DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 5/26/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no serious burden to examine all groups together. This is not found persuasive because the inventions require different search strategies to capture different concepts. For example, a search for portable power sources housed in a canister may not uncover useful prior art for a personal transportation vehicle with a seating area and a receptacle disposed in a console of the vehicle, or vice versa. A search for an electric brake with a portable power source may not uncover useful prior art for portable power sources housed in a canister or a personal transportation vehicle with a seating area and a receptacle disposed in a console of the vehicle, or vice versa.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 11-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 5/26/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/31/2025 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites, “the cavity”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear where the cavity is, whether in the receptacle , the vehicle, or both.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haffelder et al. (U.S. 2005/0000763) in view of Clark et al. (U.S. 2009/0114461).
Regarding claim 1, Haffelder discloses (figs. 2 and 5) A personal transportation vehicle (abstract at least), comprising:
a seating area (pgh. 0030, “passenger compartment”) within which a driver is disposed during operation of the personal transportation vehicle (pgh. 0011 at least, “driver”);
at least one electric brake (abstract at least, “electrically controlled parking brake”) that, in an engaged position, prevents the personal transportation vehicle from moving (standard operation of a parking brake);
a receptacle (24) containing electrical connectors (21) to the at least one electric brake, the receptacle being accessible from the seating area during operation of the personal transportation vehicle (see pgh. 0030, receptacle 24 arranged in the passenger compartment).
Haffelder does not appear to disclose the brake being engaged due to insufficient power and disengaged due to sufficient power (i.e. a normally engaged brake). In the same field of endeavor of manual release mechanisms for parking brakes within personal transportation vehicles, Clark teaches (figs. 1-3) a personal transportation vehicle (10) including an electric brake 14 that is applied by a spring (90) and released by force of an electromagnet (94) (see pgh. 0020-0022).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the brake as normally engaged by spring force and released by electric force to provide a predominant operation mode for the brake, particularly such that the brake is engaged with insufficient power supplied thereto, as this results in the brake becoming engaged automatically when the vehicle is shut off. This prevents inadvertent rollaway of the vehicle in the event that the driver forgets to engage the parking brake.
Regarding claim 2, Haffelder as modified teaches (figs. 2 and 5) aside from being electrically connected to the at least one electric brake, the receptacle is electrically isolated from operating components of the personal transportation vehicle (pgh. 0023, “Additional users, e.g., the vehicle's electrical system, are not supplied with auxiliary energy in this context”).
Regarding claim 3, Haffelder as modified teaches (figs. 2 and 5) the personal transportation vehicle operates in a tow mode when a portable power source (20) is electrically connected to the receptacle and delivering the sufficient amount of power to move the at least one electric brake to the disengaged position (see pgh. 0005, releasing the brake when parked in order to tow it, which is considered a “tow mode”).
Regarding claim 4, Haffelder as modified teaches (figs. 2 and 5) the personal transportation vehicle is unable to operate in a drive mode while the portable power source is a sole source of power delivering the sufficient amount of power to disengage the at least one electric brake (see pgh. 0022, auxiliary battery 20 is connected to the terminal 21 when the vehicle battery power 8 has failed or is defective. In conjunction with pgh. 0023, “Additional users, e.g., the vehicle's electrical system, are not supplied with auxiliary energy in this context”, the vehicle is not able to operate in a drive mode while the portable power source 20 is the sole source of power due to the failure of the vehicle battery 8).
Regarding claim 5, Haffelder as modified teaches (figs. 2 and 5) the receptacle is located in a console of the personal transportation vehicle (the location of the connecting part 24 within the passenger part corresponds to the “console”).
Regarding claim 6, Haffelder as modified teaches (figs. 2 and 5) a portable power source (20) that is removably installable in the receptacle (see pgh. 0022 at least).
Regarding claim 7, Haffelder as modified teaches (figs. 2 and 5) the receptacle is configured to removably, electrically connect to the portable power source (battery 20 can be connected and disconnected to the receptacle 24)
Regarding claim 8, Haffelder as modified teaches (figs. 2 and 5) the receptacle removably, mechanically couples the portable power source to the personal transportation vehicle (see pgh. 0009 at least, battery adapter plugs into a plug connection, such plug connection considered to mechanically couple the power source and vehicle).
Regarding claim 9, Haffelder as modified teaches (figs. 2 and 5) the portable power source is contained within a canister (pgh. 0009, “battery adapter”); the canister having a handle on at least one side that is not adjacent to the receptacle upon when the canister is installed in the cavity (e.g. back side of the battery adapter constitutes a “handle” that user holds when installing the battery adapter into the plug 25.
Regarding claim 10, Haffelder as modified teaches (figs. 2 and 5) one or more main power sources (8) configured to operate the at least one electric brake to move the at least one electric brake between the engaged position and the disengaged position unless prevented by a fault or by lack of available power (see pgh. 0022 at least).
Regarding claim 11, Haffelder as modified teaches (figs. 2 and 5) (see fig. 1 at least) the at least one electric brake is a parking brake (e.g. locking device 12) and the personal transportation vehicle comprises additional brakes (wheel brakes 11).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure. The documents listed on the PTO-892 disclose various electric parking brake devices.
Conclusion
/DAVID MORRIS/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
/DAVID R MORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616