DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Regarding claims 1,2,19, and 20, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the boundaries" inline 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the reference boundary " in line15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the length of one temporal segment " in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the number of target communication " in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the same magnitude " in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: communication means for , propagation delay time means for and adjustment determining means for in claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,6, 10, 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ibrahim et al. (US Application 2023/0051034, hereinafter Ibrahim) in view of Zhang et al. (US Application 2022/0078738, hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claims 1, 19,20, Ibrahim discloses a base station apparatus, a method (Figs. 1,2, 7,10, item 110), comprising:
antenna circuitry , communication means for(234) configured to, during a communication session, transmit downlink messages (702, 1004) to a target communication apparatus (120) and receive uplink messages (708,1006) from the target communication apparatus (120), wherein the downlink and uplink messages comprise temporal segments (As described on [0087], [0089],[0115]-[0116] downlink and uplink messages having temporal segments such as time advance, time retard an plurality of time periods);
propagation delay determination circuitry, propagation delay determining means for (112) configured to determine an indication of a propagation delay in messages sent between the base station apparatus and the target communication apparatus ([0042], which recites BS 110a includes a timing manager 112 configured to transmit, to the UE 120a, an indication of a first uplink timing advance (TA) determined based on a first propagation delay between the BS 110a and the UE 120a.);
the boundaries between temporal segments in the received uplink message align with reference boundaries (As shown on fig. 5 and described on [0062], [0065], the BS 510 may determine a timing correction for each UE in order to align the timing (e.g., slot and/or symbol boundaries) of uplink transmissions as received by the BS 110 with downlink transmissions); wherein
the time adjustment determination circuitry (inherent feature of the device [0062],[0065], which recites a BS 110 of the wireless communication network 100 may transmit timing advance information to a UE 120 to provide for time alignment of uplink and downlink communications. the BS 510 may determine a timing correction for each UE in order to align the timing (e.g., slot and/or symbol boundaries) of uplink transmissions as received by the BS 110 with downlink transmissions) is arranged to determine the time adjustment such that the reference boundary that a given boundary within the uplink message to which the time adjustment has been applied aligns with is dependent on which of a plurality of defined ranges the indication of the propagation delay falls within(As shown on fig. 5 and described on [0062], [0065], the BS 510 may determine a timing correction for each UE in order to align the timing (e.g., slot and/or symbol boundaries) of uplink transmissions as received by the BS 110 with downlink transmissions).
Ibrahim does not explicitly discloses based on a request received from the target communication apparatus requesting to initiate a communication session with the base station apparatus and; time adjustment determination circuitry configured to determine a time adjustment to be communicated to the target communication apparatus in response to the request, wherein the time adjustment is to be applied to uplink messages by the target communication apparatus, and the time adjustment is determined based on the indication of the propagation delay such that when an uplink message to which the time adjustment has been applied is received at the base station apparatus.
However, Zhang teaches based on a request received from the target communication apparatus requesting to initiate a communication session with the base station apparatus (as shown on fig. 12 and described [0141], UE item 1202 send a PRACH item 1206 as request to base station 1204 to initiate communication);
time adjustment determination circuitry, time adjustment determining means for (fig. 16, 1642 see [0179]) configured to determine a time adjustment to be communicated to the target communication apparatus in response to the request, wherein the time adjustment is to be applied to uplink messages by the target communication apparatus([0203],which recites a variable compensation factor to applied as a time adjustment in response to the request to the uplink message as claimed by the instant application), and the time adjustment is determined based on the indication of the propagation delay such that when an uplink message to which the time adjustment has been applied is received at the base station apparatus(Fig. 7, [0122], which recites a time adjustment based on an indication propagation delay as claim by the instant application).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Zhang with the teaching of Ibrahim by using the above features such as based on a request received from the target communication apparatus requesting to initiate a communication session with the base station apparatus and; time adjustment determination circuitry configured to determine a time adjustment to be communicated to the target communication apparatus in response to the request, wherein the time adjustment is to be applied to uplink messages by the target communication apparatus, and the time adjustment is determined based on the indication of the propagation delay such that when an uplink message to which the time adjustment has been applied is received at the base station apparatus as taught by Zhang for the purpose of reducing latency and enhance the spectrum efficiency in a cell, full duplex (FD) communications may be used in 5G systems([0005]).
Regarding claim 6, Ibrahim discloses the base station apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the time adjustment determination circuitry is configured to determine a time adjustment that can take either a positive value corresponding to a time advance or a negative value corresponding to a time retard(Fig. 5, [0065]).
Regarding claim 10, Ibrahim discloses the base station apparatus according to claim 6 as addressed above, except wherein in an encoding of a response to the request, the time adjustment is encoded as a two's complement value in a field including an additional bit.
However, Zhang teaches wherein in an encoding of a response to the request, the time adjustment is encoded as a two's complement value in a field including an additional bit([0126],[0131]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Zhang with the teaching of Ibrahim by using the above features such as wherein in an encoding of a response to the request, the time adjustment is encoded as a two's complement value in a field including an additional bit as taught by Zhang for the purpose of reducing latency and enhance the spectrum efficiency in a cell, full duplex (FD) communications may be used in 5G systems([0005]).
Regarding claim 12, Ibrahim discloses the base station apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the time adjustment determination circuitry is arranged to determine a time adjustment which is periodic with respect to the indication of the propagation delay([0062],[0065]).
Regarding claim 13, Ibrahim discloses the base station apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the antenna circuitry is configured to communicate with two or more target communication apparatuses, and wherein the time adjustment determination circuitry is arranged to use the same reference boundaries to determine a time adjustment for each target communication apparatus (fig. 5 and described on [0062], [0065]).
Regarding claim 14, Ibrahim discloses the base station apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the reference boundaries used by the time adjustment determination circuitry are selected to align with boundaries between temporal segments in downlink messages sent from the base station apparatus(fig. 5 and described on [0062], [0065]).
Regarding claim 15, Ibrahim discloses the base station apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the time adjustment determination circuitry is arranged to determine a time adjustment to be applied to uplink messages by the target communication apparatus as an offset with respect to boundaries in a downlink message received at the target communication apparatus(fig. 5 and described on [0062], [0065]).
Regarding claim 16, Ibrahim discloses the base station apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the propagation delay determination circuitry is configured to determine an indication of the propagation delay based on an elapsed time between a reference time and receipt of the request(fig. 5 and described on [0062], [0065]).
Regarding claim 17, Ibrahim discloses the base station apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the uplink and downlink messages are split into temporal frames comprising two or more sub-frames, and each temporal segment corresponds to a sub-frame(fig. 5 and described on [0062], [0065]).
Regarding claim 18 Ibrahim discloses the base station apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the target communication apparatus is mounted on a moving vehicle([0044]).
Claim(s) 7-9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ibrahim in view of Zhang as applied above, and further in view of Li et al. (US Application 2022/0007323, hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Ibrahim and Zhang discloses the base station apparatus according to claim 6 as addressed above, except wherein the time adjustment determination circuitry is configured to determine a maximum positive time adjustment which is equal to the largest time advance representable in an encoding of the Random Access Response message according to the 3GPP Standard.
However, Li teaches the time adjustment determination circuitry is configured to determine a maximum positive time adjustment which is equal to the largest time advance representable in an encoding of the Random Access Response message according to the 3GPP Standard(Figs. 7, and 8,[0009],[0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Li with the teaching of Ibrahim and Zhang by using the above features such as the time adjustment determination circuitry is configured to determine a maximum positive time adjustment which is equal to the largest time advance representable in an encoding of the Random Access Response message according to the 3GPP Standard as taught by Li for the purpose of transmission-timing adjustment mechanisms for a Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN) ([0002]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Ibrahim and Zhang discloses the base station apparatus according to claim 6 as addressed above, except wherein in an encoding of a response to the request, a negative time adjustment is encoded as a positive time adjustment with a magnitude larger than a threshold value; wherein the threshold value corresponds to a maximum positive time adjustment.
However, Li teaches wherein in an encoding of a response to the request, a negative time adjustment is encoded as a positive time adjustment with a magnitude larger than a threshold value; wherein the threshold value corresponds to a maximum positive time adjustment (Figs. 7, and 8, [0009],[0019],[0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Li with the teaching of Ibrahim and Zhang by using the above features such as wherein in an encoding of a response to the request, a negative time adjustment is encoded as a positive time adjustment with a magnitude larger than a threshold value; wherein the threshold value corresponds to a maximum positive time adjustment as taught by Li for the purpose of transmission-timing adjustment mechanisms for a Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN) ([0002]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Ibrahim and Zhang discloses the base station apparatus according to claim 6 as addressed above, except wherein in an encoding of a response to the request, a negative time adjustment is encoded as a positive time adjustment having the same magnitude as the negative time adjustment, and an additional bit is set to indicate the sign of the time adjustment value.
However, Li teaches wherein in an encoding of a response to the request, a negative time adjustment is encoded as a positive time adjustment having the same magnitude as the negative time adjustment, and an additional bit is set to indicate the sign of the time adjustment value (Figs. 7, and 8, [0009],[0019],[0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Li with the teaching of Ibrahim and Zhang by using the above features such as wherein in an encoding of a response to the request, a negative time adjustment is encoded as a positive time adjustment having the same magnitude as the negative time adjustment, and an additional bit is set to indicate the sign of the time adjustment value as taught by Li for the purpose of transmission-timing adjustment mechanisms for a Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN) ([0002]).
Regarding claim 11, Ibrahim discloses the base station apparatus according to claim 9 as addressed above, except wherein the response to the request is a Random Access Response message according to the 3GPP Standard, wherein a positive time adjustment is encoded in the Timing Advance Command field and the additional bit is a reserved bit.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the response to the request is a Random Access Response message according to the 3GPP Standard, wherein a positive time adjustment is encoded in the Timing Advance Command field and the additional bit is a reserved bit ([0126],[0131]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Zhang with the teaching of Ibrahim by using the above features such as wherein the response to the request is a Random Access Response message according to the 3GPP Standard, wherein a positive time adjustment is encoded in the Timing Advance Command field and the additional bit is a reserved bit as taught by Zhang for the purpose of reducing latency and enhance the spectrum efficiency in a cell, full duplex (FD) communications may be used in 5G systems([0005]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DADY CHERY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418