DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-30 are presented for examination.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 01/17/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-10, 12, 14-19, 21, 23-26, 28, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Montojo et al., (hereinafter Montojo), U.S. Publication No. 2013/0021954.
As per claim 1, Montojo discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) [fig. 2, paragraphs 0020, 0034, 0051, an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (a base station in communication with a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communications network)], comprising:
a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory [fig. 2, paragraphs 0041, 0042, a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (controllers/processors 240 and 280 may direct the operation at base station 110 and UE 120; memories 242 and 282 may store data and program codes for base station 110 and UE 120)], configured to:
receive, from a network [paragraphs 0040, 0054, 0057, 0066, receive, from a network (receive the downlink signals from base station 110)], a time domain resource allocation associated with a physical channel that is mapped only to symbols associated with a full-duplex mode or only to symbols associated with a non-full-duplex mode in a slot [fig. 9A, 9B, 10, paragraphs 0009, 0040, 0046, 0056, 0062, 0063, 0072, 0078, 0081, 0082, a time domain resource allocation associated with a physical channel that is mapped only to symbols associated with a full-duplex mode or only to symbols associated with a non-full-duplex mode in a slot (DL/UL allocation; the time-domain waveform for HD operation support; enabling coexistence of half-duplex (HD) operations and full-duplex (FD) operations in a same carrier; eNB may also transmit a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) in symbol periods 0 to 3 in slot 1 of certain radio frames)]; and
communicate with the network using the physical channel [fig. 5, paragraphs 0015, 0070, 0072, 0076, communicate with the network using the physical channel (the UE may transmit a physical channel)].
As per claim 3, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein, to communicate with the network, the one or more processors are configured to:
receive a communication from the network over the physical channel [paragraphs 0046, 0070, 0072, 0073, receive a communication from the network over the physical channel (transmit/receive control information/data on a physical channel; physical channels that may be relevant for reception)].
As per claim 4, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein, to communicate with the network, the one or more processors are configured to:
transmit a communication to the network over the physical channel [paragraphs 0046, 0070, 0072, 0073, transmit a communication to the network over the physical channel (transmit/receive control information/data on a physical channel; physical channels that may be relevant for reception)].
As per claim 5, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein, to communicate with the network, the one or more processors are configured to:
drop a communication scheduled across a combination of at least one of the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and at least one of the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode [paragraphs 0053, 0054, 0061, 0065, 0067, 0084, 0087, drop a communication scheduled across a combination of at least one of the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and at least one of the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode (the UE may only transmit or receive at a given point in time; the UEs that a network does not support HD operation in a given band; frequency band is not used in HD mode but in FD mode)].
As per claim 6, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive an additional time domain allocation associated with an additional physical channel that is mapped to a combination of symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode [fig. 9A, 9B, 10, paragraphs 0009, 0040, 0043, 0044, 0046, 0056, 0062, 0063, 0072, 0078, 0081, 0082, receive an additional time domain allocation associated with an additional physical channel that is mapped to a combination of symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode (DL/UL allocation; the time-domain waveform for HD operation support; enabling coexistence of half-duplex (HD) operations and full-duplex (FD) operations in a same carrier; eNB may also transmit a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) in symbol periods 0 to 3 in slot 1 of certain radio frames; a data allocation size of received data transmitted from a base station in bundles of contiguous resource blocks (RBs))]; and
discard the additional time domain allocation [paragraphs 0043, 0044, 0053, 0054, 0061, 0065, 0067, 0084, 0087, discard the additional time domain allocation (the UE may only transmit or receive at a given point in time; the UEs that a network does not support HD operation in a given band; frequency band is not used in HD mode but in FD mode)].
As per claim 7, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 1,
wherein a time period, between the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode, is a guard period [paragraphs 0054, 0056, 0072, 0086, wherein a time period, between the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode, is a guard period (guard time necessary to switch from reception to transmission)].
As per claim 8, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the time period is the guard period based at least in part on:
the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode preceding symbols associated with non-full-duplex uplink; the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode following symbols associated with non-full-duplex downlink; or the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode preceding or following dynamic symbols [paragraphs 0053, 0054, 0056, the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode preceding symbols associated with non-full-duplex uplink (guard period may be created by the UE by not receiving the last part of a downlink subframe immediately preceding an uplink subframe from the same UE; at the beginning of every subframe (assuming a zero transition time from transmit to receive or vice versa))].
As per claim 9, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
drop a communication scheduled during the guard period [paragraphs 0053, 0054, 0056, drop a communication scheduled during the guard period (guard period may be created by the UE by not receiving the last part of a downlink subframe immediately preceding an uplink subframe from the same UE; at the beginning of every subframe (assuming a zero transition time from transmit to receive or vice versa))].
As per claim 10, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 1,
wherein a time period, between the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode, is null [paragraphs 0054, 0056, 0072, 0084, 0086, wherein a time period, between the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode, is null (guard time necessary to switch from reception to transmission; at the beginning of every subframe (assuming a zero transition time from transmit to receive or vice versa); DL subframe may be partially erased in the UE)].
As per claim 12, Montojo discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node [fig. 2, paragraphs 0020, 0034, 0051, an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node (a base station in communication with a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communications network)], comprising:
a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory [fig. 2, paragraphs 0041, 0042, a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (controllers/processors 240 and 280 may direct the operation at base station 110 and UE 120; memories 242 and 282 may store data and program codes for base station 110 and UE 120)], configured to:
transmit a time domain resource allocation associated with a physical channel that is mapped only to symbols associated with a full-duplex mode or only to symbols associated with a non-full-duplex mode in a slot [fig. 9A, 9B, 10, paragraphs 0009, 0040, 0046, 0056, 0062, 0063, 0072, 0078, 0081, 0082, transmit a time domain resource allocation associated with a physical channel that is mapped only to symbols associated with a full-duplex mode or only to symbols associated with a non-full-duplex mode in a slot (DL/UL allocation; the time-domain waveform for HD operation support; enabling coexistence of half-duplex (HD) operations and full-duplex (FD) operations in a same carrier; eNB may also transmit a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) in symbol periods 0 to 3 in slot 1 of certain radio frames)]; and
communicate with a user equipment (UE) using the physical channel [fig. 5, paragraphs 0015, 0070, 0072, 0076, communicate with a user equipment (UE) using the physical channel (the UE may transmit a physical channel)].
As per claim 14, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein, to communicate with the UE, the one or more processors are configured to:
transmit a communication to the UE over the physical channel [paragraphs 0046, 0070, 0072, 0073, transmit a communication to the UE over the physical channel (transmit/receive control information/data on a physical channel; physical channels that may be relevant for reception)].
As per claim 15, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein, to communicate with the UE, the one or more processors are configured to:
receive a communication from the UE over the physical channel [paragraphs 0046, 0070, 0072, 0073, receive a communication from the UE over the physical channel (transmit/receive control information/data on a physical channel; physical channels that may be relevant for reception)].
As per claim 16, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 12,
wherein a time period, between the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode, is a guard period [paragraphs 0054, 0056, 0072, 0086, wherein a time period, between the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode, is a guard period (guard time necessary to switch from reception to transmission)].
As per claim 17, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the time period is the guard period based at least in part on:
the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode preceding symbols associated with non-full-duplex uplink; the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode following symbols associated with non-full-duplex downlink; or the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode preceding or following dynamic symbols [paragraphs 0053, 0054, 0056, the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode preceding symbols associated with non-full-duplex uplink (guard period may be created by the UE by not receiving the last part of a downlink subframe immediately preceding an uplink subframe from the same UE; at the beginning of every subframe (assuming a zero transition time from transmit to receive or vice versa))].
As per claim 18, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
refrain from communicating with the UE during the guard period [paragraphs 0053, 0054, 0056, refrain from communicating with the UE during the guard period (guard period may be created by the UE by not receiving the last part of a downlink subframe immediately preceding an uplink subframe from the same UE; at the beginning of every subframe (assuming a zero transition time from transmit to receive or vice versa))].
As per claim 19, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 12,
wherein a time period, between the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode, is null [paragraphs 0054, 0056, 0072, 0084, 0086, wherein a time period, between the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode, is null (guard time necessary to switch from reception to transmission; at the beginning of every subframe (assuming a zero transition time from transmit to receive or vice versa); DL subframe may be partially erased in the UE)].
As per claim 21, Montojo discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) [fig. 2, paragraphs 0020, 0034, 0051, an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (a base station in communication with a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communications network)], comprising:
a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory [fig. 2, paragraphs 0041, 0042, a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (controllers/processors 240 and 280 may direct the operation at base station 110 and UE 120; memories 242 and 282 may store data and program codes for base station 110 and UE 120)], configured to:
receive, from a network [paragraphs 0040, 0054, 0057, 0066, receive, from a network (receive the downlink signals from base station 110)], a time domain resource allocation associated with a physical channel that is mapped to a combination of symbols associated with a full-duplex mode and symbols associated with a non-full-duplex mode in a slot [fig. 9A, 9B, 10, paragraphs 0009, 0040, 0046, 0056, 0062, 0063, 0072, 0078, 0081, 0082, a time domain resource allocation associated with a physical channel that is mapped to a combination of symbols associated with a full-duplex mode and symbols associated with a non-full-duplex mode in a slot (DL/UL allocation; the time-domain waveform for HD operation support; enabling coexistence of half-duplex (HD) operations and full-duplex (FD) operations in a same carrier; eNB may also transmit a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) in symbol periods 0 to 3 in slot 1 of certain radio frames)]; and
communicate with the network using the physical channel [fig. 5, paragraphs 0015, 0070, 0072, 0076, communicate with the network using the physical channel (the UE may transmit a physical channel)].
As per claim 23, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein, to communicate with the network, the one or more processors are configured to:
receive a communication from the network over the physical channel [paragraphs 0046, 0070, 0072, 0073, receive a communication from the network over the physical channel (transmit/receive control information/data on a physical channel; physical channels that may be relevant for reception)].
As per claim 24, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein, to communicate with the network, the one or more processors are configured to:
transmit a communication to the network over the physical channel [paragraphs 0046, 0070, 0072, 0073, transmit a communication to the network over the physical channel (transmit/receive control information/data on a physical channel; physical channels that may be relevant for reception)].
As per claim 25, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 21,
wherein a time period, between the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode, is null [paragraphs 0054, 0056, 0072, 0084, 0086, wherein a time period, between the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode, is null (guard time necessary to switch from reception to transmission; at the beginning of every subframe (assuming a zero transition time from transmit to receive or vice versa); DL subframe may be partially erased in the UE)].
As per claim 26, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 21,
wherein the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode are associated with a same frequency resource allocation, same spatial relation information, or a same transmission configuration indicator, as the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode [Abstract, paragraphs 0030, 0055, 0058, wherein the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode are associated with a same frequency resource allocation (a particular frequency band which may not allow a mix of full-duplex (FD) and HD terminals in the same frequency band)].
As per claim 28, Montojo discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node [fig. 2, paragraphs 0020, 0034, 0051, an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node (a base station in communication with a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communications network)], comprising:
a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory [fig. 2, paragraphs 0041, 0042, a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (controllers/processors 240 and 280 may direct the operation at base station 110 and UE 120; memories 242 and 282 may store data and program codes for base station 110 and UE 120)], configured to:
transmit a time domain resource allocation associated with a physical channel that is mapped to a combination of symbols associated with a full-duplex mode and symbols associated with a non-full-duplex mode in a slot [fig. 9A, 9B, 10, paragraphs 0009, 0040, 0046, 0056, 0062, 0063, 0072, 0078, 0081, 0082, transmit a time domain resource allocation associated with a physical channel that is mapped to a combination of symbols associated with a full-duplex mode and symbols associated with a non-full-duplex mode in a slot (DL/UL allocation; the time-domain waveform for HD operation support; enabling coexistence of half-duplex (HD) operations and full-duplex (FD) operations in a same carrier; eNB may also transmit a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) in symbol periods 0 to 3 in slot 1 of certain radio frames)]; and
communicate with a user equipment (UE) using the physical channel [fig. 5, paragraphs 0015, 0070, 0072, 0076, communicate with a user equipment (UE) using the physical channel (the UE may transmit a physical channel)].
As per claim 30, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 28, wherein, to communicate with the UE, the one or more processors are configured to:
transmit a communication to the UE over the physical channel; or receive a communication from the UE over the physical channel [paragraphs 0046, 0070, 0072, 0073, transmit a communication to the UE over the physical channel; or receive a communication from the UE over the physical channel (transmit/receive control information/data on a physical channel; physical channels that may be relevant for reception)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 11, 13, 20, 22, 27, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montojo, in view of Abotabl et al., (hereinafter Abotabl), U.S. Publication No. 2021/0400637.
As per claim 2, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 1, Montojo discloses enabling coexistence, in a given frequency band, of half-duplex (HD) and full-duplex (FD) terminals [fig. 9B, paragraphs 0007, 0030, 0064, 0068]. Montojo does not explicitly disclose wherein the full-duplex mode comprises a subband full duplex mode.
However, Abotabl teaches wherein the full-duplex mode comprises a subband full duplex mode [fig. 5D, paragraphs 0032, 0033, 0066, 0091, 0109, wherein the full-duplex mode comprises a subband full duplex mode (full-duplex communication may be referred to herein as sub-band full-duplex (SBFD))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Montojo by including wherein the full-duplex mode comprises a subband full duplex mode as taught by Abotabl because it would provide the Montojo's apparatus with the enhanced capability of improving use of bandwidth for scheduled entities [Abotabl, paragraphs 0034, 0110].
As per claim 11, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 1,
wherein a first actual time domain window, associated with signal bundling, includes the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and a second actual time domain window includes the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode [paragraphs 0043, 0044, 0078, wherein a first actual time domain window, associated with signal bundling, includes the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and a second actual time domain window includes the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode (the base station 110 may be configured to determine a bundling size based at least in part on a data allocation size and precode data in bundled contiguous resource blocks of the determined bundling size)].
However, Abotabl teaches wherein a first actual time domain window, associated with demodulation reference signal bundling, includes the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and a second actual time domain window includes the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode [fig. 7B, paragraphs 0077, 0079, 0080, wherein a first actual time domain window, associated with demodulation reference signal bundling, includes the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and a second actual time domain window includes the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode (base station may further allocate one or more REs 306 to carry other DL signals, such as a demodulation reference signal (DMRS); DL data portions 726 and 736 may further include DL reference signals (e.g., DMRS) for use in demodulating and decoding the DL data)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Montojo by including wherein a first actual time domain window, associated with demodulation reference signal bundling as taught by Abotabl because it would provide the Montojo's apparatus with the enhanced capability of improving use of bandwidth for scheduled entities [Abotabl, paragraphs 0034, 0110].
As per claim 13, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 12, Montojo discloses enabling coexistence, in a given frequency band, of half-duplex (HD) and full-duplex (FD) terminals [fig. 9B, paragraphs 0007, 0030, 0064, 0068]. Montojo does not explicitly disclose wherein the full-duplex mode comprises a subband full duplex mode.
However, Abotabl teaches wherein the full-duplex mode comprises a subband full duplex mode [fig. 5D, paragraphs 0032, 0033, 0066, 0091, 0109, wherein the full-duplex mode comprises a subband full duplex mode (full-duplex communication may be referred to herein as sub-band full-duplex (SBFD))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Montojo by including wherein the full-duplex mode comprises a subband full duplex mode as taught by Abotabl because it would provide the Montojo's apparatus with the enhanced capability of improving use of bandwidth for scheduled entities [Abotabl, paragraphs 0034, 0110].
As per claim 20, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 12,
wherein a first actual time domain window, associated with signal bundling, includes the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and a second actual time domain window includes the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode [paragraphs 0043, 0044, 0078, wherein a first actual time domain window, associated with signal bundling, includes the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and a second actual time domain window includes the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode (the base station 110 may be configured to determine a bundling size based at least in part on a data allocation size and precode data in bundled contiguous resource blocks of the determined bundling size)].
However, Abotabl teaches wherein a first actual time domain window, associated with demodulation reference signal bundling, includes the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and a second actual time domain window includes the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode [fig. 7B, paragraphs 0077, 0079, 0080, wherein a first actual time domain window, associated with demodulation reference signal bundling, includes the symbols associated with the full-duplex mode and a second actual time domain window includes the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode (base station may further allocate one or more REs 306 to carry other DL signals, such as a demodulation reference signal (DMRS); DL data portions 726 and 736 may further include DL reference signals (e.g., DMRS) for use in demodulating and decoding the DL data)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Montojo by including wherein a first actual time domain window, associated with demodulation reference signal bundling as taught by Abotabl because it would provide the Montojo's apparatus with the enhanced capability of improving use of bandwidth for scheduled entities [Abotabl, paragraphs 0034, 0110].
As per claim 22, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 21, Montojo discloses enabling coexistence, in a given frequency band, of half-duplex (HD) and full-duplex (FD) terminals [fig. 9B, paragraphs 0007, 0030, 0064, 0068]. Montojo does not explicitly disclose wherein the full-duplex mode comprises a subband full duplex mode.
However, Abotabl teaches wherein the full-duplex mode comprises a subband full duplex mode [fig. 5D, paragraphs 0032, 0033, 0066, 0091, 0109, wherein the full-duplex mode comprises a subband full duplex mode (full-duplex communication may be referred to herein as sub-band full-duplex (SBFD))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Montojo by including wherein the full-duplex mode comprises a subband full duplex mode as taught by Abotabl because it would provide the Montojo's apparatus with the enhanced capability of improving use of bandwidth for scheduled entities [Abotabl, paragraphs 0034, 0110].
As per claim 27, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 21, Montojo does not explicitly disclose wherein, to communicate with the network, the one or more processors are configured to: receive from the network using rate-matching around an uplink subband in the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode.
However, Abotabl teaches receive from the network using rate-matching around an uplink subband in the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode [paragraphs 0032, 0034, 0035, 0058, receive from the network using rate-matching around an uplink subband in the symbols associated with the non-full-duplex mode (channel communication using rate matching)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Montojo by including receiving from the network using rate-matching around an uplink subband as taught by Abotabl because it would provide the Montojo's apparatus with the enhanced capability of improving use of bandwidth for scheduled entities [Abotabl, paragraphs 0034, 0110].
As per claim 29, Montojo discloses the apparatus of claim 28, Montojo discloses enabling coexistence, in a given frequency band, of half-duplex (HD) and full-duplex (FD) terminals [fig. 9B, paragraphs 0007, 0030, 0064, 0068]. Montojo does not explicitly disclose wherein the full-duplex mode comprises a subband full duplex mode.
However, Abotabl teaches wherein the full-duplex mode comprises a subband full duplex mode [fig. 5D, paragraphs 0032, 0033, 0066, 0091, 0109, wherein the full-duplex mode comprises a subband full duplex mode (full-duplex communication may be referred to herein as sub-band full-duplex (SBFD))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Montojo by including wherein the full-duplex mode comprises a subband full duplex mode as taught by Abotabl because it would provide the Montojo's apparatus with the enhanced capability of improving use of bandwidth for scheduled entities [Abotabl, paragraphs 0034, 0110].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kimura et al., U.S. Publication No. 2021/0058219 discloses a communication apparatus that flexibly switches execution/non-execution of FD.
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469