The final rejection of 6/1/2026 is being vacated and a new final rejection is submitted herein.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Applicant’s amendment filed 7/31/2026 has been entered and made of record. Applicant has amended claim 1. Claims 14 and 21 have been canceled. No new claim has been added. Claims 9-13 and 15-20 were nonelected without traverse in a response filed 1/22/2026, therefore, are withdrawn from consideration. Currently, claims 1-8 are being addressed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 17, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 5/7/2026, with respect to dependent claim 21 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant included claim 21 that was not previously addressed in the prior office action. This mistake was addressed in a telephone interview on March 11, 2026. However, applicant has now amended claims to incorporate claim 21 into independent claim 1, and cancelled claim 21. Under these circumstances, Examiner has reconsidered the prior art references against the amended claims.
Applicant argues that the prior art Qiang fails to disclose "filtering out the converted design image from a plurality of converted design images based on the determination that the converted design image includes noise." Examiner disagrees. Qiang's invention specifically discloses a method based on a gray scale gradient characteristic of carbon fibre composite material surface shape three-dimensional evaluation method of the surface topography. The specific steps of a filtering method is said in step 4: designing a frequency domain filter H(u.v), performing frequency domain filtering of log image (Qiang pg. 3, paragraph 10). This frequency domain filtering modifies the frequency components of a signal or image to achieve noise reduction by applying a filter in the Fourier domain and then transforming back to the original domain. Thus, Qiang achieves "filtering out the converted design image from a plurality of converted design images based on the determination that the converted design image includes noise." Thus, the 35 U.S.C 102 rejection using Qiang as the prior art reference is maintained even for this amended claim.
Thus, for the reasons stated above, the prior arts of record is still effective in rejecting the claims in their entirety.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Qiang et. al. (Chinese Patent CN 108171742A).
Regarding claim 1, Qiang et. al. discloses a method comprising: converting a scanning electron microscope (SEM) image into a converted design image using a conversion model, wherein the SEM image corresponds to a design image (Qiang et. al. pg. 3, paragraph 13: SEM picture of carbon fibre composite material surface method, original image using electron microscope under 500 times of shooting.); converting the converted design image into a gray level co-occurrence matrix (GLCM) (Qiang et. al. Abstract); extracting statistical characteristics of the GLCM; determining the converted design image includes noise, based on the statistical characteristics; and filtering out the converted design image from a plurality of converted design images based on the determination that the converted design image includes noise (Qiang et. al. page 2, paragraph 3, Abstract, where the LoG operator is the Laplacian of Gaussian filter that is a popular edge detection technique in image processing that combines Gaussian smoothing with the Laplacian operator to identify edges while reducing noise; pg. 3, paragraph 10: The specific steps of a filtering method is said in step 4: designing a frequency domain filter H(u.v), performing frequency domain filtering of log image. This frequency domain filtering modifies the frequency components of a signal or image to achieve noise reduction by applying a filter in the Fourier domain and then transforming back to the original domain.).
Regarding claim 2, Qiang et. al. discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: quantizing the converted design image (Qiang et. al. page 6, Figure 1 the converted
design image is normalized as a grey matrix and gradient matrix).
Regarding claim 5, Qian et. al. discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the statistical characteristics include at least one of a contrast, a homogeneity, an entropy, an energy, a correlation, a dissimilarity, a standard deviation, a mean, and a variance (Qiang et. al.
page 4, the gray gradient co-occurrence matrix texture feature value parameters include a
specific formula of 15-dimension feature vector).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiang et. al. (Chinese Patent CN 108171742A) in view of Tian et. al. (Chinese Patent CN 115546062 A).
Regarding claim 3, Qiang et. al. discloses the method of claim 2. However,
Qiang et. al. fails to disclose wherein each pixel of the converted design image is converted into
a number corresponding to one of a red, green, and blue (RGB) value and luminosity.
Tian et. al. teaches wherein each pixel of the converted design image is converted into a
number corresponding to one of a red, green, and blue (RGB) value and luminosity (Tian et. al.
page 8, Figure 1 where each pixel in the image is divided into R, G, B three primary color
components). Quantifying the pixel values is an important step in the image conversion
process. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Qiang et. al. and Tian et. al. to
specify the tricolor pixel values to the gray scale value.
Regarding claim 4, Tian et. al. further discloses the method of claim 3,
wherein each pixel of the converted design image is converted into the number based on at
least any one of an average value, an intermediate value, a root-mean-square (RMS) value, a
minimal value, and a maximal value of one of the RGB value and the luminosity (Tian et. al.
page 8, Figure 1 where the average value of the grey value of each of the three primary color
components can be obtained).
Regarding claim 6, Qiang et. al. discloses the method of claim 1. However, Qiang et. al. fails to disclose wherein the determining whether the converted design image includes noise or not includes when the statistical characteristics are out of a preset reference range, determining the converted design image includes noise.
Tian et. al. teaches wherein the determining whether the converted design image
includes noise or not includes when the statistical characteristics are out of a preset reference
range, determining the converted design image includes noise (Tian et. al. page 15, where
image noise is viewed as a multi-dimensional random process, the method for describing the
noise is using the probability distribution function and the probability density distribution
function). Noise can seriously affect the quality of image analysis, and can be defined
theoretically as non-predictability and to know the random error. Thus, it would have been
obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to
combine the teachings of Qiang et. al. and Tian et. al. to include to source of noise with the
noise filtering method to have a cleaner result.
Regarding claim 7, Qiang et. al. discloses the method of claim 1. However, Qiang et. al. fails to disclose wherein when the converted design image is determined as including noise, the SEM image corresponding to the converted design image is determined as the noise.
Tian et. al. teaches wherein when the converted design image is determined as
including noise, the SEM image corresponding to the converted design image is determined as
the noise (Tian et. al. page 16, Figure 5 where global noise affects the whole grey value and
whole visual processing of the selected area). Understanding the source of the noise is
important to the claimed invention to build an appropriate noise filtering method. Thus, it
would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed
invention to combine the teachings of the Qiang et. al. and Tian et. al. so that the noise source
is clearly defined.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiang et. al. (Chinese Patent CN 108171742 A) in view of Wallingford et. al. (United States Patent Publication US 2022/0044391 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Qiang et. al. discloses the method of claim 1. However,
Qiang et. al. fails to disclose wherein the conversion model uses a generative adversarial
network (GAN) algorithm.
Wallingford et. al. teaches wherein the conversion model uses a generative adversarial
network (GAN) algorithm (Wallingford et. al. [0074]-[0075] where GANS have been generalized
to allow pixel-to-pixel mapping). GANs play a crucial role in image analysis by enabling the
creating of high-quality synthetic images and enhancing existing images, especially from
random noise. This is an important feature to the claimed invention. Thus, it would have been
obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Qiang et. al. and Wallingford et. al. to introduce GANs in the noise filtering method for SEM imaging.
Conclusion
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges the amendments made to the claims and has incorporated the changes herein. However, the prior art used to reject claims 1-8 in the previous non-final rejection remains effective in rejecting all of the newly amended claims as explained above. Pending claim 21 is now cancelled and subject matter is incorporated into claim 1. The subject matter of amended claim 1 is believed to be taught by the prior art of Qiang and is rejected under 35USC 102(a)(1) under Qiang.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA YIFANG LIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2668
August 4, 2026
/ANAND P BHATNAGAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2668
August 5, 2026