DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-11, in the reply filed on 11 August 2026 is acknowledged.
Specification
Applicant should correct the misspelling “megnetic” in the title.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su (US 2021/0154631), which is the publication of the parent application of the instant CIP, in view of Liu (US 2015/0085599). None of the instant claims is afforded the filing date of the parent applicant because all the claims require turbulence and the parent application does not describe turbulence:
Regarding claim 1, Su discloses “A method for mixing magnetic particles with a liquid medium in a reaction chamber, comprising: simultaneously providing a magnetic field to the reaction chamber, thereby causing the magnetic particles to move in the liquid medium substantially on a plane crossing the reaction chamber; and controlling such that the magnetic particles have a relative reciprocating movement with respect to, and along a direction that has an angle to, the plane, wherein the angle is not zero.” (quoting claim 1 of Su). However, Su does not disclose creating turbulence in the liquid. Liu teaches moving magnetic particles to create turbulence in a liquid (see abstract, [0020], [0026]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have created turbulence by the movement of the magnetic particles as taught by Liu to improve mixing.
Regarding claim 2, Su discloses the “method of claim 1, wherein the magnetic field is generated from a magnet array comprising at least one magnet, wherein each of the at least one magnet in the magnet array is a permanent magnet or an electromagnet” (quoting claim 2 of Su).
Regarding claim 3, Su discloses the “method of claim 2, wherein the providing a magnetic field to the reaction chamber comprises at least one of: rotating the magnet array around the reaction chamber; spinning the reaction chamber; driving the magnet array to reciprocatingly move; or driving the reaction chamber to reciprocatingly move” (quoting claim 3 of Su).
Regarding claim 4, Su discloses the “method of claim 3, wherein the providing a magnetic field to the reaction chamber comprises: rotating the magnet array around the reaction chamber” (quoting claim 4 of Su).
Regarding claim 5, Su discloses the “method of claim 1, wherein the magnetic field is generated from an electromagnet array comprising at least two electromagnets, wherein the providing a magnetic field to the reaction chamber comprises: coordinately providing electrical signals to the at least two electromagnets in the electromagnet array, thereby forming the magnetic field.” (quoting claim 5 of Su).
Regarding claim 6, Su discloses the “method of claim 5, wherein the coordinately providing electrical signals to the at least two electromagnets in the electromagnet array comprises: alternately providing electrical signals to the at least two electromagnets in the electromagnet array” (quoting claim 6 of Su).
Regarding claim 7, Su discloses the “method of claim 1, wherein the controlling such that the magnetic particles have a relative reciprocating movement with respect to, and along a direction that has an angle to, the plane comprises: driving the reaction chamber to move reciprocatingly.” (quoting claim 7 of Su).
Regarding claim 8, Su discloses the “method of claim 1, wherein the magnetic field is generated by a magnet array or an electromagnet array, wherein the controlling such that the magnetic particles have a relative reciprocating movement with respect to, and along a direction that has an angle to, the plane comprises: driving the magnet array or the electromagnet array to move reciprocatingly.” (quoting claim 8 of Su).
Regarding claim 9, Su discloses a “method for mixing magnetic particles with a liquid medium in a reaction chamber, comprising: providing at least two magnetic fields to the reaction chamber, each capable of, upon activation, causing the magnetic particles to move in the liquid medium substantially on a plane crossing the reaction chamber corresponding thereto, wherein planes corresponding to the at least two magnetic fields on which the magnetic particles move are not on a same plane; controlling the at least two magnetic fields such that only one different magnetic field is alternately activated at a different timepoint.” (quoting claim 9 of Su). However, Su does not disclose creating turbulence in the liquid. Liu teaches moving magnetic particles to create turbulence in a liquid (see abstract, [0020], [0026]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have created turbulence by the movement of the magnetic particles as taught by Liu to improve mixing.
Regarding claim 10, Su discloses the “method of claim 9, wherein: the providing at least two magnetic fields to the reaction chamber comprises: providing at least two electromagnet arrays in a proximity of the reaction chamber, wherein each of the at least two electromagnet arrays comprises at least two electromagnets; and the controlling the at least two magnetic fields comprises: coordinately providing electrical signals to all electromagnets in the at least two electromagnet arrays” (quoting claim 10 of Su).
Regarding claim 11, Su discloses the “method of claim 10, wherein the coordinately providing electrical signals to all electromagnets in the at least two electromagnet arrays, thereby forming the at least two magnetic fields comprises: alternately providing electrical signals to the at least two electromagnets of the each of the at least two electromagnet arrays” (quoting claim 11 of Su).
Conclusion
DAVID L. SORKIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1774
/DAVID L SORKIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774