DETAILED ACTION
Abstract
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is unclear due to syntax, grammatical and/or antecedent errors. Going forward with examination, the abstract is interpreted to be (Note that in applicant’s response, where a change is requested in the abstract, a separate page of the abstract containing the change will be needed):
--A leak test fixture for a part such as a cylinder head or block has a plurality of side face sealing plates, a bottom face sealing plate and a top face sealing plate. The sealing plates collectively clamp and seal [[a]] the partduring testing of the part. A plurality of biasing mechanisms are provided on at least one of the sealing plates. The plurality of biasing mechanisms compress[[es]] toward a face of the at least one sealing plate[[s]] during clamping of the part of the part thereby help separating the part from the at least one sealing plate[[s]].--
Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Specification
The specification is objected to because it is unclear due to syntax, grammatical and/or antecedent errors. Going forward with examination, the following paragraphs of the specification are interpreted to be (Note that in applicant’s response, where a change is requested in the specification, an entire paragraph of the specification containing the change will be needed):
--[0003] Various types of systems and apparatus are utilized to test for leakage of vehicle parts such as cylinder heads, cylinder block a part so that it can be tested for leaks. Generally, the such a part has an overall box configuration and requires a leak test fixture having sealing plates for the top, bottom and four sides of the part. After testing, when the part is released from the fixture, a separation force must be created to overcome a negative pressure between the sealing plates the part having cavities, so as to separate or remove the sealing plates from the part. Thus, when the part is to be removed, due to the negative pressure between the sealing plates and the cavities of the part, it is not a smooth process. This invisible and uncertain negative pressure may lead to scratching the part or even the part being dropped from the fixture and damaged when the part is released from the fixture.--
--[0005] The present disclosure provides [[the]] a test fixture or jig with a system for alleviating the negative pressure between sealing plates of the test fixture and a part to be tested such as a cylinder head or block so that damage to the part does not occur before and after testing of the part. The present disclosure provides helps separate the sealing plates from the part without causing damage to the part. The present disclosure provides a biasing mechanism that compresses toward a face of the sealing plates during testing of the part and extends away from the face of the sealing plates after testing of the part so as to enable smooth separation of the sealing plates from the part.--
--[0007] According to an aspect of the disclosure, a leak test fixture for a part such as a cylinder head or block comprises a plurality of side face sealing plates, a bottom face sealing plate and top face sealing plate where the sealing plates collectively seal the partof the part. A plurality of biasing mechanisms are positioned on the sealing plates. The plurality of biasing mechanisms compress toward [[the]] a face of the sealing plates during clamping of the part during testing of the part. The plurality of biasing mechanisms rebound after testing of the part thereby help separating the part from the sealing plates, or vice versa. mechanisms/members or compression springs. Each of the plurality of biasing mechanisms/members or compression springs includes a pad for resting against the part
--[0010] FIG. 1 illustrates a perspective schematic view of a test fixture.--
--[0012] FIG. 3 illustrates a schematic view of a biasing mechanism/member.--
--[0013] FIGS. 4 and 5 illustrate schematic views of the biasing mechanism/member when the test fixture is in a clamping position and in an unclamping position, respectively.--
--[0016] Turning to the figures, a leak test fixture is illustrated and designated with the reference numeral 10. The leak test fixture 10 includes a top sealing plate 12, a bottom sealing plate 14, a front sealing plate 16, a rear sealing plate 18 , an exhaust face sealing plate 22 and an intake sealing face plate 24 for covering the sides of [[the]] a part 32 such as a cylinder head, cylinder block, transmission housing, motor housing or battery tray housing. The leak test fixture 10 includes a hydraulic system 30 for bringing the sealing plates against [[a]] the part 32
--[0018] As illustrated in FIGS. 2-4, on the top sealing plate 12, the spring biasing system 40 is positioned on the plate 12. The biasing system 40 includes a plurality of individual biasing members 42. The biasing members 42 may include a housing 44, a compression spring 46 positioned within the housing 44. A pad 48, manufactured from a soft material, such as rubber, felt, plastic or the like, is positioned and connected at the end of the spring 46. The plate 12 may include a bore 50 to receive the spring as illustrated in FIG. 4.--
--[0019] The compression spring 46 extends from the plate in an unclamped position. The pad 48 rests against the part 32 to prohibit damage or marring of the part. As the hydraulic system 30 is activated, the sealing plates 14-22 press against the part 32, cylinder block 32. As this occurs, the springs 46 are compressed into the plates as illustrated in FIG. [[3]] 4. The part is tested for linkage and after the test, the hydraulic force is removed. As this occurs, the compression springs 46 rebound or expand moving the plate away from the part 32 to remove the uncertain 12 against the part 32. Thus, the springs 46 with pads 48 may be positioned on all of the sealing plates 14-24 so that upon removal of the uncertain negative pressure, the part 32 is positioned away from the sealing plates 12 so that it can be easily removed from the test fixture. The part 32 is contacted by the soft material pad 48 so that damage to the part 32 does not occur. Also, the springs 46 have a desired spring force to push the plates 12 away from the part 32 so that the part 32 does not stick to the plate 12, or vice versa. Thus, this removes the possibility of the part 32 sticking to the sealing plates and/or damage occurring to the part 32.--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention. The claims are unclear due to numerous syntax, grammatical and/or antecedent errors.
Going forward with examination, the claims are interpreted to be:
--1. A leak test fixture for leak testing a part such as a cylinder head or block comprising:
a plurality of side face sealing plates, a bottom face sealing plate and a top face sealing plate, the sealing plates collectively sealing [[a]] the part placed on the fixture
a plurality of biasing mechanisms provided on at least one sealing plate of the sealing plates, the plurality of biasing mechanisms compressing toward a face of the at least one sealing plate when the at least one sealing plate seals the part during testing, and the plurality of biasing mechanisms rebounding away from the face of the at least one sealing plate when the at least one sealing plate is separated from the part after testing
--2. The leak test fixture plurality of biasing mechanisms comprise compression springs.--
--3. The leak test fixture at least one sealing plate includes a plurality of bores for receiving the plurality of biasing mechanisms.--
--4. The leak test fixture mechanisms includes a pad for resting against the part.--
--5. The leak test fixture
--6. The leak test fixture a biasing mechanism among the plurality of biasing mechanisms includes a housing positioned on the at least one sealing plate.--
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takahiro (JP 2010243290 A. This Office action provides a machine translation of Takahiro).
Takahiro teaches:
1. A leak test fixture (10) for leak testing a part (W) such as a cylinder head or block (W) comprising (See figs. 1, 2, 4 reproduced below):
a plurality of side face sealing plates (11, 12, 21, 22), a bottom face sealing plate (32) and a top face sealing plate (31), the sealing plates collectively sealing the part (W) placed on the fixture (10) for testing; and
a plurality of biasing mechanisms (= elastic members 14, 15, 24, 25, 34, 35; Figs.2, 4; Translation Page 2) provided on at least one sealing plate of the sealing plates, the plurality of biasing mechanisms (14, 15, 24, 25, 34, 35) compressing toward a face of the at least one sealing plate when the at least one sealing plate seals the part (W) during testing, and the plurality of biasing mechanisms (14, 15, 24, 25, 34, 35) rebounding away from the face of the at least one sealing plate when the at least one sealing plate is separated from the part (W) after testing (inherently due to elasticity of the elastic members 14, 15, 24, 25, 34, 35).
4. The leak test fixture of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of biasing mechanisms (14, 15, 24, 25, 34, 35) includes a pad 14, 15, 24, 25, 34, 35 (made of synthetic resin or the like; Translation Page 2) for resting against the part W (as is evident from at least figs. 2, 4).
5. The leak test fixture of claim 4, wherein the pad (14, 15, 24, 25, 34, 35) is a soft material such as rubber, plastic or the like (i.e., made of synthetic resin or the like; Translation Page 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawasaki (US 9,541,466 B2) in view of Takahiro.
1. Kawasaki teaches a leak test fixture (1) for leak testing a part (W10) such as a cylinder head or block (W10) comprising (See figs. 1A, 3A, 3B, reproduced and annotated below):
a sealing plate (10) sealing the part (W10) placed on the fixture (1) for testing; and
a plurality of biasing mechanisms (= elastic bodies 20, 32-31) provided on the sealing plate (10)
Kawasaki is silent about: a plurality of side face sealing plates, a bottom face sealing plate and a top face sealing plate, the sealing plates collectively sealing the part (W10) placed on the fixture (1) for testing…
Takahiro teaches a leak test fixture (10) for leak testing a part (W) such as a cylinder head or block (W) comprising a plurality of side face sealing plates (11, 12, 21, 22), a bottom face sealing plate (32) and a top face sealing plate (31), the sealing plates collectively sealing the part (W) placed on the fixture (10) for testing. The part (W) such as the cylinder head or block (W) may have openings in four directions, i.e., front/rear/left/right/horizontal openings that need to be sealed for air pressure leak testing of the part W (See translation Pages 2, 5)…
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to apply Takahiro teaching to Kawasaki leak test fixture by providing the fixture with a plurality of side face sealing plates, a bottom face sealing plate and a top face sealing plate, the sealing plates collectively sealing the part (W10) placed on the fixture for testing; since the part (W10) such as the cylinder head or block (W10) may have openings in four directions, i.e., front/rear/left/right/horizontal openings that need to be sealed for air pressure leak testing of the part (W10)…
2. Kawasaki as modified teaches the leak test fixture of claim 1, wherein the plurality of biasing mechanisms (20, 31-32) comprise compression springs (as shown in figs. 1A, 3A, 3B above).
Col. 9, lines 14-22: “A spring the urges the sliding unit 30 to the left is attached to the sliding unit 30…Therefore, when the plate 10 is separated from the workpiece W10, the sliding unit 30 is urged to the left by the spring and returned to a predetermined position, i.e., the position shown in FIG. 1A”).
3. Kawasaki as modified teaches the leak test fixture of claim 1, wherein the at least one sealing plate 10 (Kawasaki) includes a plurality of bores (12) for receiving the plurality of biasing mechanisms 31-32 (See Kawasaki figs. 1A, 3A, 3B).
4. Kawasaki as modified teaches the leak test fixture of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of biasing mechanisms (31-32) includes a pad (32) for resting against the part W10 (as shown in Kawasaki figs. 3A, 3B).
5. Kawasaki as modified teaches the leak test fixture of claim 4, wherein the pad (32) is a soft material such as rubber, plastic or the like (Col. 7, lines 15-17: “The seal member 32 is formed by an elastic body such as rubber”).
6. Kawasaki as modified teaches the leak test fixture of claim 1, wherein a biasing mechanism (31-32) among the plurality of biasing mechanisms includes a housing (having a bore 12) positioned on the at least one sealing plate 10 (as seen at least in Kawasaki figs. 1A, 3A, 3B).
Conclusion
/Nguyen Q. Ha/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 January 24, 2026