DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Regarding claim 17, the phrases “communication means for" , and “time adjustment applying means for” would invoke 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph which proper structure from the specification. However, it is unclear from the specification what structure would be sufficient to achieve the function of the claimed processing device . The lack of sufficient structure in the specification renders the claim vague and indefinite.
Double Patenting
Claims 1,6,16,and 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1,19, and 20 of copending Application No. 18/414,673 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim(s) 1,19, and of U.S. Copending Application No. 18/414,673 contain(s) every element of claims 1,16, and 17 of the instant application and as such anticipate(s) claim(s) 1,16, and 17of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Copending Application
Present Application
A base station apparatus, comprising: antenna circuitry configured to, during a communication session, transmit downlink messages to a target communication apparatus and receive uplink messages from the target communication apparatus, wherein the downlink and uplink messages comprise temporal segments; propagation delay determination circuitry configured to determine an indication of a propagation delay in messages sent between the base station apparatus and the target communication apparatus based on a request received from the target communication apparatus requesting to initiate a communication session with the base station apparatus; and time adjustment determination circuitry configured to determine a time adjustment to be communicated to the target communication apparatus in response to the request, wherein the time adjustment is to be applied to uplink messages by the target communication apparatus, and the time adjustment is determined based on the indication of the propagation delay such that when an uplink message to which the time adjustment has been applied is received at the base station apparatus, the boundaries between temporal segments in the received uplink message align with reference boundaries; wherein the time adjustment determination circuitry is arranged to determine the time adjustment such that the reference boundary that a given boundary within the uplink message to which the time adjustment has been applied aligns with is dependent on which of a plurality of defined ranges the indication of the propagation delay falls within.
6. The base station apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the time adjustment determination circuitry is configured to determine a time adjustment that can take either a positive value corresponding to a time advance or a negative value corresponding to a time retard.
19. A method for a base station apparatus, comprising: during a communication session, transmitting downlink messages to a target communication apparatus and receiving uplink messages from the target communication apparatus with antenna circuitry, wherein the downlink and uplink messages comprise temporal segments; determining an indication of a propagation delay in messages sent between the base station apparatus and the target communication apparatus based on a request received from the target communication apparatus requesting to initiate a communication session with the base station apparatus; and determining a time adjustment to be communicated to the target communication apparatus in response to the request, wherein the time adjustment is to be applied to uplink messages by the target communication apparatus, and the time adjustment is determined based on the indication of the propagation delay such that when an uplink message to which the time adjustment has been applied is received at the base station apparatus, the boundaries between temporal segments in the received uplink message align with reference boundaries; wherein the time adjustment is determined such that the reference boundary that a given boundary within the uplink message to which the time adjustment has been applied aligns with is dependent on which of a plurality of defined ranges the indication of the propagation delay falls within.
20. A base station apparatus, comprising: communication means for transmitting, during a communication session, downlink messages to a target communication apparatus and for receiving, during the communication session, uplink messages from the target communication apparatus, wherein the downlink and uplink messages comprise temporal segments; propagation delay determining means for determining an indication of a propagation delay in messages sent between the base station apparatus and the target communication apparatus based on a request received from the target communication apparatus requesting to initiate a communication session with the base station apparatus; and time adjustment determining means for determining a time adjustment to be communicated to the target communication apparatus in response to the request, wherein the time adjustment is to be applied to uplink messages by the target communication apparatus, and the time adjustment is determined based on the indication of the propagation delay such that when an uplink message to which the time adjustment has been applied is received at the base station apparatus, the boundaries between temporal segments in the received uplink message align with reference boundaries; wherein the time adjustment determining means is arranged to determine the time adjustment such that the reference boundary that a given boundary within the uplink message to which the time adjustment has been applied aligns with is dependent on which of a plurality of defined ranges the indication of the propagation delay falls within.
1. A communication apparatus, comprising: antenna circuitry configured to, during a communication session, transmit uplink messages to a base station and receive downlink messages from the base station; time adjustment decoding circuitry to decode a time adjustment from a message received from the base station; and time adjustment application circuitry to apply the time adjustment to the uplink messages; wherein the time adjustment application circuitry is capable of applying both of a positive time adjustment to advance a given uplink message and a negative time adjustment to retard the given uplink message.
16. A communication method, comprising: during a communication session, transmitting uplink messages to a base station and receiving downlink messages from the base station; decoding a time adjustment from a message received from the base station; and applying the time adjustment to the uplink messages; wherein the time adjustment can be both of a positive time adjustment to advance a given uplink message and a negative time adjustment to retard the given uplink message.
17. A communication apparatus, comprising: communication means for transmitting, during a communication session, uplink messages to a base station and for receiving, during the communication session, downlink messages from the base station; time adjustment decoding means for decoding a time adjustment from a message received from the base station; and time adjustment applying means for applying the time adjustment to the uplink messages; wherein the time adjustment applying means is capable of applying both of a positive time adjustment to advance a given uplink message and a negative time adjustment to retard the given uplink message.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosseinian et al. (US Application 2021/0352606, hereinafter Hosseinian) in view of Li et al. (US Application 2022/0007323, hereinafter Li).
Regarding claims 1, 16, 17, Hosseinan discloses a communication apparatus , and method(Figs. 1-13,18), comprising:
means for, antenna circuitry(inherent feature of the UE) configured to, during a communication session, transmit uplink messages to a base station and receive downlink messages from the base station([0064],[0067], [0071],[0076]which recites an antenna capable of sending and receiving data from satellite 102. Gateway 103 may be connected to or associated with a base station or logical radio node, such as a gNodeB (gNB) base station, not shown. Thereby having antenna circuitry configured to, during a communication session, transmit uplink messages to a base station and receive downlink messages from the base station);
means for time adjustment decoding circuitry (inherent feature of the UE) to decode a time adjustment from a message received from the base station([0067],[0072], which recite a full timing advance compensation (having time adjustment decoding circuitry) for a downlink and uplink to a base station, such as a gNB, via gateway 103); and
time adjustment application circuitry to apply the time adjustment to the uplink messages([0067],[0072], which recite a full timing advance compensation (having time adjustment decoding circuitry) for uplink message to a base station, such as a gNB, via gateway 103).
Hosseinan does not explicitly disclose wherein the time adjustment application circuitry is capable of applying both of a positive time adjustment to advance a given uplink message and a negative time adjustment to retard the given uplink message.
However, Li teaches wherein the time adjustment application circuitry means for (inherent feature of the UE) is capable of applying both of a positive time adjustment to advance a given uplink message and a negative time adjustment to retard the given uplink message([0009], [0019], which recites the UE performs the timing-adjustment mechanism to shift the timing of each round of signal transmission using a positive and negative alternating step sequence).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Li with the teaching of Hosseinan by using the above features such as the time adjustment application circuitry is capable of applying both of a positive time adjustment to advance a given uplink message and a negative time adjustment to retard the given uplink message as taught by Li for the purpose of transmission-timing adjustment mechanisms for a Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN) ([0002]).
Regarding claim 2, Hosseinan discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 1, comprising request generating circuitry configured to generate a request to initiate a communication session with the base station; wherein the antenna circuitry is configured to transmit the request to the base station([0067],[0072]).
Regarding claim 3, Hosseinan discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the message received from the base station is a response to the request to initiate the communication session with the base station([0067],[0072]).
Regarding claim 4, Hosseinan discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 1 as addressed above, except comprising time adjustment update circuitry configured to perform an update to the time adjustment applied by the time adjustment application circuitry; wherein the time adjustment update is based on a time adjustment update value encoded in a further message received from the base station.
However, Li teaches time adjustment update circuitry configured to perform an update to the time adjustment applied by the time adjustment application circuitry; wherein the time adjustment update is based on a time adjustment update value encoded in a further message received from the base station ([0009], [0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Li with the teaching of Hosseinan by using the above features such as time adjustment update circuitry configured to perform an update to the time adjustment applied by the time adjustment application circuitry; wherein the time adjustment update is based on a time adjustment update value encoded in a further message received from the base station as taught by Li for the purpose of transmission-timing adjustment mechanisms for a Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN) ([0002]).
Regarding claim 5, Hosseinan discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 4 as addressed above, except wherein in response to determining that an updated time adjustment falls outside of a predetermined range of time adjustment values, the time adjustment update circuitry is configured to apply an offset to the updated time adjustment to calculate a time adjustment value falling within the predetermined range.
However, Li teaches wherein in response to determining that an updated time adjustment falls outside of a predetermined range of time adjustment values, the time adjustment update circuitry is configured to apply an offset to the updated time adjustment to calculate a time adjustment value falling within the predetermined range ([0009], [0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Li with the teaching of Hosseinan by using the above features such as wherein in response to determining that an updated time adjustment falls outside of a predetermined range of time adjustment values, the time adjustment update circuitry is configured to apply an offset to the updated time adjustment to calculate a time adjustment value falling within the predetermined range as taught by Li for the purpose of transmission-timing adjustment mechanisms for a Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN) ([0002]).
Regarding claim 6, Hosseinan discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 5 as addressed above, except wherein the offset is a value equal to the size of the predetermined range of time adjustment values.
However, Li teaches wherein the offset is a value equal to the size of the predetermined range of time adjustment values ([0009], [0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Li with the teaching of Hosseinan by using the above features such as wherein the offset is a value equal to the size of the predetermined range of time adjustment values as taught by Li for the purpose of transmission-timing adjustment mechanisms for a Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN) ([0002]).
Regarding claim 7, Hosseinan discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 5 , except the downlink and uplink messages comprise temporal segments; and the size of the predetermined range of time adjustment values corresponds to the length of one temporal segment.
However, Li teaches wherein the downlink and uplink messages comprise temporal segments; and the size of the predetermined range of time adjustment values corresponds to the length of one temporal segment ([0009], [0019],[0045]-[0046],[0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Li with the teaching of Hosseinan by using the above features such as wherein the downlink and uplink messages comprise temporal segments; and the size of the predetermined range of time adjustment values corresponds to the length of one temporal segment as taught by Li for the purpose of transmission-timing adjustment mechanisms for a Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN) ([0002]).
Regarding claim 8, Hosseinan discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 1 , except the time adjustment decoding circuitry is configured to decode the time adjustment by: determining a value from the encoding of the message; when the value is below a threshold, determining the time adjustment to be a positive time adjustment with a magnitude equal to the value; and when the value is above the threshold, determining the time adjustment to be a negative time adjustment with a magnitude based on the difference between the value and the threshold.
However, Li teaches wherein the time adjustment decoding circuitry is configured to decode the time adjustment by: determining a value from the encoding of the message; when the value is below a threshold, determining the time adjustment to be a positive time adjustment with a magnitude equal to the value; and when the value is above the threshold, determining the time adjustment to be a negative time adjustment with a magnitude based on the difference between the value and the threshold ([0009], [0019],[0045]-[0046],[0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Li with the teaching of Hosseinan by using the above features such as wherein the downlink and uplink messages comprise temporal segments; and the size of the predetermined range of time adjustment values corresponds to the length of one temporal segment as taught by Li for the purpose of transmission-timing adjustment mechanisms for a Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN) ([0002]).
Regarding claim 9, Hosseinan discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 1 , except wherein the time adjustment decoding circuitry is configured to decode the time adjustment by: determining a magnitude value from a predetermined field of the message; when an additional bit not included in the predetermined field takes a first value, determining the time adjustment to be a positive time adjustment with a magnitude based on the magnitude value; and when the additional bit takes a second value, determining the time adjustment.
However, Li teaches wherein the time adjustment decoding circuitry is configured to decode the time adjustment by: determining a magnitude value from a predetermined field of the message; when an additional bit not included in the predetermined field takes a first value, determining the time adjustment to be a positive time adjustment with a magnitude based on the magnitude value; and when the additional bit takes a second value, determining the time adjustment ([0009],[0017], [0019],[0045]-[0046],[0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Li with the teaching of Hosseinan by using the above features such as wherein the time adjustment decoding circuitry is configured to decode the time adjustment by: determining a magnitude value from a predetermined field of the message; when an additional bit not included in the predetermined field takes a first value, determining the time adjustment to be a positive time adjustment with a magnitude based on the magnitude value; and when the additional bit takes a second value, determining the time adjustment as taught by Li for the purpose of transmission-timing adjustment mechanisms for a Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN) ([0002]).
Regarding claim 10, Hosseinan discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the time adjustment decoding circuitry is configured to decode the time adjustment by concatenating bits of a predetermined field of the message and an additional bit, and decoding the time adjustment as a two's complement value encoded in the concatenated bits([01170,[0136]).
Regarding claim 11, Hosseinan discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the message is a Random Access Response message according to the 3GPP Standard, wherein the predetermined field is the Timing Advance Command field and the additional bit is a reserved bit(0003],[0088]).
Regarding claim 12, Hosseinan discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the communication apparatus is configured to be mounted on a moving vehicle(figs. 1,[0061]).
Regarding claim 13, Hosseinan discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the downlink and uplink messages comprise temporal segments; and the time adjustment application circuitry applies the time adjustment to uplink messages as an offset with respect to boundaries between temporal segments in a received downlink message([0067],[0072]).
Regarding claim 14, Hosseinan discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the uplink and downlink messages are split into temporal frames comprising two or more sub-frames, and each temporal segment corresponds to a sub-frame(Figs, 2,3,6,10-11,13).
Regarding claim 15, Hosseinan discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 5 , except wherein boundaries of the predetermined range are determined at the communication apparatus based on one or more messages received from the base station.
However, Li teaches wherein boundaries of the predetermined range are determined at the communication apparatus based on one or more messages received from the base station ([0009], [0019],[0045]-[0046],[0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Li with the teaching of Hosseinan by using the above features such as wherein boundaries of the predetermined range are determined at the communication apparatus based on one or more messages received from the base station as taught by Li for the purpose of transmission-timing adjustment mechanisms for a Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN) ([0002]).
Conclusion
/DADY CHERY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418