DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
3. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 10/08/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the China 202311294195.0 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1, 4, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davies et al. (US Pub. No. 2005/0102557 A1 hereinafter “Davies”) in view of Ma (US Pub. No. 2024/0045748 hereinafter “Ma”).
Referring to claim 1, Davies discloses a server system, comprising:
a central processing unit, having a system-control-interrupt pin operative to receive a system-control-interrupt alert signal (Davies – Fig. 1 & par. [0037] disclose a CPU 124 with a IRQ line or pin 134 that receives an interrupt request from an I/O controller 126A.),
wherein an alert status of the system-control-interrupt alert signal reflects an event occurred at any of a plurality of drive ports on a backplane (Davies – Fig. 1 & par. [0008] disclose each of the I/O controllers 126 generates an interrupt request (IRQ) 134 that is routed through the backplane 108 to its respective controlling CPU 124. The I/O controllers 126 receive I/O requests from the host computers on their respective I/O ports 128 and in response generate an interrupt request 134 to notify the CPU 124 of the I/O request. Additionally, each of the I/O controllers 126 may generate an interrupt request 134 to notify its respective CPU 124 that it has received a packet of data from a disk drive or transmitted a packet of data to a disk drive or host computer.), and the central processing unit calls a system-control-interrupt handler to handle the event in response to the alert status of the system-control-interrupt alert signal (Davies – Fig. 1 & par. [0039] disclose the device driver executing on the CPU 124 registers an interrupt handler routine with the operating system to handle interrupt requests 134 from the I/O controllers 126 it owns, i.e., from the I/O controllers 126 for which it will initially service I/O requests. In the embodiment of FIG. 3, the CPU 124 of DM-A 114A registers an interrupt handler to handle interrupts from the I/O controllers 126A of DG-A 116A and DG-B 116B, and the CPU 124 of DM-B 114B registers an interrupt handler to handle interrupts from the I/O controllers 126B of DG-A 116A and DG-B 116B.).
Davies fails to explicitly disclose wherein an alert status of the system-control-interrupt alert signal reflects a hot-swapping event occurred at any of a plurality of solid-state drive ports on a backplane, and the central processing unit calls a system-control-interrupt handler to handle the hot-swapping event in response to the alert status of the system-control-interrupt alert signal.
Ma discloses wherein an alert status of the system-control-interrupt alert signal reflects a hot-swapping event occurred at a solid-state drive port, and the central processing unit calls a system-control-interrupt handler to handle the hot-swapping event in response to the alert status of the system-control-interrupt alert signal (Ma – See Figs. 1, 4 & Par. [0050-0058, 0098]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Ma’s teachings with Davies’ teachings for the benefit of waiting timeout error information will not be output even if there are unfinished IO requests, server system crashes can be avoided, and server stability can be improved (Ma – Par. [0006]).
Referring to claim 4, Davies and Ma disclose the server system as claimed in claim 1, running a basic input and output system to reserve resources for the solid-state drive interface ports to support hot swapping of solid-state drives (Ma – Par. [0098] discloses the server system is powered on and runs a BIOS.).
Referring to claim 16, note the rejection of claim 1 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Referring to claim 19, note the rejection of claim 4 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
7. Claims 2, 3, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davies in view of Ma, and further in view of Depew et al. (US Pub. No. 2005/0138465 A1 hereinafter “Depew”).
Referring to claim 2, Davies and Ma disclose the server system as claimed in claim 1, however, fail to explicitly disclose wherein: in response to the alert status of the system-control-interrupt alert signal, the central processing unit running an operating system calls the system-control-interrupt handler according to an advanced configuration and power interface protocol, to identify a target solid-state drive port where the hot-swapping event has occurred, and to determine whether the hot-swapping event is a hot plugging-in event or a hot plugging-out event.
Depew discloses in response to the alert status of the system-control-interrupt alert signal, the central processing unit running an operating system calls the system-control-interrupt handler according to an advanced configuration and power interface protocol, to identify a target solid-state drive port where the hot-swapping event has occurred, and to determine whether the hot-swapping event is a hot plugging-in event or a hot plugging-out event (Depew – See Par. [0017-0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Depew’s teachings with Davies and Ma’s teachings for the benefit of allowing a storage subsystem, such as a memory subsystem, in a fault tolerant mode where not all installed storage is available to the operating system or application software to be converted to another fault tolerant mode in which the operating system and application software makes full use of the installed storage resources without any system resets or down time (Depew – Par. [00016]).
Referring to claim 3, Davies and Ma disclose the server system as claimed in claim 2, wherein: the system-control-interrupt handler returns a notification to the operating system according to the advanced configuration and power interface protocol; and in response to the notification, the operating system performs device removal or device registration on the target solid-state drive port (Depew – See Par. [0017-0036]).
Referring to claim 17, note the rejection of claim 2 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Referring to claim 18, note the rejection of claim 3 above. The Instant Claim recites substantially same limitations as the above-rejected and is therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 5-15 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The examiner finds that the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fails to teach and/or fairly suggest “the alert status is at a low level for a fixed duration; and the fixed duration depends on a sampling rate at which the central processing unit samples the system-control-interrupt alert signal received by the system-control-interrupt pin.”, in combination with other recited limitations in dependent claim 5.
The examiner finds that the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fails to teach and/or fairly suggest “wherein, in response to the hot-swapping event, the backplane controller changes the system-control-interrupt alert signal to the alert status.”, in combination with other recited limitations in dependent claim 6.
The examiner finds that the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fails to teach and/or fairly suggest “the operating system operates a solid-state drive driver to stop operating the target solid-state drive port, and operates a peripheral-component interconnect-express driver to perform device enumeration on the target solid-state drive port to implement the device removal.”, in combination with other recited limitations in dependent claim 13.
The examiner finds that the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fails to teach and/or fairly suggest “the operating system operates a peripheral-component interconnect-express driver to perform device enumeration on the target solid-state drive port to implement the device registration, and operates a solid-state drive driver to operate a solid-state drive connected to the target solid-state drive port by the hot-swapping event.”, in combination with other recited limitations in dependent claim 14.
The examiner finds that the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fails to teach and/or fairly suggest “the motherboard further provides a plurality of root ports, corresponding to the solid-state drive ports on the backplane, and each has a first register and a second register, wherein the first register indicates whether a hot-swapping event has occurred on the corresponding solid-state drive port, and the second register indicates whether the corresponding solid-state port is in use; and based on the first register and the second register of each root port, the system-control-interrupt handler identifies a target solid-state drive port where the hot-swapping event has occurred, and determines whether the hot-swapping event is a hot plugging-in event or a hot plugging-out event.”, in combination with other recited limitations in dependent claim 20.
Claims 7-15 would be allowable based on their dependencies of claim 6.
Conclusion
The examiner requests, in response to this office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application. When responding to this office action, applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37 C.F.R.I .Ill(c).
In amending in reply to a rejection of claims in an application or patent under reexamination, the applicant or patent owner must clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. The applicant or patent owner must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
/Dayton Lewis-Taylor/
Examiner, Art Unit 2181