DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s reply filed on January 12, 2026.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-11, 16, 18-19, 21, 23, 25-28, 36, 47 and 49-51, are currently pending and are the subject of this office action.
Claims 1 and 6 were withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 27, 2025.
Claims 16, 18-19, 21, 23, and 25-26 are further withdrawn since they do not encompass the elected species: visceral pain.
Claims 3-5, 8, 10-11, 27-28, 36, 47 and 49-51 are presently under examination.
Priority
The present application is a 371 of PCT/US04/25336 filed on 08/04/2004 and claims priority to provisional application No. 60/492,367 filed on 08/04/2003.
Rejections and/or Objections and Response to Arguments
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated (Maintained Rejections and/or Objections) or newly applied (New Rejections and/or Objections, Necessitated by Amendment or New Rejections and/or Objections not Necessitated by Amendment). They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Responses to Applicant’s arguments have been addressed immediately after the corresponding rejections, or in the section: Withdrawn Rejections and/or Objections, if the rejection was withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 (New Rejection Not Necessitated by Amendment).
CLAIM INTERPRETATION:
The humans in need thereof (of reducing the dose of an opioid analgesic) are being considered humans suffering from pain that are being administered a composition comprising an opioid and compound A
Claim(s) 3-5, 8, 10-11, 27-28, 36, 47 and 49-51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ehrlich et. al. (Expert Opinion on Therapeutic Targets (2019) 23:315-326, published online 03/15/2019), Koller et. al. (Expert Opinion on Pharmacotherapy (2019) 20:1993-2005, published online 08/16/2019), Vernier et. al. (US 8,993,593, cited in previous office action), Nielsen (WO 2013/067591, 05/16/2013) and Cooke et. al. (WO 2010/085848, 08/05/2010, cited in previous office action).
For claim 3, the prior art teaches that opioid analgesics are effective in treating pain in humans (see Ehrlich et. al and see Koller et. al.). Neither Ehrlich nor Koller teach the treatment of pain comprising the administration of an effective amount of Compound A (Encukalner or Azetukalner or XEN1101):
However, Vernier teaches that compound A:
(see abstract, column 30, lines 8-18, and column 31, lines 55-64) is a KCNQ 2/3 (Kv7 2/3) modulator like for example retigabine:
(see column 2, lines 22-48).
Compound A, like retigabine is effective in treating pain (see column 1, lines 35-38, column 31, lines 46-48) and column 32, lines 7-8). Vernier further teaches that Compound A is superior to retigabine since the KCNQ1 potassium channel is unaffected (see column 2, lines 22-48; column 29, line 61 through column 30, line 21 and column 31, line 33 through column 32, line 8).
Further, Nielsen teaches that retigabine and flupirtine are KCNQ 2/3 (Kv7 2/3) modulators (like compound A) that are effective in treating pain (see [0014] and [0015]) and that compositions comprising an opioid and a KCNQ 2/3 (Kv7 2/3) modulator are effective in treating pain (see for example [0023]). Further, Cooke, like Nielsen teaches a method of treating pain in a human in need thereof comprising the administration of a composition comprising retigabine or flupirtine and an opioid (see abstract, see page 1 under FIELD, see claims 1 and 6). Cooke further teaches that this combination reduces the risk of opioid abuse (see page 1 last paragraph and page 2 until the end).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to treat pain combining two compositions (an opioid and any KCNQ 2/3 (Kv7 2/3) modulator, like compound A) each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose (treating pain), in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose. The idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art (see MPEP 2144.06). In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). See also: In re Diamond, 360 F.2d 214, 53 C.C.P.A. 1172, 149 U.S.P.Q. 562 (C.C.P.A. 1966).
The skilled in the art will be further motivated to treat pain with a combination comprising an opioid and the KCNQ 2/3 (Kv7 2/3) modulator, like compound A, since the prior art (Nielsen and Cooke) already teach that compositions comprising opioids and KCNQ 2/3 (Kv7 2/3) modulators (like retigabine or flupirtine) are already proven to be effective in treating pain. The skilled in the art will be even further motivated to replace any KCNQ 2/3 modulator (including retigabine) with compound A, since Vernier already teaches that compound A has already been proven effective in treating pain and it is superior to retigabine.
The prior art is silent regarding “reducing the dose of opioid analgesic administered to a human in need thereof”. However, it will be obvious that the amount of opioid needed to effectively treat pain in the presence of another agent (i.e. compound A) which is also effective in treating pain, will be less that if the pain had been treated with the opioid analgesic alone.
All this will result in the practice of claim 3, with a reasonable expectation of success.
For claim 4, Koller teaches opioid analgesics like: buprenorphine and methadone (see page 1993, under 1.2). Nielsen teaches that the opioid analgesics can be codeine, hydrocodone, etc. (see [0023] and Cooke teaches that the opioid can be selected from the group consisting of oxycodone, hydromorphone, morphine, hydrocodone, etc. (see page 8, second paragraph),
All this thus will result in the practice of claim 4 with a reasonable expectation of success.
For claims 5 and 8, Vernier teaches that compound A “can affect the opening of, or otherwise modulate, voltage-gated potassium channels” (see abstract). Vernier further teaches that compound A is a KCNQ 2/3 (Kv7 2/3) activator (See column 72, lines 33-35), thus resulting in the practice of claims 5 and 8 with a reasonable expectation of success.
For claims 10-11 and 49-51, Cooke teaches that the pain being treated can be a nociceptive pain (see page 14, third paragraph) wherein the nociceptive pain is visceral pain (see page 14, last paragraph). Nielsen also teaches that the pain being treated can be nociceptive pain (see [0026] and [0053]).
All this will result in the practice of claims 10-11 and 49-51 with a reasonable expectation of success.
For claim 27, Cooke teaches the oral administration of the composition (see page 21, last paragraph and page 22, line 3), Vernier also teaches the oral administration of compound A (see column 30, lines 25-36).
All this will result in the practice of claim 27 with a reasonable expectation of success.
For claims 28 and 36, Vernier teaches the administration of 10 mg up to 2000 mg per day (see column 29, lines 46-50) which overlaps with the instantly claimed ranges (2 mg to 200 mg per day and 5 mg to 1000 mg per day).
MPEP 2144.05 states: In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Even a slight overlap in range establishes a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
"A prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). >See also In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 74 USPQ2d 1951 (Fed. Cir. 2005).
All this will result in the practice of claims 28 and 36 with a reasonable expectation of success.
For claim 47, the prior art does not teach that the compound should be administered 30 minutes before to about 2 hours after eating a meal. However, dose regimen optimization is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize given the guidance of the prior art. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ. As such, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to determine the optimal dose regimen to achieve the best result for a particular patient, thus resulting in the practice of claim 47 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Correspondence
(571) 270-3498. The examiner can normally be reached Flexing M-F 7 AM-7 PM.
/MARCOS L SZNAIDMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628 January 13, 2026.