DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 9-10, 14, 16-17 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hodes (US 2010/0006132) in view of Hofmeister et al. (US 2010/0139291) and Ikeda et al. (US 2005/0257532).
Regarding claim 1, Hodes discloses an energy harvesting system in Figure 3, comprising:
an energy harvesting section (device shown in Figure 3 reads on “energy harvesting section”);
a phase change material (PCM) heat exchanger (thermally conductive body 330, [28]-[29]) and a heat sink (120, [28]), wherein the heat sink is located in the energy harvesting section with the PCM heat exchanger positioned adjacent to the heat sink (Figure 3, the term “adjacent” does not require direct contact or a particular order of the layers. All the components of the device shown in Figure 3 are “adjacent” to each other.); and
a thermoelectric generator (TEG) module (350a, b, c) located within the energy harvesting section ([28]), wherein heat generated from a heat source (110) is pumped to the heat sink (120) through the TEG module (350) to produce a thermal gradient across a hot plate (upper major surface) and a cold plate (lower major surface) to generate electrical energy (Figures 4-5 and [28], [34] and [37]-[38]); and
wherein the PCM heat exchanger (330) is configured to store thermal energy based on a change from a first phase of the PCM heat exchanger to a second phase of the PCM heat exchanger ([28]-[31], The thermally conductive body can be a heat pipe or a vapor chamber which uses a working fluid to store thermal energy through phase change from a liquid to a gas (evaporation) and transports the thermal energy to the condenser which releases the thermal energy through a phase change from a gas to a liquid (condensation)).
Hodes additionally discloses a sensor (110) is integrated with the PCM heat exchanger, the heat sink, and the TEG module (Figure 3 and [20]). Hodes does not disclose a sensor distinct from the heat source and integrated with the PCM heat exchanger, the heat sink, and the TEG module in a single multi-variant sensor device comprising ingress protection.
Hofmeister discloses a thermoelectric device (abstract and Figures 1-2) comprising a single multi-variant sensor device (104) that is distinct from the heat source (202) ([21], [26]-[27], [32] and [37]-[38]), comprising ingress protection (environmental seals 106, 206, [27], [35]-[37]) and wherein the sensor comprises a battery-less self-powered sensor harvesting free energy from ambient sources using the energy harvesting system (self-powered sensor, [28] and [37]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add the sensor of Hofmeister to the device of Hodes such that Hodes includes a sensor distinct from the heat source and integrated with the PCM heat exchanger, the heat sink, and the TEG module in a single multi-variant sensor device comprising ingress protection, because it would result in nothing more than the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Hodes does not disclose that the PCM heat exchanger extends at least partially within the heat sink.
Ikeda discloses an energy harvesting system in Figures 1-1, 1-2 and 1-3 comprising a PCM heat exchanger (heat pipe 6) that extends at least partially within a heat sink (7) (Section 6b of PCM heat exchanger is embedded withing heat sink fins 7, [67]-[69]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the device of Hodes such that the PCM heat exchanger extends at least partially within the heat sink, as taught by Ikeda, because such a modification improves the cooling efficiency (Ikeda, [67]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Hodes discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Hodes additionally discloses that the PCM heat exchanger extends from a first condenser to a second condenser ([22], [30]-[31] and Figure 3, see multiple condensers in heat pipes or vapor chamber).
Regarding claim 3, modified Hodes discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Hodes additionally discloses a housing (pipe enclosure), wherein the heat sink (120) is located outside the housing (The pipe reads on a housing for the working fluid and the heat sink is located outside the pipe, Figure 3 and [28]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Hodes discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Hofmeister additionally discloses that the sensor comprises a battery-less self-powered sensor harvesting free energy from ambient sources using the energy harvesting system (self-powered sensor, [28] and [37]).
Regarding claim 9, Hodes discloses an energy harvesting system in Figure 3, comprising:
an energy harvesting section (device shown in Figure 3 reads on “energy harvesting section”);
a first condenser and a second condenser ([22], [30]-[31] and Figure 3, see multiple condensers in heat pipes or vapor chamber),
a phase change material (PCM) heat exchanger (thermally conductive body 330, [28]-[29]) and a heat sink (120, [28]), wherein the PCM heat exchanger extends from the first condenser to the second condenser (Figure 3 and [30]-[31]), wherein the heat sink is located in the energy harvesting section with the PCM heat exchanger positioned adjacent to the heat sink (Figure 3, the term “adjacent” does not require direct contact or a particular order of the layers. All the components of the device shown in Figure 3 are “adjacent” to each other.);
a thermoelectric generator (TEG) module (350a, b, c) located within the energy harvesting section ([28]), wherein heat generated from a heat source (110) is pumped to the heat sink (120) through the TEG module (350) to produce a thermal gradient across a hot plate (upper major surface) and a cold plate (lower major surface) to generate electrical energy (Figures 4-5 and [28], [34] and [37]-[38]); and
wherein the PCM heat exchanger (330) is configured to store thermal energy based on a change from a first phase of the PCM heat exchanger to a second phase of the PCM heat exchanger ([28]-[31], The thermally conductive body can be a heat pipe or a vapor chamber which uses a working fluid to store thermal energy through phase change from a liquid to a gas (evaporation) and transports the thermal energy to the condenser which releases the thermal energy through a phase change from a gas to a liquid (condensation)).
Hodes additionally discloses a sensor (110) is integrated with the PCM heat exchanger, the heat sink, and the TEG module (Figure 3 and [20]). Hodes does not disclose a sensor separate from the heat source and integrated with the PCM heat exchanger, the heat sink, and the TEG module in a single multi-variant sensor device comprising ingress protection.
Hofmeister discloses a thermoelectric device (abstract and Figures 1-2) comprising a single multi-variant sensor device (104) that is separate from the heat source (202) ([21], [26]-[27], [32] and [37]-[38]), comprising ingress protection (environmental seals 106, 206, [27], [35]-[37]) and wherein the sensor comprises a battery-less self-powered sensor harvesting free energy from ambient sources using the energy harvesting system (self-powered sensor, [28] and [37]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add the sensor of Hofmeister to the device of Hodes such that Hodes includes a sensor separate from the heat source and integrated with the PCM heat exchanger, the heat sink, and the TEG module in a single multi-variant sensor device comprising ingress protection, because it would result in nothing more than the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Hodes does not disclose that the PCM heat exchanger extends at least partially within the heat sink.
Ikeda discloses an energy harvesting system in Figures 1-1, 1-2 and 1-3 comprising a PCM heat exchanger (heat pipe 6) that extends at least partially within a heat sink (7) (Section 6b of PCM heat exchanger is embedded withing heat sink fins 7, [67]-[69]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the device of Hodes such that the PCM heat exchanger extends at least partially within the heat sink, as taught by Ikeda, because such a modification improves the cooling efficiency (Ikeda, [67]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Hodes discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Hodes additionally discloses a housing, wherein the heat sink (120) is located outside the housing (The pipe reads on a housing for the working fluid and the heat sink is located outside the pipe, Figure 3 and [28]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Hodes discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Hofmeister additionally discloses that the sensor comprises a battery-less self-powered sensor harvesting free energy from ambient sources using the energy harvesting system (self-powered sensor, [28] and [37]).
Regarding claim 16, Hodes discloses a method of operating an energy harvesting system in Figure 3 and [28]-[31], comprising:
providing a phase change material (PCM) heat exchanger (thermally conductive body 330, [28]-[29]) and a heat sink (120, [28]), wherein the heat sink is located in an energy harvesting section with the PCM heat exchanger positioned adjacent to the heat sink (Figure 3, the term “adjacent” does not require direct contact or a particular order of the layers. All the components of the device shown in Figure 3 are “adjacent” to each other.); and
pumping heat generated from a heat source (110) to the heat sink (120) through a thermoelectric generator (TEG) module (350a, b, c) located within the energy harvesting section ([28]) to produce a thermal gradient across a hot plate (upper major surface) and a cold plate (lower major surface) to generate electrical energy (Figures 4-5 and [28], [34] and [37]-[38]);
storing thermal energy in the PCM heat exchanger (330) based on a change from a first phase of the PCM heat exchanger to a second phase of the PCM heat exchanger ([28]-[31], The thermally conductive body can be a heat pipe or a vapor chamber which uses a working fluid to store thermal energy through phase change from a liquid to a gas (evaporation) and transports the thermal energy to the condenser which releases the thermal energy through a phase change from a gas to a liquid (condensation)).
Hodes additionally discloses a sensor (110) is integrated with the PCM heat exchanger, the heat sink, and the TEG module (Figure 3 and [20]). Hodes does not disclose the step of operating a sensor distinct from the heat source and integrated with the PCM heat exchanger, the heat sink, and the TEG module in a single multi-variant sensor device comprising ingress protection.
Hofmeister discloses a method of operating a thermoelectric device (abstract and Figures 1-2) comprising operating a single multi-variant sensor device (104) that is distinct from the heat source (202) ([21], [26]-[27], [32] and [37]-[38]), comprising ingress protection (environmental seals 106, 206, [27], [35]-[37]) and wherein the sensor comprises a battery-less self-powered sensor harvesting free energy from ambient sources using the energy harvesting system (self-powered sensor, [28] and [37]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add the step of operating a sensor distinct from the heat source and integrated with the PCM heat exchanger, the heat sink, and the TEG module in a single multi-variant sensor device comprising ingress protection into the method of Hodes, as taught by Hofmeister, because it would result in nothing more than the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Hodes does not disclose that the PCM heat exchanger extends at least partially within the heat sink.
Ikeda discloses an energy harvesting system in Figures 1-1, 1-2 and 1-3 comprising a PCM heat exchanger (heat pipe 6) that extends at least partially within a heat sink (7) (Section 6b of PCM heat exchanger is embedded withing heat sink fins 7, [67]-[69]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the device of Hodes such that the PCM heat exchanger extends at least partially within the heat sink, as taught by Ikeda, because such a modification improves the cooling efficiency (Ikeda, [67]).
Regarding claim 17, modified Hodes discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Hodes additionally discloses that the PCM heat exchanger extends from a first condenser to a second condenser ([22], [30]-[31] and Figure 3, see multiple condensers in heat pipes).
Regarding claim 20, modified Hodes discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Hofmeister additionally discloses that the sensor comprises a battery-less self-powered sensor harvesting free energy from ambient sources using the energy harvesting system (self-powered sensor, [28] and [37]).
Regarding claim 21, modified Hodes discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Hodes additionally discloses that the first phase of the PCM heat exchanger is a liquid phase and the second phase of the PCM heat exchanger is a gaseous phase ([31]).
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hodes (US 2010/0006132) in view of Hofmeister et al. (US 2010/0139291) and Ikeda et al. (US 2005/0257532), as applied to claims 3 and 10 above, in further view of Hu (US 2018/0302022).
Regarding claims 8 and 15, modified Hodes discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Hodes does not disclose that the housing comprises a cylindrical structure with a photovoltaic panel located at one end of the cylindrical structure and the heat sink located at another end of the cylindrical structure.
Hu discloses a thermoelectric device in Figure 12 comprising a housing that comprises a cylindrical structure (720) with a photovoltaic panel (710) located at one end of the cylindrical structure and a heat sink (722) located at another end of the cylindrical structure ([75]-[80]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the device of modified Hodes such that the housing comprises a cylindrical structure with a photovoltaic panel located at one end of the cylindrical structure and the heat sink located at another end of the cylindrical structure, as taught by Hu, because it would result in the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claims 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hodes (US 2010/0006132) in view of Hofmeister et al. (US 2010/0139291) and Ikeda et al. (US 2005/0257532), as applied to claims 1, 9 and 16 above, in further view of Molina et al. (ES 2921483A1, see English machine translation for mapping).
Regarding claims 22-24, modified Hodes discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Hodes does not disclose that the ingress protection is configured to satisfy the IP67 standard for ingress protection.
Molina discloses a thermoelectric device in Figure 1 and [7] comprising a sensor ([109], [134]) having ingress protection that is configured to satisfy the IP67 standard for ingress protection ([116]-[117]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add ingress protection that is configured to satisfy the IP67 standard for ingress protection to the device of modified Hodes, as taught by Molina, because such a modification would amount to nothing more than the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments have been considered but are moot as a result of the new grounds of rejection and the addition of the Ikeda reference.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LINDSEY A BUCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728