DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gong (CN 107336838A). Gong teaches an aircraft fuel storage system, shown in figure 1, comprising a fuel tank 1-3 comprising a chamber for storing fuel (cavity defined by 1-3), the chamber comprising a first side, a second side, and a base connecting the first side to the second side (as shown in figure 1), a collector 4 external to the chamber (figures 1, 2), and a first conduit 12 (one pipe 12 on left of figure 2) and a second conduit 12 (another pipe 12 on right of figure 2), each of the first and second conduits 12 fluidically coupling the chamber (at 1, 3; figure 2) to the collector so that fuel is freely passable from the chamber to the collector 4 via the respective first and second conduits 12 (figure 1), wherein the first and second conduits 12 open into the chamber at respective first and second conduit openings (figure 4), wherein the first conduit opening is nearer to the first side than the second conduit opening is to the first side (figure 2), and wherein the second conduit comprises a second conduit lock portion (bend of 12; figure 1) that is nearer to the first side than the second conduit opening is to the first side.
Regarding claim 2, the first conduit opening (of 12 on left of figure 2) is nearer to the first side (left side; figure 2) than to the second side (right side of figure 2).
Regarding claim 3, the second conduit opening (right side of figure 2) is nearer to the second side (right side of figure 2) than to the first side (left side of figure 2).
Regarding claim 4, the first conduit 12 comprises a first conduit lock portion (bend portion of 12, figure 1), which is nearer to the second side than the first conduit opening is to the second side (figure 1).
Regarding claim 13, the collector 4 is located with the base (bottom wall of 2) between the collector 4 and the rest of the chamber (figure 1).
Regarding claim 14, the chamber is hermetically sealed when vents are closed.
Regarding claim 15, the tank is capable of containing hydrogen fuel.
Regarding claim 16, Gong discloses the tank is used for an “aerial vehicle”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong (CN 107336838A).
Regarding claim 5, Gong discloses the claimed invention except for the second conduit lock distance is from 75% to 125% of the first conduit opening distance. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the tank of Gong with the second conduit lock distance is from 75% to 125% of the first conduit opening distance, in order to form the tank of a certain size to fit the vehicle, and since a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 5, the first conduit opening (on left of figure 2) is distanced from the first side (left side in figure 2), in a longitudinal direction between the first and second sides, by a first conduit opening distance, and wherein a part of the second conduit lock portion (bend of 12 on left of figure 2) that is nearest to the first side is distanced from the first side, in the longitudinal direction, by a second conduit lock distance.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong (CN 107336838A) in view of Barbosa et al. (U.S. 2011/0272526).
Regarding claim 12, Gong discloses the claimed invention except for the baffles. Barbosa et al. teaches that it is known to provide a tank with baffles (see figure 2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the tank of Gong with baffles, as taught by Barbosa et al., in order to prevent sloshing of the fuel.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on Treudt, applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The newly applied reference of Gong (CN 107336838A) is used in the rejection for the teaching of providing a collector on the exterior of the tank. This is shown at 4 in figure 1 of Gong.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NIKI M ELOSHWAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3736
/ORLANDO E AVILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3736