DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8-9, 11, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mahalingappa et al. (US 20190217460 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Mahalingappa et al. discloses an accessory storage device (18) comprising: a housing (20) including an accessory slot (71/ back end 18 of the housing 20) for storing an accessory (UIM 50); a sensor (72/74 and/or MCB 40, wireless communication circuit 51 [0030-0035]) configured to detect a presence of the accessory within the accessory slot (71/ back end 18 of the housing 20); and
a controller (control unit 30 and/or MCB 40), connected to the sensor, the controller configured to: determine, based on a signal from the sensor, whether the accessory is located within the accessory slot,
in response to determining that the accessory is not located within the accessory slot, determine a set of control parameters (pre-programmed operation mode/default fixed precision mode and/or programs, input parameters 56, operation modes if removed, [0033-0046]), for driving a motor (22), the set of control parameters associated with the accessory, and transmit the set of control parameters to a power tool (10) communicatively coupled to the accessory storage device (UIM 50), the power tool including the motor (22 - programs, input parameters 56, operation modes, fixed precision when removed ([0031-0046], figs. 1-3).
a method for monitoring accessories in an accessory storage device (method of operating the power tool 10 and the UIM 50 [0046]), the method comprising: determining, based on a signal from the sensor (72/74 and/or MCB 40, wireless communication circuit 51 [0030-0035]), whether the accessory is located within an accessory slot (71/ back end 18 of the housing 20), the sensor configured to detect a presence of the accessory within the accessory slot (71/ back end 18 of the housing 20); in response to determining that the accessory is not located within the accessory slot, determining a set of one or more parameters (pre-programmed operation mode/default mode, programs, input parameters 56, operation modes, fixed precision [0033-0046]) associated with the accessory; and transmitting the set of parameters to a power tool (10); and the set of one or more parameters includes control parameters for driving the motor (22 - programs, input parameters 56, operation modes, impact mode, drill mode, fixed precision when removed ([0031-0046], figs. 1-3).
Regarding claims 8-9 and 17, Mahalingappa et al. discloses the controller is connected to a memory ([0032]) storing a log of accessory usage, and wherein the controller is further configured to: update, in response to the accessory being removed from the accessory slot, the log of accessory usage; and update, in response to the accessory being returned to the accessory slot, the log of accessory usage, wherein: the power tool includes a display (54); parameters via the display ([0036-0044], figs. 1-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over GROSSMAN et al. (US 20160171903 A1) in view of Kuhlenbeck et al. (US 20220055169 A1) and further in view of Mahalingappa et al. (US 20190217460 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, GROSSMAN et al. discloses an accessory storage device (700) comprising: a housing including an accessory slot (bins 340 and/or 712, 714, and 716 figs. 3 and 7 and/or holster 644 fig. 6) for storing an accessory (tools, safety glasses, glue gun [0049-0050, 0057-0058, 0089-0095]); a sensor (722, 724, and 726, depth sensor, weight sensor, and/or RFID tag) configured to detect a presence of the accessory within the accessory slot (via lights/LED -audio/visual alerts/feedback); and
a controller (central processing unit (CPU) 202/100, figs. 2-3), connected to the sensor, the controller configured to: determine, based on a signal from the sensor, whether the accessory is located within the accessory slot, in response to determining that the accessory is not located within the accessory slot, determine a set of parameters for driving a power tool, the set of control parameters associated with the accessory (speed, [0047-0048, 0077-0078, 0087-0088, 0090, 0096, 0100, 0112, 0117]), and transmit the set of one or more parameters to the power tool ([0047-0050, 0053, 0057-0058, 0073-0078, 0088-0097, 0101]); and
a method (800/workspace system 200) for monitoring accessories (tools, safety glasses, glue gun [0049-0050, 0057-0058, 0089-0095]) in an accessory storage device, the method comprising: determining, based on a signal from the sensor (722, 724, and 726, depth sensor, weight sensor, and/or RFID tag), whether the accessory is located within an accessory slot (bins 340 and/or 712, 714, and 716 figs. 3 and 7 and/or holster 644 fig. 6), the sensor configured to detect a presence of the accessory within the accessory slot (via lights/LED -audio/visual alerts/feedback); in response to determining that the accessory is not located within the accessory slot, determining a set of one or more parameters (speed etc.) associated with the accessory; and transmitting the set of parameters to a power tool (precision rotary tool 620 [0059-0066-0123, figs. 1-11); and the set of one or more parameters includes control parameters for driving the precision rotary tool 620 ([0075-0083, 0100, 0112-0117].
GROSSMAN et al. states: “augmented toolkit provides an indication as to where the needed tool or part is located. For example, the augmented toolkit could illuminate an LED located on the bin in the augmented toolkit that contains the tool or part. The augmented toolkit is equipped with a sensor for each bin to determine when the needed tool or part is removed from the bin [0049] … augmented toolkit 340 transmits a message to the toolkit guidance engine 238 when the tool or part has been removed from the bin [0057] … sensors, actuators, and controller for a particular augmented tool may be built into the augmented tool during manufacturing and assembly. Alternatively, a tool may be refitted in the field with one or more sensors, actuators, and controller, thereby converting a conventional tool into an augmented tool” [0079] … augmented tool engine 236, in turn, transmits a message to the augmented tool to disable the tool or to change an operating condition of the augmented tool, such as operating speed or operating temperature of the augmented tool [0100].
GROSSMAN et al. fails to explicitly disclose in response to determining that the accessory is not located within the accessory slot, determine a set of control parameters for driving a motor, the set of control parameters associated with the accessory, and transmit the set of control parameters to a power tool communicatively coupled to the accessory storage device, the power tool including the motor.
Kuhlenbeck et al. teaches intelligent tool detection system (100/200) that determines that an accessory (drill bits, sockets, pair of pliers, wrench, screwdriver, punch, or any other metallic object - Combination trays [0050-0058], fig. 1, drill bit 1232, fig. 12) is not located within an accessory slot (tool tray 106 or 1202/1300/1400/1500/1600/1700, [0060-0062], figs. 1-2 and 12-15), determine a set of control parameters for driving a motor (machine 120- torque tool [0054], machine 1-N [0060-0067] figs. 1-4), the set of control parameters associated with the accessory (torque configurations or disabled if incorrect tool), and transmit the set of control parameters to a power tool communicatively coupled to the accessory storage device, the powertool including the motor (disabled or torque configurations [0061].
Mahalingappa et al. teaches a power tool (10) having a detection system (control unit 30 and/or MCB 40) that determines that an accessory (UIM 50), is not located within an accessory slot (receptacle 71 - plug component 61/62, not attached to back end 18 of the housing 20), determine a set of control parameters for driving a motor (22), the set of control parameters associated with the accessory (pre-programmed operation mode/default mode [0041]), and transmit the set of control parameters to a power tool communicatively coupled to the accessory storage device, the power tool including the motor (programs, input parameters 56, operation modes, fixed precision ([0031-0046], figs. 1-3).
Given the teachings of GROSSMAN et al. to have an external device/power tool within communication range to an accessory storage device to transmit data/signals, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the accessory storage device/controller to be configured to in response to determining that the accessory is not located within the accessory slot, determine a set of control parameters for driving a motor, the set of control parameters associated with the accessory, and transmit the set of control parameters to a power tool communicatively coupled to the accessory storage device, the power tool including the motor to ensure correct tool/size is being used, provide easy installation of parameters with the correct tool, monitor usage/wear and tear, and/or for feedback purposes as taught by Kuhlenbeck et al. and Mahalingappa et al.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, GROSSMAN et al. discloses the accessory is one selected from a group consisting of a crimping die, a hole saw, a threading die, and a drill bit (drill bit [0048, 0055, 0065, 0087-0088]).
Regarding claims 3-4 and 13-14, GROSSMAN et al. discloses the sensor is a pressure sensor configured to monitor a weight applied to the accessory slot (“detects removal of the tool or part via a sensor, such as a depth sensor, a weight sensor, or an RFID sensor” wherein the sensor is a camera configured to capture an image of the accessory slot wherein each presence sensor is one selected from a group consisting of a pressure sensor, a weight sensor, an inductive sensor, an optical sensor, a magnetic sensor [0030], a mechanical switch, and an imaging device (“any surface or volume rendering technique” [0027-0030, 0035-0036, 0049-0052, 0071, 0082-0084, 0091, 0095, 0102, 0107-0108, 0115, 0121]).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, GROSSMAN et al. discloses the external device is a power tool including a motor (precision rotary tool 620); and the set of one or more parameters includes control parameters for driving the motor ([0075-0083].
Regarding claims 8-9 and 17, GROSSMAN et al. discloses the controller is connected to a memory (204/212) storing a log of accessory usage, and wherein the controller is further configured to: update, in response to the accessory being removed from the accessory slot, the log of accessory usage; and update, in response to the accessory being returned to the accessory slot, the log of accessory usage, wherein: the power tool includes a display [0025-0027]; and the power tool provides the control parameters via the display (abstract, claim 1, [0025-0041, 0069, 0076, 0090, 0121]). Mahalingappa et al. also teaches the controller is connected to a memory ([0032]) storing a log of accessory usage, and wherein the controller is further configured to: update, in response to the accessory being removed from the accessory slot, the log of accessory usage; and update, in response to the accessory being returned to the accessory slot, the log of accessory usage, wherein: the power tool includes a display (54); parameters via the display ([0036-0044], figs. 1-3).
Regarding claims 10, GROSSMAN et al. discloses the accessory slot is configured to store a first accessory, and wherein the controller is configured to: determine, in response to the accessory being located in the accessory slot, whether the accessory is the first accessory; and generate, in response to determining that the accessory is not the first accessory, a notification that the accessory is not the first accessory (how many removed, how many required, etc. “within a threshold distance away from the bin” [0047-0050, 0053, 0057-0058, 0073-0078, 0088-0097, 0101]).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, GROSSMAN et al. discloses, wherein the sensor is an inductive sensor configured to sense the presence of a metallic accessory (glue gun), the presence of a metallic accessory (glue gun magnet 650) in the accessory slot (holster 644 - magnet and hall-effect sensor [0082-0084], fig. 6).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over GROSSMAN et al. (US 20160171903 A1) in view of Kuhlenbeck et al. (US 20220055169 A1) in view of Mahalingappa et al. (US 20190217460 A1) in view of Muhme (US 5886634 A) and further in view of GALLO et al. (US 20210347002 A1).
Regarding claims 7, GROSSMAN et al. discloses the controller is further configured to: determine whether the external device is within communication range to the accessory storage device (RFID measures distance, “within a threshold distance away from the bin” [0050, 0091-0095, 0115]).
GROSSMAN et al. fails to disclose transmitting a first key to the external device; receive a second key from the external device; and store the first key and the second key in a memory of the accessory storage device.
Muhme teaches having a controller (18/40/processor 106) is further configured to: determine whether an external device (12) is within communication range (via tags 20/56) to an accessory storage device (50/54-interrogates and receives tag IDs from tags 20, 22, and/or 56) transmitting a first key (response message/tag ID 144) to the external device (12); receive a second key (response message to base station 18) from the external device; and store the first key (store tag ID 144) and the second key in a memory of the accessory storage device (col. 5, lines 4-67- col. 6, lines 1-67).
Muhme states: “Wherever tags 20 and 22 are placed, enclosed, or positioned, base station 18 utilizes wireless communication techniques to read information encoded or stored within tags 20 and 22…tags 20 and 22 respond by transmitting a response message to base station 18 that includes their respective tag identifiers (IDs) tags 20 and 22 respond by transmitting a response message to base station 18 that includes their respective tag identifiers (IDs). Base station 18 and tags 20 and 22 preferably communicate over links 24 using any appropriate wireless communication technique, such as radio frequency (RF), infrared (IR), optical, ultrasound, or other wireless technique that allows base station 18 to interrogate and receive the tag IDs of tags 20 and 22 (col. 3, lines 12-25)…wireless interface 102 and/or processor 106 may retrieve a key or encryption algorithm to decode the transmission and recover the information in the response message” (col. 6, lines 42-45)
GALLO et al. also teaches an intelligent tool management system (1) having a controller (tool management center 2/tool monitoring system 4 and/or microcontroller (MCU)) configured to: determine whether an external device (driving apparatus 7 with drill bit 5) is within communication range (proximity) to an accessory device (dispensing stations 3) a sensor (8/6/ sensory arrangement 11) on the external device (7); transmitting a first key (unique identifier ID stored in the RFID tag 4/ electronic communication interface 12 key input) to the external device; receive a second key (passive infrared sensor (PIR)) from the external device; and store the first key and the second key in a memory (electronic control unit 13) of the accessory storage device ([0035-0103], figs. 1-5)
Given the teachings of GROSSMAN et al. to have an external device/power tool within communication range to an accessory storage device to transmit data/signals, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the controller to be further configured to determine whether the external device is within communication range to the accessory storage device and transmitting a first key to the external device; receive a second key from the external device; and store the first key and the second key in a memory of the accessory storage device to have security for the use of the tool, ensure correct tool/size is being used, monitor usage/wear and tear, and/or for feedback purposes as taught by Muhme and GALLO et al.
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over GROSSMAN et al. (US 20160171903 A1) in view of Kuhlenbeck et al. (US 20220055169 A1) in view of Mahalingappa et al. (US 20190217460 A1) and further in view of GLICKMAN et al. (US 20100045423 A1).
Regarding claim 18, GROSSMAN et al. discloses accessory storage device (700) comprising: a housing including a plurality of accessory slots (bins 340 and/or 712, 714, and 716 figs. 3 and 7 and/or holster 644 fig. 6) for storing a plurality of accessories (tools, drill, safety glasses, glue gun [0049-0050, 0057-0058, 0089-0095]); a plurality of presence sensors (722, 724, and 726, depth sensor, weight sensor, and/or RFID tag), each presence sensor configured to detect a presence of an accessory within a respective accessory slot (how many removed, how many required, etc. “within a threshold distance away from the bin” [0047-0050, 0053, 0057-0058, 0073-0078, 0088-0097, 0101]); and
a controller (central processing unit (CPU) 202/100, figs. 2-3) connected to the plurality of presence sensors, the controller configured to: determine, based on signals from the plurality of presence sensors, whether each accessory of the plurality of accessories is located in the respective accessory slot, and transmit, in response to at least one accessory being removed from the respective accessory slot, a type of the at least one accessory to an external device (tool bit size, tool removed, how many removed, wear status, safety glasses and etc. [0047-0050, 0053, 0057-0058, 0073-0078, 0088-0097, 0101]). GROSSMAN et al. also discloses and generate parameters (changing the operating speed of the tool or device” [0048, 0077].
GROSSMAN et al. states: “sensor to determine when a tool or part has been removed from the bin and returned and placed back into the bin” [0057]
GROSSMAN et al. fails to disclose each of the plurality of accessory slots may be configured to hold an accessory of at least one of a particular size and an accessory configured to perform a particular operation, and determine, based on signals from the plurality of presence sensors, that the incorrect accessory is in an accessory slot, and generate, in response to at least one accessory being placed in the incorrect accessory slot, a notification that the accessory is located in the incorrect accessory slot and a power tool communicatively coupled to the accessory storage device, the type of the at least one accessory associated with a set of control parameters for driving a motor of the power tool.
Kuhlenbeck et al. teaches tool tray (tool tray 106 or 1202/1300/1400/1500/1600/1700, [0050-0062], figs. 1-2 and 12-15) having plurality of accessory slots (receptacle 1204 through receptacle 1218) may be configured to hold an accessory of at least one of a particular size and an accessory configured to perform a particular operation, and determine, based on signals from the plurality of presence sensors (drill bits, sockets, pair of pliers, wrench, screwdriver, punch, or any other metallic object - Combination trays [0050-0058], fig. 1, drill bit 1232, fig. 12), that the accessory is not in an accessory slot, and generate, a notification that the accessory is not located in the incorrect accessory slot (tool tray 106 or different trays [0060-0062], figs. 1-2 and 12-15).
GLICKMAN et al. teaches having a storage system (200/300) with drawers having plurality of accessory slots configured to hold an accessory of at least one of a particular size (different sized drawers 330 and different sized compartments within the drawers [0028], figs. 1-3 and 10) and an accessory (various accessories/types of tools [0025]) configured to perform a particular operation, and determine, based on signals from a plurality of presence sensors [0050-0068], that the incorrect accessory is in an accessory slot, and generate, in response to at least one accessory being placed in the incorrect accessory slot, a notification that the accessory is located in the incorrect accessory slot [0069-0071].
Given the teachings of GROSSMAN et al. to have storage device to transmit data/signals to determine where a tool/accessory is and if the tool/accessory has been removed from the storage slots, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the storage system with each of the plurality of accessory slots configured to hold an accessory of at least one of a particular size and an accessory configured to perform a particular operation, and determine, based on signals from the plurality of presence sensors, that the incorrect accessory is in an accessory slot, and generate, in response to at least one accessory being placed in the incorrect accessory slot, a notification that the accessory is located in the incorrect accessory slot to have security for the use of the tool, ensure correct tool/size is being used, monitor usage/wear and tear, and/or for tools/accessory organization management to ensure tools/accessories return to correct storage location and for feedback/tracking purposes as taught by Kuhlenbeck et al. and GLICKMAN et al.
Regarding claim 19, GROSSMAN et al. discloses the type of the accessory includes at least one of a size of the accessory and a material of the accessory [0042, 0048, 0055, 0065, 0087, 0095].
Regarding claim 20, GROSSMAN et al. discloses the sensor is a pressure sensor configured to monitor a weight applied to the accessory slot (“detects removal of the tool or part via a sensor, such as a depth sensor, a weight sensor, or an RFID sensor” wherein the sensor is a camera configured to capture an image of the accessory slot wherein each presence sensor is one selected from a group consisting of a pressure sensor, a weight sensor, an inductive sensor, an optical sensor, a magnetic sensor [0030], a mechanical switch, and an imaging device (“any surface or volume rendering technique” [0027-0030, 0035-0036, 0049-0052, 0071, 0082-0084, 0091, 0095, 0102, 0107-0108, 0115, 0121]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 7-15, and 17-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on all references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Zeiler et al. (US 20060159533 A1)- detection system (communication member 24/36) that determines that an accessory (20- drill bit or a hole saw for a power drill) determine a set of control parameters for driving a motor (30 [0040], figs. 5-7-motor speed, cutting feed rate, etc. [0040]), and transmit the set of control parameters to a power tool including the motor (disabled or torque configurations ([0040-0062], figs. 1-10).
US 20210328399 A1- dies communicating parameters with external device (605), “select usable dies” [0042], and crimping power tool (10)
US 20140184397 A1 – ““operational parameter” refers to any data that the controller 128 generates internally or receives from the sensors 118 about the operation of components in the power tool 102” [0018] and see references cited, form 892.
/ROBERT F LONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731