DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 8, 13, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tatte (US 2021/0338152).
Regarding claims 1, 7, 13, Tatte discloses the same invention as recited, including an electronic device comprising a controller that acquires a plurality of first data and plurality of second data different from the plurality of first data in a first period (Paragraph 180: e.g. heart rate and respiration data during an observation period), sets a first threshold based on the acquired first data and a sets a second threshold based on the acquired plurality of second data (Paragraph 182: thresholds are set based on observations over time), and determines a sleep state of a user based on determination data acquired in a second period different from the first period and at least one threshold of the first or second threshold (Paragraphs 182-183; second period is any time after thresholds are set).
Regarding claims 2, 8, 14, Tatte discloses heart rate data (Paragraph 33) and acceleration data (Paragraph 96).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 6, 9, 10, 12, 15, 16, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tatte (US 2021/0338152) in view of Raymann (US 2016/0270721).
Regarding claims 3, 9, 15, Tatte discloses determining whether the first data acquired in the first period satisfies a first condition (Paragraphs 175, 177: either HR or respiration data have qualifying conditions). Tatte does not specifically disclose determining sleep state based on the second data if the first condition is not satisfied as recited. However, Raymann teaches ignoring certain data when it is not available (Paragraph 62), in order to continue determining sleep state based on the available data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tatte as taught by Raymann to include continuing to determine sleep state based on the second data if the first condition is not satisfied as recited (i.e. first data not available), in order to continue determining sleep state based on the available data.
Regarding claims 4, 10, 16, Tatte discloses determining whether the first data acquired in the second period satisfies a second condition (Paragraphs 175, 177: qualifying conditions continue to apply to second data collection period), and using the first data acquired in the second period and the first threshold when the first data meets both first and second conditions. Tatte does not disclose what to do when the second condition is not satisfied (i.e. first data during second period is not available). However, the same modification with Raymann described above applies for using second data acquired in the second period and second threshold when first data is not available, in order to continue determining sleep state based on the available data.
Regarding claims 6, 12, 18, Tatte discloses a second condition is that a minimum value within a first window period of the first data acquired in the second period is greater than an abnormal determination threshold (Paragraphs 185, 187: either HR or respiration data have lower bound thresholds).
Claim(s) 5, 11, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tatte (US 2021/0338152) in view of Nakagome (US 2021/0090740).
Regarding claims 5, 11, 17, Tatte discloses heart rate data may be subject to first qualifying conditions (Paragraph 185). Tatte does not disclose using a standard deviation as recited. However, Nakagome teaches determining if a standard deviation of heart rate data in a time period is included in a predetermined range (Paragraph 40), in order to remove outliers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tatte as taught by Nakagome to include using a standard deviation as recited, in order to remove outliers.
Conclusion
The art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nakagome (US 2024/0245880) shows determining sleep state based on heart rate and acceleration thresholds.
/Eugene T Wu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796