DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 11, and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In view of amendment, a new reference of Litvak (US Pub. 2019/0378001 A1) is applied to a new ground of rejection.
The applicant argues that it would not be proper to combine Moll and Ozcan because there would not be a reason expectation of success in shrinking, integrating, or cramming a bulky infrastructure of Ozcan into a high constrained, lightweight form factor of a wearable eyeglass (AR system) of Moll. The Office respectfully notes that MPEP 2144 states: “However, obviousness does not require absolute predictability, only a reasonable expectation of success, i.e., a reasonable expectation of obtaining similar properties. See, e.g.,In re O’Farrell, 853 F.2d 894, 903, 7 USPQ2d 1673, 1681 (Fed. Cir. 1988)”. A proposed combination of Moll and Ozcan does not require to integrate a whole system of Ozcan into the AR system of Moll. Instead, the Office proposes to include a hybrid optical and electronic neural network-based system of Ozcan comprising a diffractive neural network and a digital neural network and a processor configured to perform computations into the AR system of Moll. Furthermore, Ozcan discloses that the hybrid neural network-based system may be implemented in a small form factor. For example, para. [0100-0101], the hybrid neural network-based system including the computing device 27 may be integrated into a mobile device such as a camera. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include the hybrid neural network-based system of Ozcan into the AR system of Moll with a purpose of increasing computation speed and reducing power consumption as stated by Ozcan (para. [0133 and 0135]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moll et al. (US Pub. 2025/0218143 A1) in view of Ozcan et al. (US Pub. 2021/0142170 A1) and Litvak (US Pub. 2019/0378001 A1).
Regarding claim 1; Moll teaches an apparatus (an AR system 100, Fig.1), comprising:
a pair of glasses (a pair of glasses 100, Fig.1); and
a computing unit (a computer 120, Fig.1), having:
a neural network configured to process image lights representative of a scene in a view of the pair of glasses to generate a light pattern (Figs. 4 and 5, para. [0052-0057 and 0071], the AR system comprises an object detection system (426/510) including one or more artificial neural networks to analyze camera data to identify objects within a real-world scene. It is noted that the camera would capture image lights reflected from the real-world scene, then the camera generates camera data corresponding to the real-world scene. The object detection system 426 may analyze the camera data to determine at least one of number of edges, contours, shapes that may individually or in combination correspond to an object).
Moll does not teach a passive neural network configured to process image lights; and an array of light sensing pixels configured to convert the light pattern into data representative of outputs of a first set of artificial neurons; and a processor configured via instructions to perform computations on a second set of artificial neurons responsive to the outputs of the first set of artificial neurons.
Ozcan teaches a passive neural network (a passive diffractive optical neural network D2NN 10, Fig.1. Para. [0133, 0135, 0138, 0171, and 0203], the neural network 10 comprises passive optical components) configured to process image lights (Fig.1, para. [0007-0010 and 0013], an output optical signal 22 is created by optical diffraction through a plurality of optically transmissive/reflective substrate layers); and an array of light sensing pixels (an optical sensor 26, Fig.1) configured to convert the light pattern into data representative of outputs of a first set of artificial neurons (Fig.1, para. [0100, 0115, and 0179], the optical sensor 26 comprising a plurality of optical detectors is configured to capture the output optical signal 22 and to digitize the output optical signal. A computing device 27 is coupled to the optical sensor 26 for acquiring, storing, processing, and manipulating the optical signal 22. In other words, the optical sensor 26 is configured to convert the light intensity obtained from the diffractive neural network 10 into data representative of outputs of a first set of artificial neurons of the diffractive neural network); a processor (a processor 102, Fig.7) configured via instructions (software 114, Fig.9) to perform computations on a second set of artificial neurons (Figs. 9 and 33A, a digital neural network 44) responsive to the outputs of the first set of artificial neurons (Figs. 9 and 33A, para. [0109], the input of the digital neural network 44 is the output optical image 22 which is an output of the diffractive neural network 10).
(Fig.1 of Ozcan reproduced)
(Fig.33A of Ozcan reproduced)
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the neural network in the AR system of Moll to include the teaching of Ozcan of providing a (passive) diffractive neural network to analyze the input light; and providing optical sensors for sensing the optical signal and outputting data resulting from the plurality of optically transmissive and/or reflective substrate layers for each of the plurality of diffractive optical neural network devices. The motivation would have been in order to increase computation speed and to reduce power consumption (Ozcan, para. [0133 and 0135]).
Moll in view of Ozcan does not explicitly teach a digital accelerator configured to perform computations on the second set of artificial neurons.
Litvak teaches a digital accelerator configured to perform computations on the second set of artificial neurons (Para. [0005], a digital hardware accelerator for a neural network NN computations including a large array of multiply-and-accumulate (MAC) arithmetic units).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the AR system of Moll in view of Ozcan to include the digital hardware accelerator of Litvak. More specifically, the digital hardware accelerator would be included in the digital neural network for performing multiplication and accumulation operations. The motivation would have been in order to improve the processing speed.
Regarding claim 11; Moll teaches a method (a method of detecting objects in an AR system), comprising:
implementing a set of artificial neurons of an artificial neural network (para. [0071], an artificial neural network is implemented in an object detection system);
generating a light pattern via the neural network processing image lights representative of a scene (Figs. 4 and 5, para. [0052-0057 and 0071], the object detection system (426/510) including one or more artificial neural networks to analyze a camera data to identify objects within a real-world scene. It is noted that the camera would capture image lights reflected from the real-world scene, then the camera generates a camera data corresponding to the real-world scene. The object detection system 426 may analyze the camera data to determine at least one of a number of edges, contours, shapes that may individually or in combination correspond to an object).
Moll does not teach implementing, via a passive neural network in a device, a first set of artificial neurons of an artificial neural network; generating a light pattern via the passive neural network processing image lights representative of a scene; converting, by an array of light sensing pixels of the device, the light pattern into data representative of outputs of the first set of artificial neurons; providing, to a processor of the device, the outputs of the first set of artificial neurons as inputs to a second set of artificial neurons of the artificial neural network; and performing, via a digital accelerator, computations on the second set of artificial neurons responsive to the outputs of the first set of artificial neurons.
Ozcan teaches implementing, via a passive neural network (a passive diffractive optical neural network D2NN 10, Fig.1), a first set of artificial neurons of an artificial neural network (Fig.1. Para. [0133, 0135, 0138, 0171, and 0203], the neural network 10 comprises passive optical components. Para. [0007-0010 and 0013], an output optical signal 22 is created by optical diffraction through a plurality of optically transmissive/reflective substrate layers); and converting, by an array of light sensing pixels of the device, the light pattern into data representative of outputs of the first set of artificial neurons (Fig.1, para. [0100, 0115, and 0179], the optical sensor 26 comprising a plurality of optical detectors is configured to capture the output optical signal 22 and to digitize the output optical signal. A computing device 27 is coupled to the optical sensor 26 for acquiring, storing, processing, and manipulating the optical signal 22. In other words, the optical sensor 26 is configured to convert the light intensity obtained from the diffractive neural network 10 into data representative of outputs of a first set of artificial neurons of the diffractive neural network); providing, to a processor of the device (a processor 102, Fig.7), the outputs of the first set of artificial neurons as inputs to a second set of artificial neurons of the artificial neural network (Figs. 9 and 33A, para. [0109], the input of the digital neural network 44 is the output optical image 22 which is an output of the diffractive neural network 10).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the neural network in the AR system of Moll to include the teaching of Ozcan of providing a (passive) diffractive neural network to analyze the input light; and providing optical sensors for sensing the optical signal and outputting data resulting from the plurality of optically transmissive and/or reflective substrate layers for each of the plurality of diffractive optical neural network devices. The motivation would have been in order to increase computation speed and to reduce power consumption (Ozcan, para. [0133 and 0135]).
Moll in view of Ozcan does not explicitly teach performing, via a digital accelerator, computations on the second set of artificial neurons responsive to the outputs of the first set of artificial neurons.
Litvak teaches performing, via a digital accelerator, computations on the second set of artificial neurons (Para. [0005], a digital hardware accelerator for a neural network NN computations including a large array of multiply-and-accumulate (MAC) arithmetic units).
Therefore, a combination of Moll, Ozcan, and Litvak would teach performing, via a digital accelerator, computations on the second set of artificial neurons responsive to the outputs of the first set of artificial neurons (The digital neural network of Ozcan receives outputs from the diffractive neural network).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the AR system of Moll in view of Ozcan to include the digital hardware accelerator of Litvak. More specifically, the digital hardware accelerator would be included in the digital neural network for performing multiplication and accumulation operations. The motivation would have been in order to improve the processing speed.
Regarding claim 17; Moll teaches a computing device (an AR system), comprising:
a neural network configured according to a set of artificial neurons of an artificial neural network to generate a light pattern from image lights (Figs. 4 and 5, para. [0052-0057 and 0071], the AR system comprises an object detection system (426/510) including one or more artificial neural networks to analyze a camera data to identify objects within a real-world scene. It is noted that the camera would capture image lights reflected from the real-world scene, then the camera generates a camera data corresponding to the real-world scene. The object detection system 426 may analyze the camera data to determine at least one of a number of edges, contours, shapes that may individually or in combination correspond to an object).
Moll does not teach a passive neural network configured according to a first set of artificial neurons of an artificial neural network; an image sensor configured to convert the light pattern into data representative of features extracted by the first set of artificial neurons from the image light, and logic circuits configured via instructions to perform computations on a second set of artificial neurons of the artificial neural network, responsive to the features as inputs.
Ozcan teaches a passive neural network configured according to a first set of artificial neurons of an artificial neural network (a passive diffractive optical neural network D2NN 10, Fig.1); an image sensor configured to convert the light pattern into data representative of features extracted by the first set of artificial neurons from the image light (Fig.1, para. [0100, 0115, and 0179], the optical sensor 26 comprising a plurality of optical detectors is configured to capture the output optical signal 22 and to digitize the output optical signal. A computing device 27 is coupled to the optical sensor 26 for acquiring, storing, processing, and manipulating the optical signal 22. In other words, the optical sensor 26 is configured to convert the light intensity obtained from the diffractive neural network 10 into data representative of outputs of a first set of artificial neurons of the diffractive neural network).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the neural network in the AR system of Moll to include the teaching of Ozcan of providing a (passive) diffractive neural network to analyze the input light; and providing optical sensors for sensing the optical signal and outputting data resulting from the plurality of optically transmissive and/or reflective substrate layers for each of the plurality of diffractive optical neural network devices. The motivation would have been in order to increase computation speed and to reduce power consumption (Ozcan, para. [0133 and 0135]).
Moll in view of Ozcan does not explicitly teach logic circuits configured via instructions to perform computations on a second set of artificial neurons of the artificial neural network, responsive to the features as inputs.
Litvak teaches logic circuits configured via instructions to perform computations on a second set of artificial neurons of the artificial neural network (Para. [0005], a digital hardware accelerator for a neural network NN computations including a large array of multiply-and-accumulate (MAC) arithmetic units).
Therefore, a combination of Moll, Ozcan, and Litvak would teach logic circuits configured via instructions to perform computations on a second set of artificial neurons of the artificial neural network, responsive to the features as inputs (The digital neural network of Ozcan receives outputs from the diffractive neural network).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the AR system of Moll in view of Ozcan to include the digital hardware accelerator of Litvak. More specifically, the digital hardware accelerator would be included in the digital neural network for performing multiplication and accumulation operations. The motivation would have been in order to improve the processing speed.
Regarding claim 18; Moll in view of Ozcan and Litvak teaches the computing device of claim 17 as discussed above.
Moll in view of Ozcan does not teach that the logic circuits include a digital accelerator configured to accelerate multiplication and accumulation operations applied on weight matrices of the second set of artificial neurons.
Litvak teaches the logic circuits include a digital accelerator configured to accelerate multiplication and accumulation operations applied on weight matrices of the second set of artificial neurons (Para. [0005], a digital hardware accelerator for a neural network NN computations including a large array of multiply-and-accumulate (MAC) arithmetic units that operate in parallel to process many pairs of values, typically layer-data values, sometimes referred as ‘activation’ values, and filter-weight values).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the AR system of Moll in view of Ozcan to include the digital hardware accelerator of Litvak. More specifically, the digital hardware accelerator would be included in the digital neural network for performing multiplication and accumulation operations. The motivation would have been in order to improve the processing speed.
Claims 2-4 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moll et al. (US Pub. 2025/0218143 A1) in view of Ozcan et al. (US Pub. 2021/0142170 A1) and Litvak (US Pub. 2019/0378001 A1) as applied to claims 1, 11, and 17 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. 2025/0036915 A1).
Regarding claim 2; Moll in view of Ozcan and Litvak teaches the apparatus of claim 1 as discussed above.
Moll does not explicitly teach a memory configured to store weight matrices of the second set of artificial neurons.
Moll in view of Ozcan does not explicitly teach a memory configured to store the instructions and weight matrices of the second set of artificial neurons.
Kim teaches a memory (a memory 200, Fig.8) configured to store the instructions and weight matrices of the second set of artificial neurons (Fig.1, para. [0011-0015, 0020, and 0075], Kim discloses an artificial neural network 110a for detecting an object in an image. Fig.8, para. [0221], information about the artificial neural network model stored in the memory 200 may include a weight matrix used for each channel in each layer).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the digital neural network in the AR system of Moll in view of Ozcan to include the teaching of Kim of providing a memory for storing a weight matrix. The motivation would have been in order to store values acting as learnable parameters that determine the influence of inputs on outputs; and allowing the neural network to recognize patterns.
Regarding claim 3; Moll in view of Ozcan, Litvak, and Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 2 as discussed above. Moll does not teach an artificial neural network containing the first set of artificial neurons and the second set of artificial neurons is configured to recognize an object in the scene; and the apparatus is configured to present information about the object in response to recognition of the object.
Ozcan teaches an artificial neural network containing the first set of artificial neurons (the diffractive optical neural network 10/42; Figs. 1, 9, and 33A) and the second set of artificial neurons (the digital neural network 44; Figs. 9 and 33A) is configured to recognize an object in the scene (Fig.10, para. [0087, 0109], the final output 46 includes a recognition of an object (e.g., a tree) in the scene); and the apparatus is configured to present information about the object in response to recognition of the object (e.g., Fig.10, the object (e.g., Tree) is displayed in the final output 46).
The motivation is the same as the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 4; Moll in view of Ozcan, Litvak, and Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 3 as discussed above. Moll does not teach the passive neural network includes cells of photonic crystals or metamaterials configured to interact with the image lights in accordance with the first set of artificial neurons.
Ozcan teaches the passive neural network includes cells of photonic crystals or metamaterials configured to interact with the image lights in accordance with the first set of artificial neurons (para. [0020, 0104, 0134, and 0175], the substrate layer 16 may be formed by metamaterials or plasmonic structures).
The motivation is the same as the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 12; Moll in view of Ozcan and Litvak teaches the method of claim 11 as discussed above. The limitation of claim 12 is substantially similar to claims 2 and 3. Accordingly, claim 12 is rejected based on the same analysis as claims 2 and 3.
Regarding claim 13; Moll in view of Ozcan, Litvak, and Kim teaches the method of claim 12 as discussed above. The limitation of claim 13 is substantially similar to claim 4. Accordingly, claim 13 is rejected based on the same analysis as claim 4.
Claims 5-7 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moll et al. (US Pub. 2025/0218143 A1) in view of Ozcan et al. (US Pub. 2021/0142170 A1), Litvak (US Pub. 2019/0378001 A1), and Kim et al. (US Pub. 2025/0036915 A1) as applied to claims 4 and 13 above, and further in view of Demaj et al. (US Pub. 2023/0131067 A1).
Regarding claim 5; Moll in view of Ozcan, Litvak, and Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 4 as discussed above. Moll in view of Ozcan does not teach a battery pack configured to power the processor in response to an output of the first set of artificial neurons exceeding a threshold.
Demaj teaches a battery pack (Fig.1, a microcontroller MCU is powered by a battery) configured to power the processor in response to an output of the first set of artificial neurons exceeding a threshold (Para. [0003, 0010, and 0017], Demaj discloses a method of detecting events or elements in physical signals by implementing an artificial neural network. The neural network may be operated in two modes: a nominal mode in which the neural network is executed by taking as input a physical signal having a first resolution, called nominal resolution, or a low power mode in which the neural network is executed by taking as input a physical signal having a second resolution, called reduced resolution, lower than the first resolution. The method including determining a probability of presence of the event or the element by an implementation of the neural network; operating the neural network according to the nominal mode when the probability of presence of the event or the element is greater than a threshold, and operating the neural network according to the low power mode when the probability of presence of the event or the element is below the threshold. More specifically, the probability of the presence of an event (or object) may be assessed from a number of detections obtained over a given period (para. [0040]). The physical signal may be an image of a scene acquired by a camera (para. [0023]). In other words, Demaj discloses a method of detecting a number of events (e.g., objects) in a scene acquired by a camera; operating the neural network in a nominal mode (i.e., full power mode) if the number of events (e.g., objects) exceeds a threshold; and operating the neural network in a low power mode if the number of events (e.g., objects) lower than the threshold).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the AR system of Moll in view of Ozcan to include the teaching of Demaj of operating a neural network in a nominal mode or a low power mode based on detecting a number of events (e.g., objects) in a scene obtained by a camera. The motivation would have been in order to reduce power consumption (Demaj, para. [0006-0009]).
Regarding claim 6; Moll in view of Ozcan, Litvak, Kim, and Demaj teaches the apparatus of claim 5 as discussed above. Moll in view of Ozcan does not teach the processor and a portion of the light sensing pixels are configured in a low power mode before the output exceeding the threshold.
Demaj teaches the microcontroller is configured in a low power mode before the output exceeding the threshold (see the analysis of claim 5 above, when the number of events (e.g., objects) in a scene is below the threshold, the microcontroller operates in a low power mode).
Therefore, a combination of Moll, Ozcan, and Demaj further teaches “the processor and a portion of the light sensing pixels are configured in a low power mode before the output exceeding the threshold “. The motivation is the same as the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 7; Moll in view of Ozcan, Litvak, Kim, and Demaj teaches the apparatus of claim 6 as discussed above. Moll does not teach the outputs of the first set of artificial neurons are configured to be representative of features extracted from an image representative of the scene.
Ozcan teaches the outputs of the first set of artificial neurons are configured to be representative of features extracted from an image representative of the scene (referred to the analysis of claim 2 above, Figs. 29D, 29E, 29I, 29J, para. [0002, 0111, 0125, 0141, and 0192], intensity patterns at an output plane 22 of the optical neural network is corresponding to features from an image of a scene).
The motivation is the same as the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 14; Moll in view of Ozcan, Litvak, and Kim teaches the method of claim 13 as discussed above. The limitation of claim 14 is substantially similar to claim 5. Accordingly, claim 14 is rejected based on the same analysis as claim 5.
Regarding claim 15; Moll in view of Ozcan, Litvak, Kim, and Demaj teaches the method of claim 14 as discussed above. The limitation of claim 15 is substantially similar to claim 6. Accordingly, claim 15 is rejected based on the same analysis as claim 6.
Claims 8-10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moll et al. (US Pub. 2025/0218143 A1) in view of Ozcan et al. (US Pub. 2021/0142170 A1), Litvak (US Pub. 2019/0378001 A1), Kim et al. (US Pub. 2025/0036915 A1), and Demaj et al. (US Pub. 2023/0131067 A1) as applied to claims 7 and 15 above, and further in view of Maizels et al. (US Pub. 2024/0079012 A1).
Regarding claim 8; Moll in view of Ozcan, Litvak, Kim, and Demaj teaches the apparatus of claim 7 as discussed above. Moll does not teach the image lights are a plane wave rebounded from objects in the scene.
Ozcan teaches the image lights are a plane wave rebounded from objects in the scene (Figs. 1 and 2, the image lights are a plane wave rebounded from the object 14 in the scene to the optical neural network 10).
The motivation is the same as the rejection of claim 2.
Moll in view of Ozcan, Kim, and Demaj does not teach monochromatic light.
Maizels teaches monochromatic light (para. [0007 and 0233], Maizels discloses a method of facial detection. The method comprises projecting coherent light toward a user’s face; and detecting light reflecting from the user’s face. The light may be monochromatic wave).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the AR system of Moll in view of Ozcan and Demaj to include the teaching of Maizels of using a monochromatic light for facial detection. The motivation would have been in order to improve accuracy by reducing background noise (scattering/reflection) and to enhancing contrast between features.
Regarding claim 9; Moll in view of Ozcan, Litvak, Kim, Demaj, and Maizels teaches the apparatus of claim 8 as discussed above. Moll further teaches a display device integrated with the pair of glasses and configured to present the information (Figs.1 and 2, para. [0024], a right optical element 110 and a left optical element 108 can be a lens, a display, a display assembly, or a combination of the foregoing. For example, Fig.2 shows near eye display 206).
Regarding claim 10; Moll in view of Ozcan, Litvak, Kim, Demaj, and Maizels teaches the apparatus of claim 9 as discussed above. Moll further teaches a wireless transceiver (a communication 342, Fig.3) configured to communicate with a computing device to retrieve the information (para. [0041]).
Regarding claim 16; Moll in view of Ozcan, Litvak, Kim, and Demaj teaches the method of claim 15 as discussed above. The limitation of claim 16 is substantially similar to claims 4, 7, and 8. Accordingly, claim 16 is rejected based on the same analysis as claims 4, 7, and 8.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moll et al. (US Pub. 2025/0218143 A1) in view of Ozcan et al. (US Pub. 2021/0142170 A1) and Litvak (US Pub. 2019/0378001 A1) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Dahlgren et al. (US Pub. 2026/0006304 A1).
Regarding claim 19; Moll in view of Ozcan and Litvak teaches the computing device of claim 18 as discussed above. Moll in view of Ozcan and Litvak does not teach the image sensor includes a first portion configured to provide an interest level indicator; and the logic circuits are configured in a low power mode when the interest level indicator is below a threshold.
Dahlgren teaches the image sensor (an image sensor 200, Fig.2a) includes a first portion (change detectors 231 and 232; Fig.2a) configured to provide an interest level indicator (para. [0039 and 0262], the change detectors are configured to detect events in a scene (e.g., motion, shape, or optical characteristics such as changes in light conditions)); and the logic circuits are configured in a low power mode when the interest level indicator is below a threshold (para. [0039], the image sensor may be partially inactive or operated in a low frame rate until the output from the change detectors triggers the image sensor (e.g., camera module) based on a detected motion).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the AR system of Moll in view of Ozcan and Litvak to include the teaching of Dahlgren of switching an operation mode of an image sensor based on an output from change detectors included in the image sensor. The motivation would have been in order to reduce power consumption (Dahlgren, para. [0071]).
Regarding claim 20; Moll in view of Ozcan, Litvak, and Dahlgren teaches the computing device of claim 19 as discussed above. Moll in view of Ozcan and Litvak does not teach the image sensor includes a second portion configured to be inactive in generating outputs when the interest level indicator is below a threshold.
Dahlgren teaches the image sensor includes a second portion configured to be inactive in generating outputs when the interest level indicator is below a threshold (para. [0039 and 0262], the image sensor may be at least partially inactive based on an output from change detectors (e.g., motionless)).
The motivation is the same as the rejection of claim 19.
Inquiries
/NGUYEN H TRUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 2623
/CHANH D NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2623