DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s amendment/arguments filed on 04/06/2026. Claims 1, 6, 9, 12, 13 and 15 have been amended. Currently, claims 1-19 are pending. This action is made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 03/25/2026 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to amended claims 1, 9 and 12 and have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection below and previously objected claims 16-19 have been reconsidered in view of the amendment and the new ground(s) of rejection.
Response to Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, 9 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Black et al. (US 20110014958 A1) in view of Fu (CN 110190860 A).
Consider claim 1, Black discloses an antenna system (read as the antenna system for wireless communication device or a split band diversity antenna arrangement 50 (similar to device 30 of FIG. 4 or device 41 of FIG. 5), fig. 6, par [0028]) for providing connectivity for an wireless communication device including a first diversity receiver operable on a first cellular network and having a first connection port and a second connection port (read as the connectivity for wireless communication device including first diversity receiver 26 operable on at least first band (i.e. GSM cellular using 850 MHz) and having first input port and second input port as shown in figure 6, par [0027]-[0028], [0031]-[0032] and [0018]), and a second transceiver operable on a second cellular network, different than the first cellular network, and having a third connection port and a fourth connection port (read as the dual band transceiver 28 operable on at least second band (i.e. UMTS frequency band using 2100 MHz, different than lower/first band (GSM frequency band using 850 MHz)) and having third input port and fourth input port as shown in figure 6, par [0027]-[0028], [0031]-[0032] and [0018]), said antenna system comprising:
a first antenna including a first connection interface and a first radiating element in communication with said first connection interface and operable to transmit and/or receive radio frequency signals, said first antenna configured to be disposed on the wireless communication device (read as the first antenna 22 disposed on wireless communication device with its output and operable to transmit and/or receive the GSM frequency band and UMTs frequency band, see figure 6, par [0027]-[0028] and [0031]-[0032]);
a second antenna including a second connection interface and a second radiating element in communication with said second connection interface and operable to transmit and/or receive radio frequency signals, said second antenna configured to be disposed on the wireless communication device (read as the second antenna 24 disposed on wireless communication device with its output and operable to transmit and/or receive the GSM frequency band and UMTs frequency band, see figure 6, par [0027]-[0028] and [0031]-[0032]);
at least one splitter (read as the combination of first splitter 25 and second splitter 32, see figure 6, par [0027]-[0028]) including:
a first splitter port in communication with said first connection interface of said first antenna (read as the input port of first splitter 25 in communication with output port of first antenna 22, see figure 6, par [0027]-[0028]);
a second splitter port in communication with said first splitter port and configured to be in communication with one of the first connection port and the second connection port of the first diversity receiver of the wireless communication device (read as first output port of first splitter 25 in communication with the input port of the first splitter 25 and configured to be in communication with the first input port of first diversity receiver 26, see figure 6, par [0027]-[0028]);
a third splitter port in communication with said first splitter port and configured to be in communication with one of the third connection port and the fourth connection port of the second dual band transceiver of the wireless communication device (read as second output port of first splitter 25 in communication with the input port of the first splitter 25 and configured to be in communication with the third input port of second dual band transceiver 28 26, see figure 6, par [0027]-[0028]);
a fourth splitter port in communication with said second connection interface of said second antenna (read as the input port of first splitter 32 in communication with output port of second antenna 24, see figure 6, par [0027]-[0028]),
a fifth splitter port in communication with said fourth splitter port and configured to be in communication with the other of the first connection port and the second connection port of the first diversity receiver of the wireless communication device (read a first output port of first splitter 32 in communication with the input port of the second splitter 32 and configured to be in communication with the second input port of first diversity receiver 26, see figure 6, par [0027]-[0028]), and
a sixth splitter port in communication with said fourth splitter port and configured to be in communication with the other of the third connection port and the fourth connection port of the second dual band transceiver of the wireless communication device (read as second output port of second splitter 32 in communication with the input port of the first splitter 32 and configured to be in communication with the fourth input port of second dual band transceiver 28 26, see figure 6, par [0027]-[0028]);
wherein said first antenna is configured to be in communication with the first diversity receiver and the second dual band transceiver via said at least one splitter for transmitting and/or receiving radio frequency signals on at least one of the first cellular network and the second cellular network (read as the first antenna 22 is in communication with first diversity receiver 26 and the second dual band transceiver via the first splitter 25 for transmitting and/or receiving at least one of the GSM frequency band and UMTs frequency band, see figure 6, par [0027]-[0028] and [0031]-[0032]); and
wherein said second antenna is configured to be in communication with the first diversity receiver and the second dual band transceiver via said at least one splitter for transmitting and/or receiving radio frequency signals on at least one of the first cellular network and the second cellular network (read as the second antenna 24 is in communication with first diversity receiver 26 and the second dual band transceiver via the second splitter 32 for transmitting and/or receiving at least one of the GSM frequency band and UMTs frequency band, see figure 6, par [0027]-[0028] and [0031]-[0032]).
However, Black discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically the wireless communication device as a vehicle and the first diversity receiver as first modem with the first connection port and the second connection port operable on the first cellular network, and the second dual band transceiver as second modem with the third connection port and the fourth connection operable on the second cellular network, the first antenna and the second antenna are each in communication with the first modem and the second modem via the at least splitter, and the first and second antennas transmitting and receiving radio frequency signals on at least one of the first cellular network and the second cellular network through the splitter paths.
Nonetheless, Fu discloses radio frequency circuit 200 in an electronic device that would be a car device, including first modem 202 with its input and output ports and processing 4G network signal flow, and including second modem 203 with its input and output ports and processing 5G network signal flow; first splitters 204 with its input and output ports connecting first antennas 205 to both modems that each having its own input and output ports, second splitter 207 with its input and output ports connecting second antennas 206 to both modems that each having its own input and output ports; and the radio frequency circuit 200 including the first modem 202, second modem 203, splitters 204/207 and antennas 205/206 configured for transmitting and receiving 4G and 5G network signals, figures 3, 6 and 9, par [0029], [0048], [0051]-[0059], [0093], [0095] and [0109]-[0114].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Fu into the teaching of Black, to modify Black’s wireless communication device having receiver and transceiver antenna splitter routing using of Fu’s car device with splitters and separate 4G and 5G modems, in order to allow the wireless communication device to be adapted for a car device RF system and support both 4G and 4G cellular network standards at the same time through separate first and second modems (see [0003] and [0029] of Fu).
Consider claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Black, as modified by Fu, discloses wherein said at least one splitter comprises a first splitter and a second splitter, with said first splitter including said first splitter port, said second splitter port, and said third splitter port, and said second splitter including said fourth splitter port, said fifth splitter port, and said sixth splitter port (read as the first splitter 25 with its input port and two output ports; and second splitter 32 with its input port and two output ports, see figure 6, par [0027]-[0028]).
Consider claim 6, as applied to claim 1 above, Black, as modified by Fu, discloses wherein at least one of said first antenna and said second antenna are configured to transmit and/or receive radio signals having a frequency of from 400 megahertz to 6 gigahertz (read as GSM frequency band using 850 MHz and UMTS frequency band using 2100 MHz, par [0031]-[0032]).
Consider claim 9, Black discloses an antenna system (read as the antenna system for wireless communication device or a split band diversity antenna arrangement 50 (similar to device 30 of FIG. 4 or device 41 of FIG. 5), fig. 6, par [0028]) for providing connectivity for an wireless communication device including a first diversity receiver operable on a first cellular network and having a first connection port and a second connection port (read as the connectivity for wireless communication device including first diversity receiver 26 operable on at least first band (i.e. GSM cellular using 850 MHz) and having first input port and second input port as shown in figure 6, par [0027]-[0028], [0031]-[0032] and [0018]), and a second transceiver operable on a second cellular network, different than the first cellular network, and having a fifth connection port and a sixth connection port (read as the dual band transceiver 28 operable on at least second band (i.e. UMTS frequency band using 2100 MHz, different than lower/first band (GSM frequency band using 850 MHz)) and having third input port and fourth input port as shown in figure 6, par [0027]-[0028], [0031]-[0032] and [0018]), said antenna system comprising:
a first antenna including a first connection interface and a first radiating element in communication with said first connection interface and operable to transmit and/or receive radio frequency signals, said first antenna configured to be disposed on the wireless communication device (read as the first antenna 22 disposed on wireless communication device with its output and operable to transmit and/or receive the GSM frequency band and UMTs frequency band, see figure 6, par [0027]-[0028] and [0031]-[0032]);
a second antenna including a second connection interface and a second radiating element in communication with said second connection interface and operable to transmit and/or receive radio frequency signals, said second antenna configured to be disposed on the wireless communication device (read as the second antenna 24 disposed on wireless communication device with its output and operable to transmit and/or receive the GSM frequency band and UMTs frequency band, see figure 6, par [0027]-[0028] and [0031]-[0032]);
at least one splitter (read as the combination of first splitter 25 and second splitter 32, see figure 6, par [0027]-[0028]) including:
a first splitter port in communication with said first connection interface of said first antenna (read as the input port of first splitter 25 in communication with output port of first antenna 22, see figure 6, par [0027]-[0028]);
a second splitter port in communication with said first splitter port and configured to be in communication with one of the first connection port and the second connection port of the first diversity receiver of the wireless communication device (read as first output port of first splitter 25 in communication with the input port of the first splitter 25 and configured to be in communication with the first input port of first diversity receiver 26, see figure 6, par [0027]-[0028]);
a third splitter port in communication with said first splitter port and configured to be in communication with one of the fifth connection port and the sixth connection port of the second dual band transceiver of the wireless communication device (read as second output port of first splitter 25 in communication with the input port of the first splitter 25 and configured to be in communication with the third input port of second dual band transceiver 28 26, see figure 6, par [0027]-[0028]);
a fourth splitter port in communication with said second connection interface of said second antenna (read as the input port of first splitter 32 in communication with output port of second antenna 24, see figure 6, par [0027]-[0028]),
a fifth splitter port in communication with said fourth splitter port and configured to be in communication with the other of the first connection port and the second connection port of the first diversity receiver of the wireless communication device (read a first output port of first splitter 32 in communication with the input port of the second splitter 32 and configured to be in communication with the second input port of first diversity receiver 26, see figure 6, par [0027]-[0028]), and
a sixth splitter port in communication with said fourth splitter port and configured to be in communication with the other of the fifth connection port and the sixth connection port of the second dual band transceiver of the wireless communication device (read as second output port of second splitter 32 in communication with the input port of the first splitter 32 and configured to be in communication with the fourth input port of second dual band transceiver 28 26, see figure 6, par [0027]-[0028]);
wherein said first antenna is configured to be in communication with the first diversity receiver and the second dual band transceiver via said at least one splitter for transmitting and/or receiving radio frequency signals on at least one of the first cellular network and the second cellular network (read as the first antenna 22 is in communication with first diversity receiver 26 and the second dual band transceiver via the first splitter 25 for transmitting and/or receiving at least one of the GSM frequency band and UMTs frequency band, see figure 6, par [0027]-[0028] and [0031]-[0032]); and
wherein said second antenna is configured to be in communication with the first diversity receiver and the second dual band transceiver via said at least one splitter for transmitting and/or receiving radio frequency signals on at least one of the first cellular network and the second cellular network (read as the second antenna 24 is in communication with first diversity receiver 26 and the second dual band transceiver via the second splitter 32 for transmitting and/or receiving at least one of the GSM frequency band and UMTs frequency band, see figure 6, par [0027]-[0028] and [0031]-[0032]).
However, Black discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically the wireless communication device as a vehicle and the first diversity receiver as first modem with the first connection port and the second connection port operable on the first cellular network, and the second dual band transceiver as second modem with the third connection port and the fourth connection operable on the second cellular network, the first antenna and the second antenna are each in communication with the first modem and the second modem via the at least splitter, and the first and second antennas transmitting and receiving radio frequency signals on at least one of the first cellular network and the second cellular network through the splitter paths; and fourth antennas and fourth splitter such that the first modem further having a third connection port, and a fourth connection port, and the second modem further having a seventh connection port, and an eighth connection port; and a third splitter including: a seventh splitter port in communication with said third connection interface of said third antenna, an eighth splitter port in communication with said seventh splitter port and configured to be in communication with one of the first connection port, the second connection port, the third connection port, and the fourth connection port of the first modem of the vehicle, and a ninth splitter port in communication with said seventh splitter port and configured to be in communication with one of the fifth connection port, the sixth connection port, the seventh connection port, and the eighth connection port of the second modem of the vehicle; and a fourth splitter including: a tenth splitter port in communication with said fourth connection interface of said fourth antenna, an eleventh splitter port in communication with said tenth splitter port and configured to be in communication with one of the first connection port, the second connection port, the third connection port, and the fourth connection port of the first modem of the vehicle, and a twelfth splitter port in communication with said tenth splitter port and configured to be in communication with one of the fifth connection port, the sixth connection port, the seventh connection port, and the eighth connection port of the second modem of the vehicle; wherein said third antenna is configured to be in communication with the first modem and the second modem via said third splitter for transmitting and/or receiving radio frequency signals on at least one of the first cellular network and the second cellular network; and wherein said fourth antenna is configured to be in communication with the first modem and the second modem via said fourth splitter for transmitting and/or receiving radio frequency signals on at least one of the first cellular network and the second cellular network.
Nonetheless, Fu discloses radio frequency circuit 200 in an electronic device that would be a car device, including first modem 202 with its input and output ports and processing 4G network signal flow, and including second modem 203 with its input and output ports and processing 5G network signal flow; two first splitters 204 with its input and output ports connecting two first antennas 205 to both modems that each having its own input and output ports, second splitter 207 with its input and output ports connecting second antennas 206 to both modems that each having its own input and output ports; and the radio frequency circuit 200 including the first modem 202, second modem 203, splitters 204/207 and antennas 205/206 configured for transmitting and receiving 4G and 5G network signals, figures 3, 6 and 9, par [0029], [0048], [0051]-[0059], [0093], [0095] and [0109]-[0114].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Fu into the teaching of Black, to modify Black’s wireless communication device having receiver and transceiver antenna splitter routing using of Fu’s car device with splitters and separate 4G and 5G modems, in order to allow the wireless communication device to be adapted for a car device RF system and support both 4G and 4G cellular network standards at the same time through separate first and second modems (see [0003] and [0029] of Fu).
Consider claim 12, Black discloses a connectivity system for a wireless communication device (read as the antenna system for wireless communication device or a split band diversity antenna arrangement 50 (similar to device 30 of FIG. 4 or device 41 of FIG. 5), fig. 6, par [0028]) comprising:
a plurality of receivers, with each receiver of said plurality of receivers operable on different cellular networks (read as the connectivity for wireless communication device including first diversity receiver 26 operable on at least first band (i.e. GSM cellular using 850 MHz) and having first input port and second input port as shown in figure 6; and the dual band transceiver 28 operable on at least second band (i.e. UMTS frequency band using 2100 MHz, different than lower/first band (GSM frequency band using 850 MHz)) and having third input port and fourth input port as shown in figure 6, par [0027]-[0028] and [0031]-[0032]);
a first antenna including a first connection interface and a first radiating element in communication with said first connection interface and operable to transmit and/or receive radio frequency signals and configured to be disposed on the wireless communication device (read as the first antenna 22 disposed on wireless communication device with its output and operable to transmit and/or receive the GSM frequency band and UMTs frequency band, see figure 6, par [0027]-[0028] and [0031]-[0032]);
a second antenna including a second connection interface and a second radiating element in communication with said second connection interface and operable to transmit and/or receive radio frequency signals and configured to be disposed on the wireless communication device (read as the second antenna 24 disposed on wireless communication device with its output and operable to transmit and/or receive the GSM frequency band and UMTs frequency band, see figure 6, par [0027]-[0028] and [0031]-[0032]);
at least one splitter (read as the combination of first splitter 25 and second splitter 32, see figure 6, par [0027]-[0028]) including:
a first splitter port in communication with said first connection interface of said first antenna (read as the input port of first splitter 25 in communication with output port of first antenna 22, see figure 6, par [0027]-[0028]);
a second splitter port in communication with said first splitter port and in communication with one modem of said plurality of receivers (read as first output port of first splitter 25 in communication with the input port of the first splitter 25 and configured to be in communication with the first input port of first diversity receiver 26, see figure 6, par [0027]-[0028]);
a third splitter port in communication with said first splitter port and in communication with another modem of said plurality of receivers (read as second output port of first splitter 25 in communication with the input port of the first splitter 25 and configured to be in communication with the third input port of second dual band transceiver 28 26, see figure 6, par [0027]-[0028]);
a fourth splitter port in communication with said second connection interface of said second antenna (read as the input port of first splitter 32 in communication with output port of second antenna 24, see figure 6, par [0027]-[0028]),
a fifth splitter port in communication with said fourth splitter port and in communication with one modem of said plurality of receivers (read a first output port of first splitter 32 in communication with the input port of the second splitter 32 and configured to be in communication with the second input port of first diversity receiver 26, see figure 6, par [0027]-[0028]), and
a sixth splitter port in communication with said fourth splitter port and in communication with another modem of said plurality of receivers (read as second output port of second splitter 32 in communication with the input port of the first splitter 32 and configured to be in communication with the fourth input port of second dual band transceiver 28 26, see figure 6, par [0027]-[0028]);
wherein said first antenna is in communication with at least two modems of said plurality of modems via said at least one splitter for transmitting and/or receiving radio frequency signals on at least two of the different cellular networks (read as the first antenna 22 is in communication with first diversity receiver 26 and the second dual band transceiver via the first splitter 25 for transmitting and/or receiving at least one of the GSM frequency band and UMTs frequency band, see figure 6, par [0027]-[0028] and [0031]-[0032], and
wherein said second antenna is in communication with at least two modems of said plurality of modems via said at least one splitter for transmitting and/or receiving radio frequency signals on at least two of the different cellular networks (read as the second antenna 24 is in communication with first diversity receiver 26 and the second dual band transceiver via the second splitter 32 for transmitting and/or receiving at least one of the GSM frequency band and UMTs frequency band, see figure 6, par [0027]-[0028] and [0031]-[0032]).
However, Black discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically the wireless communication device as a vehicle and the first diversity receiver as first modem with the first connection port and the second connection port operable on the first cellular network, and the second dual band transceiver as second modem with the third connection port and the fourth connection operable on the second cellular network, the first antenna and the second antenna are each in communication with the first modem and the second modem via the at least splitter, and the first and second antennas transmitting and receiving radio frequency signals on at least one of the first cellular network and the second cellular network through the splitter paths.
Nonetheless, Fu discloses radio frequency circuit 200 in an electronic device that would be a car device, including first modem 202 with its input and output ports and processing 4G network signal flow, and including second modem 203 with its input and output ports and processing 5G network signal flow; first splitters 204 with its input and output ports connecting first antennas 205 to both modems that each having its own input and output ports, second splitter 207 with its input and output ports connecting second antennas 206 to both modems that each having its own input and output ports; and the radio frequency circuit 200 including the first modem 202, second modem 203, splitters 204/207 and antennas 205/206 configured for transmitting and receiving 4G and 5G network signals, figures 3, 6 and 9, par [0029], [0048], [0051]-[0059], [0093], [0095] and [0109]-[0114].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Fu into the teaching of Black, to modify Black’s wireless communication device having receiver and transceiver antenna splitter routing using of Fu’s car device with splitters and separate 4G and 5G modems, in order to allow the wireless communication device to be adapted for a car device RF system and support both 4G and 4G cellular network standards at the same time through separate first and second modems (see [0003] and [0029] of Fu).
Consider claim 13, as applied to claim 12 above, Black, as modified by Fu, discloses
wherein said plurality of modems comprises: a first receiver operable on a first cellular network; and a second receiver operable on a second cellular network different than the first cellular network (read as the connectivity for wireless communication device including first diversity receiver 26 operable on at least first band (i.e. GSM cellular using 850 MHz) and having first input port and second input port as shown in figure 6; and the dual band transceiver 28 operable on at least second band (i.e. UMTS frequency band using 2100 MHz, different than lower/first band (GSM frequency band using 850 MHz)) and having third input port and fourth input port as shown in figure 6, par [0027]-[0028] and [0031]-[0032]); wherein said second splitter port is in communication with said first receiver and said third splitter port is in communication with said second receiver such that said first antenna is in communication with said first receiver and said second receiver for transmitting and/or receiving radio frequency signals on the first cellular network and the second cellular network (read as the first antenna 22 is in communication with first diversity receiver 26 and the second dual band transceiver via the first splitter 25 for transmitting and/or receiving at least one of the GSM frequency band and UMTs frequency band, see figure 6, par [0027]-[0028] and [0031]-[0032]); and wherein said fifth splitter port is in communication with said first receiver and said sixth splitter port is in communication with said second receiver such that said second antenna is in communication with said first modem and said second modem for transmitting and/or receiving radio frequency signals on the first cellular network and the second cellular network (read as the second antenna 24 is in communication with first diversity receiver 26 and the second dual band transceiver via the second splitter 32 for transmitting and/or receiving at least one of the GSM frequency band and UMTs frequency band, see figure 6, par [0027]-[0028] and [0031]-[0032]).
However, Black, as modified by Fu, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically the wireless communication device as a vehicle and the first diversity receiver as first modem and the second dual band transceiver as second modem.
Nonetheless, Fu discloses radio frequency circuit 200 in an electronic device that would be a car device, including first modem 202 with its input and output ports and processing 4G network signal flow, and including second modem 203 with its input and output ports and processing 5G network signal flow; first splitters 204 with its input and output ports connecting first antennas 205 to both modems that each having its own input and output ports, second splitter 207 with its input and output ports connecting second antennas 206 to both modems that each having its own input and output ports; and the radio frequency circuit 200 including the first modem 202, second modem 203, splitters 204/207 and antennas 205/206 configured for transmitting and receiving 4G and 5G network signals, figures 3, 6 and 9, par [0029], [0048], [0051]-[0059], [0093], [0095] and [0109]-[0114].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Fu into the teaching of Black, which modified by Fu, to modify Black’s wireless communication device having receiver and transceiver antenna splitter routing using of Fu’s car device with splitters and separate 4G and 5G modems, in order to allow the wireless communication device to be adapted for a car device RF system and support both 4G and 4G cellular network standards at the same time through separate first and second modems (see [0003] and [0029] of Fu).
Consider claim 14, as applied to claim 13 above, Black, as modified by Fu, discloses wherein said at least one splitter comprises a first splitter and a second splitter, with said first splitter including said first splitter port, said second splitter port, and said third splitter port, and said second splitter including said fourth splitter port, said fifth splitter port, and said sixth splitter port (read as the first splitter 25 with its input port and two output ports; and second splitter 32 with its input port and two output ports, see figure 6, par [0027]-[0028]).
Claims 3-5 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Black et al. (US 20110014958 A1) in view of Fu (CN 110190860 A), and in further view of Weissman et al. (US 20210050868 A1).
Consider claim 3, as applied to claim 1 above, Black, as modified by Fu, discloses the claimed invention and the antennas, splitters and modems above but does not specifically disclose a plurality of amplifiers operatively connected with said first antenna and said second antenna to increase the amplitude of the radio frequency signals transmitted to/from the first modem and/or the second modem via said first antenna and/or said second antenna.
Nonetheless, Weissman disclose an antenna system with diversity, comprising first and second amplifiers for amplifying (i.e. increase the amplitude of) the RF signal received by antenna 820 and 830 before being inputted into the input ports of splitters 822 and 832 for splitting; and having third and fourth amplifiers (amplifiers before the mixers of component 826 and 836) for amplifying (i.e. increase the amplitude of) the outputs from the output ports of the splitters 822 and 830 before further inputted into the input ports of other circuits elements for further processing, figure 8A, par [0114]-[0116].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Weissman into the teaching of Black, which modified by Fu, to utilize amplifiers before and after the splitters in order to achieve desired signal strength.
Consider claim 4, as applied to claim 3 above, Black, as modified by Fu and Weissman, discloses the claimed invention and the antennas, splitters and modems above but does not specifically disclose wherein said plurality of amplifiers comprises: a first amplifier interposed between said first connection interface of said first antenna and said first splitter port; and a second amplifier interposed between said second connection interface of said second antenna and said fourth splitter port.
Nonetheless, Weissman disclose an antenna system with diversity, comprising first and second amplifiers for amplifying (i.e. increase the amplitude of) the RF signal received by antenna 820 and 830 before being inputted into the input ports of splitters 822 and 832 for splitting; and having third and fourth amplifiers (amplifiers before the mixers of component 826 and 836) for amplifying (i.e. increase the amplitude of) the outputs from the output ports of the splitters 822 and 830 before further inputted into the input ports of other circuits elements for further processing, figure 8A, par [0114]-[0116].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Weissman into the teaching of Black, which modified by Fu and Weissman, to utilize amplifiers before and after the splitters in order to achieve desired signal strength.
Consider claim 5, as applied to claim 3 above, Black, as modified by Fu and Weissman, discloses the claimed invention and the antennas, splitters and modems of vehicle above but does not specifically disclose wherein said plurality of amplifiers comprises: a first amplifier in communication with said second splitter port and configured to be in communication with one of the first connection port and the second connection port of the first modem of the vehicle; a second amplifier in communication with said third splitter port and configured to be in communication with one of the third connection port and the fourth connection port of the second modem of the vehicle; a third amplifier in communication with said fifth splitter port and configured to be in communication with the other of the first connection port and the second connection port of the first modem of the vehicle; and a fourth amplifier in communication with said sixth splitter port and configured to be in communication with the other of the third connection port and the fourth connection port of the second modem of the vehicle.
Nonetheless, Weissman disclose an antenna system with diversity, comprising first and second amplifiers for amplifying (i.e. increase the amplitude of) the RF signal received by antenna 820 and 830 before being inputted into the input ports of splitters 822 and 832 for splitting; and having third and fourth amplifiers (amplifiers before the mixers of component 826 and 836) for amplifying (i.e. increase the amplitude of) the outputs from the output ports of the splitters 822 and 830 before further inputted into the input ports of other circuits elements for further processing, figure 8A, par [0114]-[0116].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Weissman into the teaching of Black, which modified by Fu and Weissman, to utilize amplifiers before and after the splitters in order to achieve desired signal strength.
Consider claim 10, as applied to claim 9 above, Black, as modified by Fu, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein a plurality of amplifiers operatively connected with at least one of said first antenna, said second antenna, said third antenna, and said fourth antenna to increase the amplitude of the radio frequency signals provided to the first modem and/or the second modem.
Nonetheless, Weissman disclose an antenna system with diversity, comprising first and second amplifiers for amplifying (i.e. increase the amplitude of) the RF signal received by antenna 820 and 830 before being inputted into the input ports of splitters 822 and 832 for splitting; and having third and fourth amplifiers (amplifiers before the mixers of component 826 and 836) for amplifying (i.e. increase the amplitude of) the outputs from the output ports of the splitters 822 and 830 before further inputted into the input ports of other circuits elements for further processing, figure 8A, par [0114]-[0116].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Weissman into the teaching of Black, which modified by Fu, to utilize amplifiers before and after the splitters in order to achieve desired signal strength.
Claim 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Black et al. (US 20110014958 A1) in view of Fu (CN 110190860 A), and in further view of Jensen (US 10567021 A1).
Consider claim 7, as applied to claim 1 above, Black, as modified by Fu, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein at least one of said first antenna and said second antenna are omnidirectional antennas
Nonetheless, Jensen discloses an antenna system for use in vehicle, comprising antennas 302 and 304, splitters 306 and 308 for splitting the received signals by the comprising antennas 302 and 304; wherein the antennas (302/304) are omni-directional antennas, figures 3 and 9, col. 10 with lines 30-65, col. 21 and 62-63.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Jensen into the teaching of Black, which modified by Fu, to design the antennas as omni-directional antennas in order to allow the wireless vehicular communication system to provide coverages in all directions.
Claims 8 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Black et al. (US 20110014958 A1) in view of Fu (CN 110190860 A), and in further view of Ishibashi (US 20090140938 A1).
Consider claim 8, as applied to claim 1 above, Black, as modified by Fu, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein at least one of said first antenna and said second antenna have a transmittance of 70% or greater and are configured to be disposed on a transparent pane of the vehicle.
Nonetheless, Ishibashi discloses transparent antennas configured to be installed/attached to vehicle glass (front glass) and having transmittance of 70% or greater, par [0068]-[0039] and [0093].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ishibashi into the teaching of Black, which modified by Fu, to configure the antennas of the wireless vehicular communication system as transparent antennas with transmittance of 70% or greater disposed on the vehicle glass as taught by Ishibashi in order to integrate the antennas into the vehicle glazing while maintaining visibility and improving aesthetics by not having visible external antenna structures.
Consider claim 11, as applied to claim 9 above, Black, as modified by Fu and Petersson, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein at least one of said first antenna, said second antenna, said third antenna, and said fourth antenna have a transmittance of 70% or greater and are configured to be disposed on a transparent pane of the vehicle.
Nonetheless, Ishibashi discloses transparent antennas configured to be installed/attached to vehicle glass (front glass) and having transmittance of 70% or greater, par [0068]-[0039] and [0093].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ishibashi into the teaching of Black, which modified by Fu, to configure the antennas of the wireless vehicular communication system as transparent antennas with transmittance of 70% or greater disposed on the vehicle glass as taught by Ishibashi in order to integrate the antennas into the vehicle glazing while maintaining visibility and improving aesthetics by not having visible external antenna structures.
Claims 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Black et al. (US 20110014958 A1) in view of Fu (CN 110190860 A), and in further view of Zhu et al. (US 20250100488 A1).
Consider claim 15, as applied to claim 12 above, Black, as modified by Fu, discloses wherein said plurality of modems comprises: a first modem operable on a first cellular network; a second modem operable on a second cellular network different than the first cellular network (read as the connectivity for wireless communication device including first diversity receiver 26 operable on at least first band (i.e. GSM cellular using 850 MHz) and having first input port and second input port as shown in figure 6; and the dual band transceiver 28 operable on at least second band (i.e. UMTS frequency band using 2100 MHz, different than lower/first band (GSM frequency band using 850 MHz)) and having third input port and fourth input port as shown in figure 6, par [0027]-[0028] and [0031]-[0032]); wherein said second splitter port is in communication with one of said first modem, said second modem, and a third modem, and said third splitter port is in communication with another of said first modem, said second modem, and said third modem such that said first antenna is in communication with at least two of said first modem, said second modem, and said third modem for transmitting and/or receiving radio frequency signals on at least two of the first cellular network, the second cellular network, and the third cellular network (read as the first antenna 22 is in communication with first diversity receiver 26 and the second dual band transceiver via the first splitter 25 for transmitting and/or receiving at least one of the GSM frequency band and UMTs frequency band, see figure 6, par [0027]-[0028] and [0031]-[0032]); and wherein said fifth splitter port is in communication with one of said first modem, said second modem, and said third modem, and said sixth splitter port is in communication with another of said first modem, said second modem, and said third modem such that said second antenna is in communication with at least two of said first modem, said second modem, and said third modem for transmitting and/or receiving radio frequency signals on at least two of the first cellular network, the second cellular network, and the third cellular network (read as the second antenna 24 is in communication with first diversity receiver 26 and the second dual band transceiver via the second splitter 32 for transmitting and/or receiving at least one of the GSM frequency band and UMTs frequency band, see figure 6, par [0027]-[0028] and [0031]-[0032]).
However, Black, as modified by Fu, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose the third modem operable on a third cellular network different than the first cellular network and the second cellular network.
Nonetheless, Zhu discloses a vehicle with three or more cellular modems, comprising a first cellular modem (used for Telematics services) 210, a second cellular modem 212 (used for other infotainment services on a personal SIM, and it is possible to extend the architecture to support more than 2 cellular radios up to N modems), a C-V2X (Cellular Vehicle-to-Everything) modem 214, par [0030]-[0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Zhu into the teaching of Black, which modified by Fu, to modify the wireless vehicular modem system to include three or more cellular modems for different cellular networks in order to allow the wireless vehicular modem system to provide more network options for different user desired services/situations.
Consider claim 16, as applied to claim 15 above, Black, as modified by Fu and Zhu, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose a third antenna including a third connection interface and a third radiating element in communication with said third connection interface and operable to transmit and/or receive radio frequency signals and configured to be disposed on the vehicle; wherein said third antenna is in communication with at least two of said first modem, said second modem, and said third modem via said at least one splitter for transmitting and/or receiving radio frequency signals on at least two of the first cellular network, the second cellular network, and the third cellular network.
Nonetheless, Fu discloses radio frequency circuit 200 in an electronic device that would be a car device, including first modem 202 with its input and output ports and processing 4G network signal flow, and including second modem 203 with its input and output ports and processing 5G network signal flow; first splitters 204 with its input and output ports connecting first antennas 205 to both modems that each having its own input and output ports, second splitter 207 with its input and output ports connecting second antennas 206 to both modems that each having its own input and output ports; and the radio frequency circuit 200 including the first modem 202, second modem 203, splitters 204/207 and antennas 205/206 configured for transmitting and receiving 4G and 5G network signals, figures 3, 6 and 9, par [0029], [0048], [0051]-[0059], [0093], [0095] and [0109]-[0114].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Fu into the teaching of Black, which modified by Fu and Zhu, to modify Black’s wireless communication device having receiver and transceiver antenna splitter routing using of Fu’s car device with splitters and separate 4G and 5G modems, in order to allow the wireless communication device to be adapted for a car device RF system and support both 4G and 4G cellular network standards at the same time through separate first and second modems (see [0003] and [0029] of Fu).
Consider claim 17, as applied to claim 16 above, Black, as modified by Fu and Zhu, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein said at least one splitter further comprises: a seventh splitter port in communication with said third connection interface of said third antenna, an eighth splitter port in communication with said seventh splitter port and in communication with one of said first modem, said second modem, and said third modem, and a ninth splitter port in communication with said seventh splitter port and in communication with another of said first modem, said second modem, and said third modem.
Nonetheless, Fu discloses radio frequency circuit 200 in an electronic device that would be a car device, including first modem 202 with its input and output ports and processing 4G network signal flow, and including second modem 203 with its input and output ports and processing 5G network signal flow; first splitters 204 with its input and output ports connecting first antennas 205 to both modems that each having its own input and output ports, second splitter 207 with its input and output ports connecting second antennas 206 to both modems that each having its own input and output ports; and the radio frequency circuit 200 including the first modem 202, second modem 203, splitters 204/207 and antennas 205/206 configured for transmitting and receiving 4G and 5G network signals, figures 3, 6 and 9, par [0029], [0048], [0051]-[0059], [0093], [0095] and [0109]-[0114].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Fu into the teaching of Black, which modified by Fu and Zhu, to modify Black’s wireless communication device having receiver and transceiver antenna splitter routing using of Fu’s car device with splitters and separate 4G and 5G modems, in order to allow the wireless communication device to be adapted for a car device RF system and support both 4G and 4G cellular network standards at the same time through separate first and second modems (see [0003] and [0029] of Fu).
Consider claim 18, as applied to claim 17 above, Black, as modified by Fu and Zhu, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein said at least one splitter comprises a first splitter, a second splitter, and a third splitter, with said first splitter including said first splitter port, said second splitter port, and said third splitter port, said second splitter including said fourth splitter port, said fifth splitter port, and said sixth splitter port, and said third splitter including said seventh splitter port, said eighth splitter port, and said ninth splitter port.
Nonetheless, Fu discloses radio frequency circuit 200 in an electronic device that would be a car device, including first modem 202 with its input and output ports and processing 4G network signal flow, and including second modem 203 with its input and output ports and processing 5G network signal flow; first splitters 204 with its input and output ports connecting first antennas 205 to both modems that each having its own input and output ports, second splitter 207 with its input and output ports connecting second antennas 206 to both modems that each having its own input and output ports; and the radio frequency circuit 200 including the first modem 202, second modem 203, splitters 204/207 and antennas 205/206 configured for transmitting and receiving 4G and 5G network signals, figures 3, 6 and 9, par [0029], [0048], [0051]-[0059], [0093], [0095] and [0109]-[0114].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Fu into the teaching of Black, which modified by Fu and Zhu, to modify Black’s wireless communication device having receiver and transceiver antenna splitter routing using of Fu’s car device with splitters and separate 4G and 5G modems, in order to allow the wireless communication device to be adapted for a car device RF system and support both 4G and 4G cellular network standards at the same time through separate first and second modems (see [0003] and [0029] of Fu).
Claim 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Black et al. (US 20110014958 A1) in view of Fu (CN 110190860 A), and in further view of Zhu et al. (US 20250100488 A1), and in further view of Weissman et al. (US 20210050868 A1).
Consider claim 19, as applied to claim 1 above, Black, as modified by Fu and Zhu, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose a plurality of amplifiers operatively connected with at least one of said first antenna, said second antenna, and said third antenna to increase the amplitude of the radio frequency signals provided to said first modem, said second modem, and/or said third modem.
Nonetheless, Weissman disclose an antenna system with diversity, comprising first and second amplifiers for amplifying (i.e. increase the amplitude of) the RF signal received by antenna 820 and 830 before being inputted into the input ports of splitters 822 and 832 for splitting; and having third and fourth amplifiers (amplifiers before the mixers of component 826 and 836) for amplifying (i.e. increase the amplitude of) the outputs from the output ports of the splitters 822 and 830 before further inputted into the input ports of other circuits elements for further processing, figure 8A, par [0114]-[0116].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Weissman into the teaching of Black, which modified by Fu and Zhu, to utilize amplifiers before and after the splitters in order to achieve desired signal strength.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Junpeng Chen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645