DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 22-23, 25 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US 2008/0261558 (Enriquez).
As to claim 22, Enriquez teaches a method comprising:
receiving, by a processor of a telephone network, from a mobile device, at least one telephone call that comprises at least one dialed telephone number comprising at least one code (facilitator 14 of carrier 16 received SMS from device 12a sent to shortcode, see paragraphs 22-23 and 34-35);
generating, by the processor, a billing record associated with the mobile device (see paragraphs 36 and 41); and
initiating, by the processor, a payment to a third-party based at least in part on the billing record (if transferee is an existing user, facilitator facilitates transfer of money to recipient 12b, see paragraphs 34-36).
As to claim 23, Enriquez further teaches wherein the receiving the at least one telephone call is in accordance with at least one of:a mobile originating cellular communications protocol or a communications protocol of a transmission control protocol/Internet protocol (TCP/IP) suite (see paragraphs 21-23).
As to claim 25, Enriquez further teaches wherein at least one telephone call is associated with an identity comprising at least one of: a cellular identity or derived from the cellular identity (see paragraphs 35-36).
As to claim 28, Enriquez further teaches wherein the at least one telephone network is configured to accept at least one part of the at least one dialed telephone number as request-related charge to be applied to a cellular account (see paragraphs 27-34, shortcode includes numbers indicating how much money is to be transferred).
As to claim 29, Enriquez further teaches wherein the at least one telephone call comprises at least one of: a Telephony call setup request, a Short Message Service request, or an Unstructured Supplementary Services Data request (see paragraph 34).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enriquez in view of US 2012/0278214 (Kumar et al.).
As to claim 24, what is explicitly lacking form Enriquez is wherein at least one telephone call is associated with at least one of: an access-restricted internet content or an access-restricted internet service.
In analogous art, Kumar teaches an analogous method in which request is to pay for access restricted internet service/content (see Kumar, paragraphs 56 and 61-62).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Enriquez so as to enhance what the user of the mobile device can pay for using carrier billing.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enriquez in view of US 2015/0052034 (Kim et al.).
As to claim 26, what is explicitly lacking form Enriquez is wherein the cellular identity is one of:an International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI), a cryptographically hashed IMSI,a Mobile Station International Subscriber Directory Number (MSISDN), or a cryptographically hashed MSISDN.
In analogous art, Kim teaches an analogous method in which the cellular identity is an MSISDN (see Kim, figure 5B, step 114).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Enriquez so as to use a well known cellular identity to identify the mobile device.
Claims 27 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enriquez in view of US 2003/0156697 (Svercek).
As to claim 27, what is explicitly lacking form Enriquez is wherein the at least one telephone call comprises symbolically prefixed address signals specifying the at least one code.
In analogous art, Svercek teaches a vertical service code (~shortcode of Enriquez) being symbolically prefixed (see Svercek, paragraph 11).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Enriquez so as to make the code more transparent to both the user and network.
As to claim 30, what is explicitly lacking form Enriquez is wherein the at least one telephone call comprises at least one hook flash protocol.
In analogous art, Svercek teaches a vertical service code (~shortcode of Enriquez) being sent using hook flash protocol (see Svercek, paragraphs 11 and 13).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Enriquez so as to make the code more transparent to both the user and network.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2015/0363776 (Gomez et al.).
/MAZDA SABOURI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641