DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
In re to claim 7, method claim 7 are rejected based on the following case law, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device inherently performs the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed Cir. 1986). Therefore the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated Gurlahosur US 10511226 .
Regarding Claims 1 and 7, Gurlahosur teaches (Figures 1-7) a switch converter (Fig. 1), comprising: a master switching stage (102) comprising a master primary switch (502), a master secondary switch (504), a master power inductor (118a), a master controller (112a-114a and 154) wherein the master switching stage is operable to receive a Direct Current (DC) input voltage (Vin) and wherein the master controller is configured to: open and close the master primary switch and the master secondary switch to generate a master ripple current (on and off times of the switches produce IL) from the DC input voltage through the master power inductor (118a); a slave switching stage (104) comprising a slave primary switch (506), a slave secondary switch (508), a slave power inductor (118b), a slave controller (112b-114b) wherein the slave switching stage is operable to receive the DC input voltage (Vin) and wherein the slave controller is configured to: open and close the slave primary switch and the slave secondary switch (controlling 506-508) to generate a slave ripple current (IL of 104) from the DC input voltage through the slave power inductor (118b); and a multiphase controller (110 and 124) configured to : generate a ramp voltage (VRAMP) based on the opening and closing of the master primary switch and the master secondary switch (with PWM at 110a) and operate with the slave switch controller (112b and 114b) such that a phase between the master ripple current (144a) and the slave ripple current (144b) is set in response to a reference voltage level (Vshare) being set relative to the ramp voltage (with Isteer which changes the value of the Vramp see fig. 2). (For Example: Col. 5 lines 50-67, Col. 8 lines 38-67 and Col. 9)
Regarding Claim 2 , Gurlahosur teaches (Figures 1-7) wherein: the master power inductor (118a) and the slave power inductor (118b) are coupled to inject the master ripple current and the slave ripple current (Isense) into an output node (at the output), wherein a DC output voltage (Vout) is generated at the output node . (For Example: Col. 4 lines 21-36)
Regarding Claim 3, Gurlahosur teaches (Figures 1-7)wherein a power capacitor (120) is coupled in shunt to the output node.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gurlahosur US 10511226 in view of Xu US 2019/0190279.
Regarding Claim 4, Gurlahosur teaches (Figures 1-7) a switch converter (at fig. 10), comprising: a master switching stage (1st phase) comprising a master primary switch (502), a master secondary switch (504), and a master power inductor (118a), wherein the master switching stage is operable to receive a Direct Current (DC) input voltage (Vin) and wherein a master controller (112a-114a and 154) is configured to: open and close the master primary switch and the master secondary switch (502-504) to generate a master ripple current (IL) from the DC input voltage through the master power inductor (118a); a slave switching stages (104), for each slave switching stage of the slave switching stages (For Example: Col. 4 lines 21-36), the slave switching stage is configured to: generate a different slave ripple current (IL for each phase) for the slave switching stage (104) from the DC input voltage (Vin). (For Example: Col. 5 lines 50-67, Col. 8 lines 38-67 and Col. 9)
Gurlahosur does not teach a multiphase controller configured to: generate a ramp voltage based on the opening and closing of the master primary switch and the master secondary switch; and operate with each of the slave switching stages such that a different phase between the master ripple current and the slave ripple current is set for each of the slave switching stages, wherein the phase of the slave switching stage of each of the slave switching stages is in response to a different reference voltage level for each of the slave switching stages being set relative to the ramp voltage.
Xu teaches (Figures 10-11) a multiphase controller (507) configured to: generate a ramp voltage (VR) based on the opening and closing of the master primary switch and the master secondary switch (with PWM1); and operate with each of the slave switching stages (bottom 3 phases) such that a different phase between the master ripple current and the slave ripple current is set for each of slave switching stages (see fig. 11 with PWM2-4), wherein the phase of the slave switching stage of each of the slave switching stages is in response to a different reference voltage level (with 581-583) for each of the slave switching stages being set relative to the ramp voltage(VR) . (For Example: Par. 62-69)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Gurlahosur to a multiphase controller configured to: generate a ramp voltage based on the opening and closing of the master primary switch and the master secondary switch; and operate with each of the slave switching stages such that a different phase between the master ripple current and the slave ripple current is set for each of the slave switching stages, wherein the phase of the slave switching stage of each of the slave switching stages is in response to a different reference voltage level for each of the slave switching stages being set relative to the ramp voltage, as taught by Xu to provide a stable output signal to the load.
Regarding Claim 5, Gurlahosur teaches (Figures 1-7) wherein: the master power inductor (118a) and the slave power inductor (118b) are coupled to inject the master ripple current and the slave ripple current (Isense) into an output node (at the output), wherein a DC output voltage (Vout) is generated at the output node . (For Example: Col. 4 lines 21-36)
Regarding Claim 6, Gurlahosur teaches (Figures 1-7)wherein a power capacitor (120) is coupled in shunt to the output node.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GUSTAVO A ROSARIO-BENITEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838