DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant is reminded of the duty to disclose, as recited in MPEP §609: “In nonprovisional applications, applicants and other individuals substantively involved with the preparation and/or prosecution of the application have a duty to submit to the Office information which is material to patentability as defined in 37 CFR 1.56."
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 recites “a annular filtering mesh”, which should recite “an annular filtering mesh”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the bottom". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the upper part". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "upper part of its sidewall". The antecedent of the term “its” is unclear.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the middle part". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "middle part of its sidewall". The antecedent of the term “its” is unclear.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the center". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "and its bottom". The antecedent of the term “its” is unclear.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the water outlet". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the middle of the water storage body". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the water surface". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the top of the water storage body". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "air from its bottom". The antecedent of the term “its” is unclear.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "deliver it". The antecedent of the term “it” is unclear.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the outside". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-10 depend upon claim 1.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the inner side". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the outer wall". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the outer side”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the inner wall". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the structures". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "it also comprises". The antecedent of the term “it” is unclear.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the inner wall". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the noise". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhiye et al. CN209952474 published 17 Jan. 2020 as translated by EPO (hereafter Zhiye) and further in view of Jamison US 3,307,334 (hereafter Jamison).
Regarding claim 1, Zhiye teaches a liquid-washing air purifying and disinfecting device (Fig 1) comprises:
a water storage body (101), the water storage body is filled with water (105) at the bottom, a first air outlet (120) is arranged on the upper part, and an air inlet (110) is arranged on the middle part (above the liquid level and below the demister) of its sidewall;
a circulating water (103) device comprises a water pump (bottom portion pump 103) and an outlet pipe (pipe portion of 103), the water pump is arranged at the center of the bottom of the water storage body, the outlet pipe is vertically arranged, and its bottom is connected to the water pump, the water outlet of the outlet pipe extends upward into the middle of the water storage body (as shown in Fig 1);
a filtering device (106) comprises multiple annular filter layers, the annular filter layers are fixed on the outlet pipe, and the annular filter layers are arranged in a horizontal direction, a plurality of the annular filter layers are arranged at intervals in a vertical direction, the annular filter layers are located above the water surface, the air inlet is arranged below the annular filter layers and above the water surface (as shown in Fig 1);
an air supply device (107).
Zhiye does not teach:
a first air outlet is arranged on the upper part of its sidewall;
an air supply device is arranged at the top of the water storage body and above the filtering device, the air supply device is used to extract air from its bottom and deliver it to the outside of the water storage body through the first air outlet.
Jamison teaches a liquid-washing air purifying and disinfecting device (Fig 1) comprising:
a water storage body (11), the water storage body is filled with water (16) at the bottom, a first air outlet (23) is arranged on the upper part, and an air inlet (19) is arranged on the middle part of its sidewall;
a circulating water (34) device);
a filtering device (63).
Jamison further teaches:
the first air outlet (23) is arranged on the upper part of its sidewall (as shown in Fig 1);
an air supply device (25) is arranged at the top of the water storage body and above the filtering device, the air supply device is used to extract air from its bottom and deliver it to the outside of the water storage body through the first air outlet.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first air outlet (120) of Zhiye by incorporating the air outlet on the upper part of its sidewall (as shown in Fig 1) of Jamison in order to exhaust air sideways.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air supply device (107) of Zhiye by incorporating the air supply device (25) arranged at the top of the water storage body and above the filtering device of Jamison in order to draw gas through the washer (col 2 lines 58-72).
Regarding claim 7, Zhiye in view of Jamison teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Zhiye further teaches an air inlet pipe that is connected to the air inlet, the air inlet pipe (102) extends inward and downward along the inner wall of the water storage body.
Regarding claim 8, Zhiye in view of Jamison teaches all the limitations of claim 7.
Zhiye does not teach a splash-proof device is arranged in the air inlet pipe to prevent water from flowing out through the air inlet.
Jamison teaches a splash-proof device (19’) is arranged in the air inlet pipe to prevent water from flowing out through the air inlet (where the shape of the transition piece would be fully capable of preventing water from flowing out through the air inlet because any splashed water would be directed back toward the tank).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air inlet (110) of Zhiye by incorporating the splash-proof device (19’) of Jamison in order to provide gradual expansion (col 5 lines 60-63).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhiye) in view of Jamison as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of “Snap-fit” Wikipedia published 26 Oct 2019 accessed at <https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Snap-fit&oldid=923135197> (hereafter Snap).
Regarding claim 2, Zhiye in view of Jamison teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Zhiye further teaches the inner side of the annular filter layers is fixed with the outer wall of the outlet pipe, the outer side of the annular filter layers is fixed with the inner wall of the water storage body (as shown in Fig 1).
Zhiye does not teach the inner side of the annular filter layers is fixed with the outer wall of the outlet pipe through snap-fit.
Snap teaches where forms a final part by pushing interlocking parts together with speed and no loose parts (Snap first paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inner side of the annular filter layers (106) and the outer wall of the outlet pipe (pipe portion of 103) by incorporating the snap fit (first paragraph) of Snap in order to allow forming a final part by pushing interlocking parts together with speed and no loose parts (Snap first paragraph).
The modification would have resulted in the inner side of the annular filter layers is fixed with the outer wall of the outlet pipe through snap-fit.
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhiye) in view of Jamison as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhiye et al. CN 113587331 published 2 Nov. 2021 as translated by EPO (hereafter ‘331).
Regarding claim 3, Zhiye in view of Jamison teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Zhiye does not teach the filtering device also comprises a annular filtering mesh, which is arranged above the annular filter layers and below the air supply device.
‘331 teaches a liquid-washing air purifying and disinfecting device (Fig 1) comprises:
a water storage body (103);
a circulating water device (115);
a filtering device (110); and
an air supply device (107).
‘331 further teaches the filtering device also comprises a annular filtering mesh (118), which is arranged above the annular filter layers and below the first air outlet (105) in order to demist the air (¶69).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device (Fig 1) of Zhiye by incorporating the annular filtering mesh (118) of ‘331 in order to demist the air (¶69).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the annular filtering mesh (118) of ‘331 to be arranged above the annular filter layers (Zhiye 106; Jamison 63; ‘331 110) and below the air supply device (Jamison 25) in order to demist the air (‘331 ¶69) before reaching the air supply device.
Regarding claim 4, Zhiye in view of Jamison and ‘331 teaches all the limitations of claim 3. Zhiye further teaches a covering plate (117), which is arranged directly above the water outlet (118) for covering the water outlet (as shown in Fig 1).
Zhiye does not teach the covering plate is arranged below the filtering mesh.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the covering plate (117) of Zhiye to be arranged below the filtering mesh (118) of ‘331 in order to baffle the water (Zhiye ¶72) to prevent the filtering mesh from getting sprayed.
Regarding claim 5, Zhiye in view of Jamison teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Zhiye further teaches the annular filter layers (106) are provided with a plurality of filter holes (¶60).
Zhiye does not teach the filter holes are randomly arranged, and at least two of the plurality of filter holes have different pore sizes.
‘331 teaches a liquid-washing air purifying and disinfecting device (Fig 1) comprises:
a water storage body (103);
a circulating water device (115);
a filtering device (110); and
an air supply device (107).
‘331 further teaches the filtering device the annular filter layers (110) are provided with a plurality of filter holes (114), the filter holes are randomly arranged, and at least two of the plurality of filter holes have different pore sizes in order to improve the purification effect (¶66-67, as shown in Figs 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the annular filter layers (106) of Zhiye by incorporating the annular filter layers (110) with a plurality of filter holes (114) randomly arranged and at least two of the plurality of filter holes have different pore sizes (¶66-67) of ‘331 in order to improve the purification effect (¶66-67, as shown in Figs 2-3).
Regarding claim 6, Zhiye in view of Jamison and ‘331 teaches all the limitations of claim 5.
Zhiye does not teach the structures of multiple annular filter layers are exactly the same, and the filter holes adjacent up and down are not aligned.
‘331 teaches the filter holes adjacent up and down are not aligned (¶66).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the annular filter layers (106) of Zhiye by incorporating the annular filter layers (110) with the filter holes adjacent up and down not aligned (¶66) of ‘331 in order to improve the purification effect (¶66-67, as shown in Figs 2-3).
‘331 teaches where the structures of multiple annular filter layers are similar (as shown in Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the annular filter layers (106) of Zhiye by making the structures of multiple annular filter layers are exactly in order to simplify manufacturing.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhiye) in view of Jamison as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Changlin et al. WO 2019/061789 published 4 Apr. 2019 as translated by EPO (hereafter Changlin).
Regarding claims 9-10, Zhiye in view of Jamison teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Zhiye does not teach the air supply device comprises a wind hood and a centrifugal fan, the wind hood is disc-shaped, and the centrifugal fan is located inside the wind hood, blades are arranged around the centrifugal fan; a second air outlet is arranged on the wind hood, the second air outlet is located near one side of the first air outlet; a muffling device is arranged on the wind hood to eliminate the noise generated by the centrifugal fan.
Changlin teaches an air handling device (Fig 1) comprising the air supply device (supply device comprising 4) comprises a wind hood (43, 45) and a centrifugal fan (44), the wind hood is disc-shaped (as shown in Figs 1, 4-7, ¶75), and the centrifugal fan is located inside the wind hood, blades (blades of 44 shown in Fig 1) are arranged around the centrifugal fan; a second air outlet is arranged on the wind hood, the second air outlet is located near one side of the first air outlet (as shown in Fig 4, annotated below). Changlin a muffling device (bend portion) is arranged on the wind hood to eliminate the noise generated by the centrifugal fan (where the bend would eliminate noise by reflecting the noise back into the fan). Changlin teaches where the wind hood defines the installation space (page 16).
[AltContent: textbox (Muffling device)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second air outlet)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First air outlet)][AltContent: textbox (Blades)]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air supply device (107) of Zhiye by incorporating the wind hood ((43, 44) of Changlin in order to define the installation space (page 16).
Conclusion
/STEPHEN HOBSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1776