DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs), submitted on 22 February 2024 and 15 July 2024, were filed after the mailing date of the patent application on 17 January 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings, received on 17 January 2024, are acceptable for examination.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 10-12, 16-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (US 20210391913 A1 using Figure 10 as Embodiment 1; hereinafter referred to as “Zhou1”).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhou1 discloses an apparatus comprising at least one processor (¶178-179 & Fig. 22, Zhou discloses an apparatus 2214 comprising processor 2204), and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (¶178-179 & Fig. 22, Zhou discloses the apparatus 2214 comprising a computer-readable medium/memory 2206 storing software for execution by the processor 2204), cause the apparatus at least to:
obtain measurement information comprising radio environment measurements associated with a user device (¶98 & Fig. 10 (1002->1010), Zhou discloses obtaining via receiving, by the base station 504 from a user equipment (UE) 502, a beam management report where the beam management report comprises highest measured signal strengths of N beam and power backoff values for the antenna panels associated with the UE. Examiner correlates a beam management report to “measurement information”. Examiner correlates signal strength and/or power backoff values to “radio environment measurements”);
determine, based at least on the measurement information and a maximum permissible exposure limit, one or more beamforming resource sets for the user device (¶99 & Fig. 10 (1012), Zhou discloses determining via selecting, by the base station 504 based on measured signal strengths of N beams, the power backoff values, and the MPE, a beam and antenna panel for the UE) such that the maximum permissible exposure limit is not exceeded with at least one beamforming resource set of the one or more beamforming resource sets (¶99 & Fig. 10 (1012), Zhou discloses that the selected beams and antenna panels in the beam management report are selected such that the maximum permissible exposure limit is not exceeded with at least one beam and/or antenna panel of the plurality of beams and/or antenna panels); and
transmit a message (¶99 & Fig. 10 (1014), Zhou discloses transmitting, by the BS to the UE, an antenna panel and beam selection message) indicative of the at least one beamforming resource set to be used for selecting at least one transmit beam direction at the user device (¶99-101 & Fig. 10 (1014->1020), Zhou discloses that the antenna panel and beam selection message indicated a beam and/or antenna panel to be used by the UE for transmission of uplink data) in case the maximum permissible exposure limit is exceeded (¶99-101 & Fig. 10 (1014->1020), Zhou discloses transmitting, by the UE to the BS, uplink data using a beam and antenna panel in the event that the MPE is exceeded by a prior beam).
Regarding Claim 2, Zhou1 discloses the apparatus according to claim 1.
Zhou1 further discloses [the apparatus] further being caused to:
determine, based at least on the measurement information and the maximum permissible exposure limit, one or more transmit power levels corresponding to the one or more beamforming resource sets (¶99 & Fig. 10 (1012), Zhou discloses determining via selecting, by the base station 504 based on measured signal strengths of N beams and the MPE, the power backoff values corresponding to a plurality of beams and antenna panels for the UE) such that the maximum permissible exposure limit is not exceeded (¶99 & Fig. 10 (1012), Zhou discloses that the selected beams and antenna panels in the beam management report are selected such that the maximum permissible exposure limit is not exceeded with at least one beam and/or antenna panel of the plurality of beams and/or antenna panels), wherein the message comprises information indicative of at least one transmit power level corresponding to the at least one transmit beam direction (¶98 & Fig. 10 (1010), Zhou discloses obtaining via receiving, by the base station 504 from a user equipment (UE) 502, a beam management report where the beam management report comprises highest measured signal strengths of N beam and power backoff values for the antenna panels associated with the UE).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhou1 discloses the apparatus according claim 1.
Zhou1 further discloses [the apparatus] further being caused to:
determine, based at least on the measurement information and the maximum permissible exposure limit, beamshaping information corresponding to the at least one beamforming resource set (¶99 & Fig. 10 (1012), Zhou discloses determining via selecting, by the base station 504 based on measured signal strengths of N beams, the power backoff values, and the MPE, a beam and antenna panel for the UE. Here, the inclusion of a transmission power would affect the shape of the beam transmitted with the transmission power as opposed to another transmission power that violated the MPE limit), wherein the message comprises the beamshaping information (¶98 & Fig. 10 (1010), Zhou discloses the beam management report comprises highest measured signal strengths of N beam and power backoff values for the antenna panels associated with the UE).
Regarding Claim 7, Zhou1 discloses the apparatus according to claim 1.
Zhou1 further discloses [the apparatus] further being caused to:
receive, from the user device, an indication (¶100-101 & Fig. 10 (1016), Zhou discloses receiving, by the BS from the UE, a sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission) indicating the at least one transmit beam direction selected from the at least one beamforming resource set (¶100-101 & Fig. 10 (1016), Zhou discloses the SRS transmission indicates the antenna panel and beam selected in the antenna panel and beam selection message).
Regarding Claim 8, Zhou1 discloses the apparatus according to claim 7.
Zhou1 further discloses [the apparatus] further being caused to:
determine at least one receive beam based on the indication (¶50, Zhou discloses determining, by the BS, a best receive direction based upon reception of the SRS transmission); and
receive a data from the user device via the at least one receive beam (¶99-101 & Fig. 10 (1020) & ¶50, Zhou discloses receiving, by the BS from the UE, uplink data using a beam and antenna panel such that the MPE is not exceeded).
Regarding Claim 10, Claim 10 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 11, Claim 11 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 12, Claim 12 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 3.
Regarding Claim 16, Claim 16 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 7.
Regarding Claim 17, Claim 17 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 8.
Regarding Claim 19, Claim 19 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 20, Claim 20 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Yuan et al. (US 20240429973 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Yuan”).
Regarding Claim 4, Zhou1 discloses the apparatus according to claim 1.
However, Zhou1 does not disclose [the apparatus] further being caused to: transmit information indicative of the one or more beamforming resource sets to a network entity; and receive information indicating a subset of the one or more beamforming resource sets from the network entity, wherein the message comprises information indicating the subset.
Yuan, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches [the apparatus] further being caused to:
transmit information indicative of the one or more beamforming resource sets to a network entity (¶62 & Fig. 7 (702), Yuan discloses transmitting, by the UE to a network entity, a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) report indicating at least one second beam); and r
receive information indicating a subset of the one or more beamforming resource sets from the network entity (¶63 & Fig. 7 (704), Yuan discloses receiving, by the UE from the network entity, an acknowledgment of the MPE report), wherein the message comprises information indicating the subset (¶62 & Fig. 7 (702), Yuan discloses the MPE report indicating the at least one second beam).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou by requiring that [the apparatus] further being caused to: transmit information indicative of the one or more beamforming resource sets to a network entity; and receive information indicating a subset of the one or more beamforming resource sets from the network entity, wherein the message comprises information indicating the subset as taught by Yuan because avoiding and/or mitigating maximum permissible exposure (MPE) is improved by enabling uplink (UL) beam reset for UL transmissions in a cell (Yuan, ¶29).
Regarding Claim 13, Claim 13 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 4.
Claims 5, 6, 9, 14, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Zhou et al. (US 20210391913 A1 using Figure 12 as Embodiment 2; hereinafter referred to as “Zhou2”).
Regarding Claim 5, Zhou1 discloses the apparatus according to claim 1.
However, Zhou1 does not disclose [the apparatus] further being caused to: determine a ranking of a plurality of beamforming codebooks comprised in the at least one beamforming resource set, wherein the message comprises information indicative of the ranking.
Zhou2, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches [the apparatus] further being caused to:
determine a ranking of a plurality of beamforming codebooks comprised in the at least one beamforming resource set (¶106-108 & Fig. 12 (1208->1210->1212), Zhou discloses determining, by the base station 504, at least one MPE indicator corresponding to at least one antenna panel where the MPE indicator indicates a preference of the UE), wherein the message comprises information indicative of the ranking (¶106-108 & Fig. 12 (1208->1210->1212), Zhou discloses the beam management report includes the at least one MPE indicator).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou1 by requiring that [the apparatus] further being caused to: determine a ranking of a plurality of beamforming codebooks comprised in the at least one beamforming resource set, wherein the message comprises information indicative of the ranking as taught by Zhou2 because beam selection is improved by enabling selection of best antenna panel and beam combinations for uplink transmissions from a user equipment (UE) when one or more antenna panels of the UE are subject to a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) limit (Zhou2, ¶9).
Regarding Claim 6, Zhou1 discloses the apparatus according to claim 1.
However, Zhou1 does not disclose [the apparatus] further being caused to: determine, based on the maximum permissible exposure limit, one or more criteria for selecting the at least one transmit beam direction from a plurality of transmit beam directions indicated in the at least one beamforming resource set, wherein the message comprises information indicative of the one or more criteria.
Zhou2, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches [the apparatus] further being caused to:
determine, based on the maximum permissible exposure limit, one or more criteria for selecting the at least one transmit beam direction from a plurality of transmit beam directions indicated in the at least one beamforming resource set (¶109 & Fig. 12 (1212), Zhou discloses determining, by the base station 504 based on at least the MPE, one or more criteria where the one or more criteria includes at least one MPE indicator corresponding to at least one antenna panel and beam information), wherein the message comprises information indicative of the one or more criteria (¶106-108 & Fig. 12 (1208->1210->1212), Zhou discloses the beam management report includes the at least one MPE indicator and beam information).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou1 by requiring that [the apparatus] further being caused to: determine, based on the maximum permissible exposure limit, one or more criteria for selecting the at least one transmit beam direction from a plurality of transmit beam directions indicated in the at least one beamforming resource set, wherein the message comprises information indicative of the one or more criteria as taught by Zhou2 because beam selection is improved by enabling selection of best antenna panel and beam combinations for uplink transmissions from a user equipment (UE) when one or more antenna panels of the UE are subject to a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) limit (Zhou2, ¶9).
Regarding Claim 9, Zhou1 discloses the apparatus according to claim 8.
However, Zhou1 does not disclose [the apparatus] further being caused to: transmit a report message indicating the at least one receive beam and the at least one transmit beam direction selected by the user device.
Zhou2, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches [the apparatus] further being caused to:
transmit a report message indicating the at least one receive beam and the at least one transmit beam direction selected by the user device (¶106-108 & Fig. 12 (1208->1210->1212), Zhou discloses determining, by the base station 504, at least one MPE indicator corresponding to at least one antenna panel where the MPE indicator indicates a preference of the UE).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou1 by requiring that [the apparatus] further being caused to: transmit a report message indicating the at least one receive beam and the at least one transmit beam direction selected by the user device as taught by Zhou2 because beam selection is improved by enabling selection of best antenna panel and beam combinations for uplink transmissions from a user equipment (UE) when one or more antenna panels of the UE are subject to a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) limit (Zhou2, ¶9).
Regarding Claim 14, Claim 14 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 15, Claim 15 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 6.
Regarding Claim 18, Claim 18 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 9.
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Conclusion
/ERIC NOWLIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2474