DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8-10, 12-14, 16, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dao et al. (US 2021/0235288 A1, hereinafter “Dao”).
Regarding claim 1, Dao teaches a method comprising: collecting, by a device (e.g., NWDA of figs. 2, 10, 12A-12C), user behavior data associated with a user equipment (UE) device (figs. 3, 4, 10, 12A-12C, ¶ [0046], ¶ [0107], ¶ [0136], ¶ [0137], the NWDA function 237 may send requests to collect data for data analytics from different network entities. ¶ [0142], The NWDA function 237 may send to the AMF 234 a request message 1205a for UE to provide usage data); determining, by the device, a user behavior pattern for the UE device based on the collected user behavior data (figs. 3, 4, 10, 12A-12C, ¶ [0073], the AMF 234 may request the NWDA 237 to provide the mobility information of UEs 110 including mobility pattern of UEs. ¶ [0144], The NWDA 237 may, in step 1213, perform data analytics based on the data in the database provided by NF 1230, and/or UE, or indicated by OAM. ¶ [0107], message 1214 after the data analytics step 1213 can include the mobility pattern (or mobility trajectory) of specific UEs. Message 1214 after the data analytics step 1213 can include the “Expected UE activity behavior” as specified in TS 23.501, version 2.0.1, published in December 2017, i.e. the expected pattern of the UE's changes between CM-CONNECTED and CM-IDLE states. In message 1214 after the data analytics step 1213 can include the “Expected HO behavior”); generating, by the device, a policy in a core network for the UE device based on the determined user behavior pattern for the UE device (1213 of fig. 12C, figs. 3, 4, ¶ [0083], ¶ [0084], Based on the output of the traffic engineering optimization technique at 340, the NWDA 237 may provide a policy recommendation 350 to the PCF 236. ¶ [0107], ¶ [0131], the PCF 236 sends a request (or subscribe) for the NWDA 237 to return policy information in message 1214 after the data analytics step 1213. ¶ [0136]), wherein the core network manages a communication session for the UE device via a Radio Access Network (RAN) (figs. 2, 12C); and providing, by the device, the generated policy to a Policy Control Function (PCF) in the core network to apply to the communication session for the UE device (figs. 12C, ¶ [0107], ¶ [0131] In yet some other embodiments, the PCF 236 sends the Network Information Request message 1201a. The Network Information Request message 1201a may include a request (or subscribe) for the NWDA 237 to return policy information in message 1214 after the data analytics step 1213. One or more categories of policy information can be requested. For example, UE Route Selection Policy (URSP) can be requested. The PCF may request NWDA to provide charging policies (e.g. cost for connection time, cost for data volume) for different times of the day, for days of the week, for specific (R)AN location. ¶ [0136]).
Regarding claim 12, Dao teaches a device (e.g., NWDA of figs. 2, 10, 12A-12C), comprising: a processor (fig. 11) configured to: collect user behavior data associated with a user equipment (UE) device (figs. 3, 4, 10, 12A-12C, ¶ [0046], ¶ [0107], ¶ [0136], ¶ [0137], the NWDA function 237 may send requests to collect data for data analytics from different network entities. ¶ [0142], The NWDA function 237 may send to the AMF 234 a request message 1205a for UE to provide usage data); determine a user behavior pattern for the UE device based on the collected user behavior data (figs. 3, 4, 10, 12A-12C, ¶ [0073], the AMF 234 may request the NWDA 237 to provide the mobility information of UEs 110 including mobility pattern of UEs. ¶ [0144], The NWDA 237 may, in step 1213, perform data analytics based on the data in the database provided by NF 1230, and/or UE, or indicated by OAM. ¶ [0107], message 1214 after the data analytics step 1213 can include the mobility pattern (or mobility trajectory) of specific UEs. Message 1214 after the data analytics step 1213 can include the “Expected UE activity behavior” as specified in TS 23.501, version 2.0.1, published in December 2017, i.e. the expected pattern of the UE's changes between CM-CONNECTED and CM-IDLE states. In message 1214 after the data analytics step 1213 can include the “Expected HO behavior”); generate a policy in a core network for the UE device based on the determined user behavior pattern for the UE device (1213 of fig. 12C, figs. 3, 4, ¶ [0083], ¶ [0084], Based on the output of the traffic engineering optimization technique at 340, the NWDA 237 may provide a policy recommendation 350 to the PCF 236. ¶ [0107], ¶ [0131], the PCF 236 sends a request (or subscribe) for the NWDA 237 to return policy information in message 1214 after the data analytics step 1213. ¶ [0136]), wherein the core network manages a communication session for the UE device via a Radio Access Network (RAN) (figs. 2, 12C); and provide the generated policy to a Policy Control Function (PCF) in the core network to apply to the communication session for the UE device (figs. 12C, ¶ [0107], ¶ [0131] In yet some other embodiments, the PCF 236 sends the Network Information Request message 1201a. The Network Information Request message 1201a may include a request (or subscribe) for the NWDA 237 to return policy information in message 1214 after the data analytics step 1213. One or more categories of policy information can be requested. For example, UE Route Selection Policy (URSP) can be requested. The PCF may request NWDA to provide charging policies (e.g. cost for connection time, cost for data volume) for different times of the day, for days of the week, for specific (R)AN location. ¶ [0136]).
Regarding claim 20, Dao teaches a non-transitory computer-readable memory device storing instructions executable by a processor, the non-transitory computer-readable memory device (figs. 2, 10, 12A-12C, ¶ [0046], ¶ [0010], The network element includes a processor; a network interface for communicating with other network entities; and non-transient machine readable memory storing machine readable instructions, which when executed by the processor, configure the network element to implement a network data analytics function (NWDA)) comprising: one or more instructions to collect user behavior data associated with a user equipment (UE) device (figs. 3, 4, 10, 12A-12C, ¶ [0107], ¶ [0136], ¶ [0137], the NWDA function 237 may send requests to collect data for data analytics from different network entities. ¶ [0142], The NWDA function 237 may send to the AMF 234 a request message 1205a for UE to provide usage data); one or more instructions to determine a user behavior pattern for the UE device based on the collected user behavior data (figs. 3, 4, 10, 12A-12C, ¶ [0073], the AMF 234 may request the NWDA 237 to provide the mobility information of UEs 110 including mobility pattern of UEs. ¶ [0144], The NWDA 237 may, in step 1213, perform data analytics based on the data in the database provided by NF 1230, and/or UE, or indicated by OAM. ¶ [0107], message 1214 after the data analytics step 1213 can include the mobility pattern (or mobility trajectory) of specific UEs. Message 1214 after the data analytics step 1213 can include the “Expected UE activity behavior” as specified in TS 23.501, version 2.0.1, published in December 2017, i.e. the expected pattern of the UE's changes between CM-CONNECTED and CM-IDLE states. In message 1214 after the data analytics step 1213 can include the “Expected HO behavior”); one or more instructions to generate a policy in a core network for the UE device based on the determined user behavior pattern for the UE device (1213 of fig. 12C, figs. 3, 4, ¶ [0083], ¶ [0084], Based on the output of the traffic engineering optimization technique at 340, the NWDA 237 may provide a policy recommendation 350 to the PCF 236. ¶ [0107], ¶ [0131], the PCF 236 sends a request (or subscribe) for the NWDA 237 to return policy information in message 1214 after the data analytics step 1213. ¶ [0136]), wherein the core network manages a
communication session for the UE device via a Radio Access Network (RAN) figs. 2, 12C); and one or more instructions to provide the generated policy to a Policy Control Function (PCF) in the core network to apply to the communication session for the UE device (figs. 12C, ¶ [0107], ¶ [0131] In yet some other embodiments, the PCF 236 sends the Network Information Request message 1201a. The Network Information Request message 1201a may include a request (or subscribe) for the NWDA 237 to return policy information in message 1214 after the data analytics step 1213. One or more categories of policy information can be requested. For example, UE Route Selection Policy (URSP) can be requested. The PCF may request NWDA to provide charging policies (e.g. cost for connection time, cost for data volume) for different times of the day, for days of the week, for specific (R)AN location. ¶ [0136]).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Dao teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the user behavior data includes information identifying, for a location and a time period, at least one of: a Quality of Service (QoS) parameter for a data flow associated with the UE device, a network slice used by the UE device, a Multi-Access Edge Computing (MEC) service used by the UE device, an application used by the UE device, a core network
key performance indicator (KPI) value for a data flow associated with the UE device. or
a RAN KPI value for a data flow associated with the UE device ( figs. 3, 4, 12C, ¶ [0046], The NMF 270 may instruct the NWDA 237 to send data of certain UE 110, certain (R)AN nodes 220, or the UPF 231 based on certain criteria (such as geographical locations, time period, specific network entities, events, etc.). The NMF 270 may also request the NWDA 237 to provide a QoS policy recommendation for certain criteria, including certain network slices, certain services, certain time periods, or any combination thereof. ¶ [0054], ¶ [0058]-¶ [0063], ¶ [0132], The Network statistical information can be requested based on various filters, such as for different times of the day, for days of the week, for specific (R)AN locations…for specific UEs, specific UE group(s), for some applications, for UL and/or DL QoS Flows. ¶ [0131], ¶ [0134], ¶ [0142], ¶ [0086], ¶ [0093], ¶ [0094], a policy input or a portion of the policy recommendation associated with the analyzed measurement data corresponding to the time of the day and geographical locations).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Dao teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the generated policy in the core network for the UE device includes a policy to reserve resources for at least one of: guaranteeing a Quality of Service (QoS) parameter value during a time period, a data flow in network slice during the time period, a data flow to a Multi-Access Edge Computing (MEC) service during the time period, guaranteeing a key performance indicator (KPI) value for a data flow during the time period, guaranteeing a minimum throughput for a data flow during the time period, applying a filter to a data flow during the time period, or reporting a key performance indicator (KPI) value for a data flow during the time period (figs. 3, 4, 12C, ¶ [0068], The WDA 237 may send a recommendation for QoS parameters to the PCF 236 via the N23 interface. The QoS parameters may include a GBR rate, a MBR rate, an AMBR rate, different geographical locations, the (R)AN node 220, a time of the day, and a type of PDU flow (e.g. real-time video, real-time voice, video streaming, web browsing, etc.), ¶ [0069], ¶ [0071], ¶ [0079]).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Dao teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: selecting a group of UE devices; collecting group user behavior data associated with the group of UE devices (figs. 3, 4, 12C, ¶ [0099], The type of policy may be for one UE, or group of UE, or any UE that may access to a network slice instance. ¶ [0106], the NWDA function 237 may include filter information, which may be used to indicate specific Network Information at certain times, certain locations, certain UEs (e.g. list of UE IDs), certain UE groups (e.g. Internal Group ID(s)), certain application (e.g. represented by Application Identifiers), certain network slice (e.g. represented by S-NSSAI, NSI ID), certain PLMN. ¶ [0107], ¶ [0131], ¶ [0142], The request message 1205a may also include an indication to indicate which UEs should provide data, such as the list of UE ID (e.g. SUPI, GPSI), and/or Internal Group ID, and/or S-NSSAI, and/or location information (e.g. (R)AN IDs, CN paging area, registration area, LADN service area, AMF service area, SMF service area, or UPF service area, geographical zone ID, PLMN ID), ¶ [0146]); determining a group user behavior pattern for the group of UE device based on the collected group user behavior data (figs. 3, 4, 12C, ¶ [0107]); generating a user group policy in the core network for the group of UE devices; and providing the generated user group policy to the PCF in the core network to apply to communication sessions associated with the group of UE devices (figs. 3, 4, 12C, ¶ [0099], ¶ [0107], ¶ [0131], the QoS policies can be for particular UEs (represented by UE ID such as SUPI, GPSI); particular UE Groups (represented by Internal Group ID, IMSI-Group ID); for specific (R)AN locations; for specific UPF(s), for specific Geographical Zone IDs; The ATSSS policies can be for specific UE(s); or UEs accessing a DNN, or UEs accessing a network slice instance. ¶ [0134], ¶ [0137]).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Dao teaches the method of claim 5, wherein selecting the group of UE devices includes: selecting a plurality of UE devices managed by an enterprise; selecting a plurality of UE devices associated with a same location;
selecting a plurality of UE devices attached to a same base station; selecting a plurality of UE devices that installed a same application; selecting a plurality of UE devices associated with a same device type; selecting a plurality of UE devices associated with a same operating system; or selecting a plurality of UE devices associated with a same radio frequency transceiver processor devices (figs. 3, 4, 12C, ¶ [0099], ¶ [0106], the NWDA function 237 may include filter information, which may be used to indicate specific Network Information at certain times, certain locations, certain UEs, certain UE groups, certain application (e.g. represented by Application Identifiers), certain network slice (e.g. represented by S-NSSAI, NSI ID), certain PLMN. ¶ [0107], ¶ [0108], ¶ [0131], ¶ [0142], The request message 1205a may also include an indication to indicate which UEs should provide data, such as the list of UE ID (e.g. SUPI, GPSI), and/or Internal Group ID, and/or S-NSSAI, and/or location information (e.g. (R)AN IDs, CN paging area, registration area, LADN service area, AMF service area, SMF service area, or UPF service area, geographical zone ID, PLMN ID), ¶ [0146]);
Regarding claim 8, Dao teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
providing an interface to an Application Function (AF) to enable the AF to request the
policy for the UE device (figs. 2, 12C, ¶ [0132] In yet some other embodiments, the NF 1220 is the AF 250 and the AF 250 send the Network Information Request message 1201a. ¶ [0107]).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Dao teaches the method of claim 8, further comprising: receiving, from the AF via the provided interface, a request to generate a user group policy in the core network for a group of UE devices for a time period (figs. 2, 12C, ¶ [0132] In yet some other embodiments, the NF 1220 is the AF 250 and the AF 250 send the Network Information Request message 1201a. The Network Information Request message 1201a may include a request for network statistical information. The Network statistical information can be requested based on various filters, such as for different times of the day (e.g. from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm), for days of the week, for specific (R)AN locations…for specific UEs, specific UE group(s) (represented by e.g. Internal Group ID, IMSI Group ID), for some applications (e.g. video streaming, URLLC, IoT smart electricity meters, automated driving V2X applications) which could be represented by Application ID, for UL and/or DL QoS Flows. ¶ [0107]).
Regarding claim 10, Dao teaches the method of claim 1, wherein providing the generated policy to the PCF in the core network to apply to the communication session for the UE device is performed via an interface provided by the PCF to receive dynamic policy control information from the core network (figs. 2-4, 10, 12C. ¶ [0106], the NWDA function 237 may send a policy recommendation to the NF 1220, such as one time only, or periodically at certain time of the day, certain day of the week, or any time when the NWDA 2 function 37 decides to send the policy recommendation because of significant changes in the network detected by the NWDA function 237).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dao in view of Naik et al. (US 2024/0154912 A1, hereinafter “Naik”).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Dao teaches the method of claim 1, wherein generating the policy for the UE device in the core network based on the user behavior pattern for the UE device.
Dao does not explicitly teach wherein generating the policy in the core network for the UE device includes: using a Deep Q-Learning Network (DQN) to generate the policy for the UE device in the core network based on the user behavior pattern for the UE device.
Naik teaches using a DQN to generate policy (¶ [0107]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use a DQN to generate the policy for the UE device in the core network based on the user behavior pattern for the UE device in the system of Dao. The motivation for doing this is a matter of design choice ( ¶ [0107] of Naik).
9. Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dao in view of Song et al. (US 2023/0138595 A1, hereinafter “Song”).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Dao teaches the method of claim 5, wherein selecting the group of UE devices includes: identifying a cluster of UE devices (¶ [0099], ¶ [0107], [0108] and ¶ [0131]).
Dao does not explicitly teach selecting the group of UE devices includes: identifying a cluster of UE devices using a clustering algorithm.
Song teaches selecting the group of UE devices includes: identifying a cluster of UE devices using a clustering algorithm (¶ [0022], ¶ [0023]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, identify a cluster of UE devices using a clustering algorithm in the system of Dao to perform clustering more efficiently (¶ [0022] of Song).
10. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dao in view of Palermo et al. (US 11,888,730 B1, hereinafter “Palermo”).
Regarding claim 11, Dao teaches the method of claim 1, further updating/adjusting the policy (figs. 2-4, 10, 12C. ¶ [0106], the NWDA function 237 may send a policy recommendation to the NF 1220, such as one time only, or periodically at certain time of the day, certain day of the week, or any time when the NWDA 2 function 37 decides to send the policy recommendation because of significant changes in the network detected by the NWDA function 237).
Dao does not explicitly teach further comprising: receiving performance information associated with the generated policy from the core
network; and adjusting the generated policy for the UE device based on the received performance information using a reinforcement learning model.
Palermo teaches receiving performance information associated with the generated policy and adjusting the generated policy based on the received performance information using a reinforcement learning model (fig. 3, col. 28, lines 39-62).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to receive performance information associated with the generated policy from the core network, and to adjust the generated policy for the UE device based on the received performance information using a reinforcement learning model in the system of Dao to further improve industrial applicability.
Response to Arguments
11. Applicant's arguments filed on April 3, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
12. Applicant argues “… Contrary to the allegations implied by the Office Action, Dao's NWDA function 237 is directed to collecting network-side measurement data from network entities (e.g., UPF 231, RAN nodes 220, AMF 234, SMF 235) for the purpose of network traffic engineering optimization and policy management across the network as a whole. See, e.g., Dao at paragraphs 0046-0049, and 0075-0084. In particular, Dao describes the data collected as "network entity data," "operation data," "maintenance data," and "measurement reports" from network functions and not as individual UE behavioral data reflecting how a particular user consumes services over time. See, e.g., Dao at paragraph 0047. …Dao’s data collection remains focused on network performance metrics aggregated across entities, not on characterizing the behavioral profile of a specific UE for individualized policy generation…
However, the phrase "mobility pattern" in Dao refers to handover behavior and CM-CONNECTED/CM-IDLE state transition statistics derived from AMF signaling data-a network mobility management parameter-not a user behavior pattern, as recited in claim 1. Rather, the claimed "user behavior pattern" is a qualitatively richer characterization of how the user employs the network to inform individualized service-level policy generation, see, for example, paragraphs 0059 and 0068-0075 of Applicant's written description”…
Contrary to the above-recited feature of claim 1, Dao's NWDA policy recommendations to the PCF 236 are based on network traffic engineering optimization results, e.g., analysis of (R)AN capacity, PDU session counts, throughput statistics, traffic load, and QoS flow types across the network. The output is network-wide policy recommendations designed to optimize the network as a whole. These recommendations are not generated based on a determined behavioral pattern for a specific UE device, as required by claim 1...
In contrast, Dao's data collection is consistently directed at how the network performs, not at how a particular user behaves. Claim 2 is therefore not anticipated by Dao for these additional reasons…Accordingly claim 13 is likewise not anticipated by Dao.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In this case, the claims merely require, in part, “collecting, by a device, user behavior data associated with a UE device; determining, by the device, a user behavior pattern for the UE device based on the collected user behavior data..”
The claims require a device collecting user behavior data. How the device collects the behavior data is not a claim requirement. Further, the claims require determining a user behavior patten of the UE device and generating a policy for the UE device based on the determined user behavior pattern. “A user behavior pattern” being a qualitatively richer characterization of how the user employs the network to inform individualized service-level policy generation is not a claim requirement.
Dao teaches a method comprising: collecting, by a device (e.g., NWDA of figs. 2, 10, 12A-12C), user behavior data associated with a user equipment (UE) device (figs. 3, 4, 10, 12A-12C, ¶ [0046], The NMF 270 may instruct the NWDA 237to collect network entity data. The operation data from the UPF 231, (R)AN node 220, and UE 110 may be sent to the NWDA 237. The NWDA 237 may store the collected data in the UDSF 260. The NMF 270 may instruct the NWDA 237 to send data of certain UE 110, certain (R)AN nodes 220, or the UPF 231 based on certain criteria (such as geographical locations, time period, specific network entities, events, etc.). ¶ [0054], ¶ [0107], ¶ [0136], ¶ [0137], the NWDA function 237 may send requests to collect data for data analytics from different network entities. ¶ [0142], The NWDA function 237 may send to the AMF 234 a request message 1205a for UE to provide usage data. ¶ [0132], ¶ [0132], The Network statistical information can be requested based on various filters, such as for different times of the day, for days of the week, for specific (R)AN locations…for specific UEs, specific UE group(s), for some applications, for UL and/or DL QoS Flows.); determining, by the device, a user behavior pattern for the UE device based on the collected user behavior data (figs. 3, 4, 10, 12A-12C, ¶ [0073], the AMF 234 may request the NWDA 237 to provide the mobility information of UEs 110 including mobility pattern of UEs. ¶ [0144], The NWDA 237 may, in step 1213, perform data analytics based on the data in the database provided by NF 1230, and/or UE, or indicated by OAM. ¶ [0107], the AMF 234 may send the Network Information Request message 1201a to the NWDA function 237 for information related to access and mobility management. For example the request 1201 message may include the network slice information (e.g. S-NSSAI, NSI ID), the UE information such as UE IDs (e.g. SUPI, or GPSI), Internal Group ID (representing a group of UEs), the connection state that UE stays in (e.g. RRC-INACTIVE, or CM-IDLE, or CM-CONNECTED, or MICO mode. The information related to access and mobility management returned by the NWDA 237 in message 1214 after the data analytics step 1213 may include statistics (e.g. minimum value, maximum value, average value) of configuration parameters, for example the minimum duration, maximum duration, average duration that UEs accessing a Network Slice stay in RRC-INACTIVE state, or stay in CM-IDLE state, or stay in CM-CONNECTED state). Further, the request message may include the UE ID(s), the start time (e.g. 9:00 AM) and end time (e.g. 17:00 PM) of the day, the day(s) of the weekday (e.g. Monday, Tuesday). In which case the information related to access and mobility management returned by the NWDA 237 in message 1214 after the data analytics step 1213 can include the mobility pattern (or mobility trajectory) of specific UEs. In some embodiments, The request message 1201a may include the UE ID(s), the start time (e.g. 9:00 AM) and end time (e.g. 17:00 PM) of the day, the day(s) of the weekday (e.g. Monday, Tuesday), and optionally the RAT type . In which case the information related to access and mobility management returned by the NWDA 237 in message 1214 after the data analytics step 1213 can include the “Expected UE activity behavior” as specified in TS 23.501, version 2.0.1, published in December 2017, i.e. the expected pattern of the UE's changes between CM-CONNECTED and CM-IDLE states. In some embodiments, the request message may include the UE ID(s), the start time (e.g. 9:00 AM) and end time (e.g. 17:00 PM) of the day, the day(s) of the weekday (e.g. Monday, Tuesday), optionally the RAT type. In which case the information related to access and mobility management returned by the NWDA 237 in message 1214 after the data analytics step 1213 can include the “Expected HO behavior” as specified in TS 23.501, version 2.0.1, published in December 2017, i.e. the expected interval between inter-RAN handovers); generating, by the device, a policy in a core network for the UE device based on the determined user behavior pattern for the UE device (1213 of fig. 12C, figs. 3, 4, ¶ [0083], ¶ [0084], Based on the output of the traffic engineering optimization technique at 340, the NWDA 237 may provide a policy recommendation 350 to the PCF 236. ¶ [0107], ¶ [0131], the PCF 236 sends a request (or subscribe) for the NWDA 237 to return policy information in message 1214 after the data analytics step 1213. ¶ [0136]. ¶ [0046], The NMF 270 may instruct the NWDA 237 to send data of certain UE 110, certain (R)AN nodes 220, or the UPF 231 based on certain criteria (such as geographical locations, time period, specific network entities, events, etc.). The NMF 270 may also request the NWDA 237 to provide a QoS policy recommendation for certain criteria, including certain network slices, certain services, certain time periods, or any combination thereof. ¶ [0054], ¶ [0058]-¶ [0063], ¶ [0132], The Network statistical information can be requested based on various filters, such as for different times of the day, for days of the week, for specific (R)AN locations…for specific UEs, specific UE group(s), for some applications, for UL and/or DL QoS Flows. ¶ [0131], For example, UE Route Selection Policy (URSP) can be requested. This can be for UEs belonging to a UE Group (e.g. Internal Group ID, IMSI-Group ID), for UEs that connect to a Network Slice (e.g. represented by S-NSSAI), for UEs that connect to a DNN, or for UEs that connect to a Access Type (for example 3GPP 5G, 4G, non-3GPP (WiFi)). Further, QoS policies (QoS Profiles for (R)AN nodes, QoS Rules for UEs, QoS policies for UPFs) can be requested. The QoS policies can be for particular UEs (represented by UE ID such as SUPI, GPSI); particular UE Groups (represented by Internal Group ID, IMSI-Group ID); for time of the day (e.g. from 8:00 am to 9:00 am), for days of the week (e.g. weekdays or weekend, or specific weekdays like Monday, Friday); for specific (R)AN locations (represented by, e.g. (R)AN ID, (R)AN IP Address, (R)AN FQDN, Tracking Area(s), Registration Area(s)); for specific UPF(s) (represented by UPF ID(s), or UPF IP Address(es)), for specific Geographical Zone IDs; or for specific network slice(s) (represented by e.g. S-NSSAI, or NSI-ID).. The ATSSS policies can be for specific UE(s). ¶ [0134], ¶ [0142], ¶ [0086], ¶ [0093], ¶ [0094], a policy input or a portion of the policy recommendation associated with the analyzed measurement data corresponding to the time of the day and geographical locations), wherein the core network manages a communication session for the UE device via a Radio Access Network (RAN) (figs. 2, 12C); and providing, by the device, the generated policy to a Policy Control Function (PCF) in the core network to apply to the communication session for the UE device (figs. 12C, ¶ [0107], ¶ [0131] In yet some other embodiments, the PCF 236 sends the Network Information Request message 1201a. The Network Information Request message 1201a may include a request (or subscribe) for the NWDA 237 to return policy information in message 1214 after the data analytics step 1213. One or more categories of policy information can be requested. For example, UE Route Selection Policy (URSP) can be requested. The PCF may request NWDA to provide charging policies (e.g. cost for connection time, cost for data volume) for different times of the day, for days of the week, for specific (R)AN location. ¶ [0136]).
Therefore, claims (1, 2, 12, 13 and 20) are anticipated by Dao, as set forth above.
Conclusion
13. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANDISH K RANDHAWA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477