DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 13, and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over corresponding claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,878,820. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons:
Claim 1 is anticipated by claim 22 of ‘820, which recites a method of deploying a plurality of spacecraft (abstract), the method comprising: coupling the plurality of spacecraft in a stack to a payload adaptor via at least one tension rode extending along an entirety of the stack along a longitudinal axis (securing a first end of a tension rod to the rocket and securing a second end of the tension rod to the stack); launching the payload adaptor into an orbit (launching until it attains an orbit); and releasing, after the payload adaptor reaches the orbit, the at least one tension rod, wherein the releasing decouples the entirety of the stack from the payload adaptor (releasing the stack from the rocket).
Claim 13 is anticipated by claim 23, as it depends from claim 22, of ‘820, which recites a method of releasing spacecraft from a payload adaptor (abstract), the method comprising: arranging spacecraft in a stack on the payload adaptor, the stack extending along a longitudinal axis (securing a first end of a tension rod to the rocket and securing a second end of the tension rod to the stack); applying a compressive load along a length of the stack (applying a compressive load); launching the payload adaptor into an orbit (launching the rocket until it attains an orbit); and after the payload adaptor reaches the orbit, releasing the compressive load (releasing the compressive load by moving the tension rod to a second configuration) to allow an entirety of the stack to passively separate from the payload adaptor (releasing, as the rocket is in the orbit, the entire stack from the rocket to allow the layers of the stack to passively separate).
Claim 19 is anticipated by claim 22 of ‘820, which recites a method for deploying spacecraft into orbit (abstract), the method comprising: arranging a stack of spacecraft on a payload adaptor, the stack extending along a longitudinal axis, with each layer of the stack defined by at least one spacecraft and with each spacecraft being releasably mated with at least one spacecraft in an adjacent layer (arranging a stack of spacecraft on a rocket, with each layer of the stack defined by at least one spacecraft and with each spacecraft being releasably mated with at least one spacecraft in an adjacent layer); securing a first end of a tension rod to the payload adaptor and a second end of the tension rod to the stack (securing a first end of a tension rod to the rocket and securing a second end of the tension rod to the stack); launching the payload adaptor into an orbit (orbit); and releasing, as the payload adaptor is in the orbit, an entirety the stack from the payload adaptor to allow the stack to passively separate (releasing, as the rocket is in the orbit, the entire stack from the rocket to allow the layers of the stack to passively separate).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rochefort (US 4,854,526 A).
Regarding claim 13, Rochefort discloses a method of releasing spacecraft from a payload adaptor (abstract), the method comprising:
arranging spacecraft in a stack (510) on the payload adaptor (520), the stack extending along a longitudinal axis (as shown in fig. 5);
applying a compressive load along a length of the stack (via first and second clamp frames 511, 512, as shown in fig. 5);
launching the payload adaptor into an orbit (via launch vehicle body 501, as shown in fig. 5; see also col. 3, lines 40-45); and
after the payload adaptor reaches the orbit, releasing the compressive load to allow an entirety of the stack to passively separate from the payload adaptor (col. 4, lines 61-67, regarding to dispense the stack of satellites, the thrusters are used first to orient the stack; next, the pyro technic bolts are detonated at the corners of the tie down plate and the springs then eject the stack; Examiner notes that the first and second clamp frames 511, 512 are applying a compressive load along the length of the stack during launch and transport by the launch vehicle 501, and are necessarily released during ejection of the stack so as to allow the individual satellites 510 to separate from each other in space, see also col. 3, lines 15-22).
Regarding claim 14, Rochefort discloses the invention in claim 13, and further discloses wherein the step of applying the compressive load along the length of the stack comprises engaging the stack with at least one hold down and deploy system coupled to the payload adaptor (tie down assembly 521, as shown in fig. 5; see again col. 4, lines 61-67).
Regarding claim 15, Rochefort discloses the invention in claim 14, and further discloses wherein the step of releasing the compressive load comprises disengaging the at least one hold down and deploy system from the stack (see again col. 4, lines 61-67).
Regarding claim 16, Rochefort discloses the invention in claim 15, and further discloses wherein the step of releasing the compressive load further comprises disengaging the at least one hold down and deploy system from the payload adaptor (see again col. 4, lines 61-67; Examiner notes that clamps 511, 512 are necessarily released from both the stack and the tie down plate 524).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on November 4, 2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 13-16 under §102 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, Applicant argues that the use of springs in Rochefort equate to actively separating the stack, as opposed to passively separating per amended claim 13. Even if Examiner agreed, the compressive load being applied in this case is being applied by the first and second clamp frames 511, 512, not the springs in the tie down assembly 521. As noted above, the compressive load of the clamp frames is necessarily released after separation to allow the spacecraft 510 to drift apart. Therefore, claims 13-16 remain rejected under §102 as detailed in the present Office Action.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 and 19 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the double patenting rejection(s) set forth in this Office action, notwithstanding the filing of a terminal disclaimer as detailed above.
Claims 2-12, 17-18, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The claims are allowable for substantially the same reasons as recorded in the Notice of Allowance filed on September 13, 2023, in application number 16/870,974.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADY W FRAZIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647