DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
1. This is in response to application filed on 1/17/2024 in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Costa et al., (US 2018/0139641), (hereinafter, Costa) in view of Abdel Shadid et al., (US 11,096,096), (hereinafter, Abdel).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15, Costa discloses a method/network device/ non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising:
transmitting, by a network device (= radio unit is typically located remotely from the controller and other components of the access node but in certain installations may be collocated with the access node, see [0042]), an indication of physical properties associated with a user equipment (UE) (= user node, see [0047 and 0050]), wherein the physical properties include a route associated with the UE
(= tracking position of user nodes, thereby obtaining both position and velocity information about user nodes in the coverage area the ultra-dense network/other wireless network with which the ultra-dense network is exchanging data, see [0049]);
receiving, by the network device, a metric (= and predicting when user connectivity is expected or likely to be deteriorated or lost, see [0047]) associated with a line-of-sight (LOS) of the UE with a base station (= remote radio units may form a single access node controlled by separate access nodes that are part of one ultra-dense network or communication system, see [0041]), wherein the LOS is while the UE is traveling along the route (= moving physical disturbance 116 blocking the LoS radio link 118, see [0045]; prediction can be made based on the direction and velocity of detected physical disturbance as to whether or not radio links of another user node connected to network 100 are likely to experience a disruption of radio access or when the possible disruption will occur, see [0052]); and
transmitting, by the network device, a message to enable connectivity for the UE based on the metric and one or more other parameters (= actions or adjustment to the connectivity of the affected node can be taken to ensure always on connectivity, see [0047]; imminent reduction in QoS experience, see [0065]; messages may be sent to have user nodes turn on their mobility beacons, see [0081]; and messages can include instruction to initiate a handoff from one radio resource unit to another radio resource unit, see [0077]).
Although Costa discloses that “messages can include instruction to initiate a handoff from one radio resource unit to another radio resource unit; and connectivity adjustment action (see, [0077 and 0066-67]), Costa explicitly fails to mention “a message to enable dual connectivity”.
However, Abdel, which is an analogous art teaches a system and method herein can be used to select or determine whether to use an E-UTRAN New Radio-Dual Connectivity (EN-DC) connection that include both an LTE connection and a 5G connection (see col. 2, lines 33-47).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Abdel with Costa for the benefit of achieving a communication system where an increase data throughput level could be provided by an EN-DC connection.
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, as mentioned in claims 1, 8, and 15, Costa further discloses the method/network device/ non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein the physical properties include one or more of: a latitude associated with the UE, a longitude associated with the UE, a height or elevation associated with the UE, a speed associated with the UE, a data buffer status associated with the UE, or a temperature associated with the UE (= obtaining both position and velocity information about user nodes, see [0049]).
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17, as mentioned in claims 1, 8, and 15, Costa further discloses the method/network device/ non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein the metric indicates a percentage of time, while the UE is traveling along the route, that the UE is expected to have the LOS with the base station (= predicting when user connectivity is expected or likely to be blocked/deteriorated or lost, see [0047 and 0049]).
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 17, as mentioned in claims 1, 8, and 15, Costa further discloses the method/network device/ non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein the metric is based on one or more of: high-resolution terrain data, LOS data
(see [0056 and 0058), clutter data, or information regarding an antenna radiation center associated with the base station.
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 18, as mentioned in claims 1, 8, and 15, Costa further discloses the method/network device/ non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein the one or more other parameters is a network slice parameters associated with single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), and the S-NSSAI includes one or more of: an indication of whether the UE is a smart phone or a customer premises equipment (CPE), an indication of whether the UE is configured for connected mode discontinuous reception (C-DRX), an indication of whether the UE is battery powered or connected to a power source, an indication of whether the UE is mounted to a surface, an indication of whether the UE is to optimize latency (= imminent reduction in QoS experience; and switching to an alternate remote node, see [0065] and maintain latency, see [0066]);, an indication of whether the UE is to optimize throughput, or an indication of whether the UE is to optimize battery life.
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 19, as mentioned in claims 1, 8, and 15, Costa further discloses the method/network device/ non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein the network device is a radio access network (RAN) intelligent controller (RIC) (= controller, see [0040]).
Regarding claims 7, 14 and 20, as mentioned in claims 1, 8, and 15, Costa explicitly fails to disclose method/network device/ non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the dual connectivity is based on a first frequency range and a second frequency range (= frequency for LTE and NR connections, see col. 13, lines 29-55).
However, Abdel, which is an analogous art disclose method/network device/ non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the dual connectivity is based on a first frequency range and a second frequency range.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Abdel with Costa for the benefit of achieving a communication system where an increase data throughput level could be provided by an EN-DC connection.
CONCLUSION
3. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a. Li et al., (US 2011/0116480) teaches method and apparatus to support interference management in multi-tier wireless communication systems.
b. Levin et al., (US 2011/0287778) teaches method and system for estimation of mobile station velocity in a cellular system based on geographical data.
c. Prabhakar et al., (US 2021/0345235) teaches simultaneous network slice usage via dual connectivity.
/Kwasi Karikari/
Primary Examiner: Art Unit 2641.