DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al., US 2023/0422075 A1 (Lim hereinafter), in view of Nam et al., US 2020/0052775 A1 (Nam hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claim 1, Lim discloses a method performed by a first access and mobility management function (AMF) in a wireless communication system (Lim, Fig. 19 and paragraph [0042], FIG. 19 is a block diagram conceptually illustrating an example of a hardware implementation for a network entity (e.g., an access and mobility management function) employing a processing system according to some aspects. Also see paragraph [0109], The 5G core network may include, for example, an access and mobility management function (AMF) 606, a session management function (not shown), and a location management function (LMF) 608), the method comprising:
establishing a control channel connection with at least two enhanced relays (ERs) through a first base station managed by the first AMF (Lim, Fig. 8 and paragraph [0149], FIG. 8 illustrates an example of a wireless communication system 800 that includes mobile assisting nodes. A first donor gNB 802 serves one or more UEs 804 via a first mobile relay 806 (e.g., a VMR) and serves another UE 808 via a second mobile relay 810 (e.g., a VMR). Also see paragraph [0167], According to some aspects of the disclosure, the repeater device 1114 may be configured as, and referred to as, a smart repeater device (i.e., an enhanced relay). Also see paragraph [0188], At #1308 of FIG. 13, the first wireless communication device 1302 sends a registration request to the AMF 1304 (e.g., via a gNB) (i.e., a gNB managed by the AMF) and paragraph [0072], The various physical channels between the UE and the radio access network are generally set up, maintained, and released under the control of an access and mobility management function (AMF, not illustrated, part of the core network 102 in FIG. 1) (i.e., various physical channels such as control channels between the gNR and Relay #1 and Relay # 2 as shown in Fig. 8 are setup and maintained by the AMF));
Regarding claim 11, Lim discloses a server supporting a first access and mobility management function (AMF) in a wireless communication system (Lim, Fig. 19 and paragraph [0042], FIG. 19 is a block diagram conceptually illustrating an example of a hardware implementation for a network entity (e.g., an access and mobility management function) employing a processing system according to some aspects. Also see paragraph [0109], The 5G core network may include, for example, an access and mobility management function (AMF) 606, a session management function (not shown), and a location management function (LMF) 608), the server comprising:
a transceiver (Lim, Fig. 19, element 1920); and
at least one processor coupled to the transceiver (Lim, Fig. 19, elements 1904, 1908 and 1910 shows processor coupled to a transceiver via bus interface), wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
establish a control channel connection with at least two enhanced relays (ERs) through a first base station managed by the first AMF (Lim, Fig. 8 and paragraph [0149], FIG. 8 illustrates an example of a wireless communication system 800 that includes mobile assisting nodes. A first donor gNB 802 serves one or more UEs 804 via a first mobile relay 806 (e.g., a VMR) and serves another UE 808 via a second mobile relay 810 (e.g., a VMR). Also see paragraph [0167], According to some aspects of the disclosure, the repeater device 1114 may be configured as, and referred to as, a smart repeater device (i.e., an enhanced relay). Also see paragraph [0188], At #1308 of FIG. 13, the first wireless communication device 1302 sends a registration request to the AMF 1304 (e.g., via a gNB) (i.e., a gNB managed by the AMF) and paragraph [0072], The various physical channels between the UE and the radio access network are generally set up, maintained, and released under the control of an access and mobility management function (AMF, not illustrated, part of the core network 102 in FIG. 1) (i.e., various physical channels such as control channels between the gNR and Relay #1 and Relay # 2 as shown in Fig. 8 are setup and maintained by the AMF));
Lim does not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 1, controlling the at least two ERs to establish a communication channel with a second base station different from the first base station through the control channel; and
controlling the at least two ERs to transmit data received through the communication channel to a first user equipment (UE).
Regarding claim 11, control the at least two ERs to establish a communication channel with a second base station distinct from the first base station through the control channel; and
control the at least two ERs to transmit data received through the communication channel to a first user equipment (UE) that has established a first communication connection with the at least two ERs.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Nam discloses a method related organization of inter-relay discovery reference signals (DRSs) that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 1, controlling the at least two ERs to establish a communication channel with a second base station different from the first base station through the control channel (Nam, Fig. 2 in paragraphs [0093]-[0094] discloses, an example of a wireless communication system that supports inter-relay DRSs that includes one or more IAB donor nodes (210) (i.e., a first and second bases station). Fig. 3 in paragraph [0100] discloses, IAB donor node 310 (i.e., the second base station), IAB relay nodes 315, and core network 305 may be examples of the corresponding devices described with reference to FIG. 2. IAB donor node 310 and one or more IAB relay nodes 315 may be configured as (e.g., or in communication according to) a relay chain for backhaul communications and in Fig. 3 and paragraph [0103], Nam further discloses, The IAB donor node 310 may include a CU 320 with a wireline (e.g., optical fiber) backhaul or wireless connection to the core network 305, and may act as parent node for IAB relay node 315-a and/or IAB relay node 315-b (i.e., two relay nodes controlled by the core network through the donor node/second base station). For example, the DU 325 of IAB donor node 310 may relay transmissions to UEs 115 through IAB relay nodes 315-a and 315-b. The CU 320 of IAB donor node 310 may signal communication link establishment via an Fl interface to IAB relay nodes 315-a and 315-b, and the IAB relay nodes 315-a and 315-b may schedule transmissions (e.g., transmissions to the UEs 115 relayed from the IAB donor node 310) through their Dus 325. Also see paragraph [0111], In full-duplex operation, a relay node may transmit and receive signals simultaneously or during a same TTI or other time interval (e.g., based on the relay node including separated transmit/receive subarrays or panels, strong analog/digital-domain self-interference cancellation capabilities, etc.). In some cases, a relay node supporting full-duplex operation may be referred to as an "advanced" relay node (i.e., enhanced relay nodes)); and
controlling the at least two ERs to transmit data received through the communication channel to a first user equipment (UE) (Nam, paragraph [0103], That is, data may be relayed between IAB donor node 310 and IAB relay nodes 315-a and 315-b via signaling over Uu interfaces (e.g., wireless backhaul links 340) to MTs 330 of the IAB relay nodes 315-a and 315-b. Also see paragraph [0095], TAB relay nodes 215 may be split into associated mobile terminal (MT) (i.e. a first user equipment) and base station DU entities, where MT functionality of the IAB relay nodes 215 may be controlled and/or scheduled by antecedent (i.e., parent) IAB nodes via wireless backhaul links. Also see paragraph [0111], In full-duplex operation, a relay node may transmit and receive signals simultaneously or during a same TTI or other time interval (e.g., based on the relay node including separated transmit/receive subarrays or panels, strong analog/digital-domain self-interference cancellation capabilities, etc.). In some cases, a relay node supporting full-duplex operation may be referred to as an "advanced" relay node (i.e., enhanced relay nodes)).
Regarding claim 11, control the at least two ERs to establish a communication channel with a second base station distinct from the first base station through the control channel (Nam, Fig. 2 in paragraphs [0093]-[0094] discloses, an example of a wireless communication system that supports inter-relay DRSs that includes one or more IAB donor nodes (210) (i.e., a first and second bases station). Fig. 3 in paragraph [0100] discloses, IAB donor node 310 (i.e., the second base station), IAB relay nodes 315, and core network 305 may be examples of the corresponding devices described with reference to FIG. 2. IAB donor node 310 and one or more IAB relay nodes 315 may be configured as (e.g., or in communication according to) a relay chain for backhaul communications and in Fig. 3 and paragraph [0103], Nam further discloses, The IAB donor node 310 may include a CU 320 with a wireline (e.g., optical fiber) backhaul or wireless connection to the core network 305, and may act as parent node for IAB relay node 315-a and/or IAB relay node 315-b (i.e., two relay nodes controlled by the core network through the donor node/second base station). For example, the DU 325 of IAB donor node 310 may relay transmissions to UEs 115 through IAB relay nodes 315-a and 315-b. The CU 320 of IAB donor node 310 may signal communication link establishment via an Fl interface to IAB relay nodes 315-a and 315-b, and the IAB relay nodes 315-a and 315-b may schedule transmissions (e.g., transmissions to the UEs 115 relayed from the IAB donor node 310) through their Dus 325. Also see paragraph [0111], In full-duplex operation, a relay node may transmit and receive signals simultaneously or during a same TTI or other time interval (e.g., based on the relay node including separated transmit/receive subarrays or panels, strong analog/digital-domain self-interference cancellation capabilities, etc.). In some cases, a relay node supporting full-duplex operation may be referred to as an "advanced" relay node (i.e., enhanced relay nodes)); and
control the at least two ERs to transmit data received through the communication channel to a first user equipment (UE) that has established a first communication connection with the at least two ERs (Nam, paragraph [0103], That is, data may be relayed between IAB donor node 310 and IAB relay nodes 315-a and 315-b via signaling over Uu interfaces (e.g., wireless backhaul links 340) to MTs 330 of the IAB relay nodes 315-a and 315-b. Also see paragraph [0095], TAB relay nodes 215 may be split into associated mobile terminal (MT) (i.e. a first user equipment) and base station DU entities, where MT functionality of the IAB relay nodes 215 may be controlled and/or scheduled by antecedent (i.e., parent) IAB nodes via wireless backhaul links. Also see paragraph [0111], In full-duplex operation, a relay node may transmit and receive signals simultaneously or during a same TTI or other time interval (e.g., based on the relay node including separated transmit/receive subarrays or panels, strong analog/digital-domain self-interference cancellation capabilities, etc.). In some cases, a relay node supporting full-duplex operation may be referred to as an "advanced" relay node (i.e., enhanced relay nodes)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lim by using the features, as taught by Nam, in order to reduce latency that result in inefficiencies in the relay node discovery process (see Nam, paragraphs [0002] and [0004]).
Claim(s) 2 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al., US 2023/0422075 A1 (Lim hereinafter), in view of Nam et al., US 2020/0052775 A1 (Nam hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Dey et al., US 2024/0429979 A1 (Dey hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Lim and Nam disclose the method of claim 1 and the server of claim 11. Lim and Nam do not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 2, wherein the at least two ERs transmit the received data to the first UE using a same frequency band and a same time resource.
Regarding claim 12, wherein the at least two ERs transmit the received data to the first UE using a same frequency band and a same time resource.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Dey discloses a method related to a cellular network that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 2, wherein the at least two ERs transmit the received data to the first UE using a same frequency band and a same time resource (Dey, paragraph [0070], the control information may be exchanged between the BS and the RIS/smart repeater (108, 208) (i.e., two ERs) using a set of resources overlapping with the time-frequency resources used by the BS (102, 202) to communicate with the UE (104, 106, 204, 206). For example, non-orthogonal multiple access (NOMA) can be used as a modulation technique where the control information for the RIS/smart repeater (108, 208) is transmitted at a lower power as compared to the control/data for the UE in the same time frequency resources or using other techniques such as multi-user multiple input multiple output (MIMO)).
Regarding claim 12, wherein the at least two ERs transmit the received data to the first UE using a same frequency band and a same time resource (Dey, paragraph [0070], the control information may be exchanged between the BS and the RIS/smart repeater (108, 208) (i.e., two ERs) using a set of resources overlapping with the time-frequency resources used by the BS (102, 202) to communicate with the UE (104, 106, 204, 206). For example, non-orthogonal multiple access (NOMA) can be used as a modulation technique where the control information for the RIS/smart repeater (108, 208) is transmitted at a lower power as compared to the control/data for the UE in the same time frequency resources or using other techniques such as multi-user multiple input multiple output (MIMO)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lim and Nam by using the features, as taught by Dey, in order to support signalling methods for network with reconfigurable intelligent repeaters (see Dey, abstract and paragraph [0007]).
Claim(s) 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al., US 2023/0422075 A1 (Lim hereinafter), in view of Nam et al., US 2020/0052775 A1 (Nam hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Yoon et al., US 2021/0226730 A1 (Yoon hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Lim and Nam disclose the method of claim 1 and the server of claim 11. Lim and Nam do not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 3, wherein each of the at least two ERs is allocated a code matrix in order for the at least two ERs to use a same frequency band and a same time resource, and wherein the code matrix is a space-time block code (STBC).
Regarding claim 13, wherein each of the at least two ERs is allocated a code matrix in order for the at least two ERs to use a same frequency band and a same time resource, and wherein the code matrix is a space-time block code (STBC).
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Yoon discloses a method related to transmitting and receiving signals in a communication system that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 3, wherein each of the at least two ERs is allocated a code matrix in order for the at least two ERs to use a same frequency band and a same time resource, and wherein the code matrix is a space-time block code (STBC) (Yoon, paragraph [0006], If a coding scheme (e.g., time-space coding scheme) is used in the multi-antenna system (i.e., a code matrix), reliability of a radio channel may be improved. The space-time coding scheme may be classified into a space-time trellis coding (STTC) scheme and a space-time block coding (STBC) scheme. Also see paragraph [0007], When a plurality of antennas are used in the communication system using the STTC scheme or the STBC scheme, a transmitter may transmit signals using space-time domain resources or space-frequency domain resources. In this case, a sum of signals for antenna components may be received at a receiver in all time domain resources or all frequency domain resources and paragraph [0057], Here, each of the plurality of base stations 110-1, 110-2, 110-3, 120-1, and 120-2 may refer to a Node-B, an evolved Node-B (eNB), an advanced base station (BTS), a high reliability-base station (HR-BS), a base transceiver station (BTS), a radio base station, a radio transceiver, an access point, an access node, a radio access station (RAS), a mobile multi-hop relay base station (MMR-BS), a relay station (RS), an advanced relay station (ARS), a high reliability-relay station (HR-RS) (i.e., at least two enhanced relays), a home NodeB (HNB)).
Regarding claim 13, wherein each of the at least two ERs is allocated a code matrix in order for the at least two ERs to use a same frequency band and a same time resource, and wherein the code matrix is a space-time block code (STBC) (Yoon, paragraph [0006], If a coding scheme ( e.g., time-space coding scheme) is used in the multi-antenna system (i.e., a code matrix), reliability of a radio channel may be improved. The space-time coding scheme may be classified into a space-time trellis coding (STTC) scheme and a space-time block coding (STBC) scheme. Also see paragraph [0007], When a plurality of antennas are used in the communication system using the STTC scheme or the STBC scheme, a transmitter may transmit signals using space-time domain resources or space-frequency domain resources. In this case, a sum of signals for antenna components may be received at a receiver in all time domain resources or all frequency domain resources and paragraph [0057], Here, each of the plurality of base stations 110-1, 110-2, 110-3, 120-1, and 120-2 may refer to a Node-B, an evolved Node-B (eNB), an advanced base station (BTS), a high reliability-base station (HR-BS), a base transceiver station (BTS), a radio base station, a radio transceiver, an access point, an access node, a radio access station (RAS), a mobile multi-hop relay base station (MMR-BS), a relay station (RS), an advanced relay station (ARS), a high reliability-relay station (HR-RS) (i.e., at least two enhanced relays), a home NodeB (HNB)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lim and Nam by using the features, as taught by Yoon, in order to support a technique for transmitting and receiving signals using sparse frequency-bit interleaved coded modulation (SSF-BICM) scheme (see Yoon, paragraph [0002]).
Claim(s) 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al., US 2023/0422075 A1 (Lim hereinafter), in view of Nam et al., US 2020/0052775 A1 (Nam hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Cheng et al., US 2021/0345104 A1 (Cheng hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Lim and Nam disclose the method of claim 1 and the server of claim 11. Lim and Nam do not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 4, wherein the second base station is managed by the first AMF, and wherein the second base station is comprised in a same public land mobile network (PLMN) as the first base station.
Regarding claim 14, wherein the second base station is managed by the first AMF, and wherein the second base station is comprised in a same public land mobile network (PLNM) as the first base station.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Cheng discloses a method related to link establishment for sidelink communication that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 4, wherein the second base station is managed by the first AMF, and wherein the second base station is comprised in a same public land mobile network (PLMN) as the first base station (Cheng, paragraph [0168], At 530, the AMF 510 may transmit the relay key request to the PKMF 515. In some cases, the AMF 510 may include an identification of the relay UE 115-h (e.g., IMSI, GPSI, or SUCI depending on whether PKMF 515 is in the same PLMN as the AMF 510). The PKMF 515 will use this information to determine if the relay UE 115-h is authorized to serve the remote UE 115-g. Also see paragraph [0164], For example, process flow 500 may include an NG-RAN device 505 (e.g., a base station), a remote UE 115-g, a relay UE 115-h, an AMF 510, and a PKMF 515, which may be examples of corresponding devices as described above with reference to FIGS. 1-4).
Regarding claim 14, wherein the second base station is managed by the first AMF, and wherein the second base station is comprised in a same public land mobile network (PLNM) as the first base station (Cheng, paragraph [0168], At 530, the AMF 510 may transmit the relay key request to the PKMF 515. In some cases, the AMF 510 may include an identification of the relay UE 115-h (e.g., IMSI, GPSI, or SUCI depending on whether PKMF 515 is in the same PLMN as the AMF 510). The PKMF 515 will use this information to determine if the relay UE 115-h is authorized to serve the remote UE 115-g. Also see paragraph [0164], For example, process flow 500 may include an NG-RAN device 505 (e.g., a base station), a remote UE 115-g, a relay UE 115-h, an AMF 510, and a PKMF 515, which may be examples of corresponding devices as described above with reference to FIGS. 1-4).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lim and Nam by using the features, as taught by Cheng, in order to support dynamic security establishment techniques that allows efficient establishment of connection with appropriate security keys for encrypting and decrypting communications (see Cheng, paragraph [0153]).
Claim(s) 5-6 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al., US 2023/0422075 A1 (Lim hereinafter), in view of Nam et al., US 2020/0052775 A1 (Nam hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Hindy et al., US 2024/0413942 A1 (Hindy hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 5-6 and 15-16, Lim and Nam disclose the method of claim 1 and the server of claim 11.
Lim further discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 6, further comprising: identifying a network entity for managing the at least two ERs among a plurality of network entities (Lim, Fig. 8 discloses Donor gNR #1 manages at least two relays (i.e., elements 806)In paragraph [0167], Lim further discloses the repeater device 1114 may be configured as, and referred to as, a smart repeater device (i.e., an enhanced relay)); and
controlling the identified network entity to be connected to the second AMF (Lim, paragraph [0072], The various physical channels between the UE and the radio access network are generally set up, maintained, and released under the control of an access and mobility management function (AMF, not illustrated, part of the core network 102 in FIG. 1) (i.e., various physical channels such as control channels between the gNR and Relay #1 and Relay # 2 as shown in Fig. 8 are setup and maintained by the first or second AMF)).
Regarding claim 16, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
identify a network entity for managing the at least two ERs among a plurality of network entities (Lim, Fig. 8 discloses Donor gNR #1 manages at least two relays (i.e., elements 806)In paragraph [0167], Lim further discloses the repeater device 1114 may be configured as, and referred to as, a smart repeater device (i.e., an enhanced relay)), and control the identified network entity to be connected to the second AMF (Lim, paragraph [0072], The various physical channels between the UE and the radio access network are generally set up, maintained, and released under the control of an access and mobility management function (AMF, not illustrated, part of the core network 102 in FIG. 1) (i.e., various physical channels such as control channels between the gNR and Relay #1 and Relay # 2 as shown in Fig. 8 are setup and maintained by the first or second AMF)).
Lim and Nam do not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 5, wherein the second base station is managed by a second AMF different from the first AMF, and wherein the second base station is comprised in a different public land mobile network (PLMN) from the first base station.
Regarding claim 15, wherein the second base station is managed by a second AMF distinct from the first AMF, and wherein the second base station is comprised in a different public land mobile network (PLMN) from the first base station.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Hindy discloses a method related to repeater-assisted communications that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 5, wherein the second base station is managed by a second AMF different from the first AMF, and wherein the second base station is comprised in a different public land mobile network (PLMN) from the first base station (Hindy, Fig. 1 and paragraph [0076] discloses base stations (i.e., base units 121) of a mobile core network served by an AMF. Also see paragraph [0075], In one embodiment, the mobile core network 130 is a 5GC or an Evolved Packet Core ("EPC"), which may be coupled to a packet data network 150, like the Internet and private data networks, among other data networks. A remote unit 105 may have a subscription or other account with the mobile core network 130. Each mobile core network 130 belongs to a single public land mobile network ("PLMN") (i.e., ). Also see paragraph [0076], The mobile core network 130 also includes multiple control plane ("CP") functions including, but not limited to, an Access and Mobility Management Function ("AMF") 133 that serves the RAN 120).
Regarding claim 15, wherein the second base station is managed by a second AMF distinct from the first AMF, and wherein the second base station is comprised in a different public land mobile network (PLMN) from the first base station (Hindy, Fig. 1 and paragraph [0076] discloses base stations (i.e., base units 121) of a mobile core network served by an AMF. Also see paragraph [0075], In one embodiment, the mobile core network 130 is a 5GC or an Evolved Packet Core ("EPC"), which may be coupled to a packet data network 150, like the Internet and private data networks, among other data networks. A remote unit 105 may have a subscription or other account with the mobile core network 130. Each mobile core network 130 belongs to a single public land mobile network ("PLMN") (i.e., ). Also see paragraph [0076], The mobile core network 130 also includes multiple control plane ("CP") functions including, but not limited to, an Access and Mobility Management Function ("AMF") 133 that serves the RAN 120).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lim and Nam by using the features, as taught by Hindy, in order to support low cost solutions to improving the performance extending network coverage in both uplink and downlink (see Hindy, abstract and paragraph [0039]).
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al., US 2023/0422075 A1 (Lim hereinafter), in view of Nam et al., US 2020/0052775 A1 (Nam hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Oyman et al., US 2009/0233544 A1 (Oyman hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Lim and Nam disclose the method of claim 1 and the server of claim 11. Lim and Nam do not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 10, further comprising:
identifying a modulation scheme requested to the at least two ERs in order to use the same frequency band and the same time resource in case that the at least two ERs transmit data to the first UE; and
requesting the at least two ERs to perform data modulation by the identified modulation scheme.
Regarding claim 20, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
identify a modulation scheme requested to the at least two ERs in order to use the same frequency band and the same time resource in case that the at least two ERs transmit data to the first UE, and request the at least two ERs to perform data modulation by the identified modulation scheme.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Oyman discloses a method related to relay-based wireless cellular systems that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 10, further comprising:
identifying a modulation scheme requested to the at least two ERs in order to use the same frequency band and the same time resource in case that the at least two ERs transmit data to the first UE (Oyman, paragraph [0030], An embodiment of a communications transmit node 410, a first relay node 420, a second relay node 430 and a communications receive node 440, or target node, and cooperator node 450 are illustrated in FIG. 4 … In a cooperative relaying and the coop-FFR scheme, simultaneous transmissions of multiple relay stations 110, 112 114, 116, 118 and 119 or of the serving base station 105 and one or more relay stations 110, 112, 114, 116, 118 and 119 are required to transmit in a coordinated fashion so that they occur in the same time/frequency (TF) and with a coordinated MCS and a chosen cooperative transmission protocol); and
requesting the at least two ERs to perform data modulation by the identified modulation scheme (Oyman, paragraph [0038], Returning to the figures in FIG. 3, the communications transmit node 410 transmits a data block 310 with a header or preamble 312 and a body containing a fundamental channel (FCH) 314 to provide basic data service to data users, a downlink (DL) map 316, a cooperator map (COOP-MAP) 318 including scheduling and modulation coding scheme information, an uplink map (UL-MAP) 320, relay station 1 data 322, relay station 2 data 324, and cooperator data 326).
Regarding claim 20, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
identify a modulation scheme requested to the at least two ERs in order to use the same frequency band and the same time resource in case that the at least two ERs transmit data to the first UE (Oyman, paragraph [0030], An embodiment of a communications transmit node 410, a first relay node 420, a second relay node 430 and a communications receive node 440, or target node, and cooperator node 450 are illustrated in FIG. 4 … In a cooperative relaying and the coop-FFR scheme, simultaneous transmissions of multiple relay stations 110, 112 114, 116, 118 and 119 or of the serving base station 105 and one or more relay stations 110, 112, 114, 116, 118 and 119 are required to transmit in a coordinated fashion so that they occur in the same time/frequency (TF) and with a coordinated MCS and a chosen cooperative transmission protocol), and request the at least two ERs to perform data modulation by the identified modulation scheme (Oyman, paragraph [0038], Returning to the figures in FIG. 3, the communications transmit node 410 transmits a data block 310 with a header or preamble 312 and a body containing a fundamental channel (FCH) 314 to provide basic data service to data users, a downlink (DL) map 316, a cooperator map (COOP-MAP) 318 including scheduling and modulation coding scheme information, an uplink map (UL-MAP) 320, relay station 1 data 322, relay station 2 data 324, and cooperator data 326).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lim and Nam by using the features, as taught by Oyman, in order to support resource management and mitigation of co-channel interference in a relay-assisted wireless network (see Oyman, paragraph [0001]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/OBAIDUL HUQ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473 Dated: 01/09/2026