DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed 08 December 2025. In view of this communication, claims 1-16 are now pending in the application.
Election/Restriction
The Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I, corresponding to claims 1-12, in the reply filed on 08 December 2025 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that searching both distinct inventions would allegedly not impose an undue burden on the Examiner. This is not found persuasive because the search burden has been established by showing the different classifications, i.e. H02K 3/487 versus H02K 15/13, and no evidence has been presented to the contrary.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), 365(a) or (b), or 386(a), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 17 January 2024 was/were filed before mailing of the first action on the merits. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Disclosure
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the rubber material” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether claim 3 was intended to recite “a rubber material” or to depend from claim 2 instead of claim 1. The latter interpretation has been applied in the grounds of rejection below.
Subject to the [fifth paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA )], a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 11 recites an “electric machine with a rotor of claim 1”, but does not recite any additional limitations of said rotor. Thus, the claim does not further limit the subject matter, i.e. the rotor, of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 12 recites a “motor vehicle having an electric machine of claim 11”, but does not recite any additional limitations of said electric machine. Thus, the claim does not further limit the subject matter, i.e. the electric machine, of the claim upon which it depends.
The Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 7, and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2017/0353092 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Park”.
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a rotor [200] for an externally excited electric machine [100] of a motor vehicle (fig. 1-5; ¶ 0049-0050), comprising:
an annular yoke [10y] with a yoke outer side [os] directed outward in the radial direction of the yoke [10y] (fig. 5; ¶ 0056-0059);
a plurality of pole teeth [11,15] on the yoke outer side [os], the plurality of pole teeth [11,15] are arranged and/or formed spaced apart from one another in the circumferential direction of the yoke [10y] (fig. 4-5; ¶ 0059-0062),
each of the plurality of pole teeth [11,15] further comprising:
a pole shaft [11] (fig. 5; ¶ 0059); and
a pole shoe [15] (fig. 5; ¶ 0060-0062);
wherein the pole shaft [11] is formed between the yoke outer side [os] and the pole shoe [15] (fig. 4-5);
a rotor winding [1] arranged on each pole shaft [11] (fig. 5; ¶ 0059);
a slot wedge [50] arranged in a slot [13] between the rotor windings [1] of two adjacent pole teeth [11,15] (fig. 4-5; ¶ 0059, 0071-0075); and
a layer of an elastomer [51] on an outer side of the slot wedge [50], the layer of elastomer [51] facing the respective rotor winding [1], against which the rotor winding [1] bears at least partially and/or in portions (fig. 5; ¶ 0075-0076).
Regarding claim 4, Park discloses the rotor [200] of claim 1, as stated above, the slot wedge [50] further comprising a triangular and/or wedge-shaped base form in cross-section, and a tip of the wedge-shaped slot wedge [50] points in the direction of the yoke outer side [os] (fig. 5; ¶ 0076); and
a closed-edge opening [53] which runs through the slot wedge [50] in the longitudinal direction of the rotor [200], and the opening [53] is filled with an expandable material at least in portions (fig. 5; ¶ 0076, 0093; the opening is field with ”external air”, and air is expandable/compressible).
Regarding claim 5, Park discloses the rotor [200] of claim 4, as stated above, the closed-edge opening [53] further comprising a triangular cross-section (fig. 5; ¶ 0076).
Regarding claim 7, Park discloses the rotor [200] of claim 1, as stated above, the slot wedge [50] further comprising a slot wedge end [61], wherein the slot wedge end [61] bears at least in portions against a pole shoe [15] inner face (fig. 5; ¶ 0075-0079).
Regarding claim 11, Park discloses an electric machine [100] (fig. 1-5; ¶ 0049-0050) with a rotor [200] of claim 1, as stated above.
Regarding claim 12, Park discloses a motor vehicle (fig. 1-5; ¶ 0049-0050) having an electric machine [100] of claim 11, as stated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Knapp et al. (US 2013/0154431 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Knapp”.
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses the rotor [200] of claim 1, as stated above.
Park does not disclose the elastomer [51] further comprising a rubber material and/or comprises rubber at least in parts.
Knapp discloses an elastomer [530] facing a winding [520] within a slot [505] (fig. 5; ¶ 0033-0034), the elastomer [530] further comprising a rubber material and/or comprises rubber at least in parts (¶ 0035).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the elastomer of Park from a rubber material as taught by Knapp, in order to provide good heat resistance that is useful in high-temperature applications (¶ 0035 of Knapp).
Regarding claim 3, Park, in view of Knapp, discloses the rotor [200] of claim {2}, as stated above, the rubber material further comprising an ethylene propylene diene rubber (¶ 0035 of Knapp) or a butyl rubber.
Claim(s) 6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Schafer et al. (US 3,242,239 A), hereinafter referred to as “Schafer”.
Regarding claim 6, Park discloses the rotor [200] of claim 1, as stated above.
Park does not disclose that the slot wedge [50] is made of plastic.
Schafer discloses a rotor [10] comprising slots [11] having windings [9] disposed therein (fig. 1-3; col. 2, line 70 to col. 3, line 6), further comprising a slot wedge [12] made of plastic (fig. 2-3; col. 3, lines 7-16; “polyurethane resin”, resin is a type of plastic).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the slot wedge of Park from a plastic material as taught by Schafer, in order to provide the slot wedge with the desired flexibility and elasticity (col. 1, lines 55-70 of Schafer).
Regarding claim 10, Park discloses the rotor [200] of claim 4, as stated above.
Park does not disclose the expandable material [air] further comprising a polyurethane foam.
Schafer discloses a rotor [10] comprising slots [11] having windings [9] disposed therein (fig. 1-3; col. 2, line 70 to col. 3, line 6), further comprising an expandable material [12] filling the slots [11], the expandable material [12] comprising a polyurethane foam (fig. 2-3; col. 3, lines 7-16; “foamed polyurethane resin”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the expandable material of Park from a polyurethane foam as taught by Schafer, in order to provide the slot wedge with the desired flexibility and elasticity (col. 1, lines 55-70 of Schafer).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Knappenberger et al. (DE 10 2019 217 464 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Knappenberger”.
Regarding claim 8, Park discloses the rotor [200] of claim 1, as stated above.
Park does not disclose that the slot wedge [50] has a widening on the side facing the yoke outer side [os], which at least in portions engages behind the inner side of the rotor winding [1] facing the yoke outer side [os].
Knappenberger discloses a rotor [1] comprising windings [11] disposed within slots [4], the slots [4] closed by a slot wedge [10] (fig. 4-5; ¶ 0021-0023), wherein the slot wedge [10] has a widening [10w] on the side facing the yoke outer side [1os], which at least in portions engages behind the inner side of the rotor winding [11] facing the yoke outer side [1os] (fig. 4-5; ¶ 0019).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the slot wedge of Park having a widening inside of the windings as taught by Knappenberger, in order to ensure proper insulation between the windings and the yoke while simplifying the production thereof (¶ 0004 of Knappenberger).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Doherty et al. (US 2003/0184180 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Doherty”.
Regarding claim 9, Park discloses the rotor [200] of claim 4, as stated above.
Park does not disclose the expandable material [air] further comprising one selected from the group consisting of a polymer and/or a plastic and/or a synthetic resin.
Doherty discloses a rotor [132] comprising slots having windings [306a-d] disposed therein (fig. 3-5; ¶ 0032-0033), further comprising a slot wedge [502,504,506] filled with an expandable material [“epoxy or resinous fluid”], the expandable material [“epoxy or resinous fluid”] further comprising one selected from the group consisting of a polymer and/or a plastic and/or a synthetic resin (¶ 0036).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the expandable material of Park from a plastic/resin as taught by Doherty, in order to strengthen the wedge thereby allowing it to better withstand centrifugal loads (¶ 0036 of Doherty).
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Prior art:
Eckstein et al. (US 2021/0036571 A1) discloses a wound rotor comprising a triangular slot wedge with a closed-edge opening filled with an expandible material, said material comprising resin, thermoplastic, or thermoset plastic.
Lee et al. (US 2016/0072352 A1) discloses a wound rotor comprising a triangular slot wedge having an elastomer layer contacting the rotor windings.
Harris (US 3,986,253) discloses a wound rotor comprising an expandible material, said material comprising polymeric resin adhesive foam.
Conclusion
/Michael Andrews/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834