DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy of the Japanese parent Application No. JP2023-068461 (filed on 04/19/2023) was received with the present application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference characters which are not mentioned in the description: “6” (in figures 2 and 5), “251” (in figures 8-9), and “Yd” (in figure 9). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities that requires appropriate corrections:
In claim 6, line 1-2, the limitation “and further comprising” should read -- and the paper conveying device further comprising --.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hitz (U.S. PGPUB 2013/0126664 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Hitz teach (Figures 1-5) a paper conveying device (100 and 305) comprising: a support shaft (102) configured to pivotally support a roll of paper (301) having a center (axial through hole of 301) measured in a width direction; a guide (103) movable in the width direction of the roll (301) based on a size of the roll (301) and configured to position the center of the roll (axial through hole of 301) in a reference position; and a sensor (106a) coupled to the guide (103) and configured to detect that the roll (301) contains less than a threshold amount of paper based on a diameter of the roll (301) (paragraph 0026 disclose, the media sensors 106a/106b being adapted to detect the presence and/or absence of the media/medial roll 301 mounted in the media hanger/guide 100 and being in communication with control circuitry; therefore, it is evident that the media sensors 106a/106b can at least detect when the medial roll 301 is completely spent or when the diameter of the media roll 301 is at the smallest possible value, and when the medial roll 301 is new/full or when the when the diameter of the media roll 301 is at the largest possible value) (see also paragraphs 0024-0037).
In regards to claims 2-5, Hitz teach all interning claim limitations as shown above. Hitz further teach (Figures 1-5), the paper conveying device (100 and 305) additionally comprising a rack and pinion assembly (500); the guide (103) being coupled to the rack and pinion assembly (500) and configured to position the center of the roll (axial through hole of 301) in the reference position by contacting a first side of the roll (side surface of 301 that faces 103); the rack and pinion assembly (500) being positioned within the support shaft (102); the rack and pinion assembly (500) including a rack gear (514a with 515a) that is coupled (via 513a of 512a) to the guide (103), and a pinion gear (516a) engaging the rack gear (514a); and the support shaft (102) including a flat portion (109) that defines a slot (117a) extending in the width direction; wherein, the guide (103) is coupled to the rack gear (514a) through the slot (117a).
In regards to claims 6-10, Hitz teach all interning claim limitations as shown above. Hitz further teach (Figures 1-5), the guide (103) being a first guide (103); the paper conveying device (100 and 305) additionally comprising a second guide (104) configured to position the center of the roll (axial through hole of 301) in the reference position by contacting a second side of the roll (side surface of 301 that faces 104) that is opposite the first side of the roll (side surface of 301 that faces 103); the rack and pinion assembly (500) including a first rack gear (514a with 515a) that is coupled (via 513a of 512a) to the first guide (103), a second rack gear (514b with 515b) that is coupled (via 513b of 512b) to the second guide (104), and a pinion gear (516a and 516b) engaging both the first rack gear (514a) and the second rack gear (514b); the second guide (104) being rotatable (i.e. about the pivot point 410) relative to the support shaft (102) between an erected position (upright position of 104, as illustrated in figures 1-3) and a collapsed position (folded position of 104, as illustrated in figure 4); and a distance between a distal end of the second guide (104) and the support shaft (102) is greater when the second guide (104) is in the erected position (upright position of 104, as illustrated in figures 1-3) than when the second guide (104) is in the collapsed position (folded position of 104, as illustrated in figure 4); the second guide (104) being coupled to the rack and pinion assembly (500); in response to a movement of the first guide (103) in a first direction (linear direction towards 104), the rack and pinion assembly (500) is configured to move the second guide (104) in a second direction (linear direction towards 103) opposite to the first direction (linear direction towards 104); wherein, in response to the movement of the first guide (103) a distance in the first direction (linear direction towards 104), the rack and pinion assembly (500) is configured to move the second guide (104) the same distance in the second direction (linear direction towards 103).
In regards to claims 13-15, Hitz teach all interning claim limitations as shown above. Hitz further teach (Figures 1-5), the paper conveying device (100 and 305) additionally comprising a print head (paragraphs 0005, 0024, 0026, and 0029 disclose, the media hanger/guide 100 being installed in the print station 305 that is part of a printing system configured to print on the media form the media roll 301; therefore, it is evident that the printing system, which includes the media hanger/guide 100 being installed and the print station 305, would inherently have a print head) configured to print on the paper from the roll (301); wherein, the sensor (106a) is an optical sensor configured to emit infrared light toward the roll (301) and receive reflected light (paragraph 0026 disclose, the media sensors 106a/106b being optical sensors, mechanical sensors, or another suitable sensor as is known in the art. Furthermore, it is widely recognized in the art that common/known optical sensors are operatively configured to emit infrared light and to receive the reflection of said infrared light; therefore, the media sensors 106a/106b would inherently be capable of emitting infrared light toward the media roll 301 and receive the reflection of said infrared light).
In regards to claim 16, Hitz teach all interning claim limitations as shown above. Hitz further teach (Figures 1-5), the roll (301 having a small axial width) being a first roll having a first width measured in the width direction; the support shaft (102) being configured to pivotally support a second roll (301 having a large axial width) having a second width measured in the width direction, the second width (301 having a large axial width) being greater than the first width (301 having a small axial width); wherein, the guide (103) is configured to position a center of the second roll (axial through hole of 301 having a large axial width) in the reference position (Hitz disclose, the media hanger/guide 100 being designed to hold/support variety of media types and sizes; and the first support member 103 and the second support member 104 being axially moved towards each other or away from each other along the media hub 102, so as to widen or narrow the medial roll accommodating space defined between said first support member 103 and said second support member 104. Therefore, it is clear the media hanger/guide 100 can support medial rolls 301 of at least two different sizes by appropriately adjusting axial position of the first support member 103 and the second support member 104).
In regards to claim 17, Hitz teach (Figures 1-5) a paper conveying device (100 and 305) comprising: a support shaft (102) configured to pivotally support a roll of paper (301) having a center (axial through hole of 301) measured in a width direction; a first guide (103) movable in the width direction of the roll (301); a second guide (104) movable in the width direction of the roll (301); and a timing assembly (500) that is coupled (via 513a/513b of 512a/512b) to the first guide (103) and the second guide (104); wherein, the timing assembly (500) is configured to move the first guide (103) in a first direction (linear direction towards 104) in response to a movement of the second guide (104) in a second direction (linear direction towards 103) opposite to the first direction (linear direction towards 104) (see also paragraphs 0024-0037).
In regards to claims 18-19, Hitz teach all interning claim limitations as shown above. Hitz further teach (Figures 1-5), the timing assembly (500) being configured to move the first guide (103) a distance in the first direction (linear direction towards 104), in response to the movement of the second guide (104) the same distance in the second direction (linear direction towards 103); and the timing assembly (500) being positioned within the support shaft (102).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hitz.
In regards to claims 11-12, Hitz teach all interning claim limitations as shown above. Hitz further teach (Figures 1-5), the paper conveying device (100 and 305) additionally comprising a partition (side wall of 305 that supports 100) that separates the guide (103) from a circuit board (control circuitry described of the printing system in paragraph 0026) provided with a control circuit configured to control the paper conveying device (100 and 305); and the sensor (106a) being operatively coupled to the circuit board (control circuitry described of the printing system in paragraph 0026). Yet, Hitz does not explicitly disclose, the sensor (106a) connected to the circuit board (control circuitry described of the printing system in paragraph 0026) via a sensor harness having a first end portion coupled to the guide (103) and a second end portion coupled to the partition (side wall of 305 that supports 100).
However, it would have been an obvious design/engineering choice for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the Hitz’s paper conveying device with a sensor harness that is configured for reliably coupling the sensor to the circuit board in said paper conveying device. Sensors (specially known optical sensor) typically employed in the prior art paper conveying devices (or in most common prior art devices) are routinely coupled to the circuit boards/controller means via a wired connection/cables; in fact, operatively coupling a sensor to a circuit board of a controller means using a sensor harness (e.g. a commercially available wire or a cable) would have been an optional connecting arrangement selected from a finite number of identified and predictable solutions (i.e. other being wirelessly connecting the a sensor to a circuit board/controller), with reasonable expectation of success (see MPEP § 2143.01(E)). Furthermore, using a sensor harness for communicatively coupling the sensor to the circuit board would enable said sensor to consistently transmit data to said circuit board in a more reliable manner and without interruption (especially when compared to a wireless connection). In addition, one of ordinary skill in the art would have also conceived to attach the first end portion of the sensor harness to the guide in the paper conveying device (which is where the sensor is positioned), and the second end portion of the sensor harness to the partition in said paper conveying device. Securely coupling the sensor harness to the guide and the partition in such a manner, would allow the first and second end portions of said sensor harness to be adequacy supported (or remain fixed) during the movement of the guide along the shaft portion or when an external pulling force is exerted on said sensor harness; thereby reducing the chance of the sensor harness becoming unintentionally disconnected from the sensor and the circuit board, while ensuring constant communication between said sensor and said circuit board/controller (especially since the data linkage between the sensor and the circuit board is essential for the proper functionality of the paper conveying device).
In regards to claim 20, Hitz teach (Figures 1-5) a paper conveying device (100 and 305) comprising: a partition (side wall of 305 that supports 100); a support shaft (102) configured to pivotally support a roll of paper (301) and extending away from the partition (side wall of 305 that supports 100) along a width direction of the roll (301); a first guide (103) movable along the support shaft (102) in a first direction (linear direction towards 104); a second guide (104) movable along the support shaft (102) in a second direction (linear direction towards 103) opposite to the first direction (linear direction towards 104); a first rack gear (514a with 515a) that is coupled (via 513a of 512a) to the first guide (103); a second rack gear (514b with 515b) that is coupled (via 513b of 512b) to the second guide (104); a pinion gear (516a and 516b) positioned within the support shaft (102) so as to engage the first rack gear (514a) and the second rack gear (514b); and a sensor (106a) coupled to the first guide (103) and configured to detect a diameter of the roll (103); wherein, the second guide (102) being rotatable (i.e. about 410) between an erected position (upright position of 104, as illustrated in figures 1-3) and a collapsed position (folded position of 104, as illustrated in figure 4). Yet, Hitz fails to reveal, the paper conveying device (100 and 305) including a cable that is fixed to both the first guide (103) and the partition (side wall of 305 that supports 100).
Nevertheless, it would have been an obvious design/engineering choice for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the Hitz’s paper conveying device with a cable that is configured for reliably coupling the sensor to the circuit board/controller in said paper conveying device. Sensors (specially known optical sensor) typically employed in the prior art paper conveying devices (or in most common prior art devices) are routinely coupled to the circuit boards/controller means via a wired connection/cables; in fact, operatively coupling a sensor to a circuit board/controller of a controller means using a cable (e.g. a commercially available wire or a fiber optic cable) would have been an optional connecting arrangement selected from a finite number of identified and predictable solutions (i.e. other being wirelessly connecting the a sensor to a circuit board/controller), with reasonable expectation of success (see MPEP § 2143.01(E)). Furthermore, using a cable for communicatively coupling the sensor to the circuit board/controller would enable said sensor to consistently transmit data to said circuit board in a more reliable manner and without interruption (especially when compared to a wireless connection). In addition, one of ordinary skill in the art would have also conceived to attach the first end portion of the cable to the first guide in the paper conveying device (which is where the sensor is positioned), and the second end portion of the cable to the partition in said paper conveying device. Securely fixing the cable to the first guide and the partition in such a manner, would allow the first and second end portions of said cable to be adequacy supported (or remain attached) during the movement of the first guide along the shaft portion or when an external pulling force is exerted on said cable; thereby reducing the chance of the cable becoming unintentionally disconnected from the sensor and the circuit board/controller, while ensuring constant communication between said sensor and said circuit board/controller (especially since the data linkage between the sensor and the circuit board/controller is essential for the proper functionality of the paper conveying device).
Conclusion
disclosure: See the attached PTO-892 for complete list of pertinent prior art The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's references made of record by the examiner.
/R.J.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ANNA M MOMPER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654