DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on Mar 27, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1–6 are currently pending. Claims 1–6 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-7, filed 03/27/2026, states that Zhou fails to explicitly disclose the first analysis result including positional information of an organ region, a lesion region, or an anatomical landmark in the medical image data. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Based on the broadest reasonable claim language interpretation, Zhou discloses the first analysis result including positional information of an organ region, a lesion region, or an anatomical landmark in the medical image data. Zhou expressly states that medical image segmentation detects boundaries of structures such as organs, vessels, different tissues, pathologies, and medical devices in medical images of a patient, and further explains that automatic segmentation of anatomical objects supports medical image analysis tasks such as diagnosis and quantification. Zhou’s system receives a medical image, determines a current segmentation context, selects one or more segmentation algorithms based on that context, and segments a target anatomical structure in the medical image using the selected algorithm. The resulting segmentation result / mask identifies the pixels or voxels corresponding to the target anatomical structure and therefore includes positional information of an organ region, lesion / pathology region, or anatomical landmark in the medical image data (see Zhou, [0049-0050]). Thus, Zhou does meet the limitations of the claim.
Applicant’s additional arguments, at pages 5-7, filed 03/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1, 2, 5, and 6 under 35 U.S.C. §102, and claims 3-4 under 35 U.S.C. §103 over Zhou, which was applied to the original claim set have been fully considered and are persuasive [with regard to the additionally added limitations of displaying a human body model in which the first analysis result is superimposed as a region at a position corresponding to the positional information]. Therefore, the previous 35 U.S.C. §102 and 35 U.S.C. §103 rejection has been withdrawn following Applicant’s amendment to the claims. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of prior art rejection is made in further view of the newly found prior art reference Raman. The present subsequent §103 rejection reflects the Examiner’s consideration of the amended claim scope and the results of the previous and/or additional search conducted in response thereto.
Based on these facts, this action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (Zhou et al. US 2019/0205606 A1, 2019) in view of Raman (Raman et al, US 2020/0178839 A1, 2020).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou discloses an image analysis support apparatus, comprising:
processing circuitry configured to:
acquire a first analysis result obtained through analysis of medical image data performed by a first analysis application, the first analysis result including positional information of an organ region, a lesion region, or an anatomical landmark in the medical image data; and
( Zhou, in [0049–0050], [Fig. 1]: discloses a computer system running a master segmentation artificial agent that medical image segmentation detects boundaries of structures such as organs, vessels, different tissues, pathologies, and medical devices in medical images. Zhou further teaches that the master segmentation artificial agent receives a medical image, first analyzes the medical image to determine a current segmentation context / image characteristics, and performs segmentation of a target anatomical structure in the medical image using a selected segmentation algorithm. This “current segmentation context” is a result of analysis performed on the medical image by the first stage of the master agent and constitutes a first analysis result obtained through analysis of medical image data by a first analysis application (the context-determination network of the master agent). The resulting segmentation result / mask identifies the pixels or voxels corresponding to the target anatomical structure and therefore includes positional information of an organ region, lesion / pathology region, or anatomical landmark in the medical image data. )
determine at least one candidate relating to a second analysis application based on the first analysis result, the second analysis application further analyzing the medical image data; and
( Zhou, in [0045], [0049–0050], [Fig. 2]: Zhou teaches that the master segmentation artificial agent automatically recognizes a current segmentation context based on the medical image and automatically selects one or more segmentation algorithms from a segmentation algorithm database based on that context. Zhou further teaches selecting not only the type of segmentation algorithm, but also a specific version with parameter settings best suited for the current segmentation task. The selected segmentation algorithm(s) correspond to candidate second analysis applications, and the selected algorithm(s) further analyze the same medical image by segmenting the target anatomical structure. )
Zhou discloses the image-analysis / candidate-selection workflow [0042, 0044-0045, 0047], however Zhou does not clearly teach the amended display feature, where Raman teaches:
display a human body model in which the first analysis result is superimposed as a region at a position corresponding to the positional information.
( Raman, in [0028], [0031–0032], [0038], [Figs. 2, 3, and 5]: Raman teaches warping a 3D generic human body model 30 to generate a 3D human subject model 32 aligned with the patient, mapping estimated body parts onto the adapted 3D human subject model, classifying estimated body parts as regions of interest based on predefined MRI scan protocols, and highlighting the corresponding region of interest on the 3D human subject model. Raman further teaches displaying a simulation of the 3D human subject model on a display. )
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, motivated by the desire to provide an operator with an intuitive body-level visualization of where an image-analysis result is located, to modify Zhou’s image-analysis support apparatus to display Zhou’s segmentation/positional analysis result on a human body model as taught by Raman. Zhou already teaches analyzing medical image data to determine segmentation context, selecting an appropriate downstream segmentation algorithm, and generating a segmentation result identifying the position of a target anatomical structure in the medical image. Raman, in the same medical-imaging context, teaches displaying a 3D human subject model with a corresponding anatomical region of interest highlighted on the model. Applying Raman’s known body-model visualization to Zhou’s positional segmentation result would have predictably improved the operator’s ability to understand the anatomical location of the first analysis result and to select or confirm an appropriate downstream analysis application.
Regarding claim 2, Zhou [as modified by Raman] discloses the image analysis support apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first analysis result includes at least one of a name and a type of the first analysis application.
( Zhou, in [0041]: Zhou discloses a master segmentation artificial agent 102 that automatically selects, for a given segmentation task, a name and a type [0040, version of segmentation algorithm] and a specific version of that algorithm from a segmentation algorithm database 108 storing multiple versions of each segmentation algorithm for different target anatomical structures and imaging modalities. The segmentation result therefore automatically recognizes an algorithm version based on medical images of a patient and automatically selects one or more of the algorithms in segmentation algorithm database 108. )
Regarding claim 3. Zhou [as modified by Raman] discloses the image analysis support apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to select, among the at least one candidate determined, one candidate according to a selection operation performed by an operator,
( Zhou, in [0047]: Zhou teaches that although the master segmentation artificial agent acts autonomously to select one or more segmentation algorithms, a user or clinical site may be provided with a manual override option on a user interface displayed on a display device, allowing the user to override the master segmentation artificial agent and manually choose a specific segmentation algorithm. )
and convert a data format of the first analysis result such that the data format of the first analysis result matches a data format that can be understood by the second analysis application corresponding to the selected candidate.
( Zhou, in [0045], [0049]: Zhou teaches that the master segmentation artificial agent selects not only the type of segmentation algorithm but also a specific version of the algorithm with parameter settings optimized for the current segmentation task, and further teaches automatically switching between different segmentation algorithms for different target anatomical structures and imaging conditions. In doing so, the agent necessarily converts or adapts the intermediate analysis information (segmentation context / features) and the medical image data into the representation required by the selected algorithm version and its parameters, so that the selected algorithm can correctly perform the further segmentation. Thus, Zhou teaches converting the data format of the first analysis result such that it matches a format understood by the selected second analysis application. )
Regarding claim 4, Zhou [as modified by Raman] discloses the image analysis support apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to transmit the first analysis result after the conversion to the second analysis application corresponding to the selected candidate.
( Zhou, in [0050]: Zhou teaches that, after the master segmentation artificial agent selects one or more segmentation algorithms, the computer program instructions corresponding to the selected segmentation algorithm(s) are loaded into memory and executed by one or more processors to perform segmentation of the target anatomical structure in the medical image. )
Regarding claim 5, the rationale in the rejection of claim 1 is provided herein. In addition, the image analysis support system recited in claim 5 corresponds to the functions performed by the image analysis support apparatus of claim 1. In addition, Zhou [as modified by Raman] further teaches a computer / display that presents the 3D human subject model and simulation to the user [Zhou: 0051; Raman: 0025 ].
Regarding claim 6, the rationale in the rejection of claim 1 is provided herein. In addition, the method steps recited in claim 6 corresponds to the functions performed by the image analysis support apparatus of claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KEN KUDO
Examiner
Art Unit 2671
/KEN KUDO/Examiner, Art Unit 2671
/VINCENT RUDOLPH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2671