Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention. The claims recite “dissolving the components into purified water according to a ratio.” As no ratio is provided that limits the claim, it’s unclear in what way the components are dissolved into purified water “according to a ratio.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Heldreth, Amended Safety Assessment of Acid Violet 43 as Used in Cosmetics, International Journal of Toxicology 2021, Vol. 40(Supplement 2) 5 S–15S. Helreth teaches Violet No. 2 (Acid Violet 43) (a staining agent comprising acid violet 43) (title; abstract; introduction). Regarding the recitation “for gastrointestinal mucosa,” this is an intended use of the staining agent. As Acid Violet 43 recited in the prior art has the same structure as the presently claimed acid violet 43, it must be fully capable of performing the same intended use as recited in the present claims, that is, be for gastrointestinal mucosa. Further an aqueous solution including the staining agent is prepared (Results).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Heldreth, Amended Safety Assessment of Acid Violet 43 as Used in Cosmetics, International Journal of Toxicology 2021, Vol. 40(Supplement 2) in view of Bawazir, Effects of Food Colour Allura Red (No. 129) on some neurotransmitter, Antioxidant Functions and Bioelement Contents of Kidney and Brain Tissues in male albino Rats, Life Science Journal 2016;13(12). The relevant portions of Hedreth are given above.
Hedreth fails to teach incorporation of Allura red and an antioxidant.
Bawazir teaches the incorporation of Allura red in food products, drugs, and cosmetics, and the inclusion of antioxidants to hinder oxidation of colorant such as Allura red (abstract; introduction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate Allura red and an antioxidant into the composition of Hedreth. The motivation for his would have been to adjust the hue or tone of the product, and the antioxidant would deter oxidation and fading of the dye. It would have been further obvious to optimize the relative concentrations of acid violet 43 and allure red to achieve a specific hue or contrast, and in the course of doing so, the artisan would find the presently recited percentages and weight ratios through routine experimentation. The motivation for this would have been to achieve a specific hue or contrast. “‘[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’ In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)” MPEP § 2144.05, II.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Heldreth (Amended Safety Assessment of Acid Violet 43 as Used in Cosmetics, International Journal of Toxicology 2021, Vol. 40(Supplement 2) in view of Bawazir, Effects of Food Colour Allura Red (No. 129) on some neurotransmitter, Antioxidant Functions and Bioelement Contents of Kidney and Brain Tissues in male albino Rats, Life Science Journal 2016;13(12) in further view of Lin (Structural Identification and Bioactivities of Red-Violet Pigments Present in Basella alba Fruits, J. Agric. Food Chem. 2010, 58, 10364–10372).
The relevant portions of Hedreth and Bawazir are given above.
Hedreth and Bawazir fail to teach an antioxidant required by claim 7.
Lin teaches that butylated hydroxytoluene is an effective antioxidant agent to preserve acid violet pigment (abstract; Introduction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate butylated hydroxytoluene into the composition. The motivation or this would have been to prevent oxidation of the pigment. It would have been further obvious to optimize the amount of antioxidant to prevent oxidation of the pigment, and in this way, the artisan would have found the present range through routine experimentation. “‘[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’ In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)” MPEP § 2144.05, II.
Claims 1 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Heldreth (Amended Safety Assessment of Acid Violet 43 as Used in Cosmetics, International Journal of Toxicology 2021, Vol. 40 (Supplement 2) 5 S–15S) in view of Franco (Assessment of semi-permanent hair dyes in wash water from beauty salons by liquid chromatography-tandem mass spectrometry selected reaction monitoring (LC-MS/MS-SRM), Anal. Methods, 2020, 12,5415). The relevant portions of Hedreth are given above. Further in Heldrech, an aqueous solution including the staining agent is prepared by Heldreth ().
Heldreth fails to teach storing the product in a brown bottle.
Franco teaches that dark colored bottles hinder oxidation (Sectoin 2.6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate the composition into a brown bottle. The motivation for this would have been to hinder oxidation of the agent.
Conclusion
/PAUL W DICKINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618
June 2, 2026