DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) has been considered.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains implied phrases, e.g. “Proposed is”. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites, “the brake fluid stored in the auxiliary brake unit”. Previously recited was “a storage unit connected to the primary brake unit and configured to store the brake fluid”. It was not previously established that any of the brake fluid is “stored” in the auxiliary brake unit, but rather only in the reservoir (storage unit). It is unclear if this limitation requires some structure, such as an additional storage chamber (21) or other structure).
Claim 2 is rejected due to dependency on a rejected base claim for failing to cure the deficiencies of the base claim. This issue is alleviated by claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheon et al. (U.S. 2020/0331442).
Regarding claim 1, Cheon discloses (fig. 1) An electronic hydraulic brake apparatus (see fig.) comprising: a primary brake unit (1) configured to provide a brake fluid to a wheel cylinder unit (3); a storage unit (118) connected to the primary brake unit (as shown) and configured to store the brake fluid (see pgh. 0035 at least); and an auxiliary brake unit (2) selectively connected to the primary brake unit (via fluid lines 61, 62 and associated valves), and configured to provide the brake fluid stored in the auxiliary brake unit to the wheel cylinder unit in a case where an operating error of the primary brake unit occurs (see abstract at least).
Regarding claim 3, Cheon discloses (fig. 1) the auxiliary brake unit comprises: an auxiliary block part (structure where the elements thereof are mounted, inherent);
an auxiliary storage part (70) disposed in the auxiliary block part, and configured to store the brake fluid (standard function of an accumulator);
an auxiliary circuit part (50/61/62/81/82) disposed on the auxiliary block part (fig. 1 as shown) and configured to adjust the brake fluid (standard function of valves and associated lines); and
an auxiliary controller (one of 200,300) configured to control the auxiliary circuit part to provide the brake fluid stored in the auxiliary brake unit to the wheel cylinder unit, when the operating error of the primary brake unit is detected (see pgh. 0036 at least).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheon et al. (U.S. 2020/0331442) in view of Hoenick (U.S. 4435021).
Regarding claim 2, Cheon discloses the auxiliary brake unit (2) is connected to a hydraulic line of the primary brake unit (at 132, 142 at least). Cheon does not appear to disclose the auxiliary brake unit being mounted on the wheel cylinder unit. Hoenick teaches (figs. 1-2) a vehicle braking system including an auxiliary braking unit (fig. 1) mounted on the wheel cylinder (see fig. 2, accumulator (3) and piston (23) mounted on the caliper, i.e. on/at the wheel cylinder).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have mounted the auxiliary brake unit of Cheon at the wheel cylinder as suggested by Hoenick to facilitate installation of the system and minimize space usage within the engine compartment of the vehicle (See col. 1 lines 36-42 at least).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheon et al. (U.S. 2020/0331442) in view of Ahn (U.S. 2021/0122346).
Regarding claim 4, Cheon does not appear to disclose the structure of the block part. In the same field of endeavor of hydraulic vehicle brake systems, Ahn teaches a hydraulic circuit (fig. 8) including an auxiliary braking device (6) having an auxiliary block part (10), the auxiliary block part comprises: a block body (main housing of 10, see fig. 3 and pgh. 0049); a primary connection port (e.g. 121) disposed in the block body and configured to guide connection to the primary brake unit; and a wheel connection port (e.g. 124) disposed in the block body and configured to guide connection to the wheel cylinder unit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the block structure of Ahn to house the auxiliary circuit of Cheon to provide a space and size efficient application for the fluid lines and valves interconnecting the primary hydraulic circuit and the various wheel cylinders (see pgh. 0022-0023 of Ahn).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-20 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if rewritten to overcome any 112(b) rejections, as appropriate.
Reasons for allowance, if applicable, will be the subject of a separate communication to the Applicant or patent owner, pursuant to 37 CFR § 1.104 and MPEP § 1302.14.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure. The documents listed on the PTO-892 disclose various brake control systems.
Conclusion
/DAVID MORRIS/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
/DAVID R MORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616