DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-23 and 27-33 are presented for examination.
Claims 21, 23, and 28 are amended.
Claims 24-26 are canceled.
Claims 31-33 are new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons set forth below.
The Applicant argues:
(1) MONTOJO could disclose or suggest “receive, from a network, a time domain resource allocation associated with a physical channel that is mapped only to symbols associated with a full-duplex mode or only to symbols associated with a non-full-duplex mode in a slot,” as recited in claim 1, [Remarks, pages 11-12].
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with these arguments.
As per the first argument
As indicated in the previous rejection and below, Montojo discloses receive, from a network [paragraphs 0040, 0054, 0057, 0066, receive, from a network (receive the downlink signals from base station 110)], a time domain resource allocation associated with a physical channel that is mapped only to symbols associated with a full-duplex mode or only to symbols associated with a non-full-duplex mode in a slot [fig. 9A, 9B, 10, paragraphs 0009, 0040, 0046, 0056, 0062, 0063, 0072, 0078, 0081, 0082, a time domain resource allocation associated with a physical channel that is mapped only to symbols associated with a full-duplex mode or only to symbols associated with a non-full-duplex mode in a slot (DL/UL allocation; the time-domain waveform for HD operation support; enabling coexistence of half-duplex (HD) operations and full-duplex (FD) operations in a same carrier; eNB may also transmit a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) in symbol periods 0 to 3 in slot 1 of certain radio frames)].
Regarding a time domain resource allocation associated with a physical channel that is mapped only to symbols associated with a full-duplex mode or only to symbols associated with a non-full-duplex mode in a slot, Montojo discloses in Figure 9A, paragraphs 0046, 0053, 0054, 0056, 0057, 0063, 0064, 0076, and 0087.
[0046] …. The eNB may transmit a cell-specific reference signal (CRS) across the system bandwidth for each cell supported by the eNB. The CRS may be transmitted in certain symbol periods of each subframe and may be used by the UEs to perform channel estimation, channel quality measurement, and/or other functions. The eNB may also transmit a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) in symbol periods 0 to 3 in slot 1 of certain radio frames. The PBCH may carry some system information. The eNB may transmit other system information such as system information blocks (SIBs) on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in certain subframes. The eNB may transmit control information/data on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in the first B symbol periods of a subframe, where B may be configurable for each subframe. The eNB may transmit traffic data and/or other data on the PDSCH in the remaining symbol periods of each subframe.
[0053] LTE Rel-8 supports a frame structure for frequency division duplex (FDD) (e.g., FIG. 3) and a frame structure for time division duplex (TDD). The frame structure for FDD may provide support for full-duplex (FD) and half-duplex (HD) operation modes. While for FD operations there may be no restrictions about when a user equipment (UE) may transmit or receive, for HD operations, the UE may only transmit or receive at a given point in time. HD operations were introduced in Rel-8 of LTE to enable low cost implementations of LTE terminals comparable to those of GSM (e.g., an FDD HD system). ….
[0054] For HD FDD operations, …. For HD operations, the UL transmission timing may be aligned by not receiving the last part of the downlink subframe. For some embodiments, an eNB may use this knowledge to adjust the DL transmission rate whenever the eNB schedules the HD UE for the UL immediately following a DL transmission.
[0056] …. At 502, at the beginning of every subframe (assuming a zero transition time from transmit to receive or vice versa), the UE may determine whether or not it has to transmit any channel or signal in the subframe. …. At 504, if the UE determines it has to transmit something, the UE may use this subframe for transmission purposes, and an eNB may not transmit to the UE. Otherwise, at 506, the UE may use this subframe for reception (i.e., the eNB may transmit to the UE). As illustrated in FIG. 5, the UE may prioritize its transmissions before any reception. LTE HD operation may require the UE and the eNB to continuously check the need or expectation for the UE to transmit, to determine whether the UE will be able to receive in a given subframe. Since there is not a fixed structure in the time-domain waveform for HD operation support, LTE may support concurrent support of FD and HD devices.
[0057] The eNB (e.g., scheduler) may know when the UE has to transmit something in a given subframe and, therefore, the eNB may be expected to use this information to determine when to schedule UE transmissions and receptions. Since the UE transmissions may not be affected by the HD operation, there may be no need to specify any special UE behavior from the UE transmitter standpoint (e.g., regular UL operation). ….
[0063] At 704, the eNB may assign a second frequency band for FD operations, wherein the first frequency band for HD operations overlaps the second frequency band for FD operations. For some embodiments, the frequency band for HD operations may have a first band number and the second frequency band for FD operations may have a second band number, wherein the first and second band numbers may be transmitted in an overhead message. The first and second band numbers may allow for simultaneous operation of FD UEs and HD UEs. For certain aspects, the eNB may receive, from a UE, an indication of whether the UE supports HD operations or FD operations and, based on the indication, the eNB may schedule the UE in the first or second band.
[0064] For certain aspects, the first frequency band for HD operations may completely overlap the second frequency band for FD operations, such that assignment of the first and second frequency bands generally includes assigning a frequency band with the first band number and the second band number. For certain aspects, the first frequency band for HD operations may have a narrower bandwidth than the second frequency band for FD operations. For some embodiments, the eNB may broadcast a network indication in the first frequency band, wherein the broadcast may indicate a capability for supporting the HD operations on the frequency band.
[0065] For certain aspects, the eNB may broadcast a network indication in the second frequency band for FD operations, wherein the broadcast indicates whether there is support for HD operations. If the broadcast indicates there is no support for HD operations, the eNB may deny access to a UE that only supports HD operations.
[0076] At 1004, the eNB may control transmissions with the one or more HD UEs such that only one of the uplink transmission or the downlink transmission is performed in the subframe with one or more of the UEs. ….
[0087] Embodiments of the present disclosure provide techniques for enabling coexistence, in a given frequency band, of HD and FD terminals, by introducing new frequency bands designated for HD operation and overlapping existing frequency bands designated for FD operation. …. Therefore, it may be beneficial to add the network capability to broadcast the HD support. As an example, a UE may receive a network indication in an FD band that indicates whether there is support for HD operations. As a result, if the UE supports only HD operations, the UE may be denied access and then perform network acquisition operations with another base station that does support HD operations.
Figure 9A illustrates frequency band for FD operations at a given point in time.
In other words, Montojo discloses wherein the eNB may schedule the UE in the first or second band (transmission in a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) in symbol periods in a slot of certain radio frames), wherein the for HD operations, the UE may only transmit or receive at a given point in time.
Therefore, given that Montojo discloses the eNB receive resource allocation associated for full-duplex (FD) and half-duplex (HD) operation modes, then Montojo discloses receiving a time domain resource allocation associated with a physical channel that is mapped only to symbols associated with a full-duplex mode or only to symbols associated with a non-full-duplex mode in a slot.
Regarding the rejection of claim 12, claim 12 recites the same limitations as set forth in claim 1, the response to claim 1 is also applicable to claim 12, and thus please refer to the response to claim 1 above.
Regarding the dependent claims 2-11 and 13-20, Applicant has not made specific arguments pertaining to why the cited references do not teach the recited claims. Without such arguments, the Examiner cannot respond and is not persuaded by such argument.
In view of above, it is clear that the system/methods of the cited art disclose the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-10, 12, and 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Montojo et al., (hereinafter Montojo), U.S. Publication No. 2013/0021954.
As per claim 1, Montojo discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) [fig. 2, paragraphs 0020, 0034, 0051, an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (a base station in communication with a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communications network)], comprising:
a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory [fig. 2, paragraphs 0041, 0042, a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (controllers/processors 240 and 280 may direct the operation at base station 110 and UE 120; memories 242 and 282 may store data and program codes for base station 110 and UE 120)], configured to:
receive, from a network [paragraphs 0040, 0054, 0057, 0066, receive, from a network (receive the downlink signals from base station 110)], a time domain resource allocation associated with a physical channel that is mapped only to symbols associated with a full-duplex mode or only to symbols associated with a non-full-duplex mode in a slot [fig. 9A, 9B, 10, paragraphs 0009, 0040, 0046, 0056, 0062, 0063, 0072, 0078, 0081, 0082, a time domain resource allocation associated with a physical channel that is mapped only to symbols associated with a full-duplex mode or only to symbols associated with a non-full-duplex mode in a slot (DL/UL allocation; the time-domain waveform for HD operation support; enabling coexistence of half-duplex (HD) operations and full-duplex (FD) operations in a same carrier; eNB may also transmit a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) in symbol periods 0 to 3 in slot 1 of certain radio frames)]; and
communicate with the network using the physical channel [fig. 5, paragraphs 0015, 0070, 0072, 0076, communicate with the network using the physical channel (the UE may transmit a physical channel)].
As per claim 3, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein, to communicate with the network, the one or more processors are configured to:
receive a communication from the network over the physical channel [paragraphs 0046, 0070, 0072, 0073, receive a communication from the network over the physical channel (transmit/receive control information/data on a physical channel; physical channels that may be relevant for reception)].
As per claim 4, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein, to communicate with the network, the one or more processors are configured to:
transmit a communication to the network over the physical channel [paragraphs 0046, 0070, 0072, 0073, transmit a communication to the network over the physical channel (transmit/receive control information/data on a physical channel; physical channels that may be relevant for reception)].
As per claim 5, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein, to communicate with the network, the one or more processors are configured to:
drop a communication scheduled across a combination of at least one of the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and at least one of the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode [paragraphs 0053, 0054, 0061, 0065, 0067, 0084, 0087, drop a communication scheduled across a combination of at least one of the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and at least one of the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode (the UE may only transmit or receive at a given point in time; the UEs that a network does not support HD operation in a given band; frequency band is not used in HD mode but in FD mode)].
As per claim 6, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive an additional time domain allocation associated with an additional physical channel that is mapped to a combination of symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode [fig. 9A, 9B, 10, paragraphs 0009, 0040, 0043, 0044, 0046, 0056, 0062, 0063, 0072, 0078, 0081, 0082, receive an additional time domain allocation associated with an additional physical channel that is mapped to a combination of symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode (DL/UL allocation; the time-domain waveform for HD operation support; enabling coexistence of half-duplex (HD) operations and full-duplex (FD) operations in a same carrier; eNB may also transmit a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) in symbol periods 0 to 3 in slot 1 of certain radio frames; a data allocation size of received data transmitted from a base station in bundles of contiguous resource blocks (RBs))]; and
discard the additional time domain allocation [paragraphs 0043, 0044, 0053, 0054, 0061, 0065, 0067, 0084, 0087, discard the additional time domain allocation (the UE may only transmit or receive at a given point in time; the UEs that a network does not support HD operation in a given band; frequency band is not used in HD mode but in FD mode)].
As per claim 7, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 1,
wherein a time period, between the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode, is a guard period [paragraphs 0054, 0056, 0072, 0086, wherein a time period, between the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode, is a guard period (guard time necessary to switch from reception to transmission)].
As per claim 8, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the time period is the guard period based at least in part on:
the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode preceding symbols associated with non-full-duplex uplink; the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode following symbols associated with non-full-duplex downlink; or the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode preceding or following dynamic symbols [paragraphs 0053, 0054, 0056, the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode preceding symbols associated with non-full-duplex uplink (guard period may be created by the UE by not receiving the last part of a downlink subframe immediately preceding an uplink subframe from the same UE; at the beginning of every subframe (assuming a zero transition time from transmit to receive or vice versa))].
As per claim 9, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
drop a communication scheduled during the guard period [paragraphs 0053, 0054, 0056, drop a communication scheduled during the guard period (guard period may be created by the UE by not receiving the last part of a downlink subframe immediately preceding an uplink subframe from the same UE; at the beginning of every subframe (assuming a zero transition time from transmit to receive or vice versa))].
As per claim 10, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 1,
wherein a time period, between the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode, is null [paragraphs 0054, 0056, 0072, 0084, 0086, wherein a time period, between the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode, is null (guard time necessary to switch from reception to transmission; at the beginning of every subframe (assuming a zero transition time from transmit to receive or vice versa); DL subframe may be partially erased in the UE)].
As per claim 12, Montojo discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node [fig. 2, paragraphs 0020, 0034, 0051, an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node (a base station in communication with a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communications network)], comprising:
a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory [fig. 2, paragraphs 0041, 0042, a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (controllers/processors 240 and 280 may direct the operation at base station 110 and UE 120; memories 242 and 282 may store data and program codes for base station 110 and UE 120)], configured to:
transmit a time domain resource allocation associated with a physical channel that is mapped only to symbols associated with a full-duplex mode or only to symbols associated with a non-full-duplex mode in a slot [fig. 9A, 9B, 10, paragraphs 0009, 0040, 0046, 0056, 0062, 0063, 0072, 0078, 0081, 0082, transmit a time domain resource allocation associated with a physical channel that is mapped only to symbols associated with a full-duplex mode or only to symbols associated with a non-full-duplex mode in a slot (DL/UL allocation; the time-domain waveform for HD operation support; enabling coexistence of half-duplex (HD) operations and full-duplex (FD) operations in a same carrier; eNB may also transmit a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) in symbol periods 0 to 3 in slot 1 of certain radio frames)]; and
communicate with a user equipment (UE) using the physical channel [fig. 5, paragraphs 0015, 0070, 0072, 0076, communicate with a user equipment (UE) using the physical channel (the UE may transmit a physical channel)].
As per claim 14, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein, to communicate with the UE, the one or more processors are configured to:
transmit a communication to the UE over the physical channel [paragraphs 0046, 0070, 0072, 0073, transmit a communication to the UE over the physical channel (transmit/receive control information/data on a physical channel; physical channels that may be relevant for reception)].
As per claim 15, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein, to communicate with the UE, the one or more processors are configured to:
receive a communication from the UE over the physical channel [paragraphs 0046, 0070, 0072, 0073, receive a communication from the UE over the physical channel (transmit/receive control information/data on a physical channel; physical channels that may be relevant for reception)].
As per claim 16, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 12,
wherein a time period, between the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode, is a guard period [paragraphs 0054, 0056, 0072, 0086, wherein a time period, between the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode, is a guard period (guard time necessary to switch from reception to transmission)].
As per claim 17, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the time period is the guard period based at least in part on:
the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode preceding symbols associated with non-full-duplex uplink; the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode following symbols associated with non-full-duplex downlink; or the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode preceding or following dynamic symbols [paragraphs 0053, 0054, 0056, the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode preceding symbols associated with non-full-duplex uplink (guard period may be created by the UE by not receiving the last part of a downlink subframe immediately preceding an uplink subframe from the same UE; at the beginning of every subframe (assuming a zero transition time from transmit to receive or vice versa))].
As per claim 18, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
refrain from communicating with the UE during the guard period [paragraphs 0053, 0054, 0056, refrain from communicating with the UE during the guard period (guard period may be created by the UE by not receiving the last part of a downlink subframe immediately preceding an uplink subframe from the same UE; at the beginning of every subframe (assuming a zero transition time from transmit to receive or vice versa))].
As per claim 19, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 12,
wherein a time period, between the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode, is null [paragraphs 0054, 0056, 0072, 0084, 0086, wherein a time period, between the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode, is null (guard time necessary to switch from reception to transmission; at the beginning of every subframe (assuming a zero transition time from transmit to receive or vice versa); DL subframe may be partially erased in the UE)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 11, 13, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montojo, in view of Abotabl et al., (hereinafter Abotabl), U.S. Publication No. 2021/0400637.
As per claim 2, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 1, Montojo discloses enabling coexistence, in a given frequency band, of half-duplex (HD) and full-duplex (FD) terminals [fig. 9B, paragraphs 0007, 0030, 0064, 0068]. Montojo does not explicitly disclose wherein the full-duplex mode comprises a subband full duplex mode.
However, Abotabl teaches wherein the full-duplex mode comprises a subband full duplex mode [fig. 5D, paragraphs 0032, 0033, 0066, 0091, 0109, wherein the full-duplex mode comprises a subband full duplex mode (full-duplex communication may be referred to herein as sub-band full-duplex (SBFD))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Montojo by including wherein the full-duplex mode comprises a subband full duplex mode as taught by Abotabl because it would provide the Montojo's apparatus with the enhanced capability of improving use of bandwidth for scheduled entities [Abotabl, paragraphs 0034, 0110].
As per claim 11, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 1,
wherein a first actual time domain window, associated with signal bundling, includes the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and a second actual time domain window includes the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode [paragraphs 0043, 0044, 0078, wherein a first actual time domain window, associated with signal bundling, includes the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and a second actual time domain window includes the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode (the base station 110 may be configured to determine a bundling size based at least in part on a data allocation size and precode data in bundled contiguous resource blocks of the determined bundling size)].
However, Abotabl teaches wherein a first actual time domain window, associated with demodulation reference signal bundling, includes the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and a second actual time domain window includes the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode [fig. 7B, paragraphs 0077, 0079, 0080, wherein a first actual time domain window, associated with demodulation reference signal bundling, includes the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and a second actual time domain window includes the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode (base station may further allocate one or more REs 306 to carry other DL signals, such as a demodulation reference signal (DMRS); DL data portions 726 and 736 may further include DL reference signals (e.g., DMRS) for use in demodulating and decoding the DL data)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Montojo by including wherein a first actual time domain window, associated with demodulation reference signal bundling as taught by Abotabl because it would provide the Montojo's apparatus with the enhanced capability of improving use of bandwidth for scheduled entities [Abotabl, paragraphs 0034, 0110].
As per claim 13, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 12, Montojo discloses enabling coexistence, in a given frequency band, of half-duplex (HD) and full-duplex (FD) terminals [fig. 9B, paragraphs 0007, 0030, 0064, 0068]. Montojo does not explicitly disclose wherein the full-duplex mode comprises a subband full duplex mode.
However, Abotabl teaches wherein the full-duplex mode comprises a subband full duplex mode [fig. 5D, paragraphs 0032, 0033, 0066, 0091, 0109, wherein the full-duplex mode comprises a subband full duplex mode (full-duplex communication may be referred to herein as sub-band full-duplex (SBFD))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Montojo by including wherein the full-duplex mode comprises a subband full duplex mode as taught by Abotabl because it would provide the Montojo's apparatus with the enhanced capability of improving use of bandwidth for scheduled entities [Abotabl, paragraphs 0034, 0110].
As per claim 20, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 12,
wherein a first actual time domain window, associated with signal bundling, includes the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and a second actual time domain window includes the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode [paragraphs 0043, 0044, 0078, wherein a first actual time domain window, associated with signal bundling, includes the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and a second actual time domain window includes the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode (the base station 110 may be configured to determine a bundling size based at least in part on a data allocation size and precode data in bundled contiguous resource blocks of the determined bundling size)].
However, Abotabl teaches wherein a first actual time domain window, associated with demodulation reference signal bundling, includes the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and a second actual time domain window includes the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode [fig. 7B, paragraphs 0077, 0079, 0080, wherein a first actual time domain window, associated with demodulation reference signal bundling, includes the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and a second actual time domain window includes the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode (base station may further allocate one or more REs 306 to carry other DL signals, such as a demodulation reference signal (DMRS); DL data portions 726 and 736 may further include DL reference signals (e.g., DMRS) for use in demodulating and decoding the DL data)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Montojo by including wherein a first actual time domain window, associated with demodulation reference signal bundling as taught by Abotabl because it would provide the Montojo's apparatus with the enhanced capability of improving use of bandwidth for scheduled entities [Abotabl, paragraphs 0034, 0110].
Claim(s) 21-23 and 28-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montojo, in view of Rudolf et al., (hereinafter Rudolf), U.S. Publication No. 2023/0276438.
As per claim 21, Montojo discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) [fig. 2, paragraphs 0020, 0034, 0051, an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (a base station in communication with a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communications network)], comprising:
a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory [fig. 2, paragraphs 0041, 0042, a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (controllers/processors 240 and 280 may direct the operation at base station 110 and UE 120; memories 242 and 282 may store data and program codes for base station 110 and UE 120)], configured to:
receive, from a network [paragraphs 0040, 0054, 0057, 0066, receive, from a network (receive the downlink signals from base station 110)], a time domain resource allocation associated with a physical channel that is mapped to a combination of symbols associated with a full-duplex mode and symbols associated with a non-full-duplex mode in a slot [fig. 9A, 9B, 10, paragraphs 0009, 0040, 0046, 0056, 0062, 0063, 0072, 0078, 0081, 0082, a time domain resource allocation associated with a physical channel that is mapped to a combination of symbols associated with a full-duplex mode and symbols associated with a non-full-duplex mode in a slot (DL/UL allocation; the time-domain waveform for HD operation support; enabling coexistence of half-duplex (HD) operations and full-duplex (FD) operations in a same carrier; eNB may also transmit a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) in symbol periods 0 to 3 in slot 1 of certain radio frames)]; and
communicate with the network using the physical channel [fig. 5, paragraphs 0015, 0070, 0072, 0076, communicate with the network using the physical channel (the UE may transmit a physical channel)].
Montojo does not explicitly disclose wherein communication with the network comprises transmission of a communication using a nominal repetition, wherein the nominal repetition is segmented into actual repetitions around a boundary between the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode and the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode.
However, Rudolf teaches wherein communication with the network comprises transmission of a communication using a nominal repetition [paragraphs 0107, 0116, 0248, wherein communication with the network comprises transmission of a communication using a nominal repetition (transmission for each of the K nominal repetitions)], wherein the nominal repetition is segmented into actual repetitions [paragraphs 0107, 0108, wherein the nominal repetition is segmented into actual repetitions (the nominal repetition consists of one or more actual repetitions)] around a boundary between the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode and the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode [fig. 8, paragraphs 0086, 0121, 0142, 0153, 0159, 0161, 0163, 0164, 0181, 0191, around a boundary between the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode and the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode (scheduling the transmissions using the SBFD subband in the full-duplex slots; scheduled PUSCH repetition only using the full-duplex slots)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Montojo by including transmission of a communication using a nominal repetition as taught by Rudolf because it would provide the Montojo's apparatus with the enhanced capability of improving coverage [Rudolf, paragraphs 0087, 0138].
As per claim 22, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 21, Montojo discloses enabling coexistence, in a given frequency band, of half-duplex (HD) and full-duplex (FD) terminals [fig. 9B, paragraphs 0007, 0030, 0064, 0068]. Montojo does not explicitly disclose wherein the full-duplex mode comprises a subband full duplex mode.
However, Rudolf teaches wherein the full-duplex mode comprises a subband full duplex mode [paragraphs 0142, 0143, 0153, 0158, 0163, 0210, wherein the full-duplex mode comprises a subband full duplex mode (Full-duplex operation using an UL subband or a DL subband may be referred to as Subband-Full-Duplex (SBFD))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Montojo by including a subband full duplex mode as taught by Rudolf because it would provide the Montojo's apparatus with the enhanced capability of improving coverage [Rudolf, paragraphs 0087, 0138].
As per claim 23, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein, to communicate with the network, the one or more processors are configured to:
receive a communication from the network over the physical channel or transmit a communication to the network over the physical channel [paragraphs 0046, 0070, 0072, 0073, receive a communication from the network over the physical channel (transmit/receive control information/data on a physical channel; physical channels that may be relevant for reception)].
As per claim 28, Montojo discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node [fig. 2, paragraphs 0020, 0034, 0051, an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node (a base station in communication with a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communications network)], comprising:
a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory [fig. 2, paragraphs 0041, 0042, a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (controllers/processors 240 and 280 may direct the operation at base station 110 and UE 120; memories 242 and 282 may store data and program codes for base station 110 and UE 120)], configured to:
transmit a time domain resource allocation associated with a physical channel that is mapped to a combination of symbols associated with a full-duplex mode and symbols associated with a non-full-duplex mode in a slot [fig. 9A, 9B, 10, paragraphs 0009, 0040, 0046, 0056, 0062, 0063, 0072, 0078, 0081, 0082, transmit a time domain resource allocation associated with a physical channel that is mapped to a combination of symbols associated with a full-duplex mode and symbols associated with a non-full-duplex mode in a slot (DL/UL allocation; the time-domain waveform for HD operation support; enabling coexistence of half-duplex (HD) operations and full-duplex (FD) operations in a same carrier; eNB may also transmit a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) in symbol periods 0 to 3 in slot 1 of certain radio frames)]; and
communicate with a user equipment (UE) using the physical channel [fig. 5, paragraphs 0015, 0070, 0072, 0076, communicate with a user equipment (UE) using the physical channel (the UE may transmit a physical channel)].
Montojo does not explicitly disclose wherein communication with the network comprises transmission of a communication using a nominal repetition, wherein the nominal repetition is segmented into actual repetitions around a boundary between the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode and the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode.
However, Rudolf teaches wherein communication with the network comprises transmission of a communication using a nominal repetition [paragraphs 0107, 0116, 0248, wherein communication with the network comprises transmission of a communication using a nominal repetition (transmission for each of the K nominal repetitions)], wherein the nominal repetition is segmented into actual repetitions [paragraphs 0107, 0108, wherein the nominal repetition is segmented into actual repetitions (the nominal repetition consists of one or more actual repetitions)] around a boundary between the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode and the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode [fig. 8, paragraphs 0086, 0121, 0142, 0153, 0159, 0161, 0163, 0164, 0181, 0191, around a boundary between the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode and the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode (scheduling the transmissions using the SBFD subband in the full-duplex slots; scheduled PUSCH repetition only using the full-duplex slots)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Montojo by including transmission of a communication using a nominal repetition as taught by Rudolf because it would provide the Montojo's apparatus with the enhanced capability of improving coverage [Rudolf, paragraphs 0087, 0138].
As per claim 29, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 28, Montojo discloses enabling coexistence, in a given frequency band, of half-duplex (HD) and full-duplex (FD) terminals [fig. 9B, paragraphs 0007, 0030, 0064, 0068]. Montojo does not explicitly disclose wherein the full-duplex mode comprises a subband full duplex mode.
However, Rudolf teaches wherein the full-duplex mode comprises a subband full duplex mode [paragraphs 0142, 0143, 0153, 0158, 0163, 0210, wherein the full-duplex mode comprises a subband full duplex mode (Full-duplex operation using an UL subband or a DL subband may be referred to as Subband-Full-Duplex (SBFD))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Montojo by including a subband full duplex mode as taught by Rudolf because it would provide the Montojo's apparatus with the enhanced capability of improving coverage [Rudolf, paragraphs 0087, 0138].
As per claim 30, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 28, wherein, to communicate with the UE, the one or more processors are configured to:
transmit a communication to the UE over the physical channel; or receive a communication from the UE over the physical channel [paragraphs 0046, 0070, 0072, 0073, transmit a communication to the UE over the physical channel; or receive a communication from the UE over the physical channel (transmit/receive control information/data on a physical channel; physical channels that may be relevant for reception)].
As per claim 31, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 1, Montojo does not explicitly disclose wherein, to communicate with the network, the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit a first actual repetition in the symbols associated with the non-full- duplex mode and a second actual repetition in the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode.
However, Rudolf teaches transmit a first actual repetition in the symbols associated with the non-full- duplex mode and a second actual repetition in the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode [paragraphs 0143, 0158, 0159, 0161, 0163, 0164, 0180, 0194, 0244, transmit a first actual repetition in the symbols associated with the non-full- duplex mode and a second actual repetition in the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode (scheduling the transmissions using the SBFD subband in the full-duplex slots; transmissions in the SBFD UL subband of full-duplex slots #2 and #3 and in the normal UL slot #5)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Montojo by including a subband full duplex mode as taught by Rudolf because it would provide the Montojo's apparatus with the enhanced capability of improving coverage [Rudolf, paragraphs 0087, 0138].
As per claim 32, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 1, Montojo does not explicitly disclose wherein, to communicate with the network, the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit a communication using a nominal repetition, wherein the nominal repetition is segmented into actual repetitions around a boundary between the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode and the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode.
However, Rudolf teaches transmit a communication using a nominal repetition [paragraphs 0107, 0116, 0248, transmit a communication using a nominal repetition (transmission for each of the K nominal repetitions)], wherein the nominal repetition is segmented into actual repetitions [paragraphs 0107, 0108, wherein the nominal repetition is segmented into actual repetitions (the nominal repetition consists of one or more actual repetitions)] around a boundary between the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode and the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode [fig. 8, paragraphs 0086, 0121, 0142, 0153, 0159, 0161, 0163, 0164, 0181, 0191, around a boundary between the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode and the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode (scheduling the transmissions using the SBFD subband in the full-duplex slots; scheduled PUSCH repetition only using the full-duplex slots)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Montojo by including transmission of a communication using a nominal repetition as taught by Rudolf because it would provide the Montojo's apparatus with the enhanced capability of improving coverage [Rudolf, paragraphs 0087, 0138].
As per claim 33, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 32,
the physical channel is a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), the communication is a PUSCH transmission [paragraphs 0072, 0073, 0077, 0080, 0081, the physical channel is a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), the communication is a PUSCH transmission (a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH); a PUSCH transmission)].
Montojo does not explicitly disclose wherein: the nominal repetition is a nominal repetition for PUSCH repetition type B.
However, Rudolf teaches wherein: the nominal repetition is a nominal repetition for PUSCH repetition type B [paragraphs 0086, 0087, 0089, 0091, 0103, 0107, wherein: the nominal repetition is a nominal repetition for PUSCH repetition type B (repetition of a PUSCH; PUSCH repetition Types A and B)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Montojo by including transmission of a communication using a nominal repetition as taught by Rudolf because it would provide the Montojo's apparatus with the enhanced capability of improving coverage [Rudolf, paragraphs 0087, 0138].
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montojo, in view of Rudolf, and in further view of Abotabl et al., (hereinafter Abotabl), U.S. Publication No. 2021/0400637.
As per claim 27, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 21, Montojo does not explicitly disclose wherein, to communicate with the network, the one or more processors are configured to: receive from the network using rate-matching around an uplink subband in the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode.
However, Abotabl teaches receive from the network using rate-matching around an uplink subband in the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode [paragraphs 0032, 0034, 0035, 0058, receive from the network using rate-matching around an uplink subband in the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode (channel communication using rate matching)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Montojo by including receiving from the network using rate-matching around an uplink subband as taught by Abotabl because it would provide the Montojo's apparatus with the enhanced capability of improving use of bandwidth for scheduled entities [Abotabl, paragraphs 0034, 0110].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lu et al., U.S. Publication No. 2025/0227708 discloses resources of a plurality of nominal PUSCH repetitions in the PUSCH repetition type B.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469