”),
comprising a carrier element (“hollow shaft 19”) that forms a receptacle area (visible in the figures) for the optical lens (“spectacle lens (9)”), and
comprising a sealing structure or seal (“block or suction cup 18”) on the carrier element (“hollow shaft 19”) for fixing the optical lens (“spectacle lens (9)”) in the receptacle area (visible in the figures) by negative pressure (“The spectacle lens 9 is held on the block or suction cup 18 by means of a vacuum.”),
characterized in that a camera (“a transducer 22 is arranged in the form of a CCD camera”) is arranged behind the receptacle area (see figures below), using the image area (11) of which a light distribution in the receptacle area (visible in the figures) is acquired. See the translation, disclosing:
In the embodiment shown in FIG. 4, there is only one hollow shaft 19 with a block or suction pad 20 which is attached on one side to the spectacle lens 9 and covers almost the entire surface thereof. The spectacle lens 9 is held on the block or suction cup 18 by means of a vacuum. For this purpose, a vacuum connection 21 is provided on the hollow shaft 19. The hollow shaft 19 is rotatably mounted on a bearing block 16 fixed to the housing, while the grinding wheels 3 can be adjusted in a manner not shown by means of a control device 12 in a CNC-controlled manner in the X direction and the Z direction.
In this embodiment, a surface processing device 17, which is also controlled by the control device 12, is provided, which is only shown schematically and carries out the processing of the free optical surface of the spectacle lens 9 before or after the edge processing by means of the grinding wheels 3 in a CNC-controlled manner by the control device 12.
The spectacle lens 9 can be positioned precisely on the block or suction device 18 with the aid of a handling device 26, which is also controlled by the control device 12.
The block or sucker 18 has a sensor 20 in the form of a reflective optical Elements on. In the hollow shaft 19, a transducer 22 is arranged in the form of a CCD camera. A light beam 27 emanates from the CCD camera 22 and strikes the sensor 20 in the form of the reflecting optical element and is reflected back to the CCD camera 22. Due to the deformation of the block or suction cup 18 due to the forces occurring during the processing of the spectacle lens 9 by means of the grinding wheels 3 or the surface processing device 17, the sensor 20 is deformed or deflected in the form of the reflecting optical element, so that the radiation reflected back to the CCD camera 22 28 is scattered or distracted.
This scattering or deflection is a measure of the load condition of the spectacle lens 9 during the machining process and is passed to the control device 12, which controls the machining process in such a way that even at the maximum machining speed there is no risk of damage to the spectacle lens 9 or becoming unusable.
See marked up Figures 4, below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the lens holder is a lens holder according to claim 1, or wherein the removal station has an evaluation device, which is linked to the camera and is designed to evaluate the light distribution in the receptacle area as taught by Savoie during the nozzle removal process of Schneider such that scattering or deflection is a measure of the load condition of the lens and there is no risk of damage to the spectacle lens.
As to claim 10, Schneider discloses that a lens holder (holder 8A and 9A) has an imaginary centre axis (“the axis of rotation or central axis D”), and the action means (nozzles 10, 11, 12) has at least one fluid nozzle (nozzles 10, 11, 12) having a nozzle outlet channel, and at least one pivot mount (see paragraph 0088, disclosing that the inclination of the nozzle can be adjusted, i.e., pivoted) between the lens holder (1) and the fluid nozzle or nozzles (32, 33), wherein the pivot mount (the inclination capability discloses a pivot mount) is designed such that a relative movement around the centre axis (A) is executable using the fluid nozzle or nozzles (nozzles 10, 11, 12), wherein the nozzle outlet channel of the fluid nozzles (nozzles 10, 11, 12) is oriented inward in each case.
See paragraphs 0062, 0067, 0070, 0081-82, 008, 0095, disclosing:
[0062] The first holding device 8 and/or its holder 8A is in particular designed in such a way that the lens can turn or rotate around the axis of rotation or central axis D that is indicated in FIG. 6. Especially preferably, the first holding device 8 has a corresponding motor or rotary drive 8B, which is coupled directly or indirectly with the holder 8A, for example via a belt drive, here in particular via a mounting 8C.
…
[0067] The first holding device 9 and/or its holder 9A is in particular designed in such a way that the block piece 3 can turn or rotate around the axis of rotation or central axis D that is indicated in FIG. 6. Especially preferably, the first holding device 9A has a corresponding motor or rotary drive 9B, which is coupled directly or indirectly with the holder 9A, for example via a belt drive, here in particular via a mounting 9C.
…
[0070] The apparatus 1 preferably has a first nozzle device 10 for generating and/or releasing the fluid jet F1. The nozzle device 10 and/or its nozzle 10A and/or the fluid jet F1 can be moved and/or adjusted, as necessary, radially and/or parallel to the axis of rotation D and/or in a Z-direction, here in particular in the vertical direction and/or in its inclination relative to the axis of rotation D.
…
[0081] In particular, the block piece 3 is held for cleaning or during cleaning by the second holding device 9 and/or its seat or holder 9A and in particular in this case is also rotated by a motor.
[0082] The fluid jet F2 for cleaning the block piece 3 and/or the second nozzle device 11 or nozzle thereof can be varied, adjusted and/or oscillated, i.e., moved back and forth, preferably during cleaning or for cleaning along the axis of rotation D or in the vertical or Z-direction and/or in its inclination relative to the axis of rotation D or its radial plane.
…
[0088] The third fluid jet F3 and/or the third or additional nozzle device 12 and/or nozzle thereof can preferably be rotated, adjusted, and/or oscillated during or for removal along the axis of rotation D and/or in the vertical or Z-direction and/or in its inclination relative to the axis of rotation D and/or its radial plane.
…
[0095] Preferably, the nozzle devices 11 and/or 12 and/or fluid jets F2 and/or F3 can be moved back and forth, i.e., oscillated, in such a way that only the block side of the block piece 3 and/or the lens 2 in each case—in particular also taking into consideration the rotation of the block piece 3 and/or lens 2 that is preferably carried out in this case—is completely covered and/or cleaned. Especially preferably, a preferably exclusively linear movement of the nozzle device 11 and/or 12 in particular along and/or parallel to the axis of rotation D is carried out as an oscillating movement here.
As to claim 11, Schneider discloses that a lifting device (see claim 42, disclosing “the deblocked lens and the deblocked block piece being gripped simultaneously and raised by respective holding devices”) is formed between the lens holder (holder 8A and 9A) and the fluid nozzle or nozzles (nozzles 10, 11, 12) such that a relative movement in relation to the lens holder, which is oriented longitudinally in relation to the centre axis (“the axis of rotation or central axis D”), is executable using the fluid nozzle or nozzles (see claim 42, disclosing “separately holding and simultaneously rotating the lens and the block piece during deblocking while the fluid jet acts on them, wherein after the deblocking, the holding device together with the deblocked lens is moved or swung away from the block piece”)
See paragraphs 0162-165, disclosing:
[0162] The lens 2 and the block piece 3 are put in rotation by a motor by the corresponding rotary drives 8B and 9B.
[0163] The first fluid jet F1, which in particular as a hot liquid jet and in particular with high pressure strikes the block material 4 and/or its transition area to the block piece 3 and/or the lens 2 and/or protective film 5, leads to a (further) softening and/or to an especially fast detachment of the lens 2 and/or protective film 5 from the block piece 3 and/or block material 4.
[0164] After detaching and/or deblocking, the lens 2 and the block piece 3 are moved away from one another axially and/or are moved apart. In particular, the lens 2 is raised or is moved away, especially preferably because of the in particular pneumatic prestressing.
[0165] Especially preferably, the holder 8A is pulled back or raised far enough for a defined or uniform stop to be reached. In this way, the lens 2, in particular also in the case of different lens thicknesses, is moved so far away from the block piece 3 that an axial distance that is sufficient for the subsequent cleaning or removal of block material 4 and/or protective film 5, especially preferably of more than 5 mm, in particular of more than 10 mm, and in particular of approximately 2 cm or more, is reached.
See also claim 42, disclosing:
42. Method for deblocking a lens from a block piece, on which the lens is blocked by means of a block material, comprising: deblocking a lens from a block piece by means of a fluid jet, and with at least one of the following steps: swinging or turning the lens away from the deblocked block piece after the deblocking as a working space is opened; separately holding and simultaneously rotating the lens and the block piece during deblocking while the fluid jet acts on them, wherein after the deblocking, the holding device together with the deblocked lens is moved or swung away from the block piece; placing the deblocked lens with a block facing side directed upward in a transport carrier; the deblocked lens and the deblocked block piece being gripped simultaneously and raised by respective holding devices, or; gripping the blocked lens, the deblocked lens, and the deblocked block piece with independently-operating grippers.
As to claim 12, Schneider does not disclose but makes obvious that the lens holder is arranged in a rotationally-fixed manner and the fluid nozzle or the fluid nozzles are each arranged rotatably around the pivot mount.
Schneider discloses that the lens holder is arranged in a rotationally movable manner (paragraph 0059, disclosing “a first holding device 8 for in particular rotating holding of the lens 2”; paragraph 0064, disclosing “a second holding device 9 for in particular rotating holding of the block piece 3”) and the fluid nozzle or the fluid nozzles are each arranged rotatably fixed (See paragraphs 0062, 0067, 0070, 0081-82, 008, 0095, cited above in claim 10) around the pivot mount. However, rearrangement of parts is often obvious, and reversal of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. In this case it would have been a rearrangement and reversal of parts to modify Schneider so that the lens holder is arranged in a rotationally-fixed manner and the fluid nozzle or the fluid nozzles are each arranged rotatably around the pivot mount.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have modified Schneider such that the lens holder is arranged in a rotationally-fixed manner and the fluid nozzle or the fluid nozzles are each arranged rotatably around the pivot mount as an obvious rearrangement and reversal of the parts of Schneider.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider (US 20200130126 A1) and Janetta (WO 2004103637 A1) as applied to claims 6 and 10-12 above, and further in view of Savoie (US 20050173046 A1).
As to claim 7, Schneider does not disclose a light source which illuminates the receptacle area of the lens holder.
However, Savoie discloses a light source (“A light (not shown) may be shone through the lens blank 60.” See also UV light source 220) which illuminates the receptacle area of the lens holder (“pegs 42””; “through the lens blank”). See especially paragraphs 0088-89, disclosing:
[0088] The first station 30 is utilized for lens orientation to ensure that a lens blank 60 is property aligned and oriented at the outset of the lens blocking process. The imaging station has a ground glass plate 40 with three pegs 42 protruding therefrom in a triangular arrangement. The ground glass plate 40 is mounted over an opening 44 in the top 22 of the apparatus. The camera 21 is mounted under the top 22 and is oriented toward a mirror 48 on a mirror support structure 50 such that a line of sight 52 of the camera is reflected to make a right angle with the ground glass plate 40.
[0089] A light (not shown) may be shone through the lens blank 60. The camera communicates with the controller 29 to provide lens orientation information to the controller 29. The controller 29 in turn communicates with a screen 38 and includes a first image generator for generating a desired lens orientation image on the screen 38 and a second image generator which receives information from the camera 21 and generates a second image on the screen 38 indicating actual orientation of the lens blank. The desired orientation will be a predetermined orientation taking into account the shape of the particular lens blank 60 selected and how such a lens blank should be oriented during a lens generation process.
[0090] The screen acts as an image comparator and displays the first and second images relative to each other to guide manipulation of the lens blank for orienting the lens blank to correspond to the desired orientation.
[0091] In use, the lens blank 60 is manually placed on the three pegs 42. The image of the lens blank 60 as seen by the camera 21 through the ground glass plate 40 is displayed on the screen 38 and would correspond to the image 60 in FIG. 5. A typical lens blank has manufacturer's markings for orientation purposes and those manufacturer's markings are indicated by reference 62 in FIG. 5. The markings of the computer generated first or target image of the lens are indicated by reference 64. The markings 62 and 64 typically include a circle around a region of the lens blank having the required optical characteristics, a pair of dashed lines showing the lens geometric center and cylindrical axis, and a rectangular symbol indicating the location of a bifocal segment (if any). The computer generated markings 64 may also contain a contour line showing an outline of an eyeglass frame to which the lens is to be mounted.
…
[0109] A UV light source 220 is associated with the lens block support in that it is mounted so as to direct light through an aperture 202 in the lens block support which in turn directs the UV light through the UV transmissive lens block 210. A light source actuator which may form part of the controller 29 is connected to the light source to control activation and de-activation of the light source 220.
See especially Figure 4, below:
See also Figure 16, below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized a light source which illuminates the receptacle area of the lens holder as taught by Savoie in order so that a desired orientation can be achieved or blocking orientation can be achieved.
As to claim 8, Schneider does not disclose that the light source is kinematically coupled to a closure element of a machine housing, and in particular assumes a work position in a closed position of the closure element, in which it illuminates the receptacle area of the lens holder, and is moved out of the work position in an open position of the closure element.
However, Savoie discloses and makes that the light source (UV light source 220) is kinematically coupled to a closure element (UV shield 250, see Figures 14 and 15) of a machine housing (Figures 14, 15, 16), and in particular assumes a work position in a closed position of the closure element (compare Figures 14 and 15), in which it illuminates the receptacle area (see Figure 16) of the lens holder, and is moved out of the work position in an open position of the closure element (“In order to protect an operator's eyes from damage associated with the intense UV light, a UV shield 250 may be provided over the lens transporter which registers with the lens block support 200 during the final stages of blocking.”). See paragraphs 0108-0116, disclosing:
[0108] Once the first face 61 of the lens blank 60 has been probed, the lens blank is transported from the probing station 32 to the blocking station 34. The blocking station includes a UV and visible light transmissive lens block support 200 for receiving and supporting a lens block 210 with a lens mounting face 212 of the lens block facing upwardly. The lens block should be of a transparent material capable of transmitting at least light in the UV spectrum and preferably also in the visible spectrum.
[0109] A UV light source 220 is associated with the lens block support in that it is mounted so as to direct light through an aperture 202 in the lens block support which in turn directs the UV light through the UV transmissive lens block 210. A light source actuator which may form part of the controller 29 is connected to the light source to control activation and de-activation of the light source 220.
[0110] A dispenser 234 for dispensing an adhesive curable by UV/visible light is generally indicated by reference 230. The dispenser 230 has a dispenser nozzle 232 at one end of a dispenser arm 234. An arm actuator which may be a motor such as illustrated by reference 236 or a linear or other actuator may be provided to move the arm 234 from a deployed position adjacent the lens mounting face 212 (FIG. 15) and a retracted position clear of the lens mounting face 212 FIG. 14) and the lens transporter 26 so as not to interfere with the placement of the lens over the lens mounting face 212 of the lens block 210.
[0111] The dispenser arm 234 merely controls position of the dispenser nozzle 232. Accordingly the dispenser arm 234 can be telescopic rather than rotatable as illustrated and possibly controlled by a linear actuator such as a fluid pressure actuated piston within a cylinder.
[0112] The nozzle 232 fluidly communicates with the adhesive reservoir 23 through the pump 25 which supplies the adhesive to the nozzle 232. Alternatively, the adhesive reservoir 23 may be pressurized thereby obviating the need for a pump.
[0113] The nozzle 232 is equipped with a valve or other shut-off mechanism which communicates with the controller 29 to control dispensing of the adhesive through the nozzle 232 when the nozzle is in the deployed position. Different control arrangements may be used. A simple form of control is to monitor the time that the nozzle 232 is held open. Other controls such as a metering pump may be utilized. Generally whatever control is selected should dispense a measured amount of adhesive which will substantially fill the gap between the first face of the lens blank 60 and the lens mounting face 212 of the lens block 210.
[0114] The UV light source 220 preferably incorporates a flash lamp such as manufactured by Xenon Corporation which emits a pulse of high intensity short duration light within the UV spectrum and in the visible spectrum. An example of this light source 220 is Xenon Model RC-742 with a flat spiral 4.2" lamp or a 3.5" flat spiral xenon gas-filled, gallium-doped clear fused quartz lamp. A single or a double-headed system is suitable. With the double-headed system, a common power supply may be shared between the blocking and the wiring functions. One embodiment of this apparatus is described in U.S. Pat. No. 4,167,669, which is herein incorporated by reference. The wavelength of the light should be on the order of 250 to 500 nanometers. In practice it has been found that the shorter wavelength light contributes to the speed of curing while the longer wavelength effects a better depth of cure.
[0115] The Xenon light generates a nominal amount of heat which is desirable from an equipment standpoint as compared with a mercury vapor lamp. The range of wavelengths is broader and more selectable than with a conventional mercury-based UV lamp and furthermore the Xenon bulbs tend to last much longer than mercury-based UV lamps.
[0116] Flash lamp technology is able to produce very high peak power, in the order of 2.7 megawatts. Fusion UV microwave-activated mercury and metal halide lamps produce a continuous 1.8 kilowatts power output--over 1,000 times less. This high peak power enables light to penetrate over long distances or even through UV opaque materials. In the present application, high output power is used to speed cure and penetrate the lens block 210.
[0117] A further advantage to the flash lamp is through the use of gallium-doped quartz enveloping Xenon gas in the lamp, ozone gas is not produced. This makes the apparatus safer, less hazardous, easier to engineer, less expensive to manufacture and easier/more economical to maintain as it does not require exhausting ozone gas to the atmosphere. Ozone gas production is a by-product of mercury discharge lamps.
[0118] Additionally, the wavelength/intensity graph for a Xenon flash lamp is devoid of wavelength spikes--intensity being smooth and continuous over the UV-C, UV-B, UV-A and visible wavelengths. This simplifies and opens up photoinitiation formulation possibilities in the adhesive as the wavelength absorptions of the photoinitiator are not critical to the efficiency of the curing process. Mercury discharge lamps in contrast have defined intensity spikes at specific wavelengths. In these systems, photoinitiators must overlap with these wavelength spikes or the material will not cure. Non-efficient and deficient wavelength overlap between a mercury lamp and photoinitiator also retards the rate of cure--the lamp output only covers a range what the photoinitiator could absorb.
[0119] Another advantage to a Xenon flash lamp is instant on/off capability. This is not possible with mercury or metal halide lamps and simplifies the design, manufacture, operation and safety aspects of the blocking apparatus of the present invention.
[0120] Also, the geometry of Xenon flash lamps is virtually unlimited. Good results have been obtained with spiral lamps of about 3.5 inches diameter which conforms to typical circular lens blanks which may vary from 3 inches to 3.5 inches in diameter. In contrast fusion UV lamps are restricted to linear format because of the type of lamp and because of the restrictions of microwave-actuated ignition.
[0121] In order to protect an operator's eyes from damage associated with the intense UV light, a UV shield 250 may be provided over the lens transporter which registers with the lens block support 200 during the final stages of blocking. The UV shield may also be associated with a safety sensor schematically shown at 252 in FIG. 15 which causes the transporter 26 to stop if the sensor 252 senses an object in the path of the transporter 26.
See also Figures 14, 15 and 16, below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention that the light source is kinematically coupled to a closure element of a machine housing, and in particular assumes a work position in a closed position of the closure element, in which it illuminates the receptacle area of the lens holder, and is moved out of the work position in an open position of the closure element as taught by Savoie in order to protect an operator's eyes from damage associated with the intense UV light.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider (US 20200130126 A1) and Janetta (WO 2004103637 A1) as applied to claims 6 and 10-12 above, and further in view of Friedrich (DE 102019124887 A1)
As to claim 9, Schneider does not disclose that an external camera is arranged outside the lens holder and acquires the second lens surface from the direction opposite to the camera using its image area.
However, Friedrich discloses and makes obvious that an external or extra camera (camera 12 or camera 12’) is arranged outside the holder (workpiece holder 25) and acquires the second surface (102) from the direction opposite to the camera (such as camera 12”, which is adjacent the workpiece holder 25) using its image area. Friedrich teaches the benefits of multiple cameras for toolpiece and workpiece processing, teaching that this “makes it easier to observe the tool 23 in the determination to detect collisions, unfavorable movements or the like”. See the translation, disclosing:
When machining a workpiece 26th usually has to keep repeating the relative position of the tool holder 22nd and workpiece holder 25th can be changed to the relative position of tool 23 and workpiece 26th to change. This is done using one or more of the machine axes A. , C. , X , Y , Z . When the relative position of the tool holder 22nd and workpiece holder 25th by means of the machine axes A. , C. , X , Y , Z is changed, especially during processing, for example when the relative position between two processing steps is changed or when a change belongs to a machining step while the tool 23 with the workpiece 26th is engaged, the location of the camera 12th (12 ') with respect to the workpiece holder 25th or the workpiece 26th in at least one or more or all degrees of freedom A. , Y , Z (Y, Z), in which also the position of the tool 23 is changed, due to the movement coupling with changed. Among other things, this offers the advantage of simplified and easily comprehensible process documentation or process monitoring, because the relative position of the tool 23 and camera 12th cannot change if the coupling is at least temporarily rigid. When defining a machining process, the operator can define the machine axes A. , C. , X , Y , Z can be operated semi-automatically or manually in order to define a machining process that will later be performed fully automatically by the machine tool 11 is carried out. When laying down the camera 12th or can use the camera 12th due to the movement coupling, so that the relative position of the camera and tool does not change. This makes it easier to observe the tool 23 in the determination to detect collisions, unfavorable movements or the like.
The machine tool system 10 can be used in addition to or as an alternative to the camera 12th ( 12 ' ), which with the tool holder 22nd is motion-coupled, a camera 12 '' have which with the workpiece holder 25th is motion-coupled (see dashed illustration in 1 ). The description above and below in connection with the motion coupling of the camera 12th ( 12 ' ) and tool holder 22nd applies to such an embodiment with a camera 12 '' and those with the workpiece holder 25th motion-coupled alignability analog, unless the context does not allow this.
The machine tool system 10 a data processing system 40 from one or more computers. The camera 12th ( 12 ' , 12 '' ) is with the data processing system 40 connected, preferably via a wireless data connection, which, for example, a radio and / or light transmission of data from the camera 12th to the data processing system 40 or at least one computer in the data processing system 40 and / or vice versa allowed. The camera 12th ( 12 ' , 12 '' ) can be a computer of the data processing system 40 included in whole or in part.
The data processing system 40 can, for example, be a display module 41 for displaying images from the camera 12th ( 12 ' , 12 '' ") on a monitor 42 (not shown) and / or an evaluation module 43 to evaluate one or more of the from the camera 12th ( 12 ' , 12 '' ) recorded images. Additionally or alternatively, the data processing system 40 to control the camera 12th ( 12 ' , 12 '' ) must be set up.
For example, is the focus area SB the camera 12th ( 12 ' , 12 '' ) preferably set or adjustable, so that this the working section of one in the tool holder 22nd held tool 23 contains at least some sections. For example, the focus area SB the camera 12th ( 12 ' , 12 '' ) the tip of the tool 23 , in particular a milling cutter included. The data processing system is preferred 40 by means of a control module 44 set up so that the position and / or orientation of the focus area SB the camera 12th ( 12 ' , 12 '' ) relative to the tool holder 22nd when moving around or along at least one of the machine axes A. , C. , X , Y , Z preserved. Especially when the motion coupling of the camera 12th and tool holder 22nd permanently or temporarily not with regard to all machine axes A. , Y , Z exists, regarding which the relative position of the tool holder 22nd and workpiece holder 25th by moving the tool holder only 22nd can be changed (in the exemplary embodiment, for example, the axes A. , Y , Z ), can be done using the control module 44 Still making sure to use the tool 23 is always shown in focus.
The data processing system 40 can be set up for this by means of a display module 41 the pictures of the camera 12th on a display device 42 to represent. The display module is preferred 41 set up for this by means of the camera 12th to display generated images in a certain uniform orientation. That on the workpiece holder 25th fixed material 26th can maintain its orientation with respect to the space or at least keep its orientation with respect to the workpiece holder 25th while editing. This orientation could be normal or relative (to the workpiece holder 25th ) Normal orientation. The presentation module 41 can for example be set up to do this, regardless of the pivoting orientation of the camera 12th taken by the camera 12th always display recorded images in such a way that their orientation on the display device 42 corresponds to the normal orientation or relative normal orientation. This makes it especially easy to see the content of the camera 12th understand and evaluate generated images.
In preferred embodiments, the machine tool system 10 be set up by means of the evaluation module 43 from one or more of the means of the camera 12th to determine recorded images at least one process property and / or a change of at least one process property. This can be done when laying down of the process or in the case of automatic production according to a defined process. The camera 12th can due to the coupling when moving the tool 23 while the workpiece is being machined 26th with the tool 23 Record images and, due to the movement coupling, the evaluation of the images is simplified, since there is a relative movement of the camera 12th and the tool 23 either does not exist or only exists with respect to one or more degrees of freedom.
See Figure 1, below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized an external camera is arranged outside the lens holder and acquires the second lens surface from the direction opposite to the camera using its image area as taught by Friedrich in order to make it easier to observe the tool in the determination to detect collisions, unfavorable movements or the like.
Conclusion
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10-6:30.
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745
GRK