DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election of specie 1 (claims 1-26) without traverse in the reply filed on 2/18/2026 is acknowledged, Claims 27-30 are withdrawn as being drawn to a non-elected. Applicant cancels claims 27-30; and adds new claims 31-34. claims 1-26 and 31-34 are examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shu et al. (WO2010146589).
Regarding claim 1, Shu teaches an optical system (figs.1-4, abstract, a multi-port Wavelength Selective Switch, WSS), comprising:
a beam steering device (see annotated image, Shu, fig.2, the beam steering device), configured with a beam-steering (Shu, page 7, lines 9-10, “The first is the reflective MEMS array 14 used for the beam steering”) dependency dependent on a first polarization (see annotated image, Shu, fig.3, first polarization P; page 8, lines 29-32, “both beams now have the same p-polarization for transmission through the switch. Any of the 9 beams are then beam steered and laterally deflected as described in the previous examples of Fig. 2.”), wherein the beam steering device (see annotated image, Shu, fig.2, the beam steering device) is configured to steer only light having the first polarization (page 8, line 30, “both beams now have the same p-polarization for transmission through the switch”); and
an optical arrangement (Shu, the fig.3 has been referred to as an optical arrangement) comprising an input (fig.3, input 30), a first optical path (see annotated image, Shu, fig.3, the first optical path), and a second optical path (see annotated image, Shu, fig.3, the second optical path), and an output (see annotated image, Shu, fig.2 and fig.3, the output; page 8, lines 7-8, “the output beam can be switched to any of the output ports in the two side-by-side collimator arrays, 10, 25.”), wherein the input (fig.3, the 30) is configured to receive an input beam with an arbitrary polarization state (fig.3, polarization state S, P), and wherein the first optical path and the second optical path extend from the input and intersect at a same point-of-incidence on the beam steering device (see annotated image, Shu, fig.2 and fig.3, the first optical path and the second optical path extend from the input 30 and intersect at the same point-of-incidence on the beam steering device; page 8, lines 29-32, “both beams now have the same p-polarization for transmission through the switch. Any of the 9 beams are then beam steered and laterally deflected as described in the previous examples of Fig. 2.”),
wherein the optical arrangement (fig.3) further comprises:
a first optical component (fig.3, the PBS 32, see Shu, page 8, line 24,“polarization beam splitter, PBS, assembly 32”) configured to split the input beam into two orthogonally polarized beams (see Shu, fig.3, have the orthogonally polarized beams) including a first polarized beam (see annotated image, Shu, fig.3, first polarized beam) and a second polarized beam (see annotated image, Shu, fig.3, second polarized beam), wherein the first optical component (the PBS 32) is configured to direct the first polarized beam along the first optical path with the first polarization (see annotated image, Shu, fig.3, the first optical component, 32, is configured to direct the first polarized beam along the first optical path with the first polarization P), and direct the second polarized beam (see annotated image, Shu, fig.3,the second polarized beam S) along the second optical path (see annotated image, Shu, fig.3, the second optical path) with a second polarization (see annotated image, Shu, fig.3, the second polarization S) that is orthogonal to the first polarization (Shu, page 8, lines 14-21, “a beam input to one of the ports of the 12-collimatror array can be switched in two orthogonal planes such that it can be accessed to any of the 24 ports of the two 12-collimator arrays”); and
a second optical component (fig.3, the half wave plate 33; page 8, line 28, “A half wave plate 33”) configured to receive the second polarized beam (see annotated image, Shu, fig.3 ,the second polarized beam), rotate the second polarization of the second polarized beam into the first polarization (see annotated image, Shu, fig.3, rotate the second polarization S of the second polarized beam into the first polarization P), and direct the second polarized beam further along the second optical path with the first polarization (see annotated image, Shu, fig.3, direct the second polarized beam further along the second optical path with the first polarization P),
wherein the first optical component and the second optical component are configured such that the first polarized beam, with the first polarization, and the second polarized beam, with the first polarization, spatially overlap at the beam steering device (see combination fig.2-fig.3 of Shu, page 8, lines 25-32, “Fig. 3, are passed into the PBS, in which the p-component of any beam is transmitted undiverted, while the s-component is reflected such that it emerges parallel to the p- component. A half wave plate 33 disposed over the region of the PBS where the diverted beam emerge, changes the s-polarization to p-, such that both beams now have the same p-polarization for transmission through the switch. Any of the 9 beams are then beam steered and laterally deflected as described in the previous examples of Fig. 2.”, thus, see annotated image, Shu, fig.3, first optical component 32 and the second optical component are configured such that the first polarized beam, with the first polarization P, and the second polarized beam, with the first polarization P, spatially overlap at the beam steering device), and
wherein the beam steering device (see annotated image, Shu, fig.2 and fig.3) is configured to steer the first polarized beam (the first polarized beam) and the second polarized beam (the second polarized beam) toward the output (the output) such that the first polarized beam and the second polarized beam are directed from the output in a common output direction (page 7, lines9-13, “The first is the reflective MEMS array 14 used for the beam steering, in the same way as in the embodiment of Fig. 1. This steers the beams in the direction of the height of the switch, i.e. in the direction out of the plane of the drawing, to output the WSS at any of the different output port levels of the output port collimator array 10.”, thus having the first polarized beam and the second polarized beam are directed from the output in the common output direction).
Regarding claim 2, Shu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Shu further teaches wherein the first optical component and the second optical component are configured such that the first polarized beam (see annotated image, Shu, fig.3, the first optical component 32 and the second optical component 33 are configured such that the first polarized beam P), with the first polarization, and the second polarized beam, with the first polarization, spatially overlap at the beam steering device (see described in claim 1, and see figs.1-3, page 7, lines 9-10, “fig.2, The first is the reflective MEMS array 14 used for the beam steering, in the same way as in the embodiment of Fig.1”; and see annotated image, Shu, fig.2 and fig.3, since the wavelength dispersed beams are focused by the lens --- similar in fig.1, the lens 12 --- onto beam steering 14; thus the first polarization P, and the second polarized beam, with the first polarization P, spatially overlap at the beam steering device),
wherein at least 90% of a first area of the beam steering device at which the first polarized beam is incident on the beam steering device spatially overlaps with a second area of the beam steering device at which the second polarized beam is incident on the beam steering device (see described above, thus, have 100% of a first area of the beam steering device at which the first polarized beam is incident on the beam steering device spatially overlaps with a second area of the beam steering device at which the second polarized beam is incident on the beam steering device).(note: Because the structure of the claimed system, as identified above and in the original action, is the same as that claimed, it must inherently perform the same function--- are configured ---; See MPEP §2114(I)) “If an examiner concludes that a functional limitation is an inherent characteristic of the prior art, then to establish a prima case of anticipation or obviousness, the examiner should explain that the prior art structure inherently possesses the functionally defined limitations of the claimed apparatus. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432. See also Bettcher Industries, Inc. v. Bunzl USA, Inc., 661 F.3d 629, 639-40,100 USPQ2d 1433, 1440 (Fed. Cir. 2011).”)
Regarding claim 3, Shu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Shu further teaches wherein the first optical component and the second optical component are configured such that the first polarized beam, with the first polarization, and the second polarized beam, with the first polarization, completely spatially overlap at the beam steering device (see annotated image, Shu, fig.2 and fig.3, described in claim 1, thus, the first optical component 32 and the second optical component 33 are configured such that the first polarized beam, with the first polarization P, and the second polarized beam, with the first polarization S, completely spatially overlap at the beam steering device).
Regarding claim 4, Shu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Shu further teaches wherein the first optical component and the second optical component are configured such that the first polarized beam, with the first polarization, and the second polarized beam, with the first polarization, intersect at the same point-of-incidence with an intersection angle in a beam steering direction of the beam steering device (see annotated image, Shu, fig.2 and fig.3, described in claims 1 and 2, thus, the first optical component 32 and the second optical component 33 are configured such that the first polarized beam, with the first polarization P, and the second polarized beam, with the first polarization P, intersect at the same point-of-incidence with the intersection angle in a beam steering direction of the beam steering device; page 7, lines 10-13, “This steers the beams in the direction of the height of the switch, i.e. in the direction out of the plane of the drawing, to output the WSS at any of the different output port levels of the output port collimator array 10.” ).
Regarding claim 5, Shu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Shu further teaches wherein the optical arrangement is configured to focus the first polarized beam onto the beam steering device (see annotated image, Shu, fig.2 and fig.3, the optical arrangement is configured to focus the first polarized beam onto the beam steering device), in a wavelength dispersion direction (see annotated image, Shu, fig.2, the wavelength dispersion direction; page 4, lines 6-7, “a wavelength dispersive element receiving an input optical beam from one of the ports, and dispersing wavelength components thereof in a dispersion plane”), within a first depth of focus (see annotated image, Shu, fig.2, first/second depth of focus), and
wherein the optical arrangement is configured to focus the second polarized beam onto the beam steering device, in the wavelength dispersion direction, within a second depth of focus (see annotated image, Shu, fig.2 and fig.3, the optical arrangement is configured to focus the second polarized beam onto the beam steering device, in the wavelength dispersion direction, within a first/second depth of focus).
Regarding claim 6, Shu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Shu further teaches wherein a first optical pathlength travelled by the first polarized beam from the input to the output is equal to a second optical pathlength travelled by the second polarized beam from the input to the output (see annotated image, Shu, fig.2 and fig.3, described in claims 1 and 2, and since have the diffraction grating and the focus lens ; thus, having a first optical pathlength travelled by the first polarized beam from the input 30 to the output is equal to a second optical pathlength travelled by the second polarized beam from the input to the output).
Regarding claim 7, Shu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Shu further teaches wherein the optical arrangement is configured such that the first optical path has a first number of reflections, and the second optical path has a second number of reflections that is equal to the first number of reflections or a difference between the first number of reflections and the second number of reflections is a multiple of two (described in claim 6, thus having the optical arrangement is configured such that the first optical path has a first number of reflections, and the second optical path has a second number of reflections that is equal to the first number of reflections or a difference between the first number of reflections and the second number of reflections is a multiple of two).
Regarding claim 8, Shu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Shu further teaches wherein the beam steering device is configured to reflect the first polarized beam such that the first polarized beam retraces the second optical path (described in claim 1 and 2, thus, Shu teaches the beam steering device is configured to reflect the first polarized beam such that the first polarized beam retraces the second optical path), and
wherein the beam steering device is configured to reflect the second polarized beam such that the second polarized beam retraces the first optical path (described in claim 1 and 2, thus, Shu teaches the beam steering device is configured to reflect the second polarized beam such that the second polarized beam retraces the first optical path).
Regarding claim 9, Shu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Shu further teaches wherein the beam steering device is configured to reflect the first polarized beam as a first reflected polarized beam on a third optical path toward the second optical component (described in claim 1 and 2, thus, Shu teaches the beam steering device is configured to reflect the first polarized beam as a first reflected polarized beam on a third optical path toward the second optical component),
wherein the second optical component is configured to receive the first reflected polarized beam, rotate the first polarization of the first reflected polarized beam into the second polarization, and direct the first reflected polarized beam toward the first optical component with the second polarization (described in claim 1 and 2, thus, Shu teaches the second optical component is configured to receive the first reflected polarized beam, rotate the first polarization of the first reflected polarized beam into the second polarization, and direct the first reflected polarized beam toward the first optical component with the second polarization), and
wherein the first optical component is configured to direct the first reflected polarized beam toward the output with the second polarization (described in claim 1 and 2, thus, Shu teaches the first optical component is configured to direct the first reflected polarized beam toward the output with the second polarization).
Regarding claim 10, Shu discloses the invention as described in Claim 9, Shu further teaches wherein the beam steering device is configured to reflect the second polarized beam as a second reflected polarized beam on a fourth optical path toward the first optical component (described in claim 1 and 2, thus, Shu teaches the beam steering device is configured to reflect the second polarized beam as a second reflected polarized beam on a fourth optical path toward the first optical component ), and
wherein the first optical component is configured to direct the second reflected polarized beam toward the output with the first polarization (described in claim 1 and 2, thus, Shu teaches the first optical component is configured to direct the second reflected polarized beam toward the output with the first polarization P).
Regarding claim 11, Shu discloses the invention as described in Claim 10, Shu further teaches wherein a sum of the first optical path and the third optical path, representing a first total optical path from the input to the output, has a first total optical pathlength (described in claim 1 and 2, thus, Shu teaches having a sum of the first optical path and the third optical path, representing a first total optical path from the input to the output, has a first total optical pathlength),
wherein a sum of the second optical path and the fourth optical path, representing a second total optical path from the input to the output, has a second total optical pathlength (described in claim 1 and 2, thus, Shu teaches having a sum of the second optical path and the fourth optical path, representing a second total optical path from the input to the output, has a second total optical pathlength), and
wherein the first total optical pathlength and the second total optical pathlength are substantially equal (described in claim 1 and 2, thus, Shu teaches the first total optical pathlength and the second total optical pathlength are substantially equal).
Regarding claim 12, Shu discloses the invention as described in Claim 10, Shu further teaches wherein the first optical component is configured to combine the first reflected polarized beam with the second reflected polarized beam into a combined output beam (described in claim 1 and 2, thus, Shu teaches the first optical component is configured to combine the first reflected polarized beam with the second reflected polarized beam into a combined output beam), and direct the combined output beam at the output in the common output direction (described in claim 1 and 2, thus, Shu teaches wherein direct the combined output beam at the output in the common output direction).
Regarding claim 13, Shu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Shu further teaches wherein the common output direction depends on a beam steering angle of the beam steering device (described in claim 1 and 2, and page 7, lines 14-17,” The second switching array is positioned in front of the MEMS array 14, and it is operative to switch the beams in a direction generally perpendicular to the beam steering direction. It is shown in Fig. 2 operating as an LC polarization mode switching array, comprising a birefringent crystal wedge 21”, page 7, lines 33-34 and page 8, lines 1-2, “The wedge orientation is such as to deflect the beam when switched, in the plane of the drawing, i.e. in the dispersion plane. The deflected beam angle, as determined by the birefractivity of the crystal material, is such that the deviation diverts the beam such that it now enters a second collimator array 25”, thus, Shu teaches wherein the common output direction depends on a beam steering angle of the beam steering device).
Regarding claim 14, Shu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Shu further teaches wherein the beam steering device is configured to reflect the first polarized beam as a first reflected polarized beam on a third optical path toward the output (described in claim 1 and 2, thus, Shu teaches the beam steering device is configured to reflect the first polarized beam as a first reflected polarized beam on a third optical path toward the output),
wherein the beam steering device is configured to reflect the second polarized beam as a second reflected polarized beam on a fourth optical path toward the output (described in claim 1 and 2, thus, Shu teaches wherein the beam steering device is configured to reflect the second polarized beam as a second reflected polarized beam on a fourth optical path toward the output),
wherein the optical arrangement is configured to combine the first reflected polarized beam and the second reflected polarized beam with orthogonal polarizations into a combined output beam, and output the combined output beam at the output (described in claim 1 and 2, thus, Shu teaches the optical arrangement is configured to combine the first reflected polarized beam and the second reflected polarized beam with orthogonal polarizations into a combined output beam, and output the combined output beam at the output), and
wherein a position of the combined output beam relative to the input beam corresponds to an optical path pathlength of the optical arrangement and a beam steering angle of the beam steering device (described in claim 1 and 2, thus, Shu teaches having a position of the combined output beam relative to the input beam corresponds to an optical path pathlength of the optical arrangement and a beam steering angle of the beam steering device).
Regarding claim 15, Shu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Shu further teaches wherein the optical system is a wavelength selective switch (WSS) (page 4, lines 2-3, “multi-port wavelength selective switch ”), and the beam steering device is configured to steer the light in a port switching direction of the WSS, wherein the port switching direction is perpendicular to a wavelength dispersion direction of the WSS (described in claim 1 and 2, thus, Shu teaches the beam steering device is configured to steer the light in a port switching direction of the WSS, wherein the port switching direction is perpendicular to a wavelength dispersion direction of the WSS ).
Regarding claim 16, Shu discloses the invention as described in Claim 15, Shu further teaches wherein the WSS is configured to collimate the first polarized beam and the second polarized beam in the port switching direction and focus the first polarized beam and the second polarized beam in the wavelength dispersion direction (see annotated image, Shu, fig.2 and fig.3, described in claim 1 and 2, thus the WSS is configured to collimate the first polarized beam and the second polarized beam in the port switching direction and focus the first polarized beam and the second polarized beam in the wavelength dispersion direction).
Regarding claim 18, Shu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Shu further teaches wherein the first polarization and the second polarization (see annotated image, Shu, fig.3, first polarization P and the second polarization S) are linear polarizations (P-polarization and S-polarization are well known types of linear polarization; page 8, lines 11-12, “the beam steering and switching array 20 may also include an LC attenuation array 15, generally comprising a linear polarizer”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Shu et al. (WO2010146589) in view of Cohen et al. (WO2007/029260).
Regarding claim 17, Shu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Shu further teaches wherein the beam steering device is a liquid-crystal-on-silicon (LCOS) array (see Shu, page 2, lines 7-3, and lines 18-20, “In WO2007/029260, there is described a multi-port switchable router, using beam steering elements… which generate different angles of propagation to the beam passing therethrough according to the different polarizations of the beams produced by the setting of the liquid crystal array pixels, or a liquid crystal-on-silicon (LCOS) spatial light modulator acting as a phased array.”; “The disclosures of each of the publications mentioned in this section and in other sections of the specification, are hereby incorporated by reference, each in its entirety.”).
Regarding claim 34, Shu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Shu further teaches wherein the beam steering device is a polarization-dependent liquid-crystal-on-silicon (LCOS) array, a polarization-dependent spatial light modulator, or a polarization-dependent light director array (this claim recites similar limitations as those in corresponding claim 17 and is rejected based on the same teachings and rationale).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Shu et al. (WO2010146589) in view of Sato et al. (US20220291511).
Regarding claim 19, Shu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Shu further teaches wherein the optical arrangement includes:
a first prism (see annotated image, Shu, fig.2 and fig.3, first prism) comprising the input (the 30), the output (the output), the first optical component (the PBS 32), the second optical component (the 33), and a reflector (the reflector),
wherein the first optical component (PBS 32) is a polarization beam splitter (page 8, line 24, “a polarization beam splitter (PBS) assembly 32.”) arranged on the first optical path and the second optical path (see annotated image, Shu, fig.2 and fig.3, the first optical path and the second optical path),
wherein the first optical component (32), the second optical component (33), and the reflector (the reflector) are arranged on the second optical path (the second optical path); and
a second prism (see annotated image, Shu, fig.2 and fig.3, second prism) optically coupled between the first prism and the beam steering device (see annotated image, Shu, fig.2 and fig.3, described in claims 1 and 2, thus second prism optically coupled between the first prism and the beam steering device).
Shu does not explicitly teach wherein the second optical component (the 33) is a quarter-wave retarder.
However, Sato teaches the analogous optical system (Sato, abstract, the wavelength selective retardation layer, and the polarizer are provided to overlap each other in a main surface of the light guide plate, and the wavelength selective retardation layer is provided between the light guide element and the polarizer...), and further teaches wherein the second optical component (Sato, fig.8, 72B has been referred to as the second optical component) is a quarter-wave retarder (Sato, paragraph [0163] “the λ/4 plate 72B”).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Shu to have the second optical component is a quarter-wave retarder as taught by Sato for the purpose to be observed that a direction in which the light amount is the maximum or the minimum gradually changes in the one in-plane direction (Sato, paragraph [0170]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Shu et al. (WO2010146589) in view of Keyworth et al. (US9575260, of record, see IDS dated 1/17/2024).
Regarding claim 20, Shu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Shu further teaches wherein the optical arrangement includes:
a first prism (see annotated image, Shu, fig.2 and fig.3, first prism) comprising the input (the 30), the output (the output), and the first optical component (the PBS 32), wherein the first optical component is a polarization beam splitter (page 8, line 24, “a polarization beam splitter (PBS) assembly 32.”) arranged on the first optical path and the second optical path (see annotated image, Shu, fig.2 and fig.3, is arranged on the first optical path and the second optical path);
a second prism (see annotated image, Shu, fig.2 and fig.3, second prism) arranged on the second optical path and optically coupled between the first prism and the second optical component (see annotated image, Shu, fig.2 and fig.3, described in claims 1 and 2, thus, the second prism arranged on the second optical path and optically coupled between the first prism and the second optical component 33);
wherein the second optical component is a half-wave retarder (fig.3, the half wave plate 33; page 8, line 28, “A half wave plate 33”).
Shu does not explicitly teach wherein
a first redirecting prism arranged on the first optical path and optically coupled between the first prism and the beam steering device, wherein the first redirecting prism is configured to direct the first polarized beam, with the first polarization, at the beam steering device; and
a second redirecting prism arranged on the second optical path and optically coupled between the second prism and the beam steering device, wherein the second redirecting prism is configured to direct the second polarized beam, with the first polarization, at the beam steering device.
However, Keyworth teaches the analogous wavelength selective switch (Keyworth, abstract, “the number of wavelength selective switch (WSS) units in a WSS device can be doubled by using polarization properties of optical beams propagating through the WSS device”), and further teaches wherein
a first redirecting prism (Keyworth, fig.7C, first polarizing beamsplitter 261 has been referred to as a first redirecting prism) arranged on the first optical path and optically coupled between the first prism and the beam steering device, wherein the first redirecting prism is configured to direct the first polarized beam, with the first polarization, at the beam steering device (see annotated image, Keyworth fig.7C, arranged on the first optical path and optically coupled between the first prism and the beam steering device, wherein the first redirecting prism is configured to direct the first polarized beam, with the first polarization, at the beam steering device); and
a second redirecting prism arranged on the second optical path and optically coupled between the second prism and the beam steering device, wherein the second redirecting prism is configured to direct the second polarized beam, with the first polarization, at the beam steering device (see annotated image, Keyworth fig.7C, the second redirecting prism arranged on the second optical path and optically coupled between the second prism and the beam steering device, wherein the second redirecting prism is configured to direct the second polarized beam, with the first polarization, at the beam steering device).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Shu to have two redirecting prisms as taught by Keyworth for the purpose of providing space and cost savings (Keyworth, col.2, lines 45-47).
Claims 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Shu et al. (WO2010146589) in view of Shin et al. (WO2018106080, English translation attached).
Regarding claim 21, Shu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Shu further teaches wherein the optical system is a wavelength selective switch (WSS) (page 2, lines 22-23, “The present invention seeks to provide a new fiber-optical, wavelength selective switch structure (WSS)”) comprising a plurality of input directions corresponding to one or more input ports, respectively, and a plurality of output directions corresponding to a plurality of output ports, respectively (page 4, lines 2-3, “multi-port wavelength selective switch ”; page 5, lines 14-15, “In any of these switch implementations, the ports may be arranged such that light can be switched between one port and any of the other ports.”; page 7, lines 11-13, “in the direction out of the plane of the drawing, to output the WSS at any of the different output port levels of the output port collimator array 10.”; page 8, lines 14-20, “by operating the MEMS switch in conjunction with the LC polarization mode switch, a beam input to one of the ports of the 12-collimatror array can be switched in two orthogonal planes such that it can be accessed to any of the 24 ports of the two 12-collimator arrays. Since one of those ports is being used as the input port, this particular embodiment of the WSS of the present invention is a 1 x 23 way WSS. The height of the WSS need be no more than a 12-port WSS, and the increased footprint engendered by the second collimator stack is minimal.”; thus, wavelength selective switch comprising a plurality of input directions corresponding to one or more input ports, respectively, and a plurality of output directions corresponding to a plurality of output ports),
wherein the beam steering device is configured to reflect (page 7, lines 9-10, “The first is the reflective MEMS array 14 used for the beam steering,”).
Shu does not explicitly teach wherein
with a first zero-order reflection, the first polarized beam as a first reflected polarized beam on a third optical path toward the output,
wherein the beam steering device is configured to reflect, with a second zero-order reflection, the second polarized beam as a second reflected polarized beam on a fourth optical path toward the output, and
wherein the optical arrangement is configured to provide, at the beam steering device, an angular offset between the first optical path and the second optical path such that the first reflected polarized beam and the second reflected polarized beam are output in the common output direction that is directed away from all of the plurality of output ports.
However, Shin teaches in paragraph [0017]: “When applied to beam steering by the phase difference control device according to the embodiments of the present invention, it is possible to control diffraction of a specific order, thereby enabling various beam steerings even in thin gratings” and paragraph [0132]: “the result in which the phase differs depending on the size of the angle a for the open part in the basic functional unit and the direction of the open part is shown in FIG. 14b”; then Shui in combination with Shin would teach wherein with a first zero-order reflection, the first polarized beam as a first reflected polarized beam on a third optical path toward the output,
wherein the beam steering device is configured to reflect, with a second zero-order reflection, the second polarized beam as a second reflected polarized beam on a fourth optical path toward the output, and
wherein the optical arrangement is configured to provide, at the beam steering device, an angular offset between the first optical path and the second optical path such that the first reflected polarized beam and the second reflected polarized beam are output in the common output direction that is directed away from all of the plurality of output ports
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify beam steering device of Shu by using the specific beam steering by the phase difference control device as taught by Shin for the purpose to easily control diffraction of a specific order (Shin, paragraph [0100]).
Regarding claim 22, combination Shu-Shin discloses the invention as described in Claim 21, Shu further teaches wherein the common output direction is outside a range of the plurality of output directions (see annotated image, Shu, fig.2 and fig.3, the common output direction is outside a range of the plurality of output directions).
Regarding claim 23, combination Shu-Shin discloses the invention as described in Claim 21, Shu further teaches wherein the common output direction is between two adjacent output directions of the plurality of output directions (see annotated image, Shu, fig.2 and fig.3, Shu is having the common output direction is between two adjacent output directions of the plurality of output directions).
Regarding claim 24, Shu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Shu further teaches wherein the optical system is a wavelength selective switch (WSS) (page 2, lines 22-23, “The present invention seeks to provide a new fiber-optical, wavelength selective switch structure (WSS)”) comprising a plurality of input directions corresponding to one or more input ports, respectively, and a plurality of output directions corresponding to a plurality of output ports, respectively (page 4, lines 2-3, “multi-port wavelength selective switch ”; page 5, lines 14-15, “In any of these switch implementations, the ports may be arranged such that light can be switched between one port and any of the other ports.”; page 7, lines 11-13, “in the direction out of the plane of the drawing, to output the WSS at any of the different output port levels of the output port collimator array 10.”; page 8, lines 14-20, “by operating the MEMS switch in conjunction with the LC polarization mode switch, a beam input to one of the ports of the 12-collimatror array can be switched in two orthogonal planes such that it can be accessed to any of the 24 ports of the two 12-collimator arrays. Since one of those ports is being used as the input port, this particular embodiment of the WSS of the present invention is a 1 x 23 way WSS. The height of the WSS need be no more than a 12-port WSS, and the increased footprint engendered by the second collimator stack is minimal.”; thus, wavelength selective switch comprising a plurality of input directions corresponding to one or more input ports, respectively, and a plurality of output directions corresponding to a plurality of output ports),
wherein the beam steering device is configured to reflect (page 7, lines 9-10, “The first is the reflective MEMS array 14 used for the beam steering,”).
Shu does not explicitly teach wherein
with a first positive first-order reflection, the first polarized beam as a first reflected polarized beam on a third optical path toward the output,
wherein the beam steering device is configured to reflect, with a second positive first-order reflection, the second polarized beam as a second reflected polarized beam on a fourth optical path toward the output, and
wherein the optical arrangement is configured to provide, at the beam steering device, an angular offset between the first optical path and the second optical path such that the first reflected polarized beam and the second reflected polarized beam are output in the common output direction that is directed exclusively at a configured output port selected from the plurality of output ports.
However, Shin teaches in paragraph [0017]: “When applied to beam steering by the phase difference control device according to the embodiments of the present invention, it is possible to control diffraction of a specific order, thereby enabling various beam steerings even in thin gratings” and paragraph [0132]: “the result in which the phase differs depending on the size of the angle a for the open part in the basic functional unit and the direction of the open part is shown in FIG. 14b”; then Shui in combination with Shin would teach wherein with a first positive first-order reflection, the first polarized beam as a first reflected polarized beam on a third optical path toward the output, wherein the beam steering device is configured to reflect, with a second positive first-order reflection, the second polarized beam as a second reflected polarized beam on a fourth optical path toward the output, and wherein the optical arrangement is configured to provide, at the beam steering device, an angular offset between the first optical path and the second optical path such that the first reflected polarized beam and the second reflected polarized beam are output in the common output direction that is directed exclusively at a configured output port selected from the plurality of output ports.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify beam steering device of Shu by using the specific beam steering by the phase difference control device as taught by Shin for the purpose to easily control diffraction of a specific order (Shin, paragraph [0100]).
Regarding claim 25, combination Shu-Shin discloses the invention as described in Claim 24, Shu further teaches wherein the beam steering device is configured to reflect (page 7, lines 9-10, “The first is the reflective MEMS array 14 used for the beam steering,”), and Shui in combination with Shin further teaches wherein with a first negative first-order reflection, the first polarized beam as a third reflected polarized beam on a fifth optical path toward the output,
wherein the beam steering device is configured to reflect, with a second negative first-order reflection, the second polarized beam as a fourth reflected polarized beam on a sixth optical path toward the output, and
wherein the optical arrangement is configured to provide, at the beam steering device, the angular offset between the first optical path and the second optical path such that the third reflected polarized beam and the fourth reflected polarized beam are output in one or more directions that are directed away from all of the plurality of output ports ((see annotated image, Shu, fig.2 and fig.3, described in claims 1, 2, and 24, thus, Shui in combination with Shin teaches wherein with a first negative first-order reflection, the first polarized beam as a third reflected polarized beam on a fifth optical path toward the output,
wherein the beam steering device is configured to reflect, with a second negative first-order reflection, the second polarized beam as a fourth reflected polarized beam on a sixth optical path toward the output, and
wherein the optical arrangement is configured to provide, at the beam steering device, the angular offset between the first optical path and the second optical path such that the third reflected polarized beam and the fourth reflected polarized beam are output in one or more directions that are directed away from all of the plurality of output ports. The motivation to combine Shu and Shin as provided in claim 24 is incorporated herein.).
Regarding claim 26, combination Shu-Shin discloses the invention as described in Claim 24, Shui in combination with Shin further teaches wherein the beam steering device is configured to reflect, with a first second-order reflection, the first polarized beam as a third reflected polarized beam on a fifth optical path toward the output,
wherein the beam steering device is configured to reflect, with a second second-order reflection, the second polarized beam as a fourth reflected polarized beam on a sixth optical path toward the output, and
wherein the optical arrangement is configured to provide, at the beam steering device, the angular offset between the first optical path and the second optical path such that the third reflected polarized beam and the fourth reflected polarized beam are output in the one or more directions that are directed away from all of the plurality of output ports (see annotated image, Shu, fig.2 and fig.3, described in claims 1, 2, and 24, thus, Shui in combination with Shin teaches wherein the beam steering device is configured to reflect, with a first second-order reflection, the first polarized beam as a third reflected polarized beam on a fifth optical path toward the output, wherein the beam steering device is configured to reflect, with a second second-order reflection, the second polarized beam as a fourth reflected polarized beam on a sixth optical path toward the output, and wherein the optical arrangement is configured to provide, at the beam steering device, the angular offset between the first optical path and the second optical path such that the third reflected polarized beam and the fourth reflected polarized beam are output in the one or more directions that are directed away from all of the plurality of output ports. The motivation to combine Shu and Shin as provided in claim 24 is incorporated herein.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 31-33 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 31, the prior art does not teach, or renders obvious, regarding wherein a second prism comprising a second reflector and a third reflector, wherein the second prism is optically coupled between the first prism and the beam steering device.
Claims 32-33 are also would be allowable due to their dependence on claim 31.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. DANZIGER et al. (US20250237881), abstract, “An image projector includes a spatial light modulator (SLM) with a two dimensional array of pixel elements controllable to modulate a property of light transmitted or reflected by the pixel elements.”, paragraph [0059], “while an example of a reflective SLM is a liquid crystal on silicon (LCOS) device.” pertinent to claim 17. McGuire (US20250237881), paragraph [0073], “Quarter-wave plate (QWP) 107 may also be employed between the Rotationally Symmetric Lens 111 and grating 109” pertinent to claim 19.
/KUEI-JEN L EDENFIELD/
Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/THOMAS K PHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872